WTK.. about 30A fuse in AC blower. (HELP!!)

krisso310

WTK.. about 30A fuse in AC blower. (HELP!!)

Postby krisso310 » May 3rd, 2013, 12:21 pm

good day tunerz i have ah lil problem, the ac works normal but after its on for a while like about 20 minutes the fuse starts to smell like burnt plastic and it gets veryyyyy hot.

what can cause this problem??
so far i know that the problem has something to do with the blower because its the blower fuse (30amps)

could a relay be causing this?
any help would be very nice :drinking:

Re: WTK.. about 30A fuse in AC blower. (HELP!!)

Postby Strugglerzinc » May 4th, 2013, 9:26 am

Blower motor could be on its way out as it seems to be drawing abnormally high current.

Beware, where there are melting fuses, there can also be melting wiring.

krisso310

Postby krisso310 » May 4th, 2013, 8:55 pm

i doubt the motor is going through because ive been getting this problem for a long while now.. but i doh really use AC so never really took the time to check it out.

drastic0319

Postby drastic0319 » May 5th, 2013, 12:15 am

Did you try changing the fuse or checking to see if the fuse have a very small short? *TIP* if you have never taken out the fuse before then you must do so because people have a tendency to wrap wire around the ends of a fuse after it blows and that can lead to a serious FIRE.
Last edited by drastic0319 on May 5th, 2013, 12:18 am, edited 1 time in total.

krisso310

Postby krisso310 » May 5th, 2013, 12:18 am

changed the fuse and same problem :/

drastic0319

Postby drastic0319 » May 5th, 2013, 12:19 am

HMMMM.... did you read the cover of the fuse box and see if the amperage of the fuse meets the requirements? It should be a 25amp fuse or close to that...never put a higher amperage fuse than recommended

krisso310

Postby krisso310 » May 5th, 2013, 12:28 am

the cover also has a 30A fuse.. the only fuse that was upgraded was the headlight fuse because 100w halogen bulbs were installed. i am assuming that the relay could be causing the *overheating of the fuse* problem?

drastic0319

Postby drastic0319 » May 5th, 2013, 12:55 am

Not really because a relay actually does the opposite it takes the load off of the switch and the fuse. The relay uses a low amperage of current to switch on things that need a high amperage of current. But you can try changing the relay because I've seen all kinds of weird stuff happen and strange enough the relay might have a short in it and it could cause the problem but its not suppose to. If changing the relay doesn't work the next step is to check and see if someone wired anything else to the blower motor wire because that can overload the fuse. Your problem is related to something overloading the fuse and you need to find out what it is.

zaria

Postby zaria » May 6th, 2013, 4:22 pm

If you are using the correct fuse,and all electrical is original and the fuse i still heating up then the problem is a loose connection where the fuse plugs in.I call it female spade connectors,but not sure if thats the correct name of the connector the fuse plugs into.It can be loose or the wire connection to it is loose or the wire itself is corroded.
The fuse and wiring supposedly will handle above 30 amps no problem,and your not exceeding 30 amps cause the fuse is not popping.but a loose connection will cause the fuse and wiring to heat up.