Xbox Reveal Event 2013

Re: Xbox Reveal Event 2013

Postby honda hoe » May 21st, 2013, 4:10 pm

metalgear2095 wrote:I didn't get to see the show so read this instead. Either this guy lying or y'all getting excited over nothing

Microsoft Xbox One Reveal Impressions:

Microsoft just revealed their next generation console, Xbox One. During the hour long press event, we got a glimpse into what the future of gaming on Xbox will be like. Or did we?

What we really got is what the future of watching TV will be like with Xbox One's HDMI in port, if you happen to have a subscription to a major cable or satellite provider, assuming one is even available where you live. We got to see how you can surf the net while watching a movie, though I can't imagine why I would want to interrupt my movie so I can watch a trailer for another movie as my original movie is still playing in the background. We got to see how sports games will automatically update your fantasy teams when the real team scores. We got to see the machine can do a great job of multi-tasking all of these things at once.

What we didn't get to see much of is how it is going to improve our gaming experiences. It took half of Microsoft's hour long conference just to show a single game, and all we got is the typical pre-rendered crap that EA used to show off their sports games during the Xbox 360 reveal. Not a single game was shown being played on stage in real time. The only confirmed in game footage came from a brief clip of Call of Duty: Ghosts at the very end of the conference, after which Microsoft revealed they still think buying timed exclusive multiplayer maps is a worthwhile investment. We did get a glimpse of the new Forza, though no gameplay was shown.

We got to see Steven Spielberg talk about how he is involved with the new Halo "premium" TV series that is being launched on Xbox One. That could turn out to be cool... but it also further supports the idea that Microsoft is trying to move away from gaming and towards entertainment as a whole. Good news if you aren't that much into gaming, but if you're a core gamer like the rest of us it just sucks. I would have much rather seen a new Halo game than a new Halo TV show. Spielberg being involved should mean great things for the series, and I do not doubt that it will be very cool. However, this announcement would have been far better suited to follow the reveal of a new Halo game. It would have sent hype levels through the roof had they done it like that, rather than leaving us wondering why they didn't just show a new Halo game.

They revealed a new updated Kinect will be included with each system. This means one of two things... Either the system will have corners cut with it's hardware to allow room for the cost of including Kinect with each box, or the Xbox One will be a very expensive system. I'm leaning towards the former, as they refused to specify anything about the GPU, CPU, or the speed of the RAM in the system when they were talking about "what's under the hood". Those are kind of important elements to mention when you talk about your machine's specs.

They say there is more waiting at E3, but Sony also said the same thing at the PS4 reveal after filling almost the entire conference with game reveals. This lends credence to the rumors about Microsoft being behind in their first party game development. Another disturbing thing is they confirmed that you must pay a fee to play used games on the console. Remember how much flack PS3 caught for it's mandatory installs? Now every game you play on Xbox One must be installed to the hard drive in order to play it. You will likely be able to play the game as it installs in the background, however you must still have enough free HDD space out of that 500gb hard drive to accommodate that game install. They did deny that you must always be online in order to play your games, which is good. Like the PS4, the Xbox One also is not backwards compatible with the Xbox 360, though that was to be expected due to both machines adopting a vastly different architecture than the previous generation's IBM CPUs.

All in all, the conference left a lot to be desired. Microsoft had better have one hell of an E3 press conference lined up if they expect to give the PS4 any competition at all at the end of the year. Even if they showcase an awesome lineup of games, the mandatory installs, pay to play online (especially now that PS4 is introducing the same features for free), and pay to play used games will hurt Xbox One a lot as it tries to compete with the PS4.

sent via carrier pigeon

Last edited by honda hoe on May 21st, 2013, 6:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby sharkman121 » May 21st, 2013, 4:11 pm

Nice summary there....was becoming a bit hard to siphon out the truth of the release from the frothing of the fanboys since I didn't see the release.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using TriniTuner mobile app

Postby Stephon. » May 21st, 2013, 4:16 pm

Postby Stephon. » May 21st, 2013, 4:18 pm

15 New Exclusives VS PS3s event, where everyone left with the same amount of knowledge that the went the conference with wrt the system.

The winner is clear!

bye!

tananaimbatman

Postby tananaimbatman » May 21st, 2013, 4:29 pm

OMG gaiz Xboxwun > Ipad and evrytheng. Feelz so premiom that u cant bai used gamez anymore anz dat u have to pay subscripshun. So much xcloosive content it blowz my myndz. What 15 new exclusives though?

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » May 21st, 2013, 4:30 pm

will wait for a ps4....not seeing anything here worth buying......

Postby noshownogo » May 21st, 2013, 4:31 pm

Winners being proclaimed from a console reveal event :lol:

Postby pioneer » May 21st, 2013, 5:38 pm

LOL who knows rendering better than sony

7 year old Xbox 360 still kickin PS3 ass wrt:

1. Graphics
2. Online play/better network
3. Faster load time

My PS3 spends more time downloading updates than actual game time.

Have no fear though, GT6 will prolly come out in the next 10 years.

Postby honda hoe » May 21st, 2013, 6:07 pm

noshownogo wrote:Winners being proclaimed from a console reveal event :lol:

Fanboys will be fanboys

I will admit tho.. From what has been announced on both sides so far.. I'm leaning towards ps3

Looking forward to E3

CocaineMachine

Postby CocaineMachine » May 21st, 2013, 6:42 pm

this...
xbox.jpg

Postby pioneer » May 21st, 2013, 6:55 pm

Function>form = performance

CocaineMachine

Postby CocaineMachine » May 21st, 2013, 7:00 pm

they could have at least give it some shape. the ps3 1st gen was huge yes but it had some style. this xbox is just big and square. no creativity

Postby pioneer » May 21st, 2013, 7:10 pm

I guess the box in xbox wasn't a clear hint.

Arcmanov

Postby Arcmanov » May 21st, 2013, 7:59 pm

metalgear2095 wrote:I didn't get to see the show so read this instead. Either this guy lying or y'all getting excited over nothing

Now that I've actually watched it, I'm inclined to agree.

Great new Kinect features, and multitasking is always a plus.
Don't watch TV/movies on console, or play sports games, so it's not that appealing to me so far.
Microsoft seemed hell-bent on promoting this stuff though...just like their E3 2012 presentation.

I will buy it however, if Halo 5/6 are Xbox One exclusives, and aren't coming to the 360.
Do love Forza as well, so I'll probably buy that too when I buy the system (with Halo :) )
Not a fan of Call Of Duty. Waiting for BF4 (on PC though).

Right now I'm kinda leaning in Sony's direction. Killzone: Shadowfall is a must-buy. :D

I await E3 for M$ to show me some killer apps. (Come on M$...you have to MAKE me want it :| )

Postby pioneer » May 21st, 2013, 8:46 pm

Oh boy, did any of you listen/read properly?

They want a unit to replace every media player on your entertainment center. Then again most of you play game in your bedrooms on a 26" CRT TV and logitech speakers so it won't apply to you all.

Sports games are being heavily promoted across platforms to curb the stigma that video games make chiren fat/lazy/obese/couch potatoes. They also do not want it to only appeal to a certain age bracket, it's for everyone.

Then again, real gamers will buy both consoles.

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » May 21st, 2013, 9:04 pm

pioneer wrote:Oh boy, did any of you listen/read properly?

They want a unit to replace every media player on your entertainment center. Then again most of you play game in your bedrooms on a 26" CRT TV and logitech speakers so it won't apply to you all.

Sports games are being heavily promoted across platforms to curb the stigma that video games make chiren fat/lazy/obese/couch potatoes. They also do not want it to only appeal to a certain age bracket, it's for everyone.

Then again, real gamers will buy both consoles.

A lot of fifa players don't/ can't play football

sent via carrier pigeon

Xecutive

Postby Xecutive » May 21st, 2013, 9:19 pm

Having both platforms, ps3 and Xbox 360, I really love the ps3 more but damn Microsoft really impressed me. *Waits for Sony's press-conference on June 10th to be blown away, hopefully*

Postby M_2NR » May 21st, 2013, 9:20 pm

At the end of the day, what do you consider "next gen." I hope sony has something to talk about wrt kinect.
anyone watched this demo?

and here is some more stuff on the controller.

pioneer wrote:sony men be frothin

*awaits blur*

Arcmanov

Postby Arcmanov » May 21st, 2013, 9:20 pm

pioneer wrote:...real gamers will buy both consoles.

This.

...but I buy consoles to play games.
I guess if you're into FIFA and CoD, you'll absolutely love this console.
Not against sports games at all. Just don't prefer em.

All that 'entertainment-hub' stuff is a bonus, but irrelevant to me.
I prefer to do the 'entertainment-hub' on my HTPC or MK802. Way more media flexibility there.

Postby pioneer » May 21st, 2013, 9:27 pm

Both console buyer checkin in

jeevdude199

Postby jeevdude199 » May 21st, 2013, 9:42 pm

tuner group buy?

assassin

Postby assassin » May 21st, 2013, 9:50 pm

Stephon. wrote:Image

wow :shock:
such an advanced styling...

early feedback indicates that the masses are pleased with such futuristic design

Postby Mark! » May 21st, 2013, 10:31 pm

WOW

i doubt u sony fan boys complaining about the design of it wen allyuh ps4 still hav basically the same control as the ps1. How sucky is that

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » May 21st, 2013, 10:36 pm

Mark! wrote:WOW

i doubt u sony fan boys complaining about the design of it wen allyuh ps4 still hav basically the same control as the ps1. How sucky is that

And the Xbox control is a redesign?

sent via carrier pigeon

Postby pioneer » May 21st, 2013, 11:16 pm

assassin wrote:
Stephon. wrote:Image

wow :shock:
such an advanced styling...

early feedback indicates that the masses are pleased with such futuristic design

Yeah bro, and the Xbox One and NES running the same hardware and software right?

stronglogic/10

Postby stev » May 22nd, 2013, 6:28 am

allyuh serious with that long ass article? that didnt say sheit :|

that just described the event.

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » May 22nd, 2013, 7:21 am

stev wrote:allyuh serious with that long ass article? that didnt say sheit :|

Well then it should mean that event didn't say sheit either ;-)

sent via carrier pigeon

Postby stev » May 22nd, 2013, 8:01 am

metalgear2095 wrote:
stev wrote:allyuh serious with that long ass article? that didnt say sheit :|

Well then it should mean that event didn't say sheit either ;-)

sent via carrier pigeon

it didnt :lol: Microsoft just flashed some new features thats all.

im interested in the open OS for developers though......i wonder what Microosft is allowing people to change for themselves.....XBMC integration should be epic

Infamous

Postby Infamous » May 22nd, 2013, 8:57 am

The reaction to the reveal around the net is not as "unanimously" positive as this thread may lead one to believe. Many are disappointed or outright pissed with the direction of the reveal and with some of the rumoured practices that Microsoft may be adopting. Everyone should postpone their judgement of the system until after E3 before labeling the console as a king of the new generation or a complete swing and miss by Microsoft.

Postby pioneer » May 22nd, 2013, 9:01 am

MS products receive the same beatup as Apple products.