Re: FLOW - Internet Down

Postby nismodriver » March 28th, 2013, 8:11 pm

M_2NR wrote:it was always working here but piss poor speeds:

Whats the test to Trinidad like?

air wick

Postby air wick » March 28th, 2013, 8:57 pm

I kno this thread is about flow's Internet, but anyone ever get this problem? When I press guide I get the message "your settings menu is not available" getting this since Tuesday. Channels showing but no description etc

Postby S_2NR » March 28th, 2013, 9:28 pm

Travis wrote:I kno this thread is about flow's Internet, but anyone ever get this problem? When I press guide I get the message "your settings menu is not available" getting this since Tuesday. Channels showing but no description etc

unplug and plug back in your cable box

Postby M_2NR » March 29th, 2013, 11:15 am

nismodriver wrote:
M_2NR wrote:it was always working here but piss poor speeds:

Whats the test to Trinidad like?

Test to Trinidad for me is always great.
Been monitoring it and yesterday it's back up to ~15mbit thankfully :D
I was getting worried. Ill keep monitoring it.

Re: Slow FLOW

Postby M_2NR » March 30th, 2013, 10:29 pm

check speed now :|

:cry:

and the speed to POS server:

:?

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby stev » April 1st, 2013, 1:12 pm

anyone else having problems streaming videos today?

Postby Morpheus » April 1st, 2013, 2:33 pm

^^Yup. Beffering like whoa

Postby stev » April 3rd, 2013, 9:48 pm

Flow like they playin up again :|

get 6Mbps when i suppose to get 25. steups

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » April 3rd, 2013, 9:56 pm

You got the 25Mb package and having streaming problems? Wtmc :? I wanna upgrade to the 15MB and I say my buffering days wuda be over for the most part but you have me thinking now is if wasting money.

Postby stev » April 3rd, 2013, 10:26 pm

normally it works great....just these days it movin kinda dead.

gone are the days where u can pause a video and let it stream.

Postby maj. tom » April 3rd, 2013, 10:31 pm

^ talking about Youtube videos? or any vid from any website?

Postby stev » April 3rd, 2013, 10:38 pm

just youtube. any other website like vimeo or daily motion streams entirely if u pause it.

Postby maj. tom » April 3rd, 2013, 11:24 pm

As far as Youtube goes...

Youtube has been doing that non-buffering thing with their latest player to save bandwidth or something. So they don't waste the pipes buffering what you probably may not watch.

Google has increasingly been using CDN - Content Delivery Networks to stream their audio/video content for a couple months now. All across the world. This has been having an overall increase in loading times across the world because of the volume of traffic, despite that CDNs are supposed to be overcoming this. A lot of people are complaining and pointing the blame at their ISPs.

Couple of half-assed fix-it ideas that seem to work:

1. Enable the HTML5 trial on Youtube. http://www.youtube.com/html5 This may work but most likely won't help much. If so, ignore and do the following:

2. Windows 7 - Start>>cmd>>right-click>>run as administrator.

copy and paste this in the box and hit enter.

netsh advfirewall firewall add rule name="BYPASSCDNYTUBE" dir=in action=block remoteip=173.194.55.0/24,206.111.0.0/16 enable=yes

Reboot.

Two things: This obviously uses Windows Firewall. It blocks the ip address of the CDNs that Google uses and your computer just pulls straight from the source. I have used this and it works. I have been able to watch full 1080p HD videos without buffering on Youtube for the first time.

And two, this command doesn't work on XP, screw you, get Windows 7. Google it yourself and find out. OK fine, just go in your firewall settings and manually add the range under Exceptions, Ports, Change Scope, Custom List. Apple users suck my ass. There's a fix lower down. If you use another firewall, it's the same deal.

Android, this really works. I am seeing the difference in loading time.
Get AFWall+ (it's a firewall app, you can use any firewall app really and write your own custom scripts) from the Playstore. Install, give it Admin permission in the setting. Enable WiFi and 3G access to all your apps and root and kernel. Save. Enable Firewall. Go in Custom Scripts and write out these scripts:

$IPTABLES -A INPUT -s 206.111.0.0/16 -j REJECT

$IPTABLES -A INPUT -s 173.194.55.0/24 -j REJECT

Save them, make sure you're getting net in your browser. Reboot.

You can also bypass your pc firewall and use your router's hardware firewall iptables for your entire home wifi network. If you don't know how, Google your router name and iptables.

use a # tag above to comment on your define-function so you will know what it does when you go back in a few months.
# Block Youtube CDN ip address ranges

IPTABLES -A INPUT -s 206.111.0.0/16 -j REJECT

IPTABLES -A INPUT -s 173.194.55.0/24 -j REJECT

If you don't see a difference and know that (no humour mods?), just delete the scripts, remove from admin permissions and uninstall AFWall.

Windows 7 removal.
netsh advfirewall firewall delete rule name="BYPASSCDNYTUBE"
Last edited by maj. tom on April 5th, 2013, 10:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » April 4th, 2013, 1:07 am

When I choose 1080p, the videos load to 100% if I pause it. Same thing if the highest choice is 720p. The rest (320/240) loads only while the video is playing.....usually. But sometimes 240p buffering and when I do a speedtest, it showing everything is normal, and other sites vimeo, Wshh, redtube loading/streaming normal so I know is likely youtube (or something with flow & youtube) that phocking up.

Postby M_2NR » April 4th, 2013, 6:21 am

I called them and they said the signal levels aren't normal so a team should be coming to check it out. :cry:

dirtyjames

Postby dirtyjames » April 5th, 2013, 7:10 pm

is there a major difference in speed from Flow's 5MB package to their 15MB package?

I want to watch streaming video on my smart tv (youtube, netflix, etc.)

Is the $100 to upgrade from 5MB to 15MB worth it?

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » April 5th, 2013, 8:26 pm

^ For me it was worth it. But Flow doesn't make you sign a contract so you could try it out yourself for a month and see.

Postby M_2NR » April 5th, 2013, 8:30 pm

For youtube and browsing alone? Nope. Youtube still buffers for me and others regardless of the bandwidth. For other things such as downloading files, I went from ~620kB/s to ~1.8MB/s so that was awesome. I'll tell you though, once you do the upgrade you wont want to go back to 5mbit.

Postby Trini Hookah » April 5th, 2013, 9:00 pm

Finally got my 5mb package. Huge upgrade from what I had with blink. Gaming is good, torrents work superb. But YouTube buffering on my phone is hella buggy.

But enjoying it so far.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » April 5th, 2013, 9:13 pm

M_2NR wrote:For youtube and browsing alone? Nope. Youtube still buffers for me and others regardless of the bandwidth. For other things such as downloading files, I went from ~620kB/s to ~1.8MB/s so that was awesome. I'll tell you though, once you do the upgrade you wont want to go back to 5mbit.

That is such BS eh :? I really thought it would have helped that. But other major reason I want the 15mb package for is for torrents so yeah, Its by no way a deal breaker, its just $100 more. Blink cant even begin to compare :roll:

Postby M_2NR » April 5th, 2013, 9:28 pm

I want to think it's a YouTube issue. Not Flow's fault because everything else even torrents work fine.

A tech came over today to sort out my bandwidth issues. Now i'm wondering if it's my router's wireless giving issues. However, I did a hardwire connection and...

:cry:

time to call them back again.

Postby stev » April 5th, 2013, 10:23 pm

Maj. Tom post was very helpful....streaming is much better. thanks man / cyborg

I've successfully tried a total of 12 download managers out there and i can say that Internet Download Manager is the best hands down. lol....16 connections per site when downloading.

when Flow throttling torrents....jus enable forced encryption in ur torrent client and u will get ur speed (assuming well seeded torrent)

another trick i learnt:

I download all my TV shows (i doh watch TV :|) so when a new episode comes out, obviously there's gonna be at least three times the amount of leechers than seeds.....takes very long to download....if its a top / new / popular torrent, filestream.me or put.io may already have it in their storage....if they do, u will be able to download the torrent at full speed using your download manager (not ur torrent client).

by the way....piracy is not a crime...it's just a way for the poor man to have nice things.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » April 6th, 2013, 11:20 am

Flows working fine by me torrents and live streaming the IPL 720p fine .

Postby M_2NR » April 9th, 2013, 4:50 pm

So, I've been telling them it's a problem in my area since I started having issues and only now they've realized this for themselves. :roll:
At least they picked it up though and are coming to fix it. I'm sure I'd have to wait longer for the other ISP

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » April 10th, 2013, 7:54 am

a friend who have 100MB

PapaC

Postby PapaC » April 10th, 2013, 8:50 am

What is the name of the local body who you can complain to about FLOW, TSTT and them?

Postby K74T » April 10th, 2013, 8:55 am

TATT

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » April 10th, 2013, 11:07 am

K74T wrote:TATT
yep

squazzo