Re: Digicel 4G/HSPA+ Thread

Postby M_2NR » April 12th, 2013, 7:19 pm

Any POS users? My device kept switching to Edge all day :(

computer

Postby computer » April 26th, 2013, 7:37 am

Saw that Digicel is launching the Samsung S4 tomorrow.

Anyone knows of the pricing?

Postby ismithx » April 26th, 2013, 7:55 am

steups... 4g service in pos is mess......

Postby pete » April 26th, 2013, 8:00 am

For the past two weeks I was only getting edge but it's back up to 3G now.

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » April 26th, 2013, 8:35 am

Data/Voice service has been really poor these last few days

point lisas/south areas

Postby M_2NR » April 26th, 2013, 11:08 pm

original_lollybob wrote:Data/Voice service has been really poor these last few days

point lisas/south areas

yuhno south real big eh. :lol:

I must admit though, aside from the random dropouts to edge, 4G working superb most of the time.
I pulled this speedtest literally in d bush!

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » April 27th, 2013, 12:56 pm

South = union hall in this instance

Sent from my Lumia (but really iPad) using TriniTuner mobile app

Postby noshownogo » April 27th, 2013, 1:20 pm

http://www.digiceltt.com/en/phones/view ... hp?id=7505

S4 price not bad IMO, makes the Z10 just launched a few days ago seem expensive in comparison.

Postby rfari » May 1st, 2013, 7:43 am

anyone else having issues with digicel?

Postby 16 cycles » May 1st, 2013, 7:44 am

^ seemed to have no network for a bit....back up now...

Postby hustla_ambition101 » May 1st, 2013, 7:46 am

yup, now back up like a minute ago, was in SOS mode a while

Postby rfari » May 1st, 2013, 8:03 am

safe. just collect a flurry of messages. tort was me yes

Postby M_2NR » May 1st, 2013, 5:43 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1367444559.563597.jpg
I didn't get any issues but I'm glad for this. One day of issues and everyone got compensated. Other services should take note.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » May 1st, 2013, 5:55 pm

M_2NR wrote:
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1367444559.563597.jpg
I didn't get any issues but I'm glad for this. One day of issues and everyone got compensated. Other services should take note.

Never the other service will do such things.

Postby pete » May 1st, 2013, 6:27 pm

What you guys talking about? When bmobile had their big outage they compensated everyone and for years I was getting the 50 bonus minutes from that. Although I guess it was no longer for that but still.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » May 6th, 2013, 7:26 pm

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1367882730.757027.jpg

Power of Digicel

certified_dealer

Postby certified_dealer » May 7th, 2013, 4:14 pm

hey i have a z10 and cant seem to get 4g only E, anyone else having this prob

Postby Aaron 2NR » May 7th, 2013, 4:33 pm

Do u have the correct plan on your phone?

certified_dealer

Postby certified_dealer » May 8th, 2013, 7:09 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:Do u have the correct plan on your phone?

yep got a 5gb 4g plan,

Postby Aaron 2NR » May 8th, 2013, 7:22 am

no understand what im saying, there is a special plan for a z10

CL9_EURO

Postby CL9_EURO » May 8th, 2013, 12:31 pm

Any 4G plan should work.(THE Z10 IS NOT BIS Specific)
The real question is do you have the correct phone.
There are 4 Different Z10's the STL100-1/2/3/4

ONLY THE STL100-1 and STL100-3 will work on 4G in trinidad

The initial batches of Z10's we got in Trinidad were european stock and will not work with our 4G..

certified_dealer

Postby certified_dealer » May 8th, 2013, 5:22 pm

oo well i got the STL100-2

certified_dealer

Postby certified_dealer » May 8th, 2013, 8:31 pm

would this work on bmobile network

CL9_EURO

Postby CL9_EURO » May 8th, 2013, 8:33 pm

No only 2G both networks operate on 1900mhz which the phone doesn't have...

smr_fingers

Postby smr_fingers » May 14th, 2013, 8:29 pm

i have a question guys

i had a university plan on my blackberry for about 2 years now and when digi launched the 4g they said they upgraded my plan to a 4g plan for free meaning i pay the same price i usually pay

i get 3g on my phone but i switched to a iphone 4s about a month now.....i see the same 3g on my iphone and to me it works because i can browse and stream etc at a rather hi speed but for some reason my 3g keeps switchin to E alot. (I DONT KNO IF THIS IS HOW THE SERVICE ACTUALLY IS OR IF ITS JUST ME)

i never really used it alot on my bb because it killed my battery life so i just used to sqitch it on if i needed something and then back off so now with the iphone i keep the 3g on but the switching to E is annoying me

i called digi and they give me a set of BS tellin me i dont have a 4g plan but i do because i can check my data usage eTC and browse and stream and download

anyone kno if the blackberry plan i had and i changed to ios will have an effect on this?

src1983

Postby src1983 » May 14th, 2013, 9:38 pm

smr_fingers wrote:i have a question guys

i had a university plan on my blackberry for about 2 years now and when digi launched the 4g they said they upgraded my plan to a 4g plan for free meaning i pay the same price i usually pay

i get 3g on my phone but i switched to a iphone 4s about a month now.....i see the same 3g on my iphone and to me it works because i can browse and stream etc at a rather hi speed but for some reason my 3g keeps switchin to E alot. (I DONT KNO IF THIS IS HOW THE SERVICE ACTUALLY IS OR IF ITS JUST ME)

i never really used it alot on my bb because it killed my battery life so i just used to sqitch it on if i needed something and then back off so now with the iphone i keep the 3g on but the switching to E is annoying me

i called digi and they give me a set of BS tellin me i dont have a 4g plan but i do because i can check my data usage eTC and browse and stream and download

anyone kno if the blackberry plan i had and i changed to ios will have an effect on this?

Blackberry plans are different from smartphone plans

U need to inform Digicel that u moved from blackberry to iPhone and they would switch the plan

Also u need to adjust the apn I think to

Web.digiceltt.com

Postby M_2NR » May 16th, 2013, 8:34 am

I'm also on that plan as well as hustla_ambition101. I use it currently with a 4S and it works fine. It wont show up as a 4G subscription on your bill though. However I have always used it with an iPhone. I activated it using a blackberry but I removed it from my account as the existing device. You should probably look into that. In terms of constant dropping to edge. I too notice it. If you are in an area where 4G service is low and you need better signal eg for a call I think it will drop off to the tower that gives you better signal so as to improve battery life and provide a better calling experience etc.

I notice that if I switch 3G on/off sometimes it takes a while to switch to 3G. I think it's just how the iPhone is... Anyone else experiences this?

smr_fingers

Postby smr_fingers » May 16th, 2013, 4:37 pm

Thanks a lot man it's good to kno others use it cuz the rep I spoke to was like that can't work u need to take another plan. And I'm like its working!

But as u said how do I remove the blackberry from my account as the existing device?

I called again and spoke to someone else in the night and they told me the account is fine and its just the service in the area that is causing the switching to E. I think I believe this is the prob

Quick question
How much data did we get on this plan is it 2gb? And does it renew or does it accumulate?

Sent from my iPhone using TriniTuner mobile app

Postby hustla_ambition101 » May 16th, 2013, 8:46 pm

Yuh know that's a damn good question....I have no idea

Postby M_2NR » May 16th, 2013, 9:01 pm

smr_fingers wrote:Thanks a lot man it's good to kno others use it cuz the rep I spoke to was like that can't work u need to take another plan. And I'm like its working!

But as u said how do I remove the blackberry from my account as the existing device?

No probs :) glad i helped you out.
The reps are hit and miss most of the time. Off and on you do get a nice one who processes things correctly.
What you want to do is just inform them that you no longer use the device you activated the plan with. Honestly, unless you are having issues, this is not necessary. So my advice... don't bother to do it. This is only necessary if you sold the BB you used to activate it and another person wishes to activate a BB plan on the said device. Then you'd need to remove it. I had this issue. The person was only able to activate a plan until i told Digicel about it. Recently however as Aaron pointed it, they started monitoring what device you're using the plans on but as said before - if no major issues, don't bother.

They (CSR) are able to tell you whether your area is 3G ready both indoor and outdoor. For instance, launch period, my area was just 3G outdoor. I hardly got good 3G inside my home. But now i can use it indoors in almost all areas of my home.

smr_fingers wrote:Quick question
How much data did we get on this plan is it 2gb? And does it renew or does it accumulate?

For me, I got 5GB and hustla i think you posted that you did also I think. (i still have meh email :lol: )
in terms of if it accumulates... No it doesn't. It renews every 16th day of the month. You can check how much data by dialing *120*4#.

(swear i can work for Digicel part time nuh)