pioneer wrote:http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Do-not-attack-me-215763981.html
UNITED National Congress (UNC) candidate Khadijah Ameen is asking her political rival, interim leader of the Independent Liberal Party (ILP) Jack Warner, to refrain from personal attacks in the run-up to the July 29 Chaguanas West by-election.
Ameen said Warner’s main concern should be the people of the constituency and not her.
Ameen was speaking to the media following a ceremony to distribute housing repair grants at the Devi Mandir, New Settlement, Chaguanas.
Minister of Local Government Dr Surujrattan Rambachan and Chaguanas Mayor Orlando Nagessar also attended.
During a cottage meeting on Monday, Warner said he would be disclosing photographs at a public meeting on Friday that would show Ameen was not fit to be elected.
He said some of the images were not fit for viewing by children.
Ameen said: “I also notice that there is a concentrated effort to attack my character. There is an effort to get personal and to personalise these attacks.
“What is more relevant? The people of this constituency or your own political gain?
“It is abhorrent to see a man who is old enough to be my grandfather attacking me in the worst way personally, but my focus will be on the people and I will not lose that focus.
“I will continue to walk and to work and to deliver to the people of Chaguanas West.”
Ameen said she will not be involved in any mudslinging or “bacchanal” during her campaign.
And she said she was shocked to see the lack of work undertaken in the constituency while Warner was the Member of Parliament.
She said since she began campaigning, there were many complaints, and she was attempting to assist.
Rambachan said Warner created an “illusion” that he was assisting the people of Chaguanas West, when he was really assisting people outside of the constituency.
“While he speaks of representation, it’s an illusion about representation. You can do that very easily if you use the newspapers for publicity.
“You create that illusion, ‘I am this big representative’. Sitting down there in your office one o’clock in the morning and thinking that you are representing the people is not representing the people,” said Rambachan.
At yesterday’s ceremony, 30 people received $10,000 grants. Recipients were from Chaguanas West, Chaguanas East and Caroni Central.
Ameen said the reason she attended the ceremony was because areas in the first two constituencies fell under the jurisdiction of the Tunapuna/Piarco Regional Corporation, of which she is the chairman.
Rambachan said the function had nothing to do with the by-election
LOLOLOLOL - what have other MP's done for THEIR constituency?
Some of them don't even know where it is
LOL@ threatening people into voting for them "or else"
rfari wrote:Hmmm.
Ass and tiddies. Yumm! Cyar wait!
Skanky wrote:You all can say what you want about Khadijah but I have a lot of respect for the woman.
I went to school with her brother though I was a few years ahead of him but back in the 90's a newspaper did a story on his family.
IIRC they used to live in the roots of a tree in the Valencia forest and everyday he used to make the trek up to CIC.I don't know if she lived there as well but I used to see her back in the 90's when she was just a student travelling home almost everyday on the blue bus.Always used to wonder who the jail is this outstanding tall godhorse of a woman.
Khadijah will always have my personal respect whatever her political affiliations.
Skanky wrote:You all can say what you want about Khadijah but I have a lot of respect for the woman.
I went to school with her brother though I was a few years ahead of him but back in the 90's a newspaper did a story on his family.
IIRC they used to live in the roots of a tree in the Valencia forest and everyday he used to make the trek up to CIC.I don't know if she lived there as well but I used to see her back in the 90's when she was just a student travelling home almost everyday on the blue bus.Always used to wonder who the jail is this outstanding tall godhorse of a woman.
Khadijah will always have my personal respect whatever her political affiliations.
De Dragon wrote:Warner spennin' he morney jed. Green Hummer with Jack and ILP vinyl'ed all over pull up nex to me by GB lights yesterday. Ting look sweet!
Dizzy28 wrote:Quick question to those in the know......A few years aback wasn't Khadijah Ameen goin by the name Khadijah Ameen Rostant?
She leave she man, she man leave she?
pioneer wrote:ent she make two chile fuh ah unc injun?
Dizzy28 wrote:Quick question to those in the know......A few years aback wasn't Khadijah Ameen goin by the name Khadijah Ameen Rostant?
She leave she man, she man leave she?
mamoo_pagal wrote:pioneer wrote:ent she make two chile fuh ah unc injun?
wah ever happen to this navas woman