Postby kaylex » July 3rd, 2013, 10:06 am

http://www.guardian.co.tt/business/2013 ... s-services

RBC Royal Bank Shakes up services
No more VIP treatment for ‘big clients’
Published:
Wednesday, July 3, 2013

Text Size:

BUSINESS DESK

Almost five years after Canada’s Royal Bank of Canada (RBC) bought out T&T-based RBTT, RBC is introducing a series of sweeping changes throughout its 25 branches, including trying to find alternative places for employees whose positions will become redundant, taking away VIP service for high net-worth clients and charging $4 for over-the-counter transactions. The process of branch­wide conversion has a name: Wave 1.

A bank employee, who asked not to be identified, said RBC Royal Bank has taken away its VIP services, which included a separate lounge, recent magazines and private bankers,­­­ at nine branches and is now asking them to join the queues. In its response yesterday, RBC Royal Bank said: “The bank has taken the decision to discontinue our VIP service and to implement a service offering that is better aligned to the needs of our clients which still involves direct interface with senior relationship officers.”

These changes are happening against the backdrop of the June 28 resignation of Arvinder Bharath, market head of personal banking and wife of Vasant Bharath, Minister of Trade and Industry. The Sunday Guardian reported on June 9 that Arvinder Bharath had cited personal reasons for her resignation after four years of service.

Also, the employee said the bank, wanting to limit the number of walk-in customers, is granting one free transaction over the counter, after which they will pay $4 for subsequent over-the-counter services. The aim is to get more customers to use the ATMs and free up banking halls. The bank said it was not limiting the number of walk-in customers but “offering multiple options,” including greater ATM and Internet use.

Customers are even required to make an appointment to open a new account. Regarding the fee, the bank said it was part of an established industry practice. “Our most recent review of the prices of the products and services we offer revealed that, in many instances, our prices were one of the lowest in the market and in several instances we were not charging at all, unlike other banks,” the bank’s statement stated.

The insurance product comfort plan, which pays out cash on the death of the insured, is “being done away with,” the employee said. The bank said its comfort plan and travel insurance ceased to exist from July 1 because they were “not directly connected to lending products.”

Preparing for conversion

RBC Royal Bank has also introduced what is known as the Common Caribbean Operating Model (CCOM), under which a team, headed by programme director Christopher Charron, has gone into the branches to prepare them for “conversion,” both in services and infrastructure. The branches, nine so far, are at St James, Chaguanas, Chaguaramas, San Juan, Pt Lisas, Pointe-a-Pierre, West Mall, Maraval and Diego Martin.

The staff member said some employees’ jobs were being made redundant owing to changes in some services offered at the branches. Those who were interviewed for other in-house vacancies, but did not qualify, were sent to a “transition pool” at Park Street, Port-of-Spain, for 90 days, the staff member said.

The employee said, though, not everyone was waiting out the 90 days, so the bank had been offering some employees a “package” to go home. Another employee who went into the pool said the package she was eventually offered was very good. On that point, the bank said it had decided to “adjust some of our priorities,” which included “implementing a customer-facing model that meets our clients’ needs.”

The bank said in 2012, it opened a state-of-the-art client contact centre in Chaguanas and an operations and service delivery centre at London Street, Port-of-Spain, which have collectively created approximately 300 new roles and another 200 were to be created. As for the transition pool, the bank said affected employees could update their resumés and participate in retraining, which would make them “viable candidates” for new opportunities.

No more insurance
There is another change coming: RBC Insurance Services (Caribbean) Ltd, agents for Guardian Holdings Ltd, will cease to operate. The 3,500-plus portfolio will be handed over to Guardian General Insurance Ltd between July 31 and August 31.

The bank said the establishment of the Financial Institutions Act (FIA) essentially bars financial institutions from owning and operating an insurance agency locally, which led RBC Royal Bank to “discontinue” using a company-owned insurance agency to provide insurance services to its clients. The bank said RBC Insurance would close on September 30. “No existing policyholder will be disadvantaged by this closure,” read the bank’s statement.

Seven employees are being made redundant as a result. They were scheduled to meet with RBC Royal Bank’s human resource department this week to discuss their separation packages.

more info

According to a November 29, 2012, Bloomberg report, RBC profit rose 22 per cent. Net income for the period ended October 31 was Can$1.91 billion (US$1.93 billion), or Can$1.25 a share, up from Can$1.57 billion, or Can$1.02, a year earlier, the Toronto-based Lender said in a statement. Revenue rose 12 per cent to Can$7.52 billion. Royal Bank of Canada bought RBTT Financial Group in 2007 for US$2.2 billion.

The Canadian bank offered $40 (US$6.33) per share, which represented an 18 per cent premium on the closing price of RBTT shares on September 28, 2007. The number of RBC common shares received by RBTT shareholders is based on a plus/minus ten per cent “collar,” based on an RBC share price of US$54.42.

RBC combined its Caribbean retail banking operations—with 46 branches and 68 automated banking machines in nine Caribbean countries—with that of RBTT, which has banks in ten English-speaking Caribbean countries, Suriname, the Netherlands Antilles and Aruba. The transaction resulted in RBC having 6,900 employees and more than 1.6 million clients in 130 branches in 18 countries and territories across the region and total assets of US$13.7 billion.
Last edited by kaylex on July 3rd, 2013, 10:15 am, edited 1 time in total.

Re: BRC Royal Bank Shakes up Svcs...More service charges is

Postby cinco » July 3rd, 2013, 10:11 am

lulz rbc will continue to go to the dogs

kaylex

Re: RBC Royal Bank Shakes up Svcs...More service charges is

Postby kaylex » July 3rd, 2013, 10:16 am

I use internet banking however... our older population doesnt use it... I hope the other banks dont follow suit nah

Postby 16 cycles » July 3rd, 2013, 10:19 am

According to a November 29, 2012, Bloomberg report, RBC profit rose 22 per cent.

Postby pioneer » July 3rd, 2013, 10:28 am

It good

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » July 3rd, 2013, 10:34 am

Making an appointment to open a new account isn't something new - that's standard in the UK and Canada. Article made it sound like something so incredulous

Postby wagonrunner » July 3rd, 2013, 12:02 pm

maybe because we don't live in the UK and Canada, and it is not standard practice at other banking establishements which prioritize service over efficiency.

Maybe the other establishments understand that without customer service, they'd have no bottomline. I hope they continue, and time will tell if RBC improves or loses that.

Postby RASC » July 3rd, 2013, 12:11 pm

Step in the right direction. Time to get the commercial banks up to speed and inline with the rest of the globe.

Good job. Trim the fat!

Postby cinco » July 3rd, 2013, 12:13 pm

RASC wrote:Step in the right direction. Time to get the commercial banks up to speed and inline with the rest of the globe.

Good job. Trim the fat!

guess thats why TD and BoA are now returning to cust services oriented

Postby RASC » July 3rd, 2013, 12:15 pm

Sumana.00 wrote:Making an appointment to open a new account isn't something new - that's standard in the UK and Canada. Article made it sound like something so incredulous

Trinis are scared of change.

Postby wagonrunner » July 3rd, 2013, 12:21 pm

cinco wrote:guess thats why TD and BoA are now returning to cust services oriented

yunnastan.

some could only see through a funnel. everything outside is bad because the ones they trained to follow use the method inside.

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » July 3rd, 2013, 1:21 pm

Let's see if this improves their crappy service and stupid processes

Postby Mark! » July 3rd, 2013, 1:25 pm

Berger 404 cash pan ftw!

Last edited by Mark! on July 3rd, 2013, 1:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby cinco » July 3rd, 2013, 1:27 pm

Mark! wrote:Burger 404 cash pan ftw!

doh puh yuh morney in d hairybank marksimus!

Postby Mark! » July 3rd, 2013, 1:33 pm

whoopsieeeeeeeeeee!

Postby Team Loco » July 3rd, 2013, 7:00 pm

I had a major fallout with them last week. Home branch cheques are no longer cleared right away. I use to deposit via "fas deposit". I cant afford to wait in line. Usually home branch cheques are cleared overnight. Now it takes 4 working days .that makes no sense to me

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » July 3rd, 2013, 11:13 pm

^^^ RBC is a waste ah fackin time ... should go out of business ... shiddy service all round

Postby hydroep » July 3rd, 2013, 11:22 pm

It seems a lot of people swallowed these charges without much of a fuss. Most unlike the uproar that occurred last year when they tried to implement the 1% fee on foreign currency Credit Card transactions.

They'll probably make another attempt to sneak that one in during "Wave 2".

Postby Chimera » July 3rd, 2013, 11:46 pm

so that $4 "per transaction"

if i go to to cash 5 cheques from 5 different people plus pay credit card bill plus withdraw some cash

thats 7 transactions with one being free?

or a transaction is everything you do while at the counter

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » July 4th, 2013, 6:41 am

Bareback

Postby Bareback » July 4th, 2013, 12:08 pm

I was thinking that the fees aren't outrageous if you take one of their bundled plans or if you manage your banking activity effectively. But then I saw the Mortgage Management fee of 1% of principal amount AND this is just effin greed!!!!!!!!!! You have to pay the mortgage rate of interest and 1% on top of that. F that!!!!

Postby pioneer » July 4th, 2013, 12:30 pm

Piss on RBC banking morons?

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 4th, 2013, 6:56 pm

pioneer wrote:Piss on RBC banking morons?

RedTiger

Postby RedTiger » July 4th, 2013, 8:28 pm

$4 dollar for to withdraw ! ... WTF

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » July 4th, 2013, 8:29 pm

Fcuk banks... Credit union ftw

RedTiger

Postby RedTiger » July 4th, 2013, 8:33 pm

Credit Unions ? Hmm .. will check this out, thanks.

Postby pioneer » July 4th, 2013, 10:22 pm

Plenty credit unions have atm cards now

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » July 5th, 2013, 5:06 am

pioneer wrote:Plenty credit unions have atm cards now

and they also charging 1% a month for mortgages, and want to make you wait 3 months to get your money back if you need it.

I love how people beating up for $4, but will go and buy kfc everytime the price goes up

Re: RBC Royal Bank Shakes up Svcs...More Changes re: Credit

Postby M_2NR » January 31st, 2014, 12:46 pm

Anyone checked their latest CC Statement and noticed the crap about Transactions with Regards to Credit Balances?
They are no longer going to honour purchases made based on your credit balance and only your credit limit. So if your credit limit is $3000.00 and say you added $1000.00 (Total to spend: $4000.00) you can still only spend $3000.00.

If you have to do a purchase in such a fashion you have to go into the branch for a 24 hour temp. credit increase...

And if you aren't satisfied with your current credit limit you can go in and get reevaluated.

Re: RBC Royal Bank Shakes up Svcs...More Changes re: Credit

Postby noshownogo » January 31st, 2014, 1:13 pm

M_2NR wrote:Anyone checked their latest CC Statement and noticed the crap about Transactions with Regards to Credit Balances?
They are no longer going to honour purchases made based on your credit balance and only your credit limit. So if your credit limit is $3000.00 and say you added $1000.00 (Total to spend: $4000.00) you can still only spend $3000.00.

If you have to do a purchase in such a fashion you have to go into the branch for a 24 hour temp. credit increase...

And if you aren't satisfied with your current credit limit you can go in and get reevaluated.

Don't get this, and I only see it as contradicting what the banking institutions "striving" for.