Side B to Cedros - 14/07 - **pics**

Plan out, organise and post pics and vids of your OFF-ROAD adventures. Clubs, crews and associations are welcomed!

rottedv

Re: Side B to Cedros - 14/07 - **pics**

Postby rottedv » July 16th, 2013, 7:45 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:^ the previous hilux with the stacks. got stuck till his axels and droppa had to pull him out.

Droppa spinned around his van on the trail and got him out. The sportero didn't want to stick so he decided to ride the bank.

Hmmmmmmmm. Interesting for that hilux to cause that kinda drive.....Very Interesting.....Oh well......Normal....

mirk143

Postby mirk143 » July 16th, 2013, 8:14 pm

rottedv wrote:
3stagevtec wrote:Damn, I get worried for the red L200 there yes! :shock:

What was it that cause the sportero to try and climb that bank in that manner? From my recollection of that trail there were no big deep ruts to cause that kind of offroad driving even if rain fell...Especially for a vehicle with lockers front and back...Just wondering....

FYI both lockers were DISENGAGED, that MANNER was due to me attempting to gain traction to move from the brink of a very slippery hill as you would remember! Oh wait! right you weren't there... anyway I could not get out of that rut and when I finally got traction I was already on the bank, at that point stopping would have been worse! Either way thanks for the concern! :arrow: BTW my lockers were DISENGAGED in my attempt not to destroy the trail!

Postby 3stagevtec » July 16th, 2013, 8:41 pm

It would have been safer to snatch yourself through the rut or get winched through. Engaging the lockers would have increased available traction and you would have been able to keep the wheel speed down and momentum up, less trail damage. I am familiar with that trail btw, as well as rottedv..

You have to be careful when rushing through obstacles, it makes the drive unpredictable and increases the potential for things to end badly.
Last edited by 3stagevtec on July 16th, 2013, 8:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby nervewrecker » July 16th, 2013, 8:45 pm

I had on normal highway tyres. Glad to see what I can do from what I can't and got the opportunity to feel out the new ride off the asphalt where it's always flat.

It was fun and yes I did ride out early when I got company as nobody was at home and it's always a good idea to have someone home in the area I live.

Was good fun man.

I done clean up and shine up long time.

rottedv

Postby rottedv » July 16th, 2013, 8:46 pm

mirk143 wrote:
rottedv wrote:
3stagevtec wrote:Damn, I get worried for the red L200 there yes! :shock:

What was it that cause the sportero to try and climb that bank in that manner? From my recollection of that trail there were no big deep ruts to cause that kind of offroad driving even if rain fell...Especially for a vehicle with lockers front and back...Just wondering....

FYI both lockers were DISENGAGED, that MANNER was due to me attempting to gain traction to move from the brink of a very slippery hill as you would remember! Oh wait! right you weren't there... anyway I could not get out of that rut and when I finally got traction I was already on the bank, at that point stopping would have been worse! Either way thanks for the concern! :arrow: BTW my lockers were DISENGAGED in my attempt not to destroy the trail!

Thanks for clearing that up mirk143. But let me enlighten you a bit, as it seems that the guys in Side B havent as yet but I'm sure they are planning....

Lockers are designed to preserve the trail, to have all 4 wheels moving (front and back) to get maximum traction so that throws trail damage out the window, slippery or not. No I was not there with you, I was there before you, so I know the trail and how it would have been when rain fell but I see your point very clearly.... That manner I was referring to is how you took the bank....but the guys in Side B will surely show you a better way of approach....so no scene...

.z.

Postby .z. » July 17th, 2013, 7:03 am

Guys,

Lets be grateful nothing unfortunate happened.

There are always lessons to be learnt form situations, but lessons shd be learnt before. Im tlkin abt training, and something tailored to prepare the vehicle owner to better understand his particular vehicle.

But failing on a tailored session, there are some basic rules in offroad we shd all be hitting the trail with....

I am willing to offer advice/assistance.

Pls lets offroad responsibly, be adult and stop some of these untoward remarks, we all make mistakes, the incident was brought open let us attempt to befriend instead of belittle.

Rgds

Z
Last edited by .z. on July 17th, 2013, 7:19 am, edited 1 time in total.

rottedv

Postby rottedv » July 17th, 2013, 8:01 am

.z. wrote:Guys,

Lets be grateful nothing unfortunate happened.

There are always lessons to be learnt form situations, but lessons shd be learnt before. Im tlkin abt training, and something tailored to prepare the vehicle owner to better understand his particular vehicle.

But failing on a tailored session, there are some basic rules in offroad we shd all be hitting the trail with....

I am willing to offer advice/assistance.

Pls lets offroad responsibly, be adult and stop some of these untoward remarks, we all make mistakes, the incident was brought open let us attempt to befriend instead of belittle.

Rgds

Z

We understand your sentiments Z and appreciate your input as always. Just to be clear, we in no way intended to belittle anyone. Our comments were out of genuine concern and were intended to educate...I would say that its only because if recent events in Side B that everything we say is taken in a negative light. We even came to say hello on the said day of their run... I am glad that fazeer liked your comment but why dis he delete his post? Hmmm

Postby tr1ad » July 17th, 2013, 9:16 am

Nice one fellas... good to know all went well

droppa

Postby droppa » July 17th, 2013, 2:29 pm

tr1ad wrote:Nice one fellas... good to know all went well

yup was a real nice one, just the right mix of everything....

Chin man *

Postby Chin man * » July 17th, 2013, 10:28 pm

I surely had fun... And the day turned out gr8.. Can't wait for the next run with Side B.

Fazeer

Postby Fazeer » July 17th, 2013, 10:45 pm

Wait nah chin man...one run u gone on and yuh tizick already...yuh like me padna...took me a full year to get a 4x4 after my first run though...lol

Bigfoot1040

Postby Bigfoot1040 » July 18th, 2013, 12:57 am

Lol.. I love mud and adventure bro... Ever since I was small I always asking bout 4x4 n ting..
But droppa has to work his magic on the l2 and as soon as he does.. Is real madness... Looking out for sum training from u guys tho...

It's all I can think off.... Lmao
I HOOK...

droppa

Postby droppa » July 18th, 2013, 8:55 am

good to know u guys had a time, it was definitely one of the more longer drives kinda run, but we like to mix it up and always try to accommodate everyone, next run planned a while now, will be a different kinda style,

soon we will brutalize that L2, i kno chin man has a serious beef with area 51 and wants to settle his score!!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 19th, 2013, 7:43 am

Glad to hear u guys enjoyed it!!

To address some of the discontent on this thread - please guys let's keep the comments and criticisms professional and relevant. Remember the forum rules do not allow any bashing, trolling of any kind or any misbehavior on this particular public forum. Save that picong and childish behavior for the olé talk thread where it belongs and in the schoolyard with the rest of the kiddies. Moderators have been informed and they are watching this forum posts very closely.

Admittedly one of the guys got a bit high spirited on our run and took a risky move while negotiating a small obstacle. Needless to say, we were all concerned when it happened for everyone's safety (including vehicle occupants and the observers outside).... Thankfully nothing serious happened and everyone was okay... Phew what a close call!

In the end, we, the seniors of side b ensured everyone was Ok, and even gave the driver a lil' pep talk to encourage him on how to tackle similar obstacles safely in the future. Side B is all about safety first, so far we've maintained a good track record regarding safety and intend to keep it so. Every trail whether easy or hard is always taken as a training opportunity for each of our drivers whether novice or veteran and this was no different.

So thanks everyone who felt concerned, both who attended the run and those watching from the comfort of their computers. It really is a heartwarming and humbling feeling to know there are folks out there who support and love our little club, and that alone gives us so much motivation to "keep on truckin"......

Be safe out there guys and girls, and stay out of trouble!

Chin man *

Postby Chin man * » July 20th, 2013, 10:12 pm

Yup that's my kryptonite dey boy... Can't wait to work the BF's in that mud..

Chin man *

Postby Chin man * » August 4th, 2013, 11:07 pm

Ok AREA 51 CONQUERED... Much thanks to - Droppa & G for there superb job on my L200. Them BF's REALLL wukin jedd.. Woosah ;)).. Wat ah gr8 weekend..

Really appreciate everything fellas... Until the next run...

droppa

Postby droppa » August 5th, 2013, 9:06 am

buddy, what u guys saw, and been seeing since we first linked, is nothing but the true side b, u see us, we real, i know u would love those KM2s, they are track proven, and well the L2, thats a different beast, yuh finally could run tru the 51 now eh, yesterday was a first time conquer for both u and leo.........

stingray316

Postby stingray316 » August 5th, 2013, 11:29 am

Pass thru d banks b4 the real Area 51 was dubbed. Need to revisit and add dat to d Krakken conquests...

claries

Postby claries » August 5th, 2013, 11:38 am

51 shouldnt be taken lightly many surprises in dere

rottedv

Postby rottedv » August 5th, 2013, 12:39 pm

Area 51? Sounds like d rice land in d back by droppa dey. Stick d surf in there once....

droppa

Postby droppa » August 5th, 2013, 1:17 pm

yeah boi, our officail testing and stomping grounds.....

Postby Ted_v2 » August 5th, 2013, 2:54 pm

Droppa did you get my pm?

droppa

Postby droppa » August 5th, 2013, 4:10 pm

Yeah buddy, sry eh I read that over the weekend while workin on chin man van and forget to reply, ill pm u just now u will have to rottedv as well

Postby Ted_v2 » August 5th, 2013, 5:15 pm

Thx for the reply.

Return to “Off Road Runs”