NEED HELP !!! hard starting

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
dborde

NEED HELP !!! hard starting

Postby dborde » August 7th, 2013, 7:38 am

hey guys i have a 2008 Mazda BT-50 doing jus about 108xxx km, i bought it second hand from my uncle and i started having hard starts. i changed the battery, glow plugs, fuel filter and oil filter thinking they had problems. can anyone suggest something. could it be the engine seals or something around there ?

everything is a help. thanks

dborde

Re: NEED HELP !!! hard starting

Postby dborde » August 7th, 2013, 7:47 am

p.s. it also burning white smoke after hard start... smells like oil. hope nothing is too bad

Ramirez

Postby Ramirez » August 7th, 2013, 7:49 pm

is your coolant level dropping also ? if it is Get the cylinder head checked,

roti102

Postby roti102 » August 8th, 2013, 10:02 am

Check that little mesh filter on the fuel intake under the 16mm bolt. Check glow plugs. Does it start eventually and run okay?

dborde

Postby dborde » August 8th, 2013, 11:24 am

roti102 wrote:Check that little mesh filter on the fuel intake under the 16mm bolt. Check glow plugs. Does it start eventually and run okay?

yeah it starts up after a while and runs great. but i not seeing any mesh filter

roti102

Postby roti102 » August 8th, 2013, 2:06 pm

16mm bolt that is very close to the fuel line going to the intake manifold. There is a fine mesh filter in there that is the last line of defense for the fuel injectors. Remove the bolt and ise a pencil rubber to remove the filter mesh.

Paullct

Postby Paullct » August 9th, 2013, 10:51 am

domo check your oil level and that mesh strainer mentioned above, could be the fuel pump. why you doh just go by justin boy?

Postby streetbeastINC. » August 9th, 2013, 12:00 pm

i ran an indicator light to my glow plugs so i know how long they stay on...there is a unit under the intake anifold that controls the lenght of tie the plugs are glowing.....the indi light on the dash is jsut a safe to start indicator that shuts off after a few secodns....at times this goes bad....mech mines from the forum thougth me alot over the phone this guy is a realy good mech......try tripple heating with the ignition key to see if this eases up depress the pedal a few times before start up...

dborde

Postby dborde » August 12th, 2013, 8:23 am

thanks guys il check the mesh filter later and il try the tripple heating method aswell.

DooMRR

Postby DooMRR » August 13th, 2013, 6:01 pm

Here are a few signs of a cracked engine head. These are the symptoms I experienced when my engine head cracked. I replaced the entire engine head myself and now it runs normal.
•Coolant level dropping in your reservoir bottle over a week time.
•Coughing out a black sooth from the exhaust onto your floor. (This was the coolant that got into your cylinder(s) through the crack and is now being pushing through the exhaust. The sooth is from the coolant mixing with the stuff in your exhaust and coming out the end).
•Lots of white smoke being thrown out your exhaust when the engine is cold started. Note: don't rely completely on this white smoke as blown glow plugs, bad fuel injectors, dirty fuel filter(s) and dirty air filter can also cause this.
•Van stuttering on cold start.
•When there is a really big crack, it can sometimes cause the engine to stall and will take a good 5+ seconds of tumbling to start. (Stalled on me twice while it was idling even though the engine was running at normal operating temperature).

Paullct wrote:domo check your oil level and that mesh strainer mentioned above, could be the fuel pump. why you doh just go by justin boy?

Who is Justin? A diesel mechanic? I too would like to know a good diesel mechanic.

Paullct

Postby Paullct » August 13th, 2013, 8:21 pm

^^ Mech Mines on the forum is a very knowledgeable diesel mechanic IMHO and I would highly recommend him to anyone, ESPECIALLY the mazda and ford owners.

Postby streetbeastINC. » August 13th, 2013, 11:47 pm

Yep mech mines a diesel god

Postby streetbeastINC. » August 13th, 2013, 11:55 pm

Yep mech mines a diesel god

dborde

Postby dborde » August 14th, 2013, 7:03 am

i put a brand new glow plugs, brand new fuel filter and cleaned out the k&n filter also brand new oil and oil filter, also when i put in gas i put a diesel treatment, so now its down to the fuel injectors.i will go get them checked because the only signs i get are....
1. white smoke on hard start
2. sometimes get a stuttering

il go by justin and see what he says.

Paullct

Postby Paullct » August 14th, 2013, 7:33 am

i getting that same thing boy. will pass by him later. hoping its not a cracked head /:

Postby streetbeastINC. » August 16th, 2013, 8:16 pm

Any updates

roti102

Postby roti102 » August 16th, 2013, 11:39 pm

See that K&N? Put eet in a bag and toss eeet! Scientifically proven to let dirt into your engine.

dborde

Postby dborde » August 20th, 2013, 10:41 am

doh firetruck meh up .... i would rel coas....... right now i am booked to clean my injectors out moro. if that doesnt work . im gona cry cus thats alot of money to waste :(

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » August 20th, 2013, 12:16 pm

roti102 wrote:See that K&N? Put eet in a bag and toss eeet! Scientifically proven to let dirt into your engine.

Doh need no science.

More air flow =More Dust

Has to be not me and that sheet!

Paullct

Postby Paullct » August 20th, 2013, 5:36 pm

K&N is not meant to be used in dusty conditions. clogged injectors can very well be due to the K&N over time

Postby streetbeastINC. » August 22nd, 2013, 8:43 pm

Any updTES

dborde

Postby dborde » August 23rd, 2013, 11:48 am

didnt get time to go clean out injectors, would have to wait to till nex week. will keep yall posted

dborde

Postby dborde » September 3rd, 2013, 7:20 am

UPDATE !!!! cleaned out injectors and we still hard starting some mornings, but when it does start up, she balancing off nice and running perfect.

ton713

Postby ton713 » September 3rd, 2013, 7:30 am

Check ya plugs and see if they wet

Postby streetbeastINC. » September 3rd, 2013, 5:15 pm

Put back a normal air filter i had put a kn on a hilux and ended up with a world of issues ....

dborde

Postby dborde » September 4th, 2013, 11:07 am

il go get a mazda original later and see if that cleans it up a bit

dborde

Postby dborde » September 11th, 2013, 7:50 am

NEWEST UPDATE !!! soo bought a brand new filter, clean injectors, changed oil and oil filter, change fuel pump, changed spark plugs stil hard starting. but yesterday after i was changing the air filter, i notice the tubing was very slack and i was able to pull it apart with my hands . this is where the line meets the filter box. could that be causing a problem?

Rock Thor

Postby Rock Thor » October 29th, 2013, 9:29 pm

Cracked Head ...

Postby streetbeastINC. » October 30th, 2013, 7:03 pm

Did you check too see how long the gplugs are staying activated, if it cuts out to quickly, you will get the hard starting

Postby streetbeastINC. » October 30th, 2013, 7:03 pm

Did you check too see how long the gplugs are staying activated, if it cuts out to quickly, you will get the hard starting

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”