T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

tourniquet

Re: NEW VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby tourniquet » March 18th, 2013, 4:48 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:Hilux
$168,000.00 d/c 4x2
$172,000.00 d/c 4x2 airbags, abs
$190,000.00 s/c 4x4
$185,000.00 d/c 4x4
$195,000.00 d/c 4x4 airbags, abs, side steps
$230,000.00 d/c 4x4 manual, diesel
$249,000.00 d/c 4x4 auto, 3.0 turbo diesel, fabric
$325,000.00 d/c 4x4 auto, 3.0 turbo diesel, leather

$75,000 extra for leather interior?

you're positive the bolded price is for the 3.0L and not the 2.5? :?

Postby Stephon. » March 18th, 2013, 5:53 pm

Lancer is a bad car to compare to. Its a redesigned ad wagon with a lancer logo. The car literally has no features worth talking about. Its in the same boat as the corolla.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 18th, 2013, 6:23 pm

This is the Lancer GT allyuh bad talking so?

Postby Stephon. » March 18th, 2013, 10:18 pm

Nah I talking about the trash they selling for 210k

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » March 18th, 2013, 11:09 pm

tourniquet wrote:
V2NR 3.0 wrote:
NorStar2K wrote:I have a question? Why do we have to STILL pay premium prices to get the best safety features that are intended to save lives, that is standard equipment in other countries. I'm referring to:

 Electronic Brake Force Distribution (EBD)
 Brake Assist
 Traction Control
 Dual Front, Side and Curtain Airbags (06)
 Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
 Vehicle Stability Management System (VSM)
 Factory Installed Keyless Entry with Burglar Alarm
 Hillstart Assist Control (HAC) and Downhill Brake Control (DBC)

We have all these accidents weekly, of which many have been fatal. We often blame (and rightfully so); DUI, cell use, fatigue, etc. But what about the car itself? Why are we STILL getting 2 airbags, disc/drum for example?

Example: These days with EVERYBODY switching lanes and darting in/out without signalling, I'm glad that I have side AND curtain airbags. But I had to pay a premium price to get the premium model to get these 'luxury' features. WHY???

$237 for the GL FWD Tucson, yet all you get are 2 airbags, ABS (w/o EBD) and Side-impact door beams. WHY??? You actually have to install an after-market alarm to achieve remote central locking. NO coded key! WHY???

All FWD SUVs (and cars) should at least come with Electronic Brake Force Distribution (EBD), Brake Assist and Traction Control as standard. I'd like to see 6 airbags too, but that will NEVER happen.

Will be always continue to be a 'lo spec' society?

Any thoughts on this??? I doubt I'm the only one who feels this way.

I totally agree with your comments and points. Do you know that the features outlines here are standard in the American market yet we are made to "pay for this" as "additions". But what are we to do ? As sad as it is - this is the market we exist in and while you and I may decide to hold our grounds and not buy, a couple thousands gonna accept these sub-standards. Its a vicious cycle.

you guys seem to forget that we're not a first world country; it's okay though, ever so often I make the same mistake :lol:
In several developed countries, these safety features are standard because of government mandates to have them on all new vehicles. I remember while I was in the U.S. the legislation was passed to ensure that new passenger vehicles be fitted with stability control; before that, it was an option :)
No dealership is going to bring in their entry level vehicles with those safety features just because they love and care about us :? :lol: Even if they did, you know we'll see a price increase to go with it :wink:
On a personal note though, other than the airbags, I've really never had any use for most of that laundry list of supplemental safety acronyms *shrugs*

tourniquet, I hear you, but I can tell you from two near death experiences my $300k+ 2.4 SGV Limited saved my ass from needing the 6 airbags. In both cases the ABS w/EBD, BA, TC, VSC and ESC kicked in. Cuz of all dem features, I never found out about the 6 airbags. And, that's my point. And you see the price I had to pay to get all that safety???

My SGV is a tank, yet my insurance discounts were only for alarm, GPS, etc.

As DJ Q said, there's also no incentive from the insurance companies for safety features. The more airbags you have, the more your insurance will cost you. Absolute BS! only in TT.

Postby ronsin1 » March 19th, 2013, 1:18 am

I am in the market for a mini van which dealer has these new or will I only get RORO

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » March 19th, 2013, 8:19 am

NorStar2K wrote:
tourniquet wrote:
V2NR 3.0 wrote:
NorStar2K wrote:I have a question? Why do we have to STILL pay premium prices to get the best safety features that are intended to save lives, that is standard equipment in other countries. I'm referring to:

 Electronic Brake Force Distribution (EBD)
 Brake Assist
 Traction Control
 Dual Front, Side and Curtain Airbags (06)
 Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
 Vehicle Stability Management System (VSM)
 Factory Installed Keyless Entry with Burglar Alarm
 Hillstart Assist Control (HAC) and Downhill Brake Control (DBC)

We have all these accidents weekly, of which many have been fatal. We often blame (and rightfully so); DUI, cell use, fatigue, etc. But what about the car itself? Why are we STILL getting 2 airbags, disc/drum for example?

Example: These days with EVERYBODY switching lanes and darting in/out without signalling, I'm glad that I have side AND curtain airbags. But I had to pay a premium price to get the premium model to get these 'luxury' features. WHY???

$237 for the GL FWD Tucson, yet all you get are 2 airbags, ABS (w/o EBD) and Side-impact door beams. WHY??? You actually have to install an after-market alarm to achieve remote central locking. NO coded key! WHY???

All FWD SUVs (and cars) should at least come with Electronic Brake Force Distribution (EBD), Brake Assist and Traction Control as standard. I'd like to see 6 airbags too, but that will NEVER happen.

Will be always continue to be a 'lo spec' society?

Any thoughts on this??? I doubt I'm the only one who feels this way.

I totally agree with your comments and points. Do you know that the features outlines here are standard in the American market yet we are made to "pay for this" as "additions". But what are we to do ? As sad as it is - this is the market we exist in and while you and I may decide to hold our grounds and not buy, a couple thousands gonna accept these sub-standards. Its a vicious cycle.

you guys seem to forget that we're not a first world country; it's okay though, ever so often I make the same mistake :lol:
In several developed countries, these safety features are standard because of government mandates to have them on all new vehicles. I remember while I was in the U.S. the legislation was passed to ensure that new passenger vehicles be fitted with stability control; before that, it was an option :)
No dealership is going to bring in their entry level vehicles with those safety features just because they love and care about us :? :lol: Even if they did, you know we'll see a price increase to go with it :wink:
On a personal note though, other than the airbags, I've really never had any use for most of that laundry list of supplemental safety acronyms *shrugs*

tourniquet, I hear you, but I can tell you from two near death experiences my $300k+ 2.4 SGV Limited saved my ass from needing the 6 airbags. In both cases the ABS w/EBD, BA, TC, VSC and ESC kicked in. Cuz of all dem features, I never found out about the 6 airbags. And, that's my point. And you see the price I had to pay to get all that safety???

As DJ Q said, there's also no incentive from the insurance companies for safety features. The more airbags you have, the more your insurance will cost you. Absolute BS! only in TT.

Hey guys 5th Gear did a comparison showing the effectiveness of ESC.
Watch it and I think you'll agree that a large number of crashes could be prevented with ESC fitted to vehicles.

The link goes to an entire 5th Gear episode (Season 21 Episode 03) so you can get to the bit on ESC testing by viewing the segments:
8:00 - 14:00 and 38:05 - 44:01
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » March 19th, 2013, 9:19 am

don't get carried away eh fellas, ESP/DSC etc cannot defy the laws of physics....

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » March 19th, 2013, 10:36 am

NorStar2K wrote:
I also saw in the Euro NCAP crash tests that ALL airbags deploy on a frontal impact which I think is perfect.

Until you have to pay 10k to reinstall each airbag cause you hit a dog.........[/devil's advocate]

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » March 19th, 2013, 11:50 am

lol at 10k, go through insurance

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » March 19th, 2013, 12:19 pm

Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:
NorStar2K wrote:
I also saw in the Euro NCAP crash tests that ALL airbags deploy on a frontal impact which I think is perfect.

Until you have to pay 10k to reinstall each airbag cause you hit a dog.........[/devil's advocate]

My point is if your vehicle has all (or most) the safety equipment engineered into the vehicle, you hopefully shouldn't have to to deal with the airbags deploying.

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » March 19th, 2013, 3:14 pm

NorStar2K wrote:tourniquet, I hear you, but I can tell you from two near death experiences my $300k+ 2.4 SGV Limited saved my ass from needing the 6 airbags. In both cases the ABS w/EBD, BA, TC, VSC and ESC kicked in. Cuz of all dem features, I never found out about the 6 airbags. And, that's my point. And you see the price I had to pay to get all that safety???

I get what you're saying, and I agree with you; it really stinks when you're at a dealership and they effectively tell you, 'here are the entry- mid level models, it has everything you would need, without most of the frills, but if you really love your family/ friends/ workers/ employees, you'll have to take a bigger loan and go for the top tier model :fadein: ' :|
As mentioned before, the dealerships and insurance companies aren't going to do things because they love us, we need some government mandate to have all new vehicles enter the market with a certain standard of safety, or if we already have it, we just need an update to it.
Perhaps working with these guys could help:
http://www.globalncap.org/NCAPProgramme ... lNCAP.aspx

At the end of the day though, regardless of safety features, user error is our biggest problem :|
Personally, I believe driver's education with an emphasis on defensive driving should be taught in high school for at least a semester :fadein:

aidan

Postby aidan » March 19th, 2013, 10:36 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:
aidan wrote:^I think is 15x for one now! You interested in a local used one ah wa, in super bess condition.

Saw toyota advertising hiluxes for 195k. Anyone could give me an idea what they equipped with?

The red one is yours? Pm me a price. My uncle wanna get one

Yep. Check PM for more info.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » March 20th, 2013, 6:59 am

tourniquet wrote:At the end of the day though, regardless of safety features, user error is our biggest problem :|
Personally, I believe driver's education with an emphasis on defensive driving should be taught in high school for at least a semester :fadein:

Love the idea.
Driver's Ed in forms 4 & 5 and have it as a CXC subject.

neexis

Postby neexis » March 20th, 2013, 7:34 am

DJ Q wrote:
tourniquet wrote:At the end of the day though, regardless of safety features, user error is our biggest problem :|

Love the idea.
Driver's Ed in forms 4 & 5 and have it as a CXC subject.

good idea.... but i still think alot of bad habits develop in trying cope with/avoid the hooliganism on the road. essentially a" learn to drive like them to avoid them killing you" scenario.

but is more than that. having a driver's license should be a privilege, not a right. there needs to be stricter regulation at the licensing office (which probably never going to happen) and overall enforcement of the law...and it'd be nice to see stricter laws and harsher penalties for truck and bus drivers, given their potential to do greater damage in an accident.
woops... lemme wake up there. this is real dream talk

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » March 20th, 2013, 7:38 am

What if they made it a CXC subject and that's the only way anyone under 25 could get their license?

I'm not saying that people over 25 are safer drivers, but people under 25 are more likely to repeat CXC subjects.

We can get a proper scoring system, obstacle course with moving objects including wet, dry and off road terrain and licenses can be handled by the school instead of at the licensing office.

You might say it's dream talk, but the best things in the seen begin in the unseen.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 20th, 2013, 7:43 am

I am glad some of you are not in power. There are other more important things to be done than making drivers ed a CXC course.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » March 20th, 2013, 7:50 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:I am glad some of you are not in power. There are other more important things to be done than making drivers ed a CXC course.

I'm sorry to say, but that is by far the most ignorant response I have seen on this site for a while.
The topic of vehicle safety came up, in an automotive thread, in "The Car Park", on an automotive site and here we are throwing out ideas.

Yet, you come here and give the response of anyone getting a ticket:
"Why don't you go catch some real criminals?"

Really, guy?
Really? :?

neexis

Postby neexis » March 20th, 2013, 7:56 am

relax man.... this is just tuner talk, this eh going nowhere. and at any given level.. you can always find something that is more important.

at the end of the day.. a few driver's ed sessions wouldn't hurt.. around a form 6 level, at a time when most people might get their licenses and and have a level of maturity to understand the significance.

the cxc thing a bit far fetched.

maybe they could consider raising the difficulty level of the regulations exams...
Last edited by neexis on March 20th, 2013, 7:59 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 20th, 2013, 7:57 am

Relax. I never gave a response pertaining to anyone getting a ticket. In fact getting a ticket is something I endorse. I don't endorse your idea of making drivers ed a CXC course. Two very different things. Don't get your panties in a bunch. It's not even 8 A.M. yet

drchaos

Postby drchaos » March 20th, 2013, 9:44 am

On the topic of legislation, we need Lemon Laws Now!

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » March 20th, 2013, 4:38 pm

DJ Q wrote:What if they made it a CXC subject and that's the only way anyone under 25 could get their license?

I'm not saying that people over 25 are safer drivers, but people under 25 are more likely to repeat CXC subjects.

We can get a proper scoring system, obstacle course with moving objects including wet, dry and off road terrain and licenses can be handled by the school instead of at the licensing office.

You might say it's dream talk, but the best things in the seen begin in the unseen.

Awesome idea. Just awesome

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » March 21st, 2013, 1:22 pm

Would you buy if its priced at $325k?

Postby noshownogo » March 21st, 2013, 1:36 pm

last one was 290k I believe. It's cheaper than the Accord if priced at $325k but still over priced if it coming with the underpowered Skyactiv 2.0.

Postby noshownogo » March 21st, 2013, 1:38 pm

But to directly answer your question, no. Mostly because it's left hand drive :|

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 21st, 2013, 1:46 pm

acesinghit wrote:Would you buy if its priced at $325k?

What does it come with @ that price?

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » March 21st, 2013, 2:17 pm

allergic don't expect it to be loaded like a Passat Highline. Based on the limited info I have, it will finally boast of features found in the Optima and Sonata. For MY2013 I would say an adequate equipment listing. Sadly the SKYACTIV 2.5 we may never see here. The lazy 2.0 153hp/196Nm engine is being offered. The Mazda Australia website gives us more perspective on the potential equipment listing. If we do get the 2.5 then figures look like 185hp/250Nm. Then SS may price it like an Audi A4 1.8TFSI Ambient Plus with S-Line package.

Postby honda hoe » March 21st, 2013, 2:23 pm

Stephon. wrote:YES! YES! A THOUSAND TIMES YES!!

Postby Rooki3 » March 21st, 2013, 2:27 pm

hahahahah

i rather buy a jetta & get change, than to buy that sheit

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » March 21st, 2013, 2:46 pm

honda hoe wrote:

Stephon. wrote:YES! YES! A THOUSAND TIMES YES!!

Hahahaha