The Ultimate Weekly mileage challenge

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
gundelero

Re: The Ultimate Weekly mileage challenge

Postby gundelero » August 25th, 2010, 12:24 pm

2002 Lexus RX300
2.4L VVT-i
540kms per tank of super - $160.00 to fill tank.
Will get pics later.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » August 25th, 2010, 9:37 pm

All of this would be a lot more meaningful is the capacity of the fuel tank is mentioned.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » August 28th, 2010, 4:55 am

mitsubishi L200 K14
4d56 N/A.
fuel tank - 55L ($80-$85) diesel
Got 530kms out of my last tank.. was really surprize.. what yall think?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 28th, 2010, 6:30 am

speedaholic wrote:mitsubishi L200 K14
4d56 N/A.
fuel tank - 55L ($80-$85) diesel
Got 530kms out of my last tank.. was really surprize.. what yall think?

Hey that's not bad at all.
This is after u cleaned ur injectors with the kerosene, yeah?

I think the 2006 PJ rangers and the BT-50's have a 70 litre tank and the avg mileage per tank for these is still around 400-450 km's.

The frontier has a 70 litre tank and it makes 650km's avg.

The navara has an 80 litre tank and I believe the avg. mileage per tank is 700-750km's.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » August 28th, 2010, 8:13 am

lighthammer wrote:I think the 2006 PJ rangers and the BT-50's have a 70 litre tank and the avg mileage per tank for these is still around 400-450 km's.

the most i have ever fill my tank was 62L so the 70L should hold true - according to my iphone fuel check app - i am getting 480 KM average and 550 km best. Somehow i think it is still inaccurate - as the fuel level need to down to the same as the first to get a precise reading.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » August 28th, 2010, 6:03 pm

hmmm nice niceee... :) and yea thats after i used teh kerosene.... going to do another kero mixture next fill up.. most likey on monday.... i'll monitor milage differances...

Slimklim

Postby Slimklim » August 28th, 2010, 7:54 pm

the average mileage i get with my k34 is 20.5 miles per gallon of diesel.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 28th, 2010, 11:09 pm

I almost reach my goal.....

Mostly easy shifting and I had inflated the kumho 265/70R16's up to 35psi last weekend. Didn't really affect the ride much (not in a bouncy frontier) but it definitely rolls a lot easier.

Tried to stay out of boost and shift at around 2400-2500rpms. I discovered the boost kicks in at around 2200 RPM for the ZD30T frontiers too.

I know why I couldn't touch 700km's this week - someone else was driving the truck this week and they like to rev it hard (no matter how much I tell them not to).

Maybe next week.... I'll reach that elusive 700kms.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 29th, 2010, 12:00 am

civic minded wrote:
lighthammer wrote:I think the 2006 PJ rangers and the BT-50's have a 70 litre tank and the avg mileage per tank for these is still around 400-450 km's.

the most i have ever fill my tank was 62L so the 70L should hold true - according to my iphone fuel check app - i am getting 480 KM average and 550 km best. Somehow i think it is still inaccurate - as the fuel level need to down to the same as the first to get a precise reading.

So from your numbers - I'm guessing the Ranger/Bt-50 has a reserve of about 5 litres or so (pretty average for a truck, I'd guess).

Hence your reserve tank should carry you another 50km's to the nearest gas station before the truck sputters & dies.

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » August 29th, 2010, 4:03 pm

lighthammer wrote:
civic minded wrote:

So from your numbers - I'm guessing the Ranger/Bt-50 has a reserve of about 5 litres or so (pretty average for a truck, I'd guess).

Hence your reserve tank should carry you another 50km's to the nearest gas station before the truck sputters & dies.

Fuel reserve is usually 10 Litres for the Mazdas. Also, you can get up to 4 litres of fuel in the filling line. This compensates for the numbers your getting.

Manufacturers do not usually tell you how much reserve there is cause they DO NOT want you to enter there for obvious reasons.

Also, your guesstimate of 50km left on tank reserve only holds true for straight, flat or level road.... Slushing around of the fuel in the tank will lead to starvation of the fuel system. Which will result in engine lock... regardless of "how much you have in reserve"

As you were...

acmilan11

Postby acmilan11 » August 29th, 2010, 10:17 pm

k well this amt of mileage was recorded from my sportero..the pic I took was from my phone so the figures are a little hard to see but yes I managed to get what I wanted which was 800km's...I never tried bak though but I'm doing about 48,000 kilos now

acmilan11

Postby acmilan11 » August 29th, 2010, 10:22 pm

shox my bad ppl...engine size is a 2.5 turbo and it's manual

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 30th, 2010, 12:08 am

k well this amt of mileage was recorded from my sportero..the pic I took was from my phone so the figures are a little hard to see but yes I managed to get what I wanted which was 800km's

800kms.
I hate you. :) :) :P :P

Good job man, is that your regular mileage per tank?

acmilan11

Postby acmilan11 » August 30th, 2010, 7:19 am

na the regular is usually 750kms...more or less the same kinda speed and shifting like you, a/c does be on like about 3/4 of of the time..is only traffic and driving hard does affect the mileage.

Cooper

Postby Cooper » September 7th, 2010, 7:58 am

acmilan11, one question.....

While your vehicle is in forward motion, which do you think would be more IMPORTANT for your personal safety and the others around you on the road?

is it...

A) Taking a picture of your gauges

or...

B) paying attention to your surroundings

....next time, pull over, turn on your hazards then take the picture if you really need to get it right then and there.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » September 7th, 2010, 9:16 am

^^ that goes without saying.

Fellas, plz don't take pics of ur gauges and odometer while driving.

Do it while at home in the garage or just before filling up at the gas station :) :).

This safety message courtesy the kind folks at Trinituner Diesel Boyz.

topshotta20

Postby topshotta20 » September 12th, 2010, 12:36 am

- Toyota 2.5 Hilux/2009
- $105.23 diesel
- 70.151L
- My mileage: 764.7km on one tank
- Unipet full up

Dont think i ever want to see that light come on again
What is the capacity of those tanks
Will have to check the manual

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » September 12th, 2010, 1:28 am

bah dammit...
can't reach 700km's yet.

At least the fuel light didn't come on this time.

Postby 3stagevtec » September 12th, 2010, 2:41 am

unless acmilan11 is a left hander, it seems to me that a passenger took that picture.. just saying..

Cooper

Postby Cooper » September 13th, 2010, 8:22 am

3stagevtec wrote:unless acmilan11 is a left hander, it seems to me that a passenger took that picture.. just saying..

read...

acmilan11 wrote:...the pic I took was from my phone...

If he said someone else took it, I wouldn't have highlighted my concerns.

Anyhow, do you guys roll with any emergency fuel containers in case the fuel gauge/light isn't reading what is actually left in the tank? To me, I think the needle on most fuel gauges tend to drop like a stone after it pases the halfway mark.

700Km per tank can be achieved on most of the pickups in the market today.... and in some cases, even more. But you have to go to some extremes to squeeze every last drop out of your tank. Check this link for some tips:

http://www.hypermiling.com/car-mpg.html

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » September 13th, 2010, 3:51 pm

i still making only 600km with conservative driving :(
d nav's does drink diesel

acmilan11

Postby acmilan11 » September 20th, 2010, 8:38 pm

hey my bad peeps bought taking pictures during driving...didn't really know where my head was at that time...my bad again

Postby nervewrecker » July 29th, 2013, 11:31 pm

Close to 950km last week with $92.00.

D22 Frontier, TD27 engine.

Had no intention of checking actually but checking it this week. Already close to 400km and I haven't used up half tank.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » July 30th, 2013, 12:38 am

^^ waw.. that is value... i usually get 500-550 out of an $80 fill....

Postby sliderz1 » July 30th, 2013, 10:16 am

nervewrecker wrote:Close to 950km last week with $92.00.

D22 Frontier, TD27 engine.

Had no intention of checking actually but checking it this week. Already close to 400km and I haven't used up half tank.

:faint:

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 30th, 2013, 12:45 pm

My mileage pretty good.

4D56 in 2007 Sportero (dunno fuel tank capacity).

I usually never let the tank run below 1/4 and I get 600kms.

droppa

Postby droppa » July 30th, 2013, 2:07 pm

stupes, fuel mileage, wtf is that?????

Postby nervewrecker » July 30th, 2013, 2:40 pm

Just over 500km with half tank so far, got pics. :)

Last edited by nervewrecker on July 30th, 2013, 2:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 30th, 2013, 2:48 pm

droppa wrote:stupes, fuel mileage, wtf is that?????

I could coast now. ;)
Coming from a highly modded subaru daily driven with about $400-$500 per week on premium, to $80 every two weeks for diesel.

My truck rocks (but I miss my scooby)

Postby *KRONIK* » July 30th, 2013, 5:49 pm

Whey.....
Allyuh fellaz great yes...
My dad's 3.0t automatic ranger barely gets 450km per tank...
:-(

Dats around $80 diesel...

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”