Trinituner Reefers, Saltwater Aquarium Fish Keepers

greenlime100

Re: Trinituner Reefers, Saltwater Aquarium Fish Keepers

Postby greenlime100 » March 2nd, 2013, 9:32 am

hmm.... and I want my next tank to be a 300gal sps lmao.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » March 2nd, 2013, 9:39 am

greenlime100 wrote:hmm.... and I want my next tank to be a 300gal sps lmao.

Calcium reactor...........6-9K and an Apex

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » March 2nd, 2013, 10:35 am

I see natures world get a saltwater tank...75$ for a yellow tail damsel. They also say dey gettin some corals(not plastic, real) and i hv 3 frags i was tryna sell to them.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » March 2nd, 2013, 11:21 am

They quarantined?

Good, that means i could start to sell them my GSP (which out of hand) and my Kenya's

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » March 2nd, 2013, 11:48 am

well the lady said that i hv to talk to the boss..i tell her to ask him if he is willing to buy so next time i go i will see if i could sell some.

You could bring the water today?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » March 2nd, 2013, 11:59 am

will have to be later, heading chaguaramas now

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » March 2nd, 2013, 12:23 pm

iight coolz

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » March 2nd, 2013, 10:39 pm

greenlime, you ever thought of dosing vodka for the time

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » March 2nd, 2013, 11:04 pm

I did but was lil sketchy in terms of how effective it was. I read your post with it and did some reading on RC and figured it worth a try, It would allow me to feed them more often which I want to do.
But on the downside for me, I not sure of how well my skimmer will handle it.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » March 2nd, 2013, 11:18 pm

just dose real small amounts

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » March 2nd, 2013, 11:26 pm

Never had any real nitrate problem, cause weather or not I have nitrates I always do my 20% after eery 3 weeks, If I get nitrates I just increase the WC to 30%+.
Then again my algae wouldve been feeding on it so when the rowaphos cleans up the system, Ill monitor the nitrates closer and see how it goes, if needed ill look to the vodka.

How much raj has his dosing pumps for ?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » March 2nd, 2013, 11:37 pm

he had them for $700, but he has none right now. i and all waiting for another one to dose aminoacids

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » March 3rd, 2013, 1:15 pm

$700 ??? what kinda pump is that ?

Postby ruffneck_12 » March 3rd, 2013, 1:18 pm

imgur.com easier to use I find

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » March 3rd, 2013, 1:37 pm

what u does use the vodka for

Postby meccalli » March 3rd, 2013, 1:57 pm

Vodka is an organic carbon source that causes greater growth in bacterial populations that take up nitrate and phosphate molecules during the process so less algae growth and better condition for calcareous formations.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » March 3rd, 2013, 2:00 pm

anyone interested in a 1/10hp chiller let me know.... still have a brand new one that was shipped in error. PM me if interested.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » March 3rd, 2013, 4:20 pm

Reefplanet wrote:what u does use the vodka for

:shock: :shock: :shock: .............REEFPLANET, YOU DOES BE SLEEPING AT D BACK OF D CLASS OR WHAT?????? :D :D ...................i POSTED THIS FOR YOU ON pg5.

Google is you friend

Dosing Vodka to reduce NO3 and PO4 in Saltwater Aquarium
Submitted by AquariumsLife.com on February 19, 2010 – 7:00 amOne Comment

vodka dosingI won’t go deep into the scientific area of this. I’ll leave this to others who are more comfortable with this topic. To make a long story short, the goal of dosing Vodka is to provide an organic carbon source to grow bacteria in order to consume phosphates and nitrates. Bacteria are then exported via the protein skimmer and so are the nutrient that it consumed. The idea here is to reduce Nitrate and Phosphate to create a better environment for the fish and invertebrates and reduce the chances of an algae outbreak.

Even though there is scientific literature to back up the idea, this dosing method was achieved trough experimentation and observation. Many fellow aquarist shared their results and observation on forums to finally come up with recommended dosing rates (see: ReefCentral.com, Nano-Reef.com). In general, users note a dramatic decrease in nitrate and phosphate molecules, while others note increased coral coloration and clearer water.

Note: This method should do well for systems that do not effectively remove NO3 and PO4. Systems with very low levels of NO3 and PO4 may not benefit to any great extent by dosing carbon.
Why Vodka?

Phosphate and nitrate are the two main nutrient reduced when adding organic carbon. Basically, dosing and other kinds of any organic carbon would give you the same results.
People have also experimented this with vinegar, sugar, etc (all of which are organic). The reason we use vodka in comparison to other spirits is that vodka is more pure in composition. Vodka is mostly water ethanol: no additives, no flavor added, etc.
How does it reduce NO3 and PO4?

By adding organic carbon, we increase bacterial growth and reproduction. The reason why we do this is because bacteria use nutrients such as nitrate and phosphate to build new cells which result in rapid NO2 and PO4 reduction. Like us, they need their carbs. Bacteria are then exported via the protein skimmer and so are the nutrient that it consumed. Most vodka users note a notable increase in skimmate production, removing more waste than without vodka addition.
The Skimmer

A good skimmer is a key requirement for this method. Cultivating bacteria to lower NO3 and PO4 is one thing but you also need to remove those bacteria from your system. If you keep the bacteria in your system, they will eventually set those nutrients free when they die. You can’t rely on water changes for that so make sure you have a good skimmer! The other reason for using a skimmer is gas exchange. The increased bacterial biomass will decrease your dissolved O2 levels which can cause stress (or death) to the reef inhabitant.
Dosing Instructions

1. Your first step is to test your system’s NO3 and PO4 levels. Do not try this method if you don’t know this!!!!!

2. Estimate the net water volume of your system. The water volume is the sum of the aquarium volume, the sump and refuge minus live rock displacement. It is ok to underestimate the net water volume but it is risky to overestimate it.

3. Start with 0.1 ml of vodka per 25 gallons (100 L) daily for the first three days.

4. Then, double the daily dosage to 0.2 ml per 25 gallons (100 L) for days 4 to 7.

5. On week two, add an additional 0.5ml to the daily dosage, regardless of the aquarium volume. Always test your system’s NO3 and PO4 levels. If your NO3 and PO4 levels start to drop during that 2nd week, maintain the current daily dose. If your NO3 and PO4 do not drop, add an additional 0.5 ml of vodka to the daily dosage on week three. Add 0.5 ml to the daily dosage every week until your NO3 and PO4 start to drop.

6. When your NO3 and PO4 levels drop near undetectable levels, cut your current dose in half. This will be your daily dose.

7. Keep dosing vodka every day (the dose on point 6) and keep monitoring your NO3 and PO4. If levels become detectable again, increase your daily dose by 0.1ml per week until the levels start to decrease again. Your NO3 and PO4 levels will eventually drop back to undetectable. This will become your new daily dose.

NB: Those instructions are for 80 proof vodka only (40% ethanol by volume).

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » March 3rd, 2013, 5:32 pm

HondaB20B wrote:
Reefplanet wrote:what u does use the vodka for

:shock: :shock: :shock: .............REEFPLANET, YOU DOES BE SLEEPING AT D BACK OF D CLASS OR WHAT?????? :D :D ...................i POSTED THIS FOR YOU ON pg5.

Google is you friend

Dosing Vodka to reduce NO3 and PO4 in Saltwater Aquarium
Submitted by AquariumsLife.com on February 19, 2010 – 7:00 amOne Comment

vodka dosingI won’t go deep into the scientific area of this. I’ll leave this to others who are more comfortable with this topic. To make a long story short, the goal of dosing Vodka is to provide an organic carbon source to grow bacteria in order to consume phosphates and nitrates. Bacteria are then exported via the protein skimmer and so are the nutrient that it consumed. The idea here is to reduce Nitrate and Phosphate to create a better environment for the fish and invertebrates and reduce the chances of an algae outbreak.

Even though there is scientific literature to back up the idea, this dosing method was achieved trough experimentation and observation. Many fellow aquarist shared their results and observation on forums to finally come up with recommended dosing rates (see: ReefCentral.com, Nano-Reef.com). In general, users note a dramatic decrease in nitrate and phosphate molecules, while others note increased coral coloration and clearer water.

Note: This method should do well for systems that do not effectively remove NO3 and PO4. Systems with very low levels of NO3 and PO4 may not benefit to any great extent by dosing carbon.
Why Vodka?

Phosphate and nitrate are the two main nutrient reduced when adding organic carbon. Basically, dosing and other kinds of any organic carbon would give you the same results.
People have also experimented this with vinegar, sugar, etc (all of which are organic). The reason we use vodka in comparison to other spirits is that vodka is more pure in composition. Vodka is mostly water ethanol: no additives, no flavor added, etc.
How does it reduce NO3 and PO4?

By adding organic carbon, we increase bacterial growth and reproduction. The reason why we do this is because bacteria use nutrients such as nitrate and phosphate to build new cells which result in rapid NO2 and PO4 reduction. Like us, they need their carbs. Bacteria are then exported via the protein skimmer and so are the nutrient that it consumed. Most vodka users note a notable increase in skimmate production, removing more waste than without vodka addition.
The Skimmer

A good skimmer is a key requirement for this method. Cultivating bacteria to lower NO3 and PO4 is one thing but you also need to remove those bacteria from your system. If you keep the bacteria in your system, they will eventually set those nutrients free when they die. You can’t rely on water changes for that so make sure you have a good skimmer! The other reason for using a skimmer is gas exchange. The increased bacterial biomass will decrease your dissolved O2 levels which can cause stress (or death) to the reef inhabitant.
Dosing Instructions

1. Your first step is to test your system’s NO3 and PO4 levels. Do not try this method if you don’t know this!!!!!

2. Estimate the net water volume of your system. The water volume is the sum of the aquarium volume, the sump and refuge minus live rock displacement. It is ok to underestimate the net water volume but it is risky to overestimate it.

3. Start with 0.1 ml of vodka per 25 gallons (100 L) daily for the first three days.

4. Then, double the daily dosage to 0.2 ml per 25 gallons (100 L) for days 4 to 7.

5. On week two, add an additional 0.5ml to the daily dosage, regardless of the aquarium volume. Always test your system’s NO3 and PO4 levels. If your NO3 and PO4 levels start to drop during that 2nd week, maintain the current daily dose. If your NO3 and PO4 do not drop, add an additional 0.5 ml of vodka to the daily dosage on week three. Add 0.5 ml to the daily dosage every week until your NO3 and PO4 start to drop.

6. When your NO3 and PO4 levels drop near undetectable levels, cut your current dose in half. This will be your daily dose.

7. Keep dosing vodka every day (the dose on point 6) and keep monitoring your NO3 and PO4. If levels become detectable again, increase your daily dose by 0.1ml per week until the levels start to decrease again. Your NO3 and PO4 levels will eventually drop back to undetectable. This will become your new daily dose.

NB: Those instructions are for 80 proof vodka only (40% ethanol by volume).

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: psshhh no lol....so if i goin and use this i need that skimmer first plus what my parents gonna say when they find a bottle of vodka in my room :|
Last edited by Reefplanet on March 3rd, 2013, 9:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » March 3rd, 2013, 5:53 pm

^^^^^^..............................RESEARCH :-)

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » March 3rd, 2013, 10:19 pm

lmfao... reefplanet you have to explain that iz for the tank... then when they find it in your room with a glass and some cranberry yuh hadda say yuh making sure it good before yuh put in in yuh tank... daz all. lmao

a slap and a belt might pass after but by that time you would have had a few GOOD nights of sleep lmfao

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » March 3rd, 2013, 10:31 pm

The Dosing pump raj has.... is it this type: ?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » March 3rd, 2013, 11:17 pm

Nope......... that one you have to get a second unit to program it.
The one he has is the micom liquid feeder which has its own computer in it. You can set it to dose up to 24 times/day or even 1 time every 9 days. dosage levels from 1ml to 99ml. Digital display
You can even get every 1hr, 2hrs, 3hrs, 4 hrs, 6hrs, 8hrs, once a day, 2days, 3days up to 9 days.
http://reefbuilders.com/2012/05/28/mico ... sing-pump/

it working real good right now. It dosing 20ml of b-ionic every 4hrs. A total of 120mls. The advantage with dosing alk/cal 6 times a day is that i dont get the fluctuation in my readings as if i had just dosed the 120mls one time. My alk has gotten steady at 9.3-9.6. My Cal is fluctuating more but is stablizing now. I'm at 480-500. I'm still getting real good growth and color though.
Good thing is in a couple wks when i need to increase dosage, its easy to do it cause i can increase by 1ml and still take cal/alk readings and adjust.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » March 4th, 2013, 10:07 pm

oooarr
Looking like real good quality stuff.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » March 5th, 2013, 8:59 pm

Serpant star

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » March 5th, 2013, 9:06 pm

Recovered Acans.................. Low Alk is a hell of ah ting

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » March 5th, 2013, 10:07 pm

HondaB20B wrote:Serpant star

:shocked!: :shock: where u geh dat!!!!!! raj have...i never see by him cause i doh get time to look

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » March 5th, 2013, 10:11 pm

Serpant star looking reall bad, wanted a eel at a time

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » March 5th, 2013, 10:27 pm

He has actually gotten bigger............... his center disk is approx 1 1/2" and each leg is about 5" long. He was lurking in one of raj tanks when i was searching for rock anemones when he latched onto my finger..................... I WAS LIKE :shock: :shock:

3pO

Postby 3pO » March 6th, 2013, 2:14 pm

anybody know if is normal for zoa's to change colours, my fruit loops or eagle eyes(not sure of the correct name ) zoas start turning green in the middle since i put it in the new tank ,
photo.JPG