Trinituner Reefers, Saltwater Aquarium Fish Keepers

Reefplanet

Re: Trinituner Reefers, Saltwater Aquarium Fish Keepers

Postby Reefplanet » March 6th, 2013, 3:26 pm

hahaha honda :lol: i want to go raj...i getting my skimmer prolly next week so i might buy 3 chromis and a mushroom coral and then start saving for the rodi system.

Ah friend from school bring 3 snails and a crab for meh might link a pic later cause idk what they are and i not putting any strange thing in my tank..what if it is a whelk!!??

Tigz

Postby Tigz » March 6th, 2013, 4:31 pm

3po what kind of lighting do you have on your system. Before i upgraded my lights i had does same problem. Not sure if its the look of the light or the zoas actually loosing color, but since im running radions u have no issues.

3pO

Postby 3pO » March 6th, 2013, 5:01 pm

Tigz wrote:3po what kind of lighting do you have on your system. Before i upgraded my lights i had does same problem. Not sure if its the look of the light or the zoas actually loosing color, but since im running radions u have no issues.

They not loosing colour ,they start getting green in the middle , is the fruit loop ones in d middle of d pic not d green ones on the outside , and is radions they under , there wasn't any change in lighting ,

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » March 6th, 2013, 5:22 pm

3pO wrote:anybody know if is normal for zoa's to change colours, my fruit loops or eagle eyes(not sure of the correct name ) zoas start turning green in the middle since i put it in the new tank ,

How bout your flow over them ?

Tigz

Postby Tigz » March 6th, 2013, 5:25 pm

What percentage are you running at. I read in another forum that too much light causes zoas to turn green. So either lower dem or move the zoas down in the tank. I run my own at 100% for 4 hours during the day. Den a custom blue from 5 till lights out. And all my zoas are getting bck their original colour.

3pO

Postby 3pO » March 7th, 2013, 9:26 am

greenlime100 wrote:
3pO wrote:anybody know if is normal for zoa's to change colours, my fruit loops or eagle eyes(not sure of the correct name ) zoas start turning green in the middle since i put it in the new tank ,

How bout your flow over them ?

Well the flow kinda high over them but not constant

3pO

Postby 3pO » March 7th, 2013, 9:28 am

Tigz wrote:What percentage are you running at. I read in another forum that too much light causes zoas to turn green. So either lower dem or move the zoas down in the tank. I run my own at 100% for 4 hours during the day. Den a custom blue from 5 till lights out. And all my zoas are getting bck their original colour.

I have mine at 70percent on natural from 8 am to 5 pm , an they mid way in the tank

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » March 7th, 2013, 8:32 pm

just added in another powerhead... and wow :o fish and corals looking happier, already seeing the clownfish and hippo tang surfing the current. Feeling comfortable with the flow now.

Tomorrow I'll start running 2 bags of chemipure and ill try and post up a pic of the progress being made with killing the brown algae, been a week since adding rowaphos. Seeing slight improvement but I believed before I have plenty dead spots so now ill see how it goes.

Tigz

Postby Tigz » March 7th, 2013, 9:27 pm

What kind of powerheads do you hv. I started using generic pumps in the begining.but since my switch to vortech a year ago i cnt understand y i didnt switch before. 2 vortech on my 120 gal makes some beautiful flow.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » March 7th, 2013, 10:19 pm

I added this 1400gph - http://www.amazon.com/Hydor-Evolution-Aquarium-Circulation-1050-1150/dp/B0036RXO5M/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1362708393&sr=8-1&keywords=Koralia+Evolution+Aquarium+Pump

And eventually looking to move up to the vortech, I also have a Koralia 550 that helps create a random flow.

They doing a good job for now.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » March 7th, 2013, 10:20 pm

I have a 100gal btw.... only a few corals, will be adding some more in about a week or two once raj gets

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » March 7th, 2013, 11:30 pm

HYDOR & VORTECHS IS CHALK AND CHEESE

Tigz

Postby Tigz » March 8th, 2013, 5:40 am

Raj get corals btw.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » March 8th, 2013, 5:15 pm

HondaB20B wrote:HYDOR & VORTECHS IS CHALK AND CHEESE

LMAO true, by August/September ill try and get the vortech.
Feel a guh make a pass by raj tomorrow

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » March 8th, 2013, 5:26 pm

raj should update his website if he has time so we could see what he have in stock and maybe order it online ..go pick it up or have it shipped....trinidad is not big

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » March 8th, 2013, 5:48 pm

^^right now is pain to keep updating a facebook page I have lmao A website gonna be much much more to do

Tigz

Postby Tigz » March 8th, 2013, 5:49 pm

Greenlime you hv a facebook page for your tank?

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » March 8th, 2013, 5:50 pm

Tigz wrote:Greenlime you hv a facebook page for your tank?

haha nah boss, its for a Diving Club i use to run.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » March 8th, 2013, 6:26 pm

greenlime100 wrote:
Tigz wrote:Greenlime you hv a facebook page for your tank?

haha nah boss, its for a Diving Club i use to run.

You still with the diving club...................

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » March 8th, 2013, 6:29 pm

yeah still with them, just dont run it and plan trips anymore. i handed it over to another fella to run.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » March 8th, 2013, 6:37 pm

Ok, i did some nice wreck and reef dives in Grenada last year. Also did a nice drift.
Actually looking for some new equipment right now.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » March 8th, 2013, 7:26 pm

nicee... grenada has alot of great sites, we had a small group that went last year...brought back some nice pics.

Back to this thread lol

Still have the 1/10hp Coralife chiller to sell, its brand new. PM me if interested

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » March 9th, 2013, 4:03 pm

So when u go dive u just go to look not take?

Postby meccalli » March 9th, 2013, 6:51 pm

Taking material and livestock from the reefs is adding to the already diminishing reefs that are under pressure from a multitude of natural and unnatural phenomena and practices.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » March 9th, 2013, 7:37 pm

meccalli say that like a professor :lol:
But nah bring up fish from the reef takes special care, depending on the depth they accustomed to a certain atmospheric pressure so there are many methods in bring them up slowly and safely. Actually saw a angel that was like a backslash (from you keyboard) because a bladder I believe burst.

You also risk introducing parasites into your tank if not properly quarantined and treated. The only things ive brought back was a dead brain coral bout 8" in diameter which I now have in my tank (been dry for almost 3 years so pretty sure everything dead) couple weeks ago I put a real living brain coral on it from raj.

BTW got 2 corals by raj today, some snails and a couple feather dusters. Men buy out d purple brain coral and a pinkish doughnut I wanted tho :roll: lol

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » March 9th, 2013, 8:12 pm

yeah i fine like some men does be real hungry for coral and thing by him lol. Like one day somebody say "raj get some stock" i go by him and all i see is dust :|

Postby meccalli » March 9th, 2013, 8:23 pm

Haha, well marine bio is gonna be one of my minors come Sept. (which is why I wanna set up a marine tank)and yeah, you need to equalize the fish slowly as some fish can't control the amount of air in their swim bladder and then those who can regulate just end up spitting their entire stomachs through their mouth if brought up too quickly. Those with swim bladders still have a chance depending on the depth as you can air them down like a tube with a small pin or knife incision.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » March 9th, 2013, 10:05 pm

Anyone interested in the long tentacle GSP? Its not the short one.
I fragged out a portion of it today onto plugs.
PM me
I have 3 big clumps like this

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » March 9th, 2013, 10:51 pm

this is how it looks when fully extended........ this is the same GSP

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hCsrCs8h ... e=youtu.be

This is what some of my corals (zoas, GSP & a green polyp toadstool) look like under blue LED's

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aiMlsZc6lYI
Last edited by HondaB20B on March 10th, 2013, 1:38 am, edited 1 time in total.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » March 10th, 2013, 1:14 am

These are my vids i took at the Atlanta aquarium.........

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f0kwtemlm_w

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6xTcuc9K1pE

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kI18pTIuYgs

This last vid is a 4.5 million gallon tank with 4 large whale sharks (18-24 feet), 15ft manta rays & large groupers 6-8 feet (600lbs+). The viewing glass is 100 feet long, 40 feet high & 2 feet thick. I spent about 6 hrs at the aquarium. Its a place to visit. There is actually a tuner friend of mine that had the oportunity to dive with the whale sharks.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_P_c63zRDAI