Does it Make Sense Putting a Big Engine in a FWD Car?

NotHim

Does it Make Sense Putting a Big Engine in a FWD Car?

Postby NotHim » July 24th, 2013, 4:17 pm

well hey guys another silly nothim question
as the topic says i wnna know if it makes sense putting a big(fast) engine in a fwd car or if it makes better sense to be humble until car #2 comes around and go for awd?

Re: Does it Make Sense Putting a Big Engine in a FWD Car?

Postby Rory Phoulorie » July 24th, 2013, 9:14 pm

You could upgrade the engine in the FWD car. You would just have to contend with torque steer on acceleration. You should also upgrade the brakes and suspension to help keep better control of the car.

What kind of AWD car are you looking at? Tiida? AD Wagon? GT-R? Evo?

Postby Ted_v2 » July 24th, 2013, 9:19 pm

Wait for car number 2. Get something that's a better platform.

Postby black start » July 25th, 2013, 2:49 am

what's the definition of big(fast engine)?

when one of my uncles drove a bone stock ga15de powered b14, he almost shat himself. Couldn't believe a car could go so fast.srs

big and fast are relative terms....

mastamind17

Postby mastamind17 » July 25th, 2013, 12:02 pm

black start wrote:what's the definition of big(fast engine)?

when one of my uncles drove a bone stock ga15de powered b14, he almost shat himself. Couldn't believe a car could go so fast.srs

big and fast are relative terms....

NotHim

Postby NotHim » July 25th, 2013, 7:22 pm

well i'm gnna upgrade brakes shortly (for peace of mind :roll: )
ummmm I'm gnna see wht i can do to this ..
and my definition of fast is like the best 2.0L engine tht could fit in my lancer
i think my car to behbeh for a 4G63 so i'm srry for the blasphemy but i'm thinking neo vvl
and hear this i hadda get accustom to the torque steering cuz me dunno wa d mechanic do when he service the car but she flyin
Car #2's gnna be either a primera (awd) legacy or evo 5\6

Postby Ted_v2 » July 25th, 2013, 7:41 pm

What car is it you have now?

NotHim

Postby NotHim » July 25th, 2013, 8:11 pm

ck2 lancer

trini iceman

Postby trini iceman » July 25th, 2013, 8:35 pm

The power of engine is not really the issue but the weight and positioning of the engine installed. That lil sr ent all that powerful or heavy so you should be ok with some good tyres and brakes.

Postby Ted_v2 » July 25th, 2013, 9:36 pm

I have a ck2 also. I won't mod anything eg crossbreed , I have a dohc automatic. A manual swap is a great option for a bit more power. But what I'm gonna do is to keep it stock and upgrade ina timing. Either to a legacy or something rwd turbo.

Unless you wanna keep your ck. Don't do any major mods

NotHim

Postby NotHim » July 26th, 2013, 4:16 am

i intend on keeping the ck ..2 cars is the goal
so i guess i answered myself i'll mod it
so now i guess its to handle up the brakes, tires before the new engine :D

Postby Ted_v2 » July 26th, 2013, 7:21 am

What brakes? And engine

Postby BrotherHood » July 26th, 2013, 10:52 am

In the first place, why would you want to put a Nissan engine in a Mitsubishi?

Not saying it cannot be done but why the crossbreed?
What is the current drivetrain of the car?

Postby Ted_v2 » July 26th, 2013, 11:48 am

Yea. If you want a Nissan engine, sell the ck and buy a b13 with a sr20

NotHim

Postby NotHim » July 27th, 2013, 2:48 pm

BrotherHood wrote:In the first place, why would you want to put a Nissan engine in a Mitsubishi?

Not saying it cannot be done but why the crossbreed?
What is the current drivetrain of the car?

to me the sr is just the easiest option to get the car pullin healthy
right now its a 4G15dohc

Postby black start » July 27th, 2013, 11:39 pm

4g93 is a decent motor and no blehbleh thing....

4g63 even better and both should be able to go into your chassis without any major modification. Price may be a bit higher than the average nissan engine but it won't be another statistic.

NotHim

Postby NotHim » July 28th, 2013, 1:23 am

black start wrote:4g93 is a decent motor and no blehbleh thing....

4g63 even better and both should be able to go into your chassis without any major modification. Price may be a bit higher than the average nissan engine but it won't be another statistic.

the cost of tht eh ..........whew
but the 4G93t/4G63 in my car ..both awd ..if i make the fwd will i still be getting all out of them?

Postby Ted_v2 » July 28th, 2013, 7:31 am

several persons say the RPM wont be matched properly and your likely to spin a bearing, others have it working so for years. so its up to you.

me personally? id go with 4g93tGDI with a tiptronic tranny. D2 coilovers, CS 5 hole swap , the usual front and back bracing, Lower H brace, door A brace, and some evo 4-5 recaros.

CK is a awesome chassis, Tons of aftermarket support

NotHim

Postby NotHim » July 28th, 2013, 7:48 am

ok ok I had a mind it'd be lil off ..i want perfection tho ..so fire bun dat
but now hear this ..why GDI? I does hear rel men brakesin frm that

Postby Ted_v2 » July 28th, 2013, 7:52 am

GDI turbo= Only fwd turbo engine that would fit into a ck without any mods and mixing or matching of gearboxes ect. I would prefer to do that.

price also isnt too bad. almost 10k-12k for a GDI turbo. those other engines is more expensive.

(4g63/93)

NotHim

Postby NotHim » July 28th, 2013, 1:13 pm

hmmm alright sounds lil attractive I still have to prep the car 1st tho so I'll keep tht in mind
after i sort out the brakes tires and wht not and hav a 28-20k I'll revive this thread
you have all been so helpful

trini iceman

Postby trini iceman » July 29th, 2013, 9:52 am

I have a 6a13tt on a 4g93 fwd gearbox. Putting a fwd box on the awd engines would work just fine because at the end of the day they are four bangers. I have to manage a 6 cyl. You'll be fine just get it done properly to begin with. OH, tiptronic needs to be looked after like a baby and mitsu tips tend to fail so good luck.

Postby BrotherHood » July 29th, 2013, 3:31 pm

NotHim, people tend to 'run' from GDI because they want to 'get away' with untimely maintenance. It's just probably a bit more sensitive to failing if not properly maintained. All the GDI needs is timely maintenance and care. Do that and you will have n problems.

NotHim

Postby NotHim » July 30th, 2013, 12:06 pm

ooh i see so then gdi isn't all that bad then I just gotta teat it right and it'll be ok.
did some reading up on iit I'll definitely look toward that instead of the sr