Building Rental properties on Residential Land Question..

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 29th, 2013, 3:41 pm

Guys WTK....

so there is a residential development in my area but persons are buying the land and building properties for rent.....huge 2 storey structure...

currently there are 5 of them and 2 more under construction...all for rental.....

Is there any law against purchasing residential land and using it for commercial purposes as renting?

Re: Building Rental properties on Residential Land Question.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 29th, 2013, 4:00 pm

^ housing for rent is not considered commercial property by town and country AFAIK.

it is still residential property since it is used for housing

if they were building offices or a factory, that would be different

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 29th, 2013, 4:05 pm

yeah ok well I wasnt sure......

but it is a business the persons are running not so?....building to rent......

Postby crazybalhead » April 29th, 2013, 4:07 pm

Once it meets residential rules, not above two story, proper distances from the boundary etc., I don't see why not.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 29th, 2013, 4:13 pm

crazybalhead wrote:Once it meets residential rules, not above two story, proper distances from the boundary etc., I don't see why not.

well the problem is once this was a quiet residential area with a certain "class" of people but now with 7 apartment buildings with at least 6 - 10 renters in each the place is becoming overcrowded and the "class" of people coming there to rent leaves much to be desired.....

trinigamer

Postby trinigamer » April 29th, 2013, 4:35 pm

Check this

http://www.planning.gov.tt/sites/defaul ... n-1988.pdf

if they don't meet the stipulations you could complain to town and country

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 29th, 2013, 5:03 pm

trinigamer wrote:Check this

http://www.planning.gov.tt/sites/defaul ... n-1988.pdf

if they don't meet the stipulations you could complain to town and country

great stuff...thanks...

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » April 29th, 2013, 5:23 pm

If it could happen in places like Valsayn..who is you b :lol: :lol: :lol:

The owner of the land has just as much right as you to do whatever he pleases..

Some new gated areas have it in their stipulations that you cannot put up apartments or rent..but I do it anyway.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 29th, 2013, 7:09 pm

hmm I see crazy chinee....

I just posted the question to be enlightened so not fighting down anybody

but interesting point chinee.....there may be a stipulation by the developer in the communty....will check it out..

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » April 29th, 2013, 10:02 pm

Yea , not sure how they plan on enforcing it anyway ..... I'm ignoring thr stipulations in mines .... Everyone else is

Postby kurpal_v2 » April 29th, 2013, 10:29 pm

crazychinee wrote:Yea , not sure how they plan on enforcing it anyway ..... I'm ignoring thr stipulations in mines .... Everyone else is

Beethum Gardens doh count

Daran

Postby Daran » April 29th, 2013, 10:29 pm

i see nothibg wrong herr

Postby nemisis » April 30th, 2013, 2:49 pm

Op have butt hurt he too poor to live where the element can't reach him

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 30th, 2013, 8:32 pm

nemisis wrote:Op have butt hurt he too poor to live where the element can't reach him

not livin here ....just saw this happening in an area close by.....and land in there...1 lot... is no less than 700k......

Postby pugboy » April 30th, 2013, 8:51 pm

happens everywhere,
look at any gated condo community
at least half of the buyers bought speculating to rent to expats

^xcalibur^

Postby ^xcalibur^ » May 1st, 2013, 8:04 am

there is a classification for single family and multiple family residential.

Postby nemisis » May 1st, 2013, 8:22 am

I'd take renting element over squatters any day

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » May 1st, 2013, 9:13 am

crazychinee wrote:If it could happen in places like Valsayn..who is you b :lol: :lol: :lol:

The owner of the land has just as much right as you to do whatever he pleases..

Some new gated areas have it in their stipulations that you cannot put up apartments or rent..but I do it anyway.

Talking crap. You doing that without the proper "LAND USE APPROVAL" im sure, and without care for anyone but your self. Its folks like you based on your comment - The owner of the land has just as much right as you to do whatever he pleases, that has the country in the state of disorder that its in.
These laws exist, though some may be outdated , to provide a level of order and conformity in any district, traffic , area,etc.

OP, there is and approval prior to building approval called an outline approval, before a land owner purchases the land, it costs nothing to find out what land use can be allowed for said property.
T&C will then advise on whether the land can be used for Residential, multi-family dwelling (apts), commercial, mixed use, etc. etc.

Some ppl who can afford it go and build their property cash and therefore no guidelines were followed.
Some decide to build it with approval for residential, get there final approval, and then switch or modify the bldg to use it as a commercial bldg.
Some just pay someone in T&C to get for instance, a commercial property in the middle of Lange Park or other areas approved for residential bldgs.

Postby pete » May 1st, 2013, 9:25 am

What about a commercial building and house suddenly appearing in what used to be a rice field?

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » May 1st, 2013, 9:31 am

$$$ pass......
permanent structures parent given approval for on agricultural lands.

Postby nemisis » May 1st, 2013, 9:31 am

pete wrote:What about a commercial building and house suddenly appearing in what used to be a rice field?
your insinuations can get you shot

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 1st, 2013, 11:20 am

Thanks Red Sleeper...I know that there must be some laws around to control the use of the said lands....

My relative lives in this area that I speak about and would be contacting Town and Country to get some more details....