The Official Bird Owners Page..

Re: The Official Bird Owners Page..

Postby stev » May 22nd, 2013, 8:41 am

well i wanna get a parrot...can u guys give me some advice on taking care of it properly?

like where to put him in the day / night etc.?

also, i always prefer to keep pets in pairs.....is that a good idea for parrots?

SweeP

Postby SweeP » May 22nd, 2013, 1:55 pm

tropi_flakes wrote:I was talking to an old man tonight who has birds all around his house, he told me the same thing get up early and walk with the bird and also during the day get a cd with other bullfinch rolling an play it for the bird, but not to loud.. and in no time i should see progress

Sent from my GT-I9300 using TriniTuner mobile app

my bird needles real tame too within time yuh cud get him to come on yuh hand>>>
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=

Postby DVSTT » May 22nd, 2013, 2:17 pm

devsingh wrote:RapToR that's a real cute parrot, have two myself. the wife loves them like kids.
huge cage too cylindrical 3' diameter and 8' height

If I had to keep one, that's the sort of cage I'd have for them.
There is a house in Battoo Avenue in marabella, right on the bend before you enter the main road by the doctor's office there. It has a cage as tall as the house, in front the house, with about 10 macaws, both the red and the blue and green. Don't know if any of you are familiar with it.

Postby SMc » May 22nd, 2013, 2:51 pm

poor fings, the only place them finches are now found are in them cages...no longer found wild in TT :(

Postby sMASH » May 22nd, 2013, 2:52 pm

i disagree with keeping birds in cages. if u wanna give away the bird, why not just leave it free.
put out food and water for it, if he stays he stays, if he goes, well good.

ckavsinba

Postby ckavsinba » May 22nd, 2013, 4:07 pm

Keeping finches is very time consuming....You just dont play a cd and the next week it will be a "heavy roller".

First thing you should decide is if you into keeping birds that have a proper roll....e.g Wheet Drawl. If not then you will be mining what they call tangle birds.

Second, the bird must have "Blood" meaning that they must be aggressive. Just like human personality birds can be aggressive or coward. Some birds will not sing infront or alongside other birds. Aggressive birds just dont care. They sing anywhere. You can train a shy bird to sing alongside other birds, it just takes a lot of time and patients.

Three key things to do:
1) "Shy" your birds as often as possible (If you dont know what that means, let your bird go)
2) Walk your bird early morning and evening or when ever possible
3)Give your bird plenty grass seed

PM me if you need more info....

Postby hustla_ambition101 » May 22nd, 2013, 4:33 pm

I always wanted a corbeau

Postby DVSTT » May 22nd, 2013, 4:37 pm

SMc wrote:poor fings, the only place them finches are now found are in them cages...no longer found wild in TT :(

Postby MG Man » May 22nd, 2013, 4:48 pm

I absolutely hate seeing birds in cages
That said, I rescued a budgie some years ago, and he was too much of a pansy to live in th ewild, so I ended up adopting him...then I got a friend for him...........then he died, and his friend got lonely, so I got a friend for her............so now I'm stuck with two birds in a cage and working on building a huge habitat for them, to try and ease my conscience..........if they'd just both die together, I'd be happy with that............and I won't give them away because what most people consider a 'big' budgie cage looks like a fcuking prison cell...............

Postby pioneer » May 22nd, 2013, 7:24 pm

RapToR wrote:Image

Thaz de same one that walk away with my bill?

Where u got this cheeky bird from?

Postby hustla_ambition101 » May 23rd, 2013, 9:21 am

Since about 5am or thereabouts a couple has been trying with no success to recapture their parrot who has apparently flew out from its cage. Clearly that parrot has lived a very caged life since it has been high flying in all the trees around. If he manages to not return home, its a good thing fruits in season, he will eat lol

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » May 23rd, 2013, 9:25 pm

WHY WOULD PEOPLE WHO LOVE BIRDS SO MUCH PLACE THEM IN A CAGE!!! SIGH

wouldn't it be much better to have them living freely in the wild doing their own natural thing?

Postby MG Man » May 24th, 2013, 8:48 am

never understood the logic of putting a bird in a small cage and then taking it for a walk

Postby stev » May 24th, 2013, 9:02 am

dont be too quick to judge a caged bird....some species eg. love birds (in pairs) may like to be sheltered away from danger......some species may also like the fact that they have guaranteed meals and they dont have to go looking for food.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » May 24th, 2013, 9:25 am

stev wrote:dont be too quick to judge a caged bird....some species eg. love birds (in pairs) may like to be sheltered away from danger......some species may also like the fact that they have guaranteed meals and they dont have to go looking for food.

Once properly trained and there is adequate toys/bird house etc birds don't need to be caged, great example are the two people who spent half day hunting their parrot because he most likely never left that cage and as soon as he got the opportunity he made a dash for it

Postby MG Man » May 24th, 2013, 9:29 am

stev wrote:dont be too quick to judge a caged bird....some species eg. love birds (in pairs) may like to be sheltered away from danger......some species may also like the fact that they have guaranteed meals and they dont have to go looking for food.

I as more thinking pico-plait and other such birds people trap in the wild and then put in cages...........I can't see those 'standard' wood and wire cages being adequate for a bird caught in the wild......those birds can at best just hop from perch to perch

Postby meccalli » May 24th, 2013, 9:37 am

Birds are new to me, i'm a fish keeper. I got my pico as a gift, i'm trying to tame him like they do canaries. I just leave his door open in a closed room while watching tv, he flits around and goes back to his cage to eat and drink. Won't let me get closer than 3 feet but in time hopefully.My parrot and pidgeon are free to do as they please lol...pidgey get too fresh now. See him like once a week eating with the chickens.

Postby stev » May 24th, 2013, 9:43 am

a guy living opposite my house has a lot of pigeons. he has no cage, just a shed for them :lol:

whole day they would stay there in the shade eating seeds....in the evening they would fly around as a group but return to sleep after an hour or two. lol

he's a retired police sergeant and he got some guy arrested for trying to catch one of the pigeons. LOL ....(trespassing on his property)

Postby MG Man » May 24th, 2013, 9:49 am

@meccali that's cool man :)

Postby stev » May 24th, 2013, 9:59 am

how much for a parrot these days? any price difference between male and female?

SweeP

Postby SweeP » May 24th, 2013, 11:39 am

meccalli wrote:Birds are new to me, i'm a fish keeper. I got my pico as a gift, i'm trying to tame him like they do canaries. I just leave his door open in a closed room while watching tv, he flits around and goes back to his cage to eat and drink. Won't let me get closer than 3 feet but in time hopefully.My parrot and pidgeon are free to do as they please lol...pidgey get too fresh now. See him like once a week eating with the chickens.

i did the same with my bullfinch i let him go in the room an he come out an fly around.He does just go back when he's hungry, thirsty or just want to go back inside.Sometimes when i in de room i does put food in meh hand and he does come on meh hand an eat from dey instead.You just have to be patient and eventually he go come!!

Postby Hook » May 24th, 2013, 1:18 pm

Does a bird in a cage anger y'all about the same as a fish in a bowl?

Postby DVSTT » May 24th, 2013, 1:23 pm

Hook wrote:Does a bird in a cage anger y'all about the same as a fish in a bowl?

You can't keep fish in a bowl, it's really really unhealthy for them.

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » May 24th, 2013, 1:27 pm

Hook wrote:Does a bird in a cage anger y'all about the same as a fish in a bowl?

you mean to eat? :D

Postby Hook » May 24th, 2013, 2:49 pm

No. I meant to ask:

Postby stev » May 24th, 2013, 2:52 pm

yodins and gracie :lol:

Postby MG Man » May 24th, 2013, 3:07 pm

goldfish bowls are cruel..............hook I get your point, but at least fish in a decent sized pond can swim about....a pico-plait in a 18" cage can barely stretch its wings
My main gripe is those local songbirds caught in the wild and then put in small cages.....but your point makes me wonder about fish caught for salt-water aquariums

Postby Hook » May 24th, 2013, 3:27 pm

I think if you have a decent sized aquarium or, even better, a nice pond or water feature it's cool.

And yeah, I feel you on the cages. Lots of times, they're either too small or too crowded.

Is there a rule-of-thumb w.r.t. the number of birds and the size of the enclosure?

Postby MG Man » May 24th, 2013, 3:36 pm

I never looked at it, but the cage I'm building for the two budgies I have us basically about 4.5 feet cubed....still small imo but they'll be able to flap around

Postby stev » May 24th, 2013, 3:52 pm

a cylindrical cage (laying flat on its side) would be nice....u can make it how long u want (can be easily extended also ). with 3 to 4 feet diameter on the sides....rel space to fly around...put some landing sticks / bridges half way.

thinking about that for 2 birds if i cant find a pair of parrots.....would cut it straight down the center and put the open side against a wall (another idea)....might put a lil toy birdhouse inside too. lol

parrots would stay in the back / side of my house....more than enough room to play d arse and d entire area blocked to prevent escape. :lol: