Sound Systems Discussion, please read first post

Would you support a local P.A. System / DJ Forum???

Yes
88%
No
12%

Total votes: 167

kaylex

Re: P.A. Systems, DJ Systems, Pro audio men.....

Postby kaylex » June 17th, 2013, 11:51 am

Aye fellas - I buy a lil turntable -PIONEER DDJ.. was wondering what laptop would be able to run the serato itch software without hiccups and freezing...

what specs you all suggest would do just that >>

thanks in advance

intelMAX

Postby intelMAX » June 17th, 2013, 2:24 pm

^

4Gb DDR3 RAM & a dual core processor 2.4GHz or so should be able to run your software smoothly.

Postby gt4tified » June 18th, 2013, 2:27 pm

kaylex wrote:Aye fellas - I buy a lil turntable -PIONEER DDJ.. was wondering what laptop would be able to run the serato itch software without hiccups and freezing...

what specs you all suggest would do just that >>

thanks in advance

Alienware....talk dun. 0X

kaylex

Postby kaylex » June 19th, 2013, 2:35 pm

so not necessarily a mac pro then ??

Postby kurpal_v2 » June 19th, 2013, 9:35 pm

kaylex wrote:so not necessarily a mac pro then ??

No hoss :lol:, for what you want you could get any reliable laptop with the specs above (or better) and be happy. Might be easier to figure out what kinda budget you have first.

But them macs just have this feeling when using it, a kinda sweetness :|

maverick audio

Postby maverick audio » June 22nd, 2013, 11:08 pm

How for the k2 call me 4971825

kaylex

Postby kaylex » June 23rd, 2013, 7:24 am

whas the k2 ? ?

Postby kurpal_v2 » June 23rd, 2013, 7:25 am

The crown k2 a man selling dey

Postby gt4tified » July 3rd, 2013, 9:12 pm

Any users of the Denon DN-S5000 in here....what does it work better with, Serato or Traktor...been hearing good things about the latter.

antics81

Postby antics81 » July 11th, 2013, 9:40 am

DJs I looking for somewhere to buy a new Pioneer - DDJ-SX. anyone here could help a boi out? PM me or call 713-3358...Thanx

kaylex

Postby kaylex » July 11th, 2013, 11:34 am

antics81 wrote:DJs I looking for somewhere to buy a new Pioneer - DDJ-SX. anyone here could help a boi out? PM me or call 713-3358...Thanx

Steves Electronics- Sanjuan

7500tt...

antics81

Postby antics81 » July 11th, 2013, 12:34 pm

thanx bro i know about Steve's...i was just about to buy it from a place in chaguanas selling for $6800 only to hear they are out of stock. Anybody else in trini got that price or close??

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » July 11th, 2013, 12:41 pm

antics81 wrote:thanx bro i know about Steve's...i was just about to buy it from a place in chaguanas selling for $6800 only to hear they are out of stock. Anybody else in trini got that price or close??

I'd really suggest Steve's
They honour their warranty.

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » July 11th, 2013, 1:07 pm

Steves gives you a discount to if you know how to negotiate

antics81

Postby antics81 » July 12th, 2013, 9:07 am

Nice. Only hearing positive reviews about Steve's...i will check out de store. Thanx

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » July 15th, 2013, 3:08 pm

antics81 wrote:thanx bro i know about Steve's...i was just about to buy it from a place in chaguanas selling for $6800 only to hear they are out of stock. Anybody else in trini got that price or close??

What is the name of the place selling it in chaguanas?

yellowz

Postby yellowz » July 24th, 2013, 7:06 am

Guys, can you tell me where in Trinidad Peavey Low rider Subs and PRV subs are for sale.... Thanks a lot for the info...

dsstt

Postby dsstt » July 24th, 2013, 7:41 am

^ why do want to buy those subs? if u dont mind me asking..

kaylex

Postby kaylex » July 24th, 2013, 1:09 pm

aye fellas.. few questions???

where you all men download music for latest and old school riddims>>
where sells decent but cheap self powered speakers ...???

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » July 24th, 2013, 2:45 pm

1) Forum rules don't allow for file sharing or directing to file sharing

2) Gemini GVX series is available at Steve's. You can get a 2 x 2 setup for around $12,000.

yellowz

Postby yellowz » July 26th, 2013, 9:17 pm

dsstt wrote:^ why do want to buy those subs? if u dont mind me asking..

These manufactures have full box specs online for their subwoofers thus making life easy for guys who want do build small dj set-up for their selves.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » July 27th, 2013, 9:36 am

So most men making a killing this election on truck.

Postby X_Factor » July 27th, 2013, 6:55 pm

anyone using the generic lab gruppens here?
opinions?

Postby SmokeyGTi » July 27th, 2013, 9:56 pm

where does one get generic lab gruppens from?

Postby X_Factor » July 28th, 2013, 12:04 pm

a few ppl selling them locally, or so i've heard
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1334237/lab-g ... amplifiers

kaylex

Postby kaylex » August 28th, 2013, 11:32 am

who have a second hand pair of mk2 to sell dey???
wha is the avg price ??

Postby gt4tified » August 29th, 2013, 3:31 am

kaylex wrote:who have a second hand pair of mk2 to sell dey???
wha is the avg price ??

As in the Technics 1200 MKII? Good luck finding them....my pair safely in storage lol. But a good pair will cost you nothing less than 3K.

kaylex

Postby kaylex » August 29th, 2013, 8:06 am

gt4tified wrote:
kaylex wrote:who have a second hand pair of mk2 to sell dey???
wha is the avg price ??

As in the Technics 1200 MKII? Good luck finding them....my pair safely in storage lol. But a good pair will cost you nothing less than 3K.

You know anybody with or wha>>>
Hook up a brother nah>>>???

DJ

Postby DJ » August 29th, 2013, 12:57 pm

^^is it really that nescessary? I mean if its for primarily for your own satisfaction, then by all means, but if you planning on using it for business purposes, you can forget the practicality and mobility vs return on investment.

In Trinidad, unfortunately, the art of scratching is NOT at all really a big thing. And thats about the ONLY good thing a pair of 1200's serves. Most DJ's who make the money in trini are just beat matchers and selectors, who got 'hooked up' with someone they know for the big events to DJ in. Its a real fight down scene with the DJ thing, its all about who you know.

Good luck lugging around a pair of heavy mkII1200's in a coffin to every job you have to play for, and get rel small money.

Another man will carry he laptop hookup to a BCD3000, play more music than you, and get the same money. No offence, just using an example of being practical.

But as I said, if its for strictly personal use, then go ahead by all means.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » August 29th, 2013, 2:05 pm

I've realised over time that DJing is in this order now:

Selection > Transition > Beat matching

Honestly many times beat doesn't even have to match :?