3NE2NR Official Phototakerouter & Photography Thread...

Re: 3NE2NR Official Phototakerouter & Photography Thread...

Postby shogun » May 31st, 2013, 11:29 am

DVSTT wrote:Image
Spider! by DHARIN, on Flickr

Bewildering detail on these. Great Job.

Postby DVSTT » May 31st, 2013, 5:08 pm

shogun wrote:
DVSTT wrote:Image
Spider! by DHARIN, on Flickr

Bewildering detail on these. Great Job.

Thanks Bro!

limbobreak

Postby limbobreak » June 4th, 2013, 2:44 pm

The talent displayed on this thread amazing . This little fella was real cautious did not want to settle down.
072.JPG

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » June 4th, 2013, 2:57 pm

Michael Knight... wrote:So I'm in the market for a real nice camera. I've had experience with Canon 60D, 7D, T3, T4 etc.

Been looking at this though:

Can anyone tell me if they've had experience with this?

http://www.amazon.com/Sony-SLT-A77-Digi ... 6V6HEB8Q1T

I shoot Canon 5DMKIII's but I've used the Sony A77, and it's a beast of a camera. So if you don't already have lenses etc for another brand, go for it!

limbobreak

Postby limbobreak » June 5th, 2013, 4:23 pm

Might as well start watermarking.Anyway, this was taken with the canon 50mm 1.8 with a set of kenko extension tubes.Subject is about the size of your finger nail.
038.JPG

Postby DVSTT » June 7th, 2013, 9:12 am

New Flash! With HSS and Master Control!

http://www.yongnuostore.com/product/yon ... for_canon/

Thoughts?

Postby r3iXmann » June 7th, 2013, 10:52 am

limbobreak wrote:Might as well start watermarking.Anyway, this was taken with the canon 50mm 1.8 with a set of kenko extension tubes.Subject is about the size of your finger nail.
038.JPG

that's a bit too dark, throw some light on the subject

Postby sliderz1 » June 7th, 2013, 1:01 pm

lighthammer wrote:^^
nice shot there man, and yes I have a friend who uses extension tubes on a kit lens. Not really a true macro per say, but a great introduction into the world of the tiny!

I found out over the weekend that Flickr has revamped their site, given everyone a free terabyte of space for all their HIGH/FULL resolution images to be displayed for FREE!! (*gasp!*).

So while digging in the archives tonight, I found a few gems I'd like to share that helped me along my journey as a phototakerouter (i.e. sheit I did while messing around and learning)

Rally Trinidad 2011

Manzanilla river mouth, colour vs black and white

England, West Midlands during April 2008 (taken with D40 and 18-55 kit lens)

... and the morning after it snowed.

Private Villa in Barbados

MEssing around in photoshop

backyard, aunt's house in California

Sunset over Verrazano Bridge, NY. The emptiness and tone of the pic reminded me of the mepty and lonely New York city in the Will Smith film, "I Am Legend"

Swan at the waterfront, south Brooklyn NYC (this one won a few awards and was published in a travel magazine)

Did an impromptu photoshoot with the wifey in Central Park, NYC. Inspired by an advertisement I had seen in Macy's the day before.

Penguins at the Dudley Zoo, West Midlands UK

Impromptu birthday shot for a friend, at West Midlands, UK (combination of split-toning and selective colouring done in CS4.)

Practicing with lighting, using Nikon AWLS/CLS to trigger the SB600 flashes, and home-made softbox/tube for key and rim lighting.

Saw an ad in a magazine, decided to try to replicate the advertisement.
Shot with two SB600, one to the background as filler and one directly above as a kicker/highlight. The shiny surface effect is done using a piece of plexiglass to make the tabletop nice and glamourous. No front-lighting, everything is backlight/shinethrough.

Strawberries on an upside down wineglass. Natural window light to the rear, and a single SB600 snooted to the left as a hard kicker to make a nice pinpoint highlight onto the strawberry's surface.. giving in a nice lil pop which was further accentuated in CS4 - bumped the contrast and killed the blacks to make the strawberry jump out at you and catch your eye

... and here's the converse to that shot, with emphasis on the backlighting (SB600 bounced off the kitchen white wall/tiles)

Nikon D40, 50mm f/1.8 prime, manual focused (the D40 doesn't have a manual screw drive to power the older AF-D 50mm lens, unlike the newer 50mm AF-S lens with a silent-wave motor which can work with D40/D3100/D5100)

Watching mih daddy cut/grind some galvanize

Mr Henry chillin' on the beach with his brand new hat

Pupsy wants some coffee!

German food festival at Birmingham Town Center, Birmingham UK
(Nikon D40 18-70mm af-s lens, Handheld/leaning against signpost)

and the creme de' la creme....

Parliament Houses & Westminster Abbey, 2009.
Nikon D40
Handheld shot, no tripod or monopod. Exposure time... 2.5 sec. Was leaning against the railing by the river Thames... put my hand on the railing and placed the camera on my hand.... held my breath and then squeezed the trigger while pressing the camera hard against my forehead. Took about 6 -7 tries to get it just right.

Exif data -

The Houses of Parliament at night

Taken on January 3, 2009 at 6.19PM VET (edit)
Posted to Flickr January 23, 2009 at 11.01AM VET (edit)
Exif data
Camera Nikon D40
Exposure 2.5
Aperture f/14.0
Focal Length 31 mm

Hope you guys enjoyed some of my favourite photos I took over the past few years, sorry if the post was a bit too long or long-winded... but thanks for your attention!

If any of you guys are interested, you can add me as a Flickr friend, just send me a PM

holy crap son, you've been everywhere.

those spider shots are awesome DVSTT!

limbobreak

Postby limbobreak » June 7th, 2013, 2:31 pm

r3iXmann wrote:
limbobreak wrote:Might as well start watermarking.Anyway, this was taken with the canon 50mm 1.8 with a set of kenko extension tubes.Subject is about the size of your finger nail.
The attachment 038.JPG is no longer available

that's a bit too dark, throw some light on the subject

Thanks for your criticism. The thing is I did that as i wanted to appear as if it was taken at dusk , which it was by the way. Guess that was not conveyed . Have another of Chelsea Bridge.
015erg.jpg

Postby DVSTT » June 7th, 2013, 9:26 pm

Nissan R34 Skyline GTR: M Spec Nur by DHARIN, on Flickr

I am in love :O <3

Postby DVSTT » June 8th, 2013, 10:50 am

sliderz1 wrote:
lighthammer wrote:^^
nice shot there man, and yes I have a friend who uses extension tubes on a kit lens. Not really a true macro per say, but a great introduction into the world of the tiny!

I found out over the weekend that Flickr has revamped their site, given everyone a free terabyte of space for all their HIGH/FULL resolution images to be displayed for FREE!! (*gasp!*).

So while digging in the archives tonight, I found a few gems I'd like to share that helped me along my journey as a phototakerouter (i.e. sheit I did while messing around and learning)

Rally Trinidad 2011

Manzanilla river mouth, colour vs black and white

England, West Midlands during April 2008 (taken with D40 and 18-55 kit lens)

... and the morning after it snowed.

Private Villa in Barbados

MEssing around in photoshop

backyard, aunt's house in California

Sunset over Verrazano Bridge, NY. The emptiness and tone of the pic reminded me of the mepty and lonely New York city in the Will Smith film, "I Am Legend"

Swan at the waterfront, south Brooklyn NYC (this one won a few awards and was published in a travel magazine)

Did an impromptu photoshoot with the wifey in Central Park, NYC. Inspired by an advertisement I had seen in Macy's the day before.

Penguins at the Dudley Zoo, West Midlands UK

Impromptu birthday shot for a friend, at West Midlands, UK (combination of split-toning and selective colouring done in CS4.)

Practicing with lighting, using Nikon AWLS/CLS to trigger the SB600 flashes, and home-made softbox/tube for key and rim lighting.

Saw an ad in a magazine, decided to try to replicate the advertisement.
Shot with two SB600, one to the background as filler and one directly above as a kicker/highlight. The shiny surface effect is done using a piece of plexiglass to make the tabletop nice and glamourous. No front-lighting, everything is backlight/shinethrough.

Strawberries on an upside down wineglass. Natural window light to the rear, and a single SB600 snooted to the left as a hard kicker to make a nice pinpoint highlight onto the strawberry's surface.. giving in a nice lil pop which was further accentuated in CS4 - bumped the contrast and killed the blacks to make the strawberry jump out at you and catch your eye

... and here's the converse to that shot, with emphasis on the backlighting (SB600 bounced off the kitchen white wall/tiles)

Nikon D40, 50mm f/1.8 prime, manual focused (the D40 doesn't have a manual screw drive to power the older AF-D 50mm lens, unlike the newer 50mm AF-S lens with a silent-wave motor which can work with D40/D3100/D5100)

Watching mih daddy cut/grind some galvanize

Mr Henry chillin' on the beach with his brand new hat

Pupsy wants some coffee!

German food festival at Birmingham Town Center, Birmingham UK
(Nikon D40 18-70mm af-s lens, Handheld/leaning against signpost)

and the creme de' la creme....

Parliament Houses & Westminster Abbey, 2009.
Nikon D40
Handheld shot, no tripod or monopod. Exposure time... 2.5 sec. Was leaning against the railing by the river Thames... put my hand on the railing and placed the camera on my hand.... held my breath and then squeezed the trigger while pressing the camera hard against my forehead. Took about 6 -7 tries to get it just right.

Exif data -

The Houses of Parliament at night

Taken on January 3, 2009 at 6.19PM VET (edit)
Posted to Flickr January 23, 2009 at 11.01AM VET (edit)
Exif data
Camera Nikon D40
Exposure 2.5
Aperture f/14.0
Focal Length 31 mm

Hope you guys enjoyed some of my favourite photos I took over the past few years, sorry if the post was a bit too long or long-winded... but thanks for your attention!

If any of you guys are interested, you can add me as a Flickr friend, just send me a PM

holy crap son, you've been everywhere.

those spider shots are awesome DVSTT!

Thanks Bro!

ImprezaDriver

Postby ImprezaDriver » June 8th, 2013, 10:34 pm

Took a trip to Cali Colombia...didn't get much good photos though

Postby Aaron 2NR » June 11th, 2013, 8:07 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1370995618.295452.jpg

iPhone pic

Postby DVSTT » June 14th, 2013, 1:46 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1370995618.295452.jpg

iPhone pic

Looks good Aaron, like the colours!

Postby RBphoto » June 14th, 2013, 1:53 pm

I started using instagram and my Iphone. Check out my pics.

http://instagram.com/instantheathen

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » June 14th, 2013, 1:58 pm

Postby DVSTT » June 15th, 2013, 1:05 am

Hummingbird by DHARIN, on Flickr

Dragist

Postby Dragist » June 17th, 2013, 9:34 am

My new best friend he is outside my kitchen window everyday .

Cool Hummer by dpds68, on Flickr

Postby DVSTT » June 17th, 2013, 3:40 pm

Dragist wrote:My new best friend he is outside my kitchen window everyday .

Cool Hummer by dpds68, on Flickr

Very nice Dragist!

Postby Trini Hookah » June 17th, 2013, 10:16 pm

Question: Where can a CF memory card be sourced locally? And avg prices?

Postby Trini Hookah » June 19th, 2013, 11:50 am

Trini Hookah wrote:Question: Where can a CF memory card be sourced locally? And avg prices?

VR14 graced you with his presence using TriniTuner mobile app

Dragist

Postby Dragist » June 19th, 2013, 12:03 pm

^^^ Scully has now and then cant remember prices , what size you looking at ?

Postby Trini Hookah » June 19th, 2013, 12:18 pm

4GB or so should suffice until I get my adapters.

Dragist

Postby Dragist » June 19th, 2013, 12:37 pm

I have seen them at Radio Shack but overpriced , oh and David's Filmview Stone St

Postby Trini Hookah » June 20th, 2013, 4:34 pm

^ Thanks Dragist, got a quote from Filmview

Dragist

Postby Dragist » June 20th, 2013, 8:18 pm

nick639 wrote:*Anyone has experience with the light panels here vs. a flash????
::Which do you prefer and why???
::::Would you recommend the investment in a good l.e.d panel or just invest in a decent flash??

Application: Clubs, Nightlife on the streets **Edit** for pictures no filming

Are you looking at continuous lighting if so in a Club setting they are annoying and you loose the surprise/natural effect I use studio strobes and Flash units never used continuous lighting we have a few in the Studio and those get hot and Models hate them makeup runs and all of that fun stuff , but you are not looking for a studio kit .

Postby Aaron 2NR » June 20th, 2013, 8:32 pm

north coast
151433-Aaron_Achan.jpg
151038-Aaron_Achan.jpg

Dragist

Postby Dragist » June 21st, 2013, 2:00 pm

Cool thing actually I have been looking at LCD Macro flashes that are not continuous , I had the bad opportunity to be on the receiving end of one of those panels at a club shooting a band and the guy in front of me shooting video turned around and nearly blinded me I never cursed so much and I know him . :evil:

streaminhonda

Postby streaminhonda » June 22nd, 2013, 8:25 am

Finally got my extension tubes, and this was my first attempt...
What you guys think??? All thoughts are welcomed...

Postby DVSTT » June 22nd, 2013, 3:17 pm

nick639 wrote:*Anyone has experience with the light panels here vs. a flash????
::Which do you prefer and why???
::::Would you recommend the investment in a good l.e.d panel or just invest in a decent flash??

Application: Clubs, Nightlife on the streets **Edit** for pictures no filming

You mean those diffusers that are like 8"x5" ?
You can improvise one from fabric and PVC and shoot a speedlight through it. Shouldn't be too hard.