Tuners who recently built their house

inter_elegance

Tuners who recently built their house

Postby inter_elegance » August 4th, 2013, 9:43 pm

i am getting approx 200,000 to build from the bank and i just want to have an idea of what size completed i can achieve with this budget. i was thinking about a 30*30 flats tiled basic stuff, can this be done . tuners who recently build can u give some advice on cost of foundation, roof where to cut back on etc.

Re: Tuners who recently built there house

Postby brams112 » August 4th, 2013, 9:46 pm

Labour and materials will cost more than that,if you can do most of the labour by yourself it will help.

arimagwfc

Postby arimagwfc » August 4th, 2013, 9:51 pm

inter_elegance wrote:i am getting approx 200,000 to build from the bank and i just want to have an idea of what size completed i can achieve with this budget. i was thinking about a 30*30 flats tiled basic stuff, can this be done . tuners who recently build can u give some advice on cost of foundation, roof where to cut back on etc.
op just make sure and buy your roofing materials by R Maye...them other hardwares not easy na...we are currently building a house flats 32x46 i believe and the roofing material cost us 30k we couldnt even go with the painted galavanize we had to take the unpainted....lol....foundation was 50k...labour and material to put up blocks straight to ring beam was 20k....thank go we get the electrical inclusive of labour/inspection and material for 6k....cant rem the type of wiring but its the pipe in wall wiring....so op...200k should be enough lol....we aint plaster yet nor put up doors and windows nor plumbing...lol...search around good before you buy....

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 4th, 2013, 10:34 pm

a good foundation alone will be close to a 100K.....arima...50K for a foundation?....something wrong there...readymix alone is 20K much less for steel, blocks and labour.....but lucky you to get it
for 50 k

electrical, tiling , blocks,plastering, plumbing, sewer system, doors, windows, burglarproof, gypsum ceiling, paint, kitchen, maybe close to another 100k..or over....

U need to get additional funds for your roof.....

materials and labour are expensive....esp labour....

use the search button u will get alot of info right here....

good luck.....

arimagwfc

Postby arimagwfc » August 4th, 2013, 10:54 pm

*$kїđž![TRADE MARK SIGN] wrote:a good foundation alone will be close to a 100K.....arima...50K for a foundation?....something wrong there...readymix alone is 20K much less for steel, blocks and labour.....but lucky you to get it
for 50 k

electrical, tiling , blocks,plastering, plumbing, sewer system, doors, windows, burglarproof, gypsum ceiling, paint, kitchen, maybe close to another 100k..or over....

U need to get additional funds for your roof.....

materials and labour are expensive....esp labour....

use the search button u will get alot of info right here....

good luck.....
and their is always a hidden cost to something...yeah material and labour....we didnt use readymix....why use them when you can get your family and some guys from the village to assist...just make surw you have rum drinks and level food...lol...start 7am and finished 2pm.....

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » August 4th, 2013, 11:07 pm

Ready-mix is much more expensive than if you mix the concrete by yourself
foundation prices vary on your location do to land movement type of soil, it is a flats he is building so his foundation cost will be much lower, and no post, upper concrete floor.

OP i will suggest getting quotes from different builders and use there quotes to find out their material price.
Alot of stuff was cheaper by Dansteel especially the steel, Roofing and they items seemed to be stored in better condition.
Cp plumbing wood cost was cheaper so a little bit of shopping around can save you thousands when you add it up
Also suggest buy every thing on your credit card, hopefully your credit card has cash back and you can gain a few thousand there to use for other items.

Logan Easton

Postby Logan Easton » August 5th, 2013, 12:14 am

I just did a 20 * 30 with roof-an ceiling for abt 120 property already had a foundation

Postby Chimera » August 5th, 2013, 12:28 am

hong kong phooey wrote:Also suggest buy every thing on your credit card, hopefully your credit card has cash back and you can gain a few thousand there to use for other items.

thats a good suggestion but beware that many hardwares charge a extra 4% when doing credit card transactions, many of them don't even tell you they are doing it.

R Maye does this for sure

Bhagwansingh doesn't.

ingalook

Re: Tuners who recently built their house

Postby ingalook » August 5th, 2013, 2:59 am

200k?

That is a stretch, may be possible:

1. CANNOT be done on hilly/sloping land (especially in south)
2. May be possible where land is solid/level/stable and you don't have to auger very deep
3. Keep windows/doors standard size
4. No fancy concrete-work/balusters etc.
5. Do as much as you can yourself
6. Stay away from Hip and gable style roof, only options are parapet, or level roof with small eve
7. Use regular, unpainted galvanized sheeting
8. A well done concrete floor can be stained and look pretty decent, but the process would seal it and cause real headache later on when you need to tile (you have to decide up front or pay later on)
9. Don't skimp on things like electrical, plumbing and tile-work, do it wrong and you will be spending double money
10. Look around for creative solutions to your problems, you don't have to build a house looking like everyone else... you can use gypsum for internal walls, allowing you to easily reconfigure later on.

Good Luck!

INDAVID WORKSHOP

Postby INDAVID WORKSHOP » August 5th, 2013, 3:57 am

As far as I know the cost used by quantity surveyors presently for a two storey building is about TT$500.00 per square foot.

Not sure the cost for a single storey unit, you can get that cost and use that for you estimate.

INDAVID WORKSHOP

Postby INDAVID WORKSHOP » August 5th, 2013, 4:01 am

As far as I know the cost used by quantity surveyors presently for a two storey building is about TT$500.00 per square foot.

Not sure the cost for a single storey unit, you can get that cost and use that for you estimate.

stephengobin

Postby stephengobin » August 5th, 2013, 6:17 am

200k might be enough, i recently build my house its a 20 x 32 and the foundation cost me about 50k, that was include of labour, walls and labour cost about 70k and that was included of plastering inside and outside plus plastering the flooring, the roof was 45k which include of labour.
there is a guy in pasea that have materials much cheaper than all the hardware. i would pm you his contact number.

Postby ronsin1 » August 5th, 2013, 6:37 am

it can be done with 200K but it will be a stretch

turbo boost

Postby turbo boost » August 5th, 2013, 7:26 am

i'm from Tobago where an average house built in Tobago can build 2.5 houses in Trinidad same budget.
when i built my 45x35 4yrs ago on sloping land so steep that it took 2 stories of column & beams to bring the floor to road level. when i got my material list from my builder just for that 1st. stage (foundation to floor) i neatly typed it over put my name and a return fax no. faxed it 3 hardwares in Tobago and about 7 in Trinidad for quotes. At that time Bhagwansing offered the best on most items. Dansteel for steel & roopnarine for nails and other stuff. The difference in price between bago & trini on that first stage(foundation to floor) saved me 30k. but bare in mind i own a old dump truck and went for all my material myself. 200k in Trinidad maybe, Tobago? for get that. Just shop around and get reputable trade men, they are an integral part of whether or not your money will stretch

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » August 5th, 2013, 7:45 am

Soon Trinidad will have NO trades men as a majority of the worthless youth of today refuse to learn a simple trade.........

Tucson-anil

Postby Tucson-anil » August 5th, 2013, 7:46 am

OP, here are some things to consider about Readymix. It works out to be about the same as hand mixing. With handmixing, you always get extra material left over. When you also factor in the labour costs (10 labourers at $150 per day plus the other skilled workmen) plus the gravel and cement, the cost adds up. The big difference is that you get a stronger and more consistent mix with the Readymix process....especially important in the foundation stage of your house. Never skimp on the foundation and roof of your home. My foundation and floor slab cost about 200k, but it was 43X90 and the foundation was 8 blocks deep. I strongly recommend Readymix for this

Tucson-anil

Postby Tucson-anil » August 5th, 2013, 7:54 am

Also, ensure that you have someone looking after your interests on the site or else labourers will take their sweet time doing almost nothing each day. Try to split the construction into phases and get competitive pricing for each phase. People will tell you that they can do everything, but a mason cannot be a tile man, who is also a roof man, who is also an electrician and a plumber. They will come for a 3 month job, but you will be there for the rest of your life. Make sure that the workmanship is sound and also bear in mind that a house is always a work in progress.

Good luck

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » August 5th, 2013, 8:00 am

500 to 600 a sq. ft.
work backwrds and you go figure it out

D AOK

Postby D AOK » August 5th, 2013, 8:10 am

Guys I just wanted to know the average land price per sqft in Tobago along shirvan road if anyone may know.....

thanks!

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » August 5th, 2013, 8:33 am

gets me every time when ppl building a "FLATS".

On Topic - 30 x 30, your looking at almost double that budget......no fancy finishes, just basic stuff.

You didnt tell the bank what you were planning to achieve with the funds right?

Postby X_Factor » August 5th, 2013, 8:40 am

^nah man,
it depends on how much the person/s can do for themselves

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » August 5th, 2013, 8:42 am

Again, depends on the finish you want..

Most trinidadians = mauby pocket/mentality with Champagne taste..

If they wanted to operate properly, they wouldve started by consulting and architect and gotten the best advice possible. Having done that from the start, the bank wouldve probably released more than 200k for the project..
The fact that he got that amount to "buill ah flats" tells you that he "skimpin" from the start.

Postby redmanjp » August 5th, 2013, 8:58 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:
hong kong phooey wrote:Also suggest buy every thing on your credit card, hopefully your credit card has cash back and you can gain a few thousand there to use for other items.

thats a good suggestion but beware that many hardwares charge a extra 4% when doing credit card transactions, many of them don't even tell you they are doing it. :shock:

R Maye does this for sure

Bhagwansingh doesn't.

charging u and not telling u doh amount to fraud? if was me i at least report them to Consumer Affairs

Postby MG Man » August 5th, 2013, 10:33 am

call around for prices on everything
Ramlagan's in couva typically has competitive prices

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 5th, 2013, 1:14 pm

imo anything less dan 600k is pressure to get a decentish house..

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » August 5th, 2013, 2:50 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:imo anything less dan 600k is pressure to get a decentish house..

COST!
no consultancy & no planning

inter_elegance

Postby inter_elegance » August 5th, 2013, 4:03 pm

its not about being skimpish guys an upstairs house is gonna cost me too much and then my mortgage is gonna be almost 5000 which i cant afford but the land is mine and i am getting 200k so i just wanna build what i can afford and i am looking for advice so i won't be ripped off

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » August 5th, 2013, 4:08 pm

I've been looking into Guyanese Wooden houses as an alternative but still ketchin my tail to find a good supplier...

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » August 5th, 2013, 4:52 pm

inter_elegance wrote:its not about being skimpish guys an upstairs house is gonna cost me too much and then my mortgage is gonna be almost 5000 which i cant afford but the land is mine and i am getting 200k so i just wanna build what i can afford and i am looking for advice so i won't be ripped off

Best advice.
Come up with a master plan.
Tailor said plan whereby you'll only be building whats the most important to allow for comfortable living.
Proper foundations, important structural elements etc can be done for just that concept, while leaving room for future modifications to arrive at final plans over the years to come.
cant get it all right away with that, however, in time it'll come.
Banks also like seeing that you have a "base" already to work with. They tend to be more giving.

0ne bedroom / bathroom kitchen buisness for now. Save what you have remaining if any and work hrd at saving and bettering your income..

Rock Thor

Postby Rock Thor » August 6th, 2013, 12:43 am

stephengobin wrote:200k might be enough, i recently build my house its a 20 x 32 and the foundation cost me about 50k, that was include of labour, walls and labour cost about 70k and that was included of plastering inside and outside plus plastering the flooring, the roof was 45k which include of labour.
there is a guy in pasea that have materials much cheaper than all the hardware. i would pm you his contact number.

Price Master Hardware