Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

nightcrawler

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby nightcrawler » May 6th, 2013, 9:45 am

ok so project back on, starting my fresh water aquarium again:

have so far:

teak stand and cover
aquarium - 4ftx16"x30"

what else do i need and where can i purchase at good prices

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » May 6th, 2013, 11:06 am

A filter, or 2

Air pump

Lighting

Water conditioner

Food

Make sure your tank is cycled before you add fish.

nightcrawler

Postby nightcrawler » May 6th, 2013, 11:20 am

any idea where i can get these items at ok prices

Postby timelapse » May 7th, 2013, 12:25 pm

I have about about 25 long finned male german rams, both blue and gold .I'm willing to trade for some females of the same species to prevent inbreeding as my females are from the same batch.Pm if you interested

rx80

Postby rx80 » May 7th, 2013, 12:49 pm

rx80 wrote:Lookin for one of the Asian arowanas prol the gold anyone ever saw those for sale locally? Saw the Jardini Aussie ones for sales but none of the Asian..

Anyone?

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » May 7th, 2013, 4:58 pm

rx80 wrote:
rx80 wrote:Lookin for one of the Asian arowanas prol the gold anyone ever saw those for sale locally? Saw the Jardini Aussie ones for sales but none of the Asian..

Anyone?
would be really expensive so i doubt anybody took the chance of bringing them in unless its a custom order an the u wud still be taking a chance if it gets here alive...

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » May 8th, 2013, 11:58 am

Hey guys. I'm looking for an aquascaper to build a Koi pond with shrubbery at our airport office, can you recommend any? (See attached pix)

Thanks.
image008.jpg
image006.jpg

birdykins11

Postby birdykins11 » May 9th, 2013, 2:03 pm

guys i upgraded to approx a 40 G aquarium wid orandas tetras and zebras( i know bad combo but they livin still).
Usually when i see the orandas tail get a lil reddish i do a water change but daz rel bucket to pour. is there an easier solution other than plants? chemicals perhaps? ideas plz and where i cud get it to buy
bless

damion_m_k

Postby damion_m_k » May 9th, 2013, 7:32 pm

Anybody knows where I could get pond liner to buy and what's the average cost for it thanks

Kasey

Postby Kasey » May 10th, 2013, 8:45 am

birdykins11 wrote:guys i upgraded to approx a 40 G aquarium wid orandas tetras and zebras( i know bad combo but they livin still).
Usually when i see the orandas tail get a lil reddish i do a water change but daz rel bucket to pour. is there an easier solution other than plants? chemicals perhaps? ideas plz and where i cud get it to buy
bless

Dont know much bout orandas, but how do plants affect the reddness in an orandas tail?

Also, why dont you invest in a water changing hose thingy? My pardner use to use buckets and he bought a water changer from Amazon, and now he is happy!! The changer hose attaches to his normal sink tap, and the same hose drains the water out the aquarium tank also. Pretty convenient investment.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » May 10th, 2013, 11:48 am

birdykins11 wrote:guys i upgraded to approx a 40 G aquarium wid orandas tetras and zebras( i know bad combo but they livin still).
bless

Tetras and barbs are usually fish that like to nip at fishes tails.......... especially long ones.
so you need to look into that

Yodins

Postby Yodins » May 10th, 2013, 2:18 pm

Kasey wrote:^^wa price for the bichirs?

$120 i think.

So guess where I found my tyretrack eel today?

INSIDE my hang on filter :?: up to now idk how the hell he reack in there

I go put up some pics when my fb page stop stickin.

birdykins11

Postby birdykins11 » May 10th, 2013, 5:52 pm

Plants take up the nitrites(from ammonia) from the water which is otherwise toxic to the fish..so i was thinking in terms if poor ammonia mgmt.. the redness i meant is hemorrhage not the norm colour of the fish

yea i realised dat a tetra lost its tail but it growing back, the orandas are mine the others are my bro's so as long as my 2yr old orandas are intact im gd to go.

where u hav d tank close to a window, i could add water frm d norm hose and add the dechlorinator? add dechlorinator b4 or after i top up

birdykins11

Postby birdykins11 » May 10th, 2013, 5:53 pm

Plants take up the nitrites(from ammonia) from the water which is otherwise toxic to the fish..so i was thinking in terms if poor ammonia mgmt.. the redness i meant is hemorrhage not the norm colour of the fish

yea i realised dat a tetra lost its tail but it growing back, the orandas are mine the others are my bro's so as long as my 2yr old orandas are intact im gd to go.

where u hav d tank close to a window, i could add water frm d norm hose and add the dechlorinator? add dechlorinator b4 or after i top up

Postby kurpal_v2 » May 10th, 2013, 8:14 pm

Don't you think you should worry why your ammonia content is so high before throwing solutions at it?

40galls tank ain't much Dan, you doing a 50% change in less than 20mins

birdykins11

Postby birdykins11 » May 10th, 2013, 10:43 pm

goldfish are dirty fishes they produce alot of wastes hence d ammonia... periodically a water change is needed. Im accustomed adding drop to each bucket and pouring(smaller sys) i wanna kno if it safe to hose in water and den add the dechlorinator or add the dechlorinator first den top up.. waz d norm?

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » May 10th, 2013, 10:44 pm

Add the dechlorinator first...i think there are instructions on the bottle...

Postby kurpal_v2 » May 10th, 2013, 10:50 pm

birdykins11 wrote:goldfish are dirty fishes they produce alot of wastes hence d ammonia... periodically a water change is needed. Im accustomed adding drop to each bucket and pouring(smaller sys) i wanna kno if it safe to hose in water and den add the dechlorinator or add the dechlorinator first den top up.. waz d norm?

Only if its a tank without fish I'd add the dechlorinator in tank, for a tank with fish, I fill two large buckets the night before and let them sit with the dechlorinator so by morning it's safe.

What filtration you have?

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » May 10th, 2013, 10:52 pm

Nah, unless u have plants or inverts in your tank you can add the water after ah 10mins...but make sure u use ah little extra tap water conditioner, water hav ah lil more chlorine these days...

Postby kurpal_v2 » May 10th, 2013, 11:01 pm

ryan99tt wrote:Nah, unless u have plants or inverts in your tank you can add the water after ah 10mins...but make sure u use ah little extra tap water conditioner, water hav ah lil more chlorine these days...

Possible, few years ago my brother taught me to leave it overnight and I never bothered to do any different since :lol:

Had a cousin try to shortcut a water change and added the water without a conditioner after half hour, woke up the next morning to 7 dead discus :cry:

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » May 10th, 2013, 11:02 pm

Daz y i doh make dat kinda mistake...it will be the same if u forget to put conditioner in the water the nite before an add it in the morning...lol

Postby meccalli » May 11th, 2013, 12:48 am

Right now my tank water looking cleaner than tap water from wasa.... when i fill my half barrel to do water changes, it has a yellow tinge as if i don't run carbon or do water changes for a few weeks. I have to wait almost a week for all the particulate matter to settle out, ridiculous. You don't see it in a glass, but when looking at a large amount of it...jeez that color is a crazy yellow tint.

birdykins11

Postby birdykins11 » May 11th, 2013, 6:01 am

yea last time i do a water change after 2 buckets i saw a tinge.. so i had to use from the tank... last time i did about 50% change and took 12 buckets so i really dono hw much gallons that holding... i have an EX-70 and a biofilter suctioned to the wall.. the water clear nuntheless jus worried
about the ammonia, i need to get sum test strips

mojosodope

Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby mojosodope » May 11th, 2013, 9:13 am

Test strips are unreliable, get a liquid test kit. You shouldn't even be seeing ammonia unless your tank is uncycled.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » May 13th, 2013, 6:46 pm

mojosodope wrote:Test strips are unreliable, get a liquid test kit. You shouldn't even be seeing ammonia unless your tank is uncycled.

that statement is not actually 100% true................ there are some kits that are rater acurate. Good enough readings to get you going on the right path. API has fairly good test kits out. A few years ago i would say test strips were a waste of time........... Now they are way better. Even check some of the other test kit brands

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » May 13th, 2013, 7:13 pm

I was referring to the general test strips one may buy, I'll stick with my api freshwater master kit until someone comes out with something better that is affordable.

Postby meccalli » May 13th, 2013, 7:48 pm

Anyone know where I can get seachem products locally? prime, purigen, matrix etc?

jsr

Postby jsr » May 13th, 2013, 9:40 pm

i see people using barrels like these now for fishkeeping projects

plastic barrels.JPG

Kasey

Postby Kasey » May 14th, 2013, 8:17 am

Goldfish are 'hard' fish, and can take more harsh water conditions than 'softer' fish (like discus, and cardinals).
Birdykins, I think you can fill up with the hose, no prob. I do it, but I do a 30% water change (i.e. I empty only 1/3 of the tank water out, and then top it bak up with NORMAL tap water from the hose). After that, I just throw in a little tap water conditioner.

I am not saying that this the right way, but I think that with the fish you have, you will get away with it. I have Some Iridiscent Sharks, Rainbow sharks, a black ghost knife, and some bumble bee catfish in that tank I am speaking about, and everyone ok for the past year.

I do that 30% water every week.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » May 14th, 2013, 2:45 pm

U takin plenty chance there bro...jus do it before putting it in to be safe...if u wanna just add tap water to the tank it also depends on the size of your tank...the ratio of non-chlorinated to chlorinated water...