The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Mr.Bollywood

Re: The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby Mr.Bollywood » June 23rd, 2013, 3:55 pm

^^^ yuh might wanna check that voice mail ;-)

Postby SmokeyGTi » June 23rd, 2013, 10:11 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:Had an inspire, but battery life was horrid.

Might put a custom rom on the s2 later....IF im bored :lol:

try AOKP or PacRom (Pac man rom)
I'm currently running PAC Rom - very stable. sweet features - able to set apps to run in tablet mode etc..

risley93

Postby risley93 » June 23rd, 2013, 11:32 pm

Can the samsung galaxy infuse be upgraded or rooted to use a custom rom ?? :?

jungle_fever

Postby jungle_fever » June 24th, 2013, 2:30 am

thanks fellas think i am going to get the nexus. any suggestions on where to get it

Mr.Bollywood

Postby Mr.Bollywood » June 24th, 2013, 4:56 am

@risley any Android phone can be rooted, an a rom can be installed, you just have to find one

@ jungle fever right now bro your best shot is Amazon because they all sold out down here , tuners rell like that phone

risley93

Postby risley93 » June 24th, 2013, 6:39 am

orr.. is it hard to do ???

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » June 24th, 2013, 9:02 am

risley93 wrote:orr.. is it hard to do ???

pretty simple, just read up enough to make sure you understand the process.
http://theunlockr.com
http://theunlockr.com/roms/android-roms ... e-4g-roms/
http://theunlockr.com/how-tos/android-h ... g-how-tos/

you should get all the info there

DionYorker

Postby DionYorker » June 24th, 2013, 2:54 pm

Hey Droids wanted to know...Apkmania is it any good....i am not a techy so a simple reply and explanation is all i need.

Plus is i really necessary to mod rom your phone if you dont know nothing about android mods...

Postby Chimera » June 24th, 2013, 2:57 pm

what is the best paid app to find your phone incase its stolen?

currently using cerberus

Mr.Bollywood

Postby Mr.Bollywood » June 24th, 2013, 4:53 pm

@dion ...apkmania is wonderful! Most of the paid apps are available at apkmania
Now you will have to manually update said app every theres an update....but nevertheless its a great place to get paid apps for freeeeeee:grin::-)

Now it is not necessary to mod a rom on your phone we just do it cuz we bored , have time and curious about software!

Mr.Bollywood

Postby Mr.Bollywood » June 24th, 2013, 4:56 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:what is the best paid app to find your phone incase its stolen?

currently using cerberus

To me avast free anti virus protection works great

Allows u to auto shot off the phone, wipe data , track the phone via a friends phone/computer it also allows text commands and can also sound an alarm as u text it so it works great, helped recover a lost htc one x

Postby Chimera » June 24th, 2013, 6:28 pm

lol check the cerebrus list of commands

cerberus password find (to locate your device)
cerberus password siminfo (to get SIM card info)
cerberus password wipe (to wipe your device memory)
cerberus password wipesd (to wipe the SD card)
cerberus password lock code (to lock your device with a password, replace *code* with the lock code you desire)
cerberus password unlock (to unlock your device)
cerberus password alarm text (to display a message and play a loud alarm, replace *text* with the message you want to be displayed)
cerberus password takepicture (to take a picture and send it to your email address, the front camera will be used if available)
cerberus password enabledata (to enable data access on your device)
cerberus password message text (to display a message, replace *text* with the message you want to be displayed)
cerberus password startemergency hours (to make the device send its location periodically, replace *hours* with the number of hours from one alert to the next)
cerberus password stopemergency (to stop emergency mode, the device will stop sending its location periodically)
cerberus password call number (to call a phone, replace *number* with the phone number you want to call, or don't write a number to make Cerberus call the sms sender)
cerberus password screenshot (to grab a screenshot and send it to your email address)
cerberus password enablewifi (to enable WiFi and automatically connect to open networks)
cerberus password capturevideo (to capture a video and send it to your email address)
cerberus password reboot (to reboot the device (works only on rooted devices))
cerberus password speak text (to make the device speak a message, replace *text* with the message you want to be spoken)
cerberus password enableroaming (to turn on data roaming)

and the app is hidden, its not in the app list, you need to type in a code and dial for the app to open

i install it on a padna phone when i unlock it for him and steady making the phone say "mother fcker i am watching you", "we are going to kill you" all hours of the night

he does ask me about it and i does ask him if he crazy or have demons.

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » June 24th, 2013, 7:18 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:what is the best paid app to find your phone incase its stolen?

currently using cerberus

i use where's my droid. Very simple and does it's job. There is a free and paid version. You can try the free before you purchase the full version.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » June 24th, 2013, 7:21 pm

will check out where's my droid....

Postby DFC » June 24th, 2013, 8:03 pm

yeah broski i dl stuff from there and its legit.

Postby M_2NR » June 24th, 2013, 10:07 pm

'low the cracked apk talk na :|
unless you seeketh a ban.

Postby Trini Hookah » June 24th, 2013, 10:12 pm

Someone said cracked apks?

Hayyy ;)

Postby stev » June 24th, 2013, 10:20 pm

Samsung Enters Joint Venture with SGL Group, Carbon Fiber Handsets Could be on the Way

Samsung has earned a particular rap for developing cheap plasticy phones. Whether you like the current design model or not, Samsung seems to be happy with it. To be perfectly honest, there’s no reason why they wouldn’t be since they are the top smartphone manufacturer. For the most part, they develop with plastic because it’s relatively easy to work with, and it’s also quite inexpensive.

I’m sure many of you will be happy to know, however that Samsung is actually looking into creating devices with carbon fiber in the future. The division of Samsung that handles build materials, Samsung Petrochemical just entered a joint venture with SGL Group. SGL is actually a carbon fiber developer, which means pretty much what you’d think. According to the press release on the joining, the combined forces will “develop new industrial and electronic applications with carbon composite materials for Samsung and the Korean market.”

The joint company will now rightfully be named Samsung SGL Carbon Composite Materials, and 50% will be owned by Samsung. The press release states that the new company will “provide a stable long-term supply of carbon fiber materials for Samsung and promote its use in various Samsung products and applications such as consumer electronics, medical devices and engineering applications.”

Don’t expect new materials in Samsung’s handsets to crop up anytime soon though. The boons from this joint venture probably won’t come into fruition for at least a year, maybe longer. That means the Galaxy Note III will probably be plasticy, just like the Galaxy S4.

The cost of using carbon fiber may end up being a little higher than Samsung is used to, so let’s hope this works out. Build quality will certainly benefit all around if Samsung ups their game in that department. To translate, other companies would be forced to adapt in order to compete with Samsung. That is, of course, except for HTC who released the gorgeous One handset.

http://androidheadlines.com/2013/06/sam ... e-way.html

Xplode

Postby Xplode » June 26th, 2013, 9:35 am

2ner's notice my daughter's S3 takes out pictures and comes out rotated, how to set it back to straight ,just used her phone to reply to this post and this

viewtopic.php?f=2&t=512735

plz not too much a guy to play up with technology

Postby DFC » June 26th, 2013, 3:19 pm

Xplode wrote:2ner's notice my daughter's S3 takes out pictures and comes out rotated, how to set it back to straight ,just used her phone to reply to this post and this

maybe its set to landscape mode?

or disable screen rotation when taking pics.

also you should have the option to rotate the picture when u view it in gallery.

Postby DFC » June 26th, 2013, 3:20 pm

Xplode wrote:2ner's notice my daughter's S3 takes out pictures and comes out rotated, how to set it back to straight ,just used her phone to reply to this post and this

maybe its set to landscape mode?

or disable screen rotation when taking pics.

also you should have the option to rotate the picture when u view it in gallery.

DRS2442

Postby DRS2442 » June 26th, 2013, 3:47 pm

General Update guys! I just (about 2 hours ago) got an update that the Google Maps Directions for T&T work now :)

Mr.Bollywood

Postby Mr.Bollywood » June 26th, 2013, 3:51 pm

Wohhh awesome just tried it!! They got it working thanks to waze , they bought waze app I believe

DRS2442

Postby DRS2442 » June 26th, 2013, 4:13 pm

I actually was having a convo with a Trini who works there, and he wasn't even aware that it wasn't available in T&T.

He raised the issue to the maps dept, a while before the waze deal closed, but I guess it may be a contributing factor to it.

It was just earlier today he told me to check to see if it works now

BrandoHD

Postby BrandoHD » June 26th, 2013, 6:08 pm

DRS2442 wrote:I actually was having a convo with a Trini who works there, and he wasn't even aware that it wasn't available in T&T.

He raised the issue to the maps dept, a while before the waze deal closed, but I guess it may be a contributing factor to it.

It was just earlier today he told me to check to see if it works now

I highly doubt that Waze has anything to do with this, that deal has not been completely cleared by the overseeing bodies yet

I think your friend has more to do with it, did he say anything about actual navigation coming to Trinidad?

Postby pete » June 26th, 2013, 7:11 pm

Was now coming here to post about the google navigation working now in case nobody else realised :)

*edit* Navigation app doesn't work but you will get directions in google maps now.

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » June 26th, 2013, 9:05 pm

Google Play edition Galaxy S4 and HTC One.
noice!!!!

Captain Awesome

Postby Captain Awesome » June 27th, 2013, 7:50 am

Nexus 4 owners, you need to try this...

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showpos ... ostcount=7

Its the new camera that cropped up in the Google Edition HTC and Samsung phones. Works great for me so far.

Postby RASC » June 27th, 2013, 7:53 am

DRS2442 wrote:General Update guys! I just (about 2 hours ago) got an update that the Google Maps Directions for T&T work now :)

Bessness!!!

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » June 27th, 2013, 8:45 am

anyone looking for an S4?

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=512895

yet to to try the new Google Maps Directions