S_2NR wrote:Trini Hookah wrote:count your blessingsstev wrote:I have indeed seen many users on various devices complain about battery life when they got Jelly Bean.
one fix is to turn off Google+ sync (for those who use G+)
apparently that works well....maybe one of u should manually syncing G+ when u need it and let us know.
edit: facebook sync as well
only sync when u open the app
...i would...but i still on freakin gingerbread....fml
Ics better than gb tho.
Stephon. wrote:Wow at the battery life battle in the last page, a big mess. The battery life is in fact better on ICS and it is common knowledge lol
turbotusty wrote:Stephon. wrote:Wow at the battery life battle in the last page, a big mess. The battery life is in fact better on ICS and it is common knowledge lol
yeah well u missed it. that debate is dead like ur battery lol
pete wrote:The minimal difference in battery life(if any) is worth the extra features IMHO.
The ability to share media via DLNA is one thing that I use fairly often to watch movies on my PS3 from the phone. Also, the fact that everything is muchr smoother is nice. Only problem I got was with data but I don't know if it's because I haven't done a factory reset. If I was selling the phone I'd have to get that to work but otherwise, not a problem for me.
Soul Collector wrote:I new to all this smartphone business. I good with my lil nokia but it deadin on meh. Was doing some research and all roads lead me to the Google/LG Nexus 4.
Good price, unlocked, great features for USD$300.
Now duty and vat alone gona cost around TT$900 to bring it which is a kinda bummer for me. Anyone have experience with it though? Leme see if it maybe worth it.
Archlord wrote:Soul Collector wrote:I new to all this smartphone business. I good with my lil nokia but it deadin on meh. Was doing some research and all roads lead me to the Google/LG Nexus 4.
Good price, unlocked, great features for USD$300.
Now duty and vat alone gona cost around TT$900 to bring it which is a kinda bummer for me. Anyone have experience with it though? Leme see if it maybe worth it.
I have one. The battery was really kinda iffy at first but franco.Kernel basically fixed that for me. Once you don't have any wakelocks eg. Facebook and Gmail it should be fine. Otherwise its a great phone, money well spent
Archlord wrote:Yeah glass risky, but it feels so nice
As for recovering information, I'm not sure, but I get around the storage issue by setting up Dropbox camera upload so once I'm on WiFi all my pics get uploaded so I can delete them. Contacts automatically sync with your Google account so that's usually safe.
Soul Collector wrote:Archlord wrote:Yeah glass risky, but it feels so nice
As for recovering information, I'm not sure, but I get around the storage issue by setting up Dropbox camera upload so once I'm on WiFi all my pics get uploaded so I can delete them. Contacts automatically sync with your Google account so that's usually safe.
Ahh ok then. I wont be having too many important things on the phone and I dont plan to take out an Android plan from bmobile as I basically use my PC 24/7 and have no need for net on my phone. I have a wireless router at home so to back up will be easy at home using the online google services.
I read tonnes of reviews and I even saw die hard iPhone ppl switch over to this Nexus 4. You guys know way more than me about all this so I think I will go with the Nexus 4 and just come back to this thread for those "fixes" yall recommended. Plus I bookmarked some helpful sites I came across too.
Thanks again
BrandoHD wrote:Searching XDA would reveal some people complaining about poor battery life, and show you others with 6, 7 and sometimes 8 hours 'screen on time' over the course of a day off of the charger
What's the cause of such a huge discrepancy when they all use the same device?
sound boy 64 wrote:I got my defy. Downloaded some torchlight app and the usual stuff. Working pretty good. I'm looking to maybe update it but maybe later on
I got one for my cuz, works excellent.M_2NR wrote:Anyone of Ulyuh have one of this:
"Unlocked Samsung i997 Infuse 4G Android AT&T 8MP Camera Cell Phone
http://bit.ly/UCqRk5 "
It's 190$. I find its not a bad buy and would work on local 4G.
Archlord wrote:
Doesn't seem that useful nah :/
PapaC wrote:Wife stock S3 doesn't really last the day, never tinkered with roms and all that, just normal touch wiz and latest OS.
Any tips to better battery life?
Apps to restrict what uses the 4g
S_2NR wrote:BrandoHD wrote:Searching XDA would reveal some people complaining about poor battery life, and show you others with 6, 7 and sometimes 8 hours 'screen on time' over the course of a day off of the charger
What's the cause of such a huge discrepancy when they all use the same device?
is. this. even. a. question![]()
everybody uses their phone differently.no two people will have the same patterns, apps, widgets, etc etc
and i doubt u have a nexus 4 and praising jellybean. the nexus 4 is designed for jellybean. and u wanna compare that to an s2. i am talking about the s2 and s3 just in case that flew over your head.
i had a nexus device too so i know those are flawless and have awesome custom rom support.
samsung didnt even release the source code for jellybean yet so that is why it is not fully stable on custom roms. closest thing ull get to stable is stock and that is a battery hog. (not to mention stock samsung roms are cartoony and ugly as firetruck)