Trinituner Reefers, Saltwater Aquarium Fish Keepers

HondaB20B

Re: Trinituner Reefers, Saltwater Aquarium Fish Keepers

Postby HondaB20B » April 5th, 2013, 10:22 pm

thats why instead of buying corals and other stuff, you need to get those test kits first once you into reef. Told you that many times. Zoas will melt away with low Alk/cal,. temp swings and salinity. Go get your water tested. Also get your hydrometer checked. I've calibrated my refractometer and checked water @ 1.026 and when i used the plastic hydrometer, i've gotten 1.022. Another one was 1.021. I stop using that. Get your water tested. Zoas like mod to heavy lighting. Also where you get the idea that live sand will drop your nitrates. Saw you said people telling you that

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » April 5th, 2013, 11:07 pm

Reefplanet wrote:nice greenlime tanks looking great now...whats that tube coral at the side?
All my zoas dieing and i dont know why..i aint add or do anything to the tank when i moved one zoa i realize it was closed but the others were doing fine. A few weeks later all were closed and starting to disapper :S. I think is my pile up of nitrates i really need to get this skimmer. I want reef octopus but anyone have that skimmer that raj sellin?
everything else doing great..i even have a scallop and it doing real good

One the RHS i have the kenya tree and on the LHS I have an australian duncan

My alk was low a bit for a couple days...my zoas did react a bit..so I would check that as well as everyting Honda recommend lol

Just an update on the vodka dosing...so far so well...today was day three...stepping up the dose tomorrow according to the chart.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » April 5th, 2013, 11:20 pm

^^^^ good to know you started it. After you put the vodka, do you see how the corals does open up even more?

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » April 5th, 2013, 11:33 pm

yeah especially the duncan...if you look in the pic I posted in the previous page a few of the heads were closed, now all open and looking fluffy lol

Anyone knows when next raj getting corals ?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » April 5th, 2013, 11:41 pm

Was by him today. Went to get some fish. He have prayers coming up soon so he said corals and fish coming in about 3-4wks. He told me that should give me enough time to order what fish i want again

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » April 6th, 2013, 8:34 am

I might only add a mandarin again or anthias, already have 11 fish. But 3-4weeks is good timing...by then I would have the biopellets and new skimmer up an running

3pO

Postby 3pO » April 6th, 2013, 11:09 am

I have 1 ecotech marine radion and 2 ecoxotic 50w led canon 12000k to sell anybody interested pm me , sell all of them together for 6k

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » April 6th, 2013, 12:33 pm

HondaB20B wrote:thats why instead of buying corals and other stuff, you need to get those test kits first once you into reef. Told you that many times. Zoas will melt away with low Alk/cal,. temp swings and salinity. Go get your water tested. Also get your hydrometer checked. I've calibrated my refractometer and checked water @ 1.026 and when i used the plastic hydrometer, i've gotten 1.022. Another one was 1.021. I stop using that. Get your water tested. Zoas like mod to heavy lighting. Also where you get the idea that live sand will drop your nitrates. Saw you said people telling you that

yeah i will stop buyin fish and corals for now
i need to get that skimmer ..thought raj had reef octopus, after i want to get the rodi unit and the jj ato system to keep the salinity and stuff stable then a wah get the ati t5 bulbs to replace the odyssea bulbs i hv. All this after those test kits ofcourse.
Not because they tell me about the sand i believe them...i also reearch online and find that same info on other forums and blog thingies. It say that to large of grains of sand will trap detritus and waste inbetween and they will collect often since the spaces between the grains large and that small grains increase the suface area for bacts cause like 20lbs of gravel will hv less grains than 20lbs of sand but to fine sand will trap gases and if u hv a good powerhead it will make sand storms so is best to hv the grains inbetween like sugar fine sand. The sugar fine sand have disadvantages to but not as much as fine sand and large gravel sand.

i call raj and he say he hv live sand for 500$ :shock: wonder if he thought i say miracle mud.....
i goin by him today to check a skimmer and the sand.
He have refractometers?
and anyone of u using a chiller or a fan

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » April 6th, 2013, 12:35 pm

3pO wrote:I have 1 ecotech marine radion and 2 ecoxotic 50w led canon 12000k to sell anybody interested pm me , sell all of them together for 6k

whats 6k? 6000?

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » April 6th, 2013, 12:36 pm

greenlime100 wrote:I might only add a mandarin again or anthias, already have 11 fish. But 3-4weeks is good timing...by then I would have the biopellets and new skimmer up an running

how big is ur tank again?? lol

3pO

Postby 3pO » April 6th, 2013, 1:36 pm

Reefplanet wrote:
3pO wrote:I have 1 ecotech marine radion and 2 ecoxotic 50w led canon 12000k to sell anybody interested pm me , sell all of them together for 6k

whats 6k? 6000?

Yea $6000.00 and also have some coral to give who ever buying it

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » April 6th, 2013, 2:44 pm

3pO wrote:Yea $6000.00 and also have some coral to give who ever buying it

How come yuh selling out the corals

3pO

Postby 3pO » April 6th, 2013, 3:09 pm

HondaB20B wrote:
3pO wrote:Yea $6000.00 and also have some coral to give who ever buying it

How come yuh selling out the corals

I not selling my corals , i giving who ever buy the lights some corals(kenya trees ,xenia ,zoas and mushrooms) that i have a few in ,

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » April 7th, 2013, 9:19 am

3pO wrote:2 ecoxotic 50w led canon 12000k

Wow, thats some boss lights............. They not working for your application?

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » April 7th, 2013, 10:45 am

Reefplanet wrote:
greenlime100 wrote:I might only add a mandarin again or anthias, already have 11 fish. But 3-4weeks is good timing...by then I would have the biopellets and new skimmer up an running

how big is ur tank again?? lol

100gal 20gal sump

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » April 7th, 2013, 12:38 pm

lol honda u dont need dem lights u have fancy ting already is for me and greenlime to fight over :wink: if i only had 6000 :( but dat is a rellll good deal
i went by raj and he give meh some good info ..he say if i gettin them big skimmers i will need a chiller but can a fan in the main tank and sump work to? aquarium fan ofcourse
He also give meh some caulerpa free so now i need to light my sump 24/7 so more heat :|

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » April 7th, 2013, 2:01 pm

LOL @ reefplanet I might not need them lights tho I good with mine, so yuh could organize !

Let me know how the caulerpa working out for you tho, I wouldnt doubt putting some in my sump since I already have rocks and sand in there. any idea on what light u going to use in ur sump?

And as for the fans they would help a little since they will be moving fresh air over the water but as for how big a difference you looking for I not sure how they may work out. Whats your current temp? and what size tank you have?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » April 7th, 2013, 2:02 pm

Reefplanet wrote:lol honda u dont need dem lights u have fancy ting already is for me and greenlime to fight over :wink: if i only had 6000 :( but dat is a rellll good deal
i went by raj and he give meh some good info ..he say if i gettin them big skimmers i will need a chiller but can a fan in the main tank and sump work to? aquarium fan ofcourse
He also give meh some caulerpa free so now i need to light my sump 24/7 so more heat :|

:shock: :shock:

I dont need them lights, My 12 - T5's along with my set of LED strips working real good on my tank. I aint changing from that no time.

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » April 7th, 2013, 3:42 pm

lol das why i say none for u honda

The caulerpa might work find greenlime but since raj had them taking daylight which is not 24/7 they might spawn...u know die off and release spores in the water along with nitrates and phosphates so since i still fixin over my sump i have the rock and caulerpa in a 10g bucket so once the caulerpa start reproducing without releasing spores i will add it to the system.

My temp does range from 73-79 but it mostly stays stable so when i have this skimmer and 24/7 light i will hv to get a fan..my tank is 34g

i might get this light

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » April 7th, 2013, 3:52 pm

Reefplanet wrote:lol das why i say none for u honda

The caulerpa might work find greenlime but since raj had them taking daylight which is not 24/7 they might spawn...u know die off and release spores in the water along with nitrates and phosphates so since i still fixin over my sump i have the rock and caulerpa in a 10g bucket so once the caulerpa start reproducing without releasing spores i will add it to the system.

My temp does range from 73-79 but it mostly stays stable so when i have this skimmer and 24/7 light i will hv to get a fan..my tank is 34g

i might get this light

:roll: :roll: ................lawd faddah

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » April 7th, 2013, 11:08 pm

dirtyjames wrote:anyone have a green mushroom frag to sell. I looking for one like this to buy. Just need one.

what about this..........

dirtyjames

Postby dirtyjames » April 7th, 2013, 11:14 pm

nice but too fancy. :lol: :lol:

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » April 7th, 2013, 11:17 pm

dirtyjames wrote:nice but too fancy. :lol: :lol:

:roll: :roll:

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » April 7th, 2013, 11:24 pm

LOL......................... :mrgreen:

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » April 7th, 2013, 11:28 pm

still to fancy?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » April 7th, 2013, 11:31 pm

or this................

Postby meccalli » April 7th, 2013, 11:35 pm

Well it ain't fancy, ethically correct, nor a reef but its something LOL :mrgreen:
Mutton snappers, sargassum, some sort of coral formation/rock and nsw.

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » April 8th, 2013, 11:57 am

HondaB20B wrote:
Reefplanet wrote:lol das why i say none for u honda

i might get this light

:roll: :roll: ................lawd faddah

lol what is a bad light?..i dont know i just saw it and find it lookin good

3pO

Postby 3pO » April 8th, 2013, 3:51 pm

Have 2 ice probes to sell $500 for both of them , didnt use it on my tank cuz the water volume was to much , they will work good on a tank that is about 50g , anybody interested pm me

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » April 8th, 2013, 3:55 pm

HondaB20B wrote:or this................

Whats the name of this ?

Dem mushrooms real sweet :P