500 people to get Land

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 13th, 2013, 11:57 pm

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/500 ... 06141.html

500 to get land chance
Random draw on live TV

By Anna Ramdass anna.ramdass@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: May 13, 2013 at 9:36 PM ECT
Story Updated: May 13, 2013 at 11:37 PM ECT
There will be a live televised draw next Tuesday where some 500 lucky persons will have the opportunity to get a lot of land, Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar said last night.
She was speaking at the United National Congress (UNC) Monday night forum at the Tunapuna Hindu School, Pasea Extension, Tunapuna.
Persad-Bissessar said in four months approximately 40,000 persons applied for land, under the “Land for the Landless” programme.
She said of this 40,000, some 10,000 persons were short-listed based on a point system detailed in the application form.
Points, she said, were given based on several criteria, including family size, persons with disabilities, State employees and more.
Persad-Bissessar said 500 sealed receipt numbers, will be drawn from a transparent container that will have all 10,000 short-listed applications.
The process, she assured, will be fair and equal.
“It will be randomly drawn in front of a public audience and on national television. I will not stand for any backroom deals or persons names being moved up the list,” said Persad-Bissessar.
She emphasised that once an applicant is selected, it is not automatic that a lot of land will be allocated.
Persad-Bissessar said a process of verification will follow.
The Prime Minister said she was moved by a letter to the editor in the newspaper signed by S Williams who was asking how to qualify for a home.
Persad-Bissessar said this was one of the reasons that apart from the housing programme through the Housing Development Corporation, there was also the programme to allocate land.
“And I told our Minister of Housing, that this plan must be 100 per cent transparent -- and I told him that no one should ever wonder how or when the land is being distributed,” said Persad-Bissessar.
The “Land for the Landless” programme, she said, must be fair to all citizens, no matter religion or race or politics or space or place or gender.
“Everyone must have an equal chance to own a home,” said Persad-Bissessar.

Re: 500 people to get Land

Postby nervewrecker » May 14th, 2013, 12:21 am

If you see how public servants gears up for land eh. I say was box lunch sharing.

Postby zoom rader » May 14th, 2013, 2:30 am

This is good news.

HDC under the last goverment was rigged in favor for their party supporters

Postby black start » May 14th, 2013, 3:03 am

“Everyone must have an equal chance to own a home”

matthewmazda

Postby matthewmazda » May 14th, 2013, 4:25 am

wow when you thought you saw it all from the PP

QuietRiot

Postby QuietRiot » May 14th, 2013, 6:03 am

Another political gimmick by another failed administration.They can not complete Ex Caroni workers lease as yet they go complete 500 more lots,utter BS.

Postby zoom rader » May 14th, 2013, 6:25 am

QuietRiot wrote:Another political gimmick by another failed administration.They can not complete Ex Caroni workers lease as yet they go complete 500 more lots,utter BS.

PP mess up caroni workers lease?

Postby joker » May 14th, 2013, 6:34 am

i enjoy my paved roads, 24/7 water supply, faster tax returns , non vat items etc etc .... what i did not enjoy was the little time the coastal radars were down for the " great blackout of 2013".

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 14th, 2013, 6:39 am

that land for the landless thing is questionable.when/if you do get it,you have to put up a structure within six months time.You cannot buy it and leave it till you ready.Also I may be mistaken,but only places in south were marked for distribution.To my understanding other areas have not been taken into consideration as yet.Also you cannot build something for commercial use.

Postby turbosingh » May 14th, 2013, 6:45 am

black start wrote:“Everyone must have an equal chance to own a home”

Very true but on the other hand is only family an friend thing to get ah house eh.

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » May 14th, 2013, 7:04 am

turbosingh wrote:

Very true but on the other hand is only family an friend thing to get ah house eh.

x2...I have an app in HDC since 2007 and nothing to date...what a waste of time..and imagine it have people way before me still waiting.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 14th, 2013, 7:47 am

anything to do with HDC is who yuh noe,TALK DONE!!!!!!!

Postby zoom rader » May 14th, 2013, 8:13 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:that land for the landless thing is questionable.when/if you do get it,you have to put up a structure within six months time.You cannot buy it and leave it till you ready.Also I may be mistaken,but only places in south were marked for distribution.To my understanding other areas have not been taken into consideration as yet.Also you cannot build something for commercial use.

Why questionable?
You expect to get land and leave it and not build it? (then u dont need a home)
You expect to get it for commercial use? (U ant have house bot u want business)

Postby zoom rader » May 14th, 2013, 8:15 am

turbosingh wrote:

Did you not read where it says,

“It will be randomly drawn in front of a public audience and on national television"

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 14th, 2013, 8:23 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:that land for the landless thing is questionable.when/if you do get it,you have to put up a structure within six months time.You cannot buy it and leave it till you ready.Also I may be mistaken,but only places in south were marked for distribution.To my understanding other areas have not been taken into consideration as yet.Also you cannot build something for commercial use.

Why questionable?

Mister,just like the floored food cards and HDC houses,this is going to be the same sheit again. People who never deserved food cards have 2 and 3, people who don't need a house getting what they want and with this: people who have land would surely get a bite out of this.

btw,not every one would be fortunate to build a structure asap eh.just saying. Also I believe when you have something that you are paying for no one should tell you how to enjoy it.

Postby Dizzy28 » May 14th, 2013, 8:32 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:

Why questionable?

Mister,just like the floored food cards and HDC houses,this is going to be the same sheit again. People who never deserved food cards have 2 and 3, people who don't need a house getting what they want and with this: people who have land would surely get a bite out of this.

btw,not every one would be fortunate to build a structure asap eh.just saying. Also I believe when you have something that you are paying for no one should tell you how to enjoy it.

Surely you jest?
Even private developers have clauses when you by land plots as to how long it can remain vacant and when you build what types of structures can be built.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 14th, 2013, 8:42 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:

Why questionable?

Surely you jest?
Even private developers have clauses when you by land plots as to how long it can remain vacant and when you build what types of structures can be built.

news to me then,cuz I have never encountered those problems upon purchase of land.

Postby turbosingh » May 14th, 2013, 8:55 am

turbosingh wrote:

“It will be randomly drawn in front of a public audience and on national television"

Where it says what??

Sacchetto Boutique

Postby Sacchetto Boutique » May 14th, 2013, 8:58 am

Good luck to the potential owners!

Postby Hook » May 14th, 2013, 9:02 am

turbosingh wrote:

Where it says what??

*$kїđž!™ wrote:http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/500-to-get-land-chance-207306141.html

500 to get land chance
Random draw on live TV

By Anna Ramdass anna.ramdass@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: May 13, 2013 at 9:36 PM ECT
Story Updated: May 13, 2013 at 11:37 PM ECT
There will be a live televised draw next Tuesday where some 500 lucky persons will have the opportunity to get a lot of land, Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar said last night.
She was speaking at the United National Congress (UNC) Monday night forum at the Tunapuna Hindu School, Pasea Extension, Tunapuna.
Persad-Bissessar said in four months approximately 40,000 persons applied for land, under the “Land for the Landless” programme.
She said of this 40,000, some 10,000 persons were short-listed based on a point system detailed in the application form.
Points, she said, were given based on several criteria, including family size, persons with disabilities, State employees and more.
Persad-Bissessar said 500 sealed receipt numbers, will be drawn from a transparent container that will have all 10,000 short-listed applications.
The process, she assured, will be fair and equal.
“It will be randomly drawn in front of a public audience and on national television. I will not stand for any backroom deals or persons names being moved up the list,” said Persad-Bissessar.
She emphasised that once an applicant is selected, it is not automatic that a lot of land will be allocated.
Persad-Bissessar said a process of verification will follow.
The Prime Minister said she was moved by a letter to the editor in the newspaper signed by S Williams who was asking how to qualify for a home.
Persad-Bissessar said this was one of the reasons that apart from the housing programme through the Housing Development Corporation, there was also the programme to allocate land.
“And I told our Minister of Housing, that this plan must be 100 per cent transparent -- and I told him that no one should ever wonder how or when the land is being distributed,” said Persad-Bissessar.
The “Land for the Landless” programme, she said, must be fair to all citizens, no matter religion or race or politics or space or place or gender.
“Everyone must have an equal chance to own a home,” said Persad-Bissessar.

Postby turbosingh » May 14th, 2013, 9:08 am

^^I was referring to getting a house not the land part!

Postby nemisis » May 14th, 2013, 9:11 am

Sacchetto Boutique wrote:Good luck to the potential owners!
lol at luck

Postby TRAE » May 14th, 2013, 12:02 pm

sh!t i want a house long time now jed

Postby Country_Bookie » May 14th, 2013, 12:13 pm

Any 2nrs applied to get land? Hope you had to be earning below a certain amount to qualify.

Early days yet, but this has potential to be a rare successful gov't initiative. It have plenty state land that not being utilized, and a lot of ppl who work for less than $5 k a month who will never be able to purchase land and struggle to pay their rent.

Postby TRAE » May 14th, 2013, 4:28 pm

exactly, you make 5k and or around that amount and now you cant get thru with the land from these deals and cant afford to get your own place because banks wont give you loans :(

Postby hustla_ambition101 » May 14th, 2013, 4:34 pm

When the mark buss allyuh go shake allyuh head

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 14th, 2013, 5:11 pm

that^

Postby nemisis » May 14th, 2013, 6:05 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:When the mark buss allyuh go shake allyuh head
buss it early nah

<=xjemler=>

Postby <=xjemler=> » May 14th, 2013, 6:08 pm

Best of luck to potential owners >>>

Yodins

Postby Yodins » May 14th, 2013, 6:45 pm

I say stuff up dem landless ppl in decent sized apartments. in this world if ya ain't got money ya ain't got jack.