Old School Projects

nigie

Re: Old School Projects

Postby nigie » May 14th, 2013, 11:14 pm

moti wrote:nice, but I think trini's need more balls when building a car.

what you mean???

Postby Ted_v2 » May 15th, 2013, 4:08 pm

my sig

dante1986

Postby dante1986 » May 15th, 2013, 9:20 pm

Everything is sr, rb, jz nothing new and plenty of them install shitty cutting firewall, not upgrading brakes nothing new at all

Postby zoom rader » May 16th, 2013, 2:41 am

dante1986 wrote:Everything is sr, rb, jz nothing new and plenty of them install shitty cutting firewall, not upgrading brakes nothing new at all

Well feel free to start your own project and lets wee what new changes/ideas that you can come up with. Its easy tobe an armchair critic.

nemram

Postby nemram » May 16th, 2013, 8:40 am

dante1986 wrote:Everything is sr, rb, jz nothing new and plenty of them install shitty cutting firewall, not upgrading brakes nothing new at all

Well feel free to start your own project and lets wee what new changes/ideas that you can come up with. Its easy tobe an armchair critic.

so as with my project a few posts before and as with other projects, you dont know the amount of time, $$ and effort persons put into a car, but its convenient to come and say unnecessary baseless statements.

I dont feel obligated to tell you why my choice was a SR non turbo, and how my brakes in front are being upgraded, how my suspension in the rear is being upgraded, but i do look forward to your snappy comeback and #wannatrytoinsultandthreatentheEway.

nigie

Postby nigie » May 16th, 2013, 3:18 pm

FORDIES........ :P :P :P

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » May 16th, 2013, 4:34 pm

^ ^ ^ NICE!

Does the Mk 1 still have the original engine in it?...
and are those genuine Revolution rims?
If they are, suggest that he powder-coats them black, like the originals. 8-)

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » May 16th, 2013, 9:33 pm

People use this word "upgraded" all willy nilly these days. As if it stands for quality or better performing. Smh

Bezman

Postby Bezman » May 16th, 2013, 10:34 pm

I personally sick of everything sr, rb, 2j, 1j etc. I have much more respect for the na 1.4 a14 datsun with twin carbs making 120hp than the sr with the mishimoto parts catalogue making a jillion #beentheredonethat #itseasyonebay

Postby Ted_v2 » May 17th, 2013, 6:34 am

now thinking about that

my grandpa has a 120y he bought new, and worked flawless for several years but just a couple weeks ago. he started to get a flat spot on when he accelerating and sometimes the car will shutdown on idle in traffic or so on. One tumble and its back on track. He was getting this problem about 3 years ago and it went away on its own but this was looks like its here to stay

we tried to figure it out but so far we -
cleaned out the plugs
cleaned out the carb
changed fuel filters
changed oil
opened the dizzy and changed the pigtail wire
the carb has a solenoid, we unplugged it and it didnt start, it just died down.
ran it direct from the coil and got the same problem

someone said the coil could be the problem?

its a 120y with a a12 engine +tranny with No mods (stock carb ect)

darrenwilson

Postby darrenwilson » May 17th, 2013, 7:28 am

Check and see if the two 12 nuts under the bowl is tight it might need sealing up if it has a leak.
Also that could be a manufacture problem try changing the cabby an put on another 1.

My 2 Cents.

Postby Ted_v2 » May 17th, 2013, 7:36 am

carb was changed already like 6 years ago.
ill check with the bolts and report back.
you think it might be the coil tho?

Postby Ted_v2 » May 17th, 2013, 7:37 am

it doesnt seem to be a gas problem but more something electrical. cuz when it cut off he doesnt even need to mash the x,it starts with ease

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » May 17th, 2013, 9:00 am

^^check the condenser in the distributor

nigie

Postby nigie » May 23rd, 2013, 11:05 pm

DATSUN !!!!!! and everything is not SR or JZ!!!!:lol: :lol: :lol:

darrenwilson

Postby darrenwilson » May 24th, 2013, 7:35 am

nigie wrote:DATSUN !!!!!! and everything is not SR or JZ!!!!:lol: :lol: :lol:

Looking Good!The good ole winze boi i know this car ages never knew he had changed the engine.Good to stick with the a series!!

Back in the day.

moti

Postby moti » May 24th, 2013, 8:18 am

^^So are you saying that this car was powered with a CA18DET and that was removed for an A series engine?

Damn, that's one smart fella.

And no; I'm not being sarcastic.

nismoid

Postby nismoid » May 24th, 2013, 2:45 pm

^^ Ah renting kevlar vests yuh want one?

moti

Postby moti » May 24th, 2013, 2:51 pm

Looks like I might have to buy one.
How much for 1, size - Large?

Postby Ted_v2 » May 24th, 2013, 3:27 pm

mmemknow why men does do those things to cars :/

V8 Boys

Postby V8 Boys » May 24th, 2013, 8:44 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:carb was changed already like 6 years ago.
ill check with the bolts and report back.
you think it might be the coil tho?

I'm thinking the plunger needs changing, esp' if the car sat for a lil while......take the TOP of the carb off..don't remove the carb from the car....that should only be done if you really have to...and make sure the engine is cool....not warm, cool when disassembling, and change the top plunger first...old ones used to be leather, new kits today are of rubber.

Postby Ted_v2 » May 24th, 2013, 11:05 pm

Right.

I changed the condesor and the pigtails in the dizzy. Checked the bolts, all fine. And I checked the solenoid on the carb.

Someone mentioned to me about the plunger sticking. Now for sure ill open it down.

nigie

Postby nigie » May 26th, 2013, 11:38 pm

ONE OF MI FAVORITES ACTUALLY !! 8-)

Miatabrah

Postby Miatabrah » May 28th, 2013, 11:27 am

Is it easy to find the round style Galant Sigma headlights like in pic?

Postby Ted_v2 » May 28th, 2013, 6:48 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:Right.

I changed the condesor and the pigtails in the dizzy. Checked the bolts, all fine. And I checked the solenoid on the carb.

Someone mentioned to me about the plunger sticking. Now for sure ill open it down.

scrapped down the carb and cleaned out everything.
plunger wasnt sticking

problem exist sometimes, meknow with these engines yes :|

moti

Postby moti » May 28th, 2013, 8:58 pm

That has to be electrical.

Check/change the coil, plug wires (cause trinis love to leave plug wires on the car for ages and expect them to work like new).

Postby Ted_v2 » May 28th, 2013, 9:01 pm

Yea. That's the next thing I'm gonna be checking out.
Really hope I get the problem fixed yes. The car works like a dream other wise.

The next big project is maybe trying to get ac installed.

nismoid

Postby nismoid » May 28th, 2013, 9:47 pm

^^ this might be a long shot, but back when I had my 120Y I had a similar problem, turned out to be an overheating wire behind the ignition switch .
I guess its worth a try

V8 Boys

Postby V8 Boys » May 28th, 2013, 10:11 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:
sound boy 64 wrote:Right.

scrapped down the carb and cleaned out everything.
plunger wasnt sticking

problem exist sometimes, meknow with these engines yes :|

Cous'...Sound Boy...go back and read what I wrote...I said "the plunger needs CHANGING" never said sticking...did you have some gas in the bowl with the top off and manually push the plunger down onto the chamber? It should squirt fuel thru the hole at the side of the plunger chamber...

The leather, or rubbervthey are made of tend to wear, crack and they don't force the initial "squirt" needed off of idle.

And you said you cleaned it out...how?...GumSolve? To really do the job right you'd need to strip it down (now that you've tried taking the top off only...I assume) and soak the 3 parts of the carb ...minus the plungers and diaphragm in black disinfectant overnight...then gumsolve all the venturies, and then blow it out with compressed air, then using a flat file--file level the upper and mid-section of the carb where the top meets the middle, then take a flat sheet of 220 grit on a flat level surface and push the midsection across the sand paper looking to see the high and low spots.
imagesCAOE1N35.jpg
imagesCAOE1N35.jpg (3.63 KiB) Viewed 2017 times
Reassemble using a good carb kit and set the air screw 3 &1/2 turns out from right in.

Old carbs can be saved but sometimes there is excessive wear on the butterfly shaft and that can also give you a flat spot.(if at idle you place your hand slightly over the carb and the idle raises...its suckin air)...that calls for a new one...too bad we don't have a Puerto Rico connection here, those guys will take any carb no matter how bad, and send it back like brand spankin new.

nigie

Postby nigie » May 29th, 2013, 4:22 pm

Miatabrah wrote:Image

Is it easy to find the round style Galant Sigma headlights like in pic?

the beam size is a standard size found on many cars...so its easy 2 find.....