Sharma serves notice on "souped-up" cars

Re: Finally, for the drop low men to take note :D

Postby SR » March 14th, 2013, 2:24 pm

vehicles using hid lights in headlamps and fog lights not designed for it need to be taken off the rd at night.......

Postby TRAE » March 14th, 2013, 2:27 pm

CBH soulya, it have so much things wrong with the country jed :( why they on we

Postby Les Bain » March 14th, 2013, 2:28 pm

Cosign on them mohawks, jed.

Postby nemisis » March 14th, 2013, 2:38 pm

Nah the Mohawks are a nice way of identifying from a distance men with interests in packing fudge. Good to know when you have plans on getting drunk....

moving

Postby moving » March 14th, 2013, 2:39 pm

d nissan juke how do you define what is lights and what is fog lights..lol

Postby Hook » March 14th, 2013, 2:39 pm

Tray, yes it have so many problems in the country, but check this again. (yes, ah chookin' mih mout' again)

When you're writing an exam, and you come across hard questions and easy ones, which ones you answer first? Not the easy ones? Right. Because you have a limited time to do as much as you can.

Okay, now picture yourself going up for re-election in five years and you need to put a dent in the crime situation.
Not just murders and robberies, but all crime in general. So everybody from Lincoln Guerra, to "Spongy" d zaboca t'ief, to "Sweetman" who does pick up passengers off d stand and drive on d PBR without a pass gonna get it.

The crime statistics would show a reduction in incidents and then figures relating to the number of tickets given and money yielded from these exercises, right? Inflate it with soup folly and look like you're doing something. Thas all.

Postby crazybalhead » March 14th, 2013, 2:41 pm

Is that a device used for propelling forward a watercraft using naught but the power of one's own muscles?

Postby Hook » March 14th, 2013, 2:42 pm

Verily.

Postby SR » March 14th, 2013, 2:43 pm

tawt dat was for flippin roti

Postby crazybalhead » March 14th, 2013, 2:43 pm

OOOAAAAAARRRRRR!!!!!!!

Postby shogun » March 14th, 2013, 2:47 pm

crazybalhead wrote:I also think it should be illegal to have a mohawk.

That is strict Mr.T and native american territory ONLY. Zangief could get a bligh...

And give them faux-hawk men a bligh? .....those are even more of an eyesore.

Buh watch CBH nuh? ....trying to divert the attention of the authorities away from the CF cup-holder lawbreakers, on our nations roads. :lol:

Postby TRAE » March 14th, 2013, 3:02 pm

hook i getcha partna, i getcha

tantrum2288

Postby tantrum2288 » March 14th, 2013, 3:33 pm

it just seems like a smokescreen because of how the Gov't loosing credibility so damn fast.....they want someone to take it out on and so they choose the ppl....just saying.

silver

Sharma serves notice on souped-up cars

Postby silver » March 14th, 2013, 3:51 pm

grand charge?? or legitimate threat?

Drivers whose cars are modified or are in poor working condition will have them seized by licensing officers soon. This, as Transport Minister Chandresh Sharma announced a crackdown on the nation’s roads. Sharma said cars unsuitable for the road were contributing to the high accident rate, which at the end of 2012 saw 35,000 collisions, with close to 200 people being killed. He said reckless driving and lack of respect for the law were alarming for such a small country as T&T.

Speaking at yesterday’s launch of the National Road Safety Awareness Campaign at Petrotrin Staff Club, Pointe-a-Pierre, Sharma said if further legislation was required to increase road safety, the Government would act accordingly. He said under the Motor Vehicles and Road Traffic Act, Transport Commissioner Reuben Cato can impound vehicles that were defective or did not conform to legal specifications.

“The transport commissioner already has the power under the act to seize motor vehicles when people soup up their vehicles. That is illegal. They have to get approval and we will be taking those cars off the road,” he said. He added that the courts had the power to suspend driver’s permits, and the transport commissioner also had the authority to do the same.

Providing more statistics, Sharma said the total amount of fines received by the judiciary in 2012 for traffic violations was $3 million, which he said was an indicator that too many people were not adhering to the law. He said: “We have to take steps to make sure that we bring to the attention of the national community that the Government, while it is going about educating, while we’re having these meetings and while we are trying to engage everyone, that if further legislation is required, we will do it.”

Sharma said there must be a proper approach and notice will be given first. “To take the vehicles off the road there must be some scientific approach...We just can’t go and tell drivers this is it,” he said. “We will tell them that it has come to our attention that this car has been souped up. “Or we may see a particular car speeding down the highway and on inspection we may realise this is not how it was when they bought it from the firm.

“We don’t want to take people by surprise. We don’t want to punish the national community, so we are saying co-operate with us. “It is illegal. Don’t do it. You are causing injury to yourself and you are causing injuries and pain to others.” Sharma said alcohol and cellphones were road-safety hazards.

He said: “We consume the most amount of Scotch in this country for our size. We drink the most beers, we have the most cellphones in the world for a small country. The statistics have shown that most people have more than two cell phones. “We don’t have the legislation just yet, but it’s coming,” Sharma warned.

Re: Sharma serves notice on souped-up cars

Postby crazybalhead » March 14th, 2013, 3:54 pm

Gosh, talked about several times. Although could have possibly been titled better.

Re: Sharma serves notice on "souped-up" cars

Postby S_2NR » March 14th, 2013, 4:06 pm

LOL. Why all this panic? Nothing is enforced in this country. Relax allyu self :lol:

Mr.Bollywood

Postby Mr.Bollywood » March 14th, 2013, 4:09 pm

S_2NR wrote:LOL. Why all this panic? Nothing is enforced in this country. Relax allyu self :lol:

True talk eh Buh say what, deh tracking the wrong setta ppll... I personally know police with 'suped' up cars and they cool with it so why we worrying?

snypaz

Postby snypaz » March 14th, 2013, 4:14 pm

W.W.P.D? (What Will Peter Do?)

But seriously... This won't be enforced. I'm not worried.

Postby shogun » March 14th, 2013, 4:28 pm

I dunno, i think true tuners TEND to be more responsible, with their vehicles. It's the decal and spoiler crowd that they should worry about.

Or, the just drop a higher displaced engine in a vehicle and not bother to upgrade brakes, suspension crowd.

Personally wouldn't mind that sh!t being taken orf our roads.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » March 14th, 2013, 4:54 pm

I don't see the point of this.
The road worthiness assessment should have been done when the car is inspected.
Banning modified cars will affect the economy and the demand for stock higher powered cars increases, and so their pricing.

Postby Rainman » March 14th, 2013, 5:22 pm

What about modified sound systems?

Reez100

Postby Reez100 » March 14th, 2013, 6:15 pm

what it have to worried about, they will have to appoint a "committee" to draft the law n by the time they finish is election time!!

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 14th, 2013, 6:43 pm

diversionary tactics from the failed war on crime and an attempt to address general populace dissatisfaction with the present administration.

Re: Sharma serves notice on

Postby hustla_ambition101 » March 14th, 2013, 7:06 pm

Mr.Bollywood wrote:
S_2NR wrote:LOL. Why all this panic? Nothing is enforced in this country. Relax allyu self :lol:

True talk eh Buh say what, deh tracking the wrong setta ppll... I personally know police with 'suped' up cars and they cool with it so why we worrying?

Yeah, just like they have very dark tint and make others strip theirs

Postby nemisis » March 14th, 2013, 7:11 pm

Police enforce the law but don't forget they above the law

Postby UML » March 14th, 2013, 7:16 pm

I tort it was more important to promote brethalyser and radar guns....but then again I have my own views about Chandradesh Sharma :|

Re: 'Souped up cars'

Postby wagonrunner » March 14th, 2013, 7:44 pm

crazybalhead wrote:Good thing my car not souped up.

+1.
no soup here at all.

Postby joker » March 14th, 2013, 8:11 pm

SO MY TOBO VAN SOOPED?

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » March 14th, 2013, 8:27 pm

Lol.
image.jpg

Rx

Re: 'Souped up cars'

Postby Rx » March 14th, 2013, 8:46 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:Seize all imprezas on nexens.

ALL.

wtf :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: