DIESEL SOLD FOR GUNS *suspects charged*

Re: DIESEL SOLD FOR GUNS

Postby Redman » June 24th, 2013, 11:07 am

pete wrote:As long as the subsidy exists this crap will continue.

If the source is not at the consumer pumps, how does the subsidy fit in?

Petrotrin sells ALL fuel at International Market prices- I think spot prices-X

Unipet and NP purchase the fuel at X with a subvention from GORTT that equates to the Subsidy(roughly 75% of International Market prices.Therefore Unipet/NP pay a net of 25% of X for their fuel.Call it Y

SO regardless of where taken from once it has been bought at Y the GORTT has already subsidized it.

The margin on 'bunkered fuel is therefore a minimum of 300% X-Y which is the subsidy.

So if I sell subsidized fuel at market it effectively reflects a transfer from GORTT to me.

Postby wagonrunner » June 24th, 2013, 11:10 am

Redman wrote:
pete wrote:As long as the subsidy exists this crap will continue.

If the source is not at the consumer pumps, how does the subsidy fit in?

Petrotrin sells ALL fuel at International Market prices- I think spot prices-X

Unipet and NP purchase the fuel at X with a subvention from GORTT that equates to the Subsidy(roughly 75% of International Market prices.Therefore Unipet/NP pay a net of 25% of X for their fuel.Call it Y

SO regardless of where taken from once it has been bought at Y the GORTT has already subsidized it.

The margin on 'bunkered fuel is therefore a minimum of 300% X-Y which is the subsidy.

So if I sell subsidized fuel at market it effectively reflects a transfer from GORTT to me.

and the possibility of the source being before it's sold?

Postby Redman » June 24th, 2013, 2:11 pm

Very real

Stolen fuel is 100% profit.

I think the real volumes leave from Petrotrins jetty

when the minister says its like drugs-he dunno how right he is-we getting token finds and the real weight untouched

Postby wagonrunner » June 24th, 2013, 3:18 pm

so again, If that's the case ................... subsidy?

Postby pete » June 24th, 2013, 3:28 pm

To stop me from filling 10 barrels of diesel to carry to Grenada to make $7000 a weekend

Postby Redman » June 24th, 2013, 3:49 pm

wagonrunner wrote:so again, If that's the case ................... subsidy?

Im not sure Im getting your point

I think the subsidy is AN issue to be discussed-not THE issue WRT this topic

Separate from that is the issue of stolen and illegal sale of subsidized fuel.

We need to stop the illegal business because its illegal.

We cannot remove the subsidy just to prevent the illegal spin off.

However we like to kill something instead of managing it.

We need on the ground, everyday enforcement not spastic bursts

Postby SR » June 25th, 2013, 9:28 am

So how did they get those storage tanks............they only held the small fry what about the big fish......another calypsonian? Insiders in np....gas station owners.....yet u say u have been observing for a while but no leads on the big boys in charge other than saying a gang leader from beetham.....is this the same as the scrap iron dealer who still uses the highway as access for his buisness

Postby pugboy » June 25th, 2013, 3:54 pm

has a big fish narcotics importer/distributor ever been caught in this country in modern times ?

Postby rspann » June 25th, 2013, 7:39 pm

Machel selling ruuumm,and Iwer selling Diesel!

Postby brams112 » June 25th, 2013, 7:45 pm

pugboy wrote:^^
has a big fish narcotics importer/distributor ever been caught in this country in modern times ?

They caught the sardine he had for bait down the islands.

Postby SR » June 26th, 2013, 8:14 am

Nope all big fish swim away small fry alone in d nets and if yuh squeel head gets sent back to colombia

Postby wagonrunner » June 26th, 2013, 12:24 pm

Redman wrote:
wagonrunner wrote:so again, If that's the case ................... subsidy?
Im not sure Im getting your point

I think the subsidy is AN issue to be discussed-not THE issue WRT this topic

strange. you seem to have gotten it.

Re: DIESEL SOLD FOR GUNS *suspects charged*

Postby janfar » June 27th, 2013, 12:56 am

TWO fishermen were each granted $45,000 bail to be approved by the Clerk of the Peace yesterday after they appeared in court charged in connection with the resale of subsidised diesel fuel.
The men were arrested last Saturday at Pioneer Drive, Sea Lots.
Dhaniram Maraj, 33, of Deenah Street, St Augustine, and 27-year-old Steve Joseph, of Pioneer Drive, Sea Lots, both pleaded not guilty when they appeared before Magistrate Marcia Murray.
The men, who were represented by Pennelope Beckles-Robinson, are charged with knowingly being concerned in a fraudulent attempt at the evasion of the laws and restrictions of the Customs Act relating to the exportation of certain goods, to wit 28,000 litres of subsidised product, contrary to the provision of Section 154 of the Customs Act Chapter 78:01.
They are also jointly charged with knowingly concealing in four tanks, situated at Pioneer Drive, certain goods to wit 28,000 litres, with intent to evade the provision of the Excise Laws contrary to Section 57 of Customs Act Chapter 78:50.
Maraj was additionally charged with not producing any certificate in respect of certain exercisable goods, to wit approximately 5,455 litres of diesel which was transported on TAZ 7156 contrary to Section 40(1) of the Excise Act.
He also pleaded not guilty to that offence.
Maraj was ordered to report to St Joseph Police Station between 6 a.m and 6 p.m every Monday and Friday, while Joseph has to report on the same days during the same period at Besson Street Police Station.
The two will reappear on July 4 for the magistrate to consider granting them cash bail in the event they do not access bail, after their attorney requested an alternative cash bail given the need for the $45,000 to be approved.

Postby janfar » June 27th, 2013, 1:02 am

So these 2 fellas had bank to buy all that diesel... and if I had all that money I would not look like this...
ex710.jpg
ex710.jpg (51.89 KiB) Viewed 1231 times
ex87.jpg
ex87.jpg (60.03 KiB) Viewed 1231 times

Postby brams112 » June 27th, 2013, 7:26 am

janfar wrote:So these 2 fellas had bank to buy all that diesel... and if I had all that money I would not look like this...

28000 liters of diesel is just 42000 dollars,multiply that by the amount they selling in us an then you have money,sometimes I wonder how some criminals get big time lawyers,but normal ones have to beg for legal aid,them kind of racket men can't bling out.

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » June 27th, 2013, 8:01 am

in trinidad its hard to tell who really has the money, but most of dem who jiving Almera and have millions in the bank from criminal activity are the ones who need to be jailed.....

Postby rspann » June 27th, 2013, 1:05 pm

Thats the two Mr Bigs?