not sureiftyres...

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

not sureiftyres...

Postby crazybalhead » April 8th, 2013, 11:11 am

or powersteering pump.

Any experiences in evos and lancer of your pump going? What were the symptoms?

So far, mine quiet, fluid level good, BUT, steering effort getting noticeably more difficult. it still centers good after a corner.

Could be the tires getting more traction as the wear (Hankook RS-3's)

But I eh sure. They tramlining like a m%$#(#f&^#& these days too. Have to keep both hands on the wheel.

lemme hear allyuh nah.

Re: not sureiftyres...

Postby wagonrunner » April 8th, 2013, 11:54 am

are your steering ends and shocks good?

Postby crazybalhead » April 8th, 2013, 2:45 pm

Inner and outer brand new OEM (about 5000kms). Shocks....not so much!

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » April 9th, 2013, 1:37 am

What about your LCA bushings? Also ball joints etc.

try changing the tyres front to rear and see if that makes a difference. Also flush the steering rack and have new fluid put in.

Postby Dave » April 9th, 2013, 3:09 pm

have seen this when tyres are wearing, less thread for flex
try the ps flush too if never done

Postby crazybalhead » April 10th, 2013, 10:12 am

MISHI wrote:What about your LCA bushings? Also ball joints etc.

try changing the tyres front to rear and see if that makes a difference. Also flush the steering rack and have new fluid put in.

New bushings same time as ends.

Ball joints good.

Will definitely do the tyres front to back and see, as the back have more tread.

SweeP

Postby SweeP » April 10th, 2013, 9:36 pm

yuh check yuh tyre pressure?dat does make ah big difference!!

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » April 10th, 2013, 10:16 pm

low profile tyres tramline like crazy ... that's a fact....especially if you running high pressure. I've always experienced tramlining ... with Potenzas before and now with Proxes T1Rs. And this is with a new Eibach suspension setup with full Energy suspension bushing kit. And it does get worse as the tyres wear out

Postby crazybalhead » April 11th, 2013, 10:50 am

SweeP wrote:yuh check yuh tyre pressure?dat does make ah big difference!!

Always. 34 PSI in all four, check regularly. Including yesterday, just in case.

obeiron

Postby obeiron » April 11th, 2013, 7:33 pm

crazybalhead wrote:Always. 34 PSI in all four, check regularly. Including yesterday, just in case.

Any reason for 34? I usually run 32 front / 28 back. On another note, can't remember any difference in steering feel when I switched from the stock wheels to the wider rims with R888's. It tramlines a lot though.

SweeP

Postby SweeP » April 11th, 2013, 7:46 pm

CB make sure yuh PS belt have enough tension i've seen some belts slack without even making a screeching noise fuh u to think is the belt!!

Postby crazybalhead » April 12th, 2013, 9:19 am

obeiron wrote:
crazybalhead wrote:Always. 34 PSI in all four, check regularly. Including yesterday, just in case.

Any reason for 34? I usually run 32 front / 28 back. On another note, can't remember any difference in steering feel when I switched from the stock wheels to the wider rims with R888's. It tramlines a lot though.

yes, the hankooks have a fairly soft sidewall. And 32/28 would be too soft for my liking. it was different from the day I put them on. More effort, one time. But as they get worn, it seems to be worse. Still haven't gotten a chance to rotate front to back though.

I dont think it's the belt though.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » April 13th, 2013, 12:24 pm

Interesting: I run 36-32 on the N1000s I have on.

Postby Dave » April 14th, 2013, 10:29 am

I run 2 more than stock cause my tyres are heavier than most

BLUE_CP9A

Postby BLUE_CP9A » April 15th, 2013, 8:40 pm

Shock Top Mounts?

Are you on HTR-ZIII?

Postby crazybalhead » April 17th, 2013, 9:23 am

Shock top mounts brand new OEM. I think it's the pump guise. Tyres are much stickier than the sumitomos. Hankook RS3.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » April 17th, 2013, 10:13 am

so you replaced the fluid and still doing it then...

Postby crazybalhead » April 17th, 2013, 11:09 am

MISHI wrote:so you replaced the fluid and still doing it then...

Nope. Didn't bother.

BLUE_CP9A

Postby BLUE_CP9A » April 17th, 2013, 4:50 pm

crazybalhead wrote:Shock top mounts brand new OEM. I think it's the pump guise. Tyres are much stickier than the sumitomos. Hankook RS3.

Did you get the shock top mounts locally? If so where?

Also is the pump making any noise? When last was fluid changed?

Postby crazybalhead » April 18th, 2013, 8:16 am

BLUE_CP9A wrote:
crazybalhead wrote:Shock top mounts brand new OEM. I think it's the pump guise. Tyres are much stickier than the sumitomos. Hankook RS3.

Pump starting to make some noise. Never changed fluid. Yes, Teknet had them in stock, and if he doesn't he can get it quickly.

BLUE_CP9A

Postby BLUE_CP9A » April 18th, 2013, 9:09 pm

crazybalhead wrote:
BLUE_CP9A wrote:

Pump starting to make some noise. Never changed fluid. Yes, Teknet had them in stock, and if he doesn't he can get it quickly.

Thanks got them today, thankfully he had in stock.

I know a guy who may have an evo 9 pump for sale

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » May 20th, 2013, 10:56 am

crazy change fulid

also I tramline like crazy with 255 series. what size are the tires?

Postby crazybalhead » May 22nd, 2013, 5:30 pm

Changed the pump. it helped. BUT it still stiffish. Which is definitely the tyres. I was getting a non linear kinda feel from the other pump, it's better now.

Tyres run wide. They are 245, but rubbed when new on a 8 1/2" 31 offset rim.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » May 23rd, 2013, 9:50 am

Hmm i run 245 but 17s
Maybe its de 18s u running

I only track bad on 255s
Gonna upgrade the rear to 255 this month. Leaving the front 245.

Postby 16 cycles » May 23rd, 2013, 1:47 pm

thought running different width/offset tyres on an AWD was a 'no no' ???

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » May 23rd, 2013, 1:49 pm

Different tyre sizes such as 17 + 18 is a no. Widths doh make a difference. But i could be wrong.

Return to “MITSUBISHI”