WTK solar energy

MonsterPower

WTK solar energy

Postby MonsterPower » January 29th, 2009, 4:38 pm

ok i have been searching the forums for info on solar panels and i still cannot come up with anything what i am looking for

i am looking for a solution to charge one battery and keep it charged so i am looking for a solar panel or solar cell that can just charge one battery

in essence i am lookingh for somn like this here locally
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/NEW-Solar-Panel-Coleman-5W-Trickle-Charger-4-RV-Truck_W0QQcmdZViewItemQQ_trkparmsZ72Q3a1205Q7c66Q3a2Q7c65Q3a12Q7c39Q3a1Q7c240Q3a1318Q7c301Q3a0Q7c293Q3a1Q7c294Q3a50QQ_trksidZp3286Q2ec0Q2em14QQhashZitem220287194041QQitemZ220287194041QQptZMotorsQ5fRVQ5fTrailerQ5fCamperQ5fPartsQ5fAccessories

Postby skylinechild » January 29th, 2009, 9:53 pm

i have one .......real big..outputs 21 volts DC.

i dont have a camera to upload pics of it......

but it was real hard to get.

and i not selling it. so doh ask .....and dont pm me askin how i get it or if u could get one..... :lol: :lol:

Postby brams112 » January 29th, 2009, 9:55 pm

northern tool.com,they have a lot.
Last edited by brams112 on July 13th, 2013, 9:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.

1NZ-FE Powered

Postby 1NZ-FE Powered » January 29th, 2009, 11:14 pm

Google Xantrex..should have what you are looking for. If you find anything there that you might want, hit me a pm and i'll let you know if you can get it locally.

For larger solar installations...check www.suntech-power.com. Hopefully there should be some installs of suntech solar solutions in T&T by mid-year. They have some good stuff. Trying to get pricing on the roof solution for my house to see if it's feasible.

Postby M_2NR » January 29th, 2009, 11:16 pm

guys since we on this topic, when it was discussed before... wasnt it illegal to import it? or some stupid block on its importation? is that still the case? or can i just go and send one to my skybox per say and it will be shipped to me, etc.

:?:

1NZ-FE Powered

Postby 1NZ-FE Powered » January 30th, 2009, 1:54 am

i don't know about it being illegal to import. We installed a small solar system a few weeks ago, and everything was shipped and cleared legitimately.

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » January 30th, 2009, 8:16 am

skylinechild wrote:i have one .......real big..outputs 21 volts DC.

i dont have a camera to upload pics of it......

but it was real hard to get.

and i not selling it. so doh ask .....and dont pm me askin how i get it or if u could get one..... :lol: :lol:

uhhh and ur point is u have one? thankx for no input

brams thannx man i will check it out

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » February 19th, 2009, 2:45 pm

so it is not illegal then?

Postby tr1ad » February 19th, 2009, 2:53 pm

check dc power systems in pt lisas

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » February 19th, 2009, 4:21 pm

calle dthem, frendly staff and prompt repsonc eon my email address with info.

will research more...

Postby tr1ad » February 19th, 2009, 4:23 pm

yup ian boon is a cool test...

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » February 19th, 2009, 4:30 pm

What about wind energy?
Would that be easier?

Re: WTK solar energy

Postby nervewrecker » July 13th, 2013, 1:48 pm

We pay vat etc on solar panels?

Customs site seems to have nada on solar.

Looking to get a charger too.

Postby black start » July 13th, 2013, 3:24 pm

MonsterPower wrote:i am looking for a solution to charge one battery and keep it charged so i am looking for a solar panel or solar cell that can just charge one battery

what are the specifications of the battery and how long you want the battery to take to charge?

I remember pricesmart had a kit. I believe it was a coleman 50W kit. Can't remember if it was mono or poly, but it was cheap, so I guessing poly....

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » July 13th, 2013, 5:21 pm

Not illegal and not charged vat or tax

Postby nervewrecker » July 13th, 2013, 5:29 pm

I emailed a skybox company and they told me it subjected to vat. Is there any way to let them know otherwise because customs site has no info.

Its not panel alone btw. Its panel and control box with a 13.7V regulator.

Postby black start » July 13th, 2013, 5:31 pm

^yea some PV panels come with it's own charge controller.....

Postby sMASH » July 14th, 2013, 4:33 am

went to a niherst expo a while back. there was a renewable energy resource booth there where the people showed that the govt is encouraging solar panels stuff by offering rebates, tax waiver etc.

Postby nervewrecker » April 3rd, 2014, 6:13 pm

Niherst project, Rochard Douglas Rd Pres primary sch. Solar panels and Rainwater Harvesting system.

Postby redmanjp » April 3rd, 2014, 6:28 pm

what matters with solar systems is its efficiency or watts per $

anyone know which brand u would get the most power for the lowest cost?

dyne

Postby dyne » April 3rd, 2014, 9:48 pm

contact DC Power Systems Ltd they go hook you up.....679-8330 /8332 ask for Ian or Ganesh

chris600

Postby chris600 » April 4th, 2014, 7:18 am

redmanjp wrote:what matters with solar systems is its efficiency or watts per $

anyone know which brand u would get the most power for the lowest cost?

^what this guy said
i did a bit of digging into this for a garden application,ie ( hydroponic water pump on a timer)
make sure and pay attention to the cost/power raito, as some "brand name" cells tend to have a seemingly high output while the cost per watt not really that practical

i had delt with DC power,great people,good service got a battery from them, got a set of second hand cells from a guy on here,(pricemart stuff) <these actually were more cost efficient that the high power cells
just my 2cents.

Postby ruffneck_12 » April 5th, 2014, 6:08 pm

and what about the smaller ones?

I want to do small DIY projects like build a solar phone charger , etc

Dragist

Re:

Postby Dragist » April 5th, 2014, 7:04 pm

tr1ad wrote:yup ian boon is a cool test...

That he is he is my Ole Boss really cool guy , how did I not see this before . when I worked with him there was some Restriction on Alternative Power it was only to be installed in areas where T&TEC don't supply power to unless special permission was given more or less the same rigmaroll you go through to install a Generator at a office .

Again that was real years ago I worked in that so info may have been changed .

Postby redmanjp » April 5th, 2014, 11:21 pm

quietdevil wrote:The only restriction that applies now is that you can not connect a solar cell to any appliance that also has a fixed supply from t and tec.

but u can connect the appliance to the solar cell if it's not connected to any mains?

Postby nervewrecker » April 5th, 2014, 11:39 pm

Someone did a paper sometime back and had an article from the newspapers (iiec the guardian) about a couple in Siparia that uses solar panels.
There is some sort of device to be installed after the t&tec meter but before the main switch to separate the circuits.
Only if the power requirement from the battery bank cannot meet the demand then power from the t&tec lines is allowed into the system.

I can't remember how exactly it works but I suppose its some sort of switch.

I don't want to start a new thread for this but anyone using led bulbs? I bought a set from pricesmart and one stop working after like a month despite the claims that it outlasts the fluorescent lights.

Postby Ted_v2 » April 6th, 2014, 6:30 am

Won't expect anything else. Leds not for dat.
I have a fluorescent spring bulb for over 6 years.

Postby nervewrecker » April 6th, 2014, 10:41 am

Actually, been wondering if that one was defective. Been using another and it holding out, light color is nice and warm as opposed to dull and white like the spring bulb. Not too bright either.

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » April 6th, 2014, 11:24 am

Isn't there a company in Trini called Solaris that deals in the solar energy systems.

xtech

Postby xtech » April 6th, 2014, 3:32 pm

there are two types of power inverters used overseas for green energy production. The latest tech is Grid tied micro inverters an then we have off-grid regular old fashion inverters. the local restriction like they said is there should be a ban on grid tied power invertors.

These inverters has to be plugged into the mains to get a sample of T&Tec supply. It then mimics the sampled power and inputs into the mains extra electric power from the solar panels. So you are powered up by both the sun and T&TEC at the same time like jump starting a car with 2 batteries.
If the panels generate more power than u can use it will "leak" back out through the meter which would slow it or move it backwards if the excess power is high enough no money for T&TEC an then T&TEC owes u they dont want that at all.

So T&TEC said line workers will get shock if they have a to repair a line during an outage like if it was a gas generator. But the thing is the grid tie inverter cant generate power if it has no power to mimic so your home goes dead even though its day time or battery bank is full. So even though that was debunked they still rather treat it like a gas even if u using a off-grid tied solar generator.

a off-grid power inverter cant share a power line while T&TEC has power or it will burn up so it has to be set up like a gas generator with a transfer switch between the main fuse box and the meter for when u wanna switch over cause it will send out power to the lines outside if there is a power outage and no protection so that has to be installed and inspected.

I just brought a $70k off-grid solar generator so i will soon be facing the music when its time to set it up. :roll: