Re: Bring back SOE

Postby pioneer » February 22nd, 2013, 10:47 am

Bring back the SOE.

Daran

Postby Daran » February 22nd, 2013, 11:16 am

I agree with Pioneer.

However, the curfew should only be implemented in high crime areas. There must be a balance with strict enforcement and having a nightlife a economy. If that can be achieved along with having the citizens actually physiologically feel the presence of an SoE, then SoE down the line.

Sacchetto Boutique

Postby Sacchetto Boutique » February 22nd, 2013, 11:35 am

Perhaps we can try something simpler..such as, find a way to encourage and educate/ train law enforcement personel to do their jobs properly and take pride in it. Maybe stricter laws too? I duno. There really isnt some panacea for solving crime

Postby dougla_boy » February 22nd, 2013, 11:36 am

Daran wrote:the curfew should only be implemented in high crime areas

u really feel dat doing something? steupsssss

dem criminals will move their activities from one place to another is all

Postby pioneer » February 22nd, 2013, 11:42 am

Sacchetto Boutique wrote:Perhaps we can try something simpler..such as, find a way to encourage and educate/ train law enforcement personel to do their jobs properly and take pride in it. Maybe stricter laws too? I duno. There really isnt some panacea for solving crime

Nah that eh go work, dem duncy police go run to union and cry

Unions hinder progress in this country

Bring back the SOE.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 22nd, 2013, 11:44 am

Remember when the SOE was last enforced they found guns that were stashed in the Oropouche river ?? The SOE has to be a nationwide thing for it to be anywhere close to successful.

Didnt Jack say if crime doesnt reduce he will resign ??

Postby pugboy » February 22nd, 2013, 3:27 pm

we are still a good way from jamaica though,
there are neighbourhoods where the police dont even bother to go in

Postby Rooki3 » February 22nd, 2013, 3:32 pm

pugboy wrote:we are still a good way from jamaica though,

yh jamaica different lol, all bcuz of the politician from bk in d day e.g seaga

Daran

Postby Daran » February 22nd, 2013, 3:59 pm

LOL Jamiacan's working in trini say they feel safer in Jamiaca. In terms of petty crime, rapes, robbery we are ahead per capita.

Postby sharkman121 » February 22nd, 2013, 4:00 pm

However the fact that we can now mention both countries in the same sentence is still appalling

Postby pugboy » February 22nd, 2013, 4:27 pm

true actually,
in jamaica there is more separation

Daran wrote:

LOL Jamiacan's working in trini say they feel safer in Jamiaca. In terms of petty crime, rapes, robbery we are ahead per capita.

jm3

Postby jm3 » February 22nd, 2013, 4:41 pm

Habit7 wrote:February 21 2012 - 57 murders
February 21 2013 - 70 murders

more than a SOE we need OPVs and a new CoP to press charges against the head of the MNS

yes man

Postby Rooki3 » February 22nd, 2013, 4:48 pm

Daran wrote:

well leh dem gtfo damn immigrants

Postby hustla_ambition101 » February 22nd, 2013, 5:02 pm

Daran wrote:

they free to go to hell back, or wait they seeing their best days here

Postby shogun » February 22nd, 2013, 5:13 pm

greenlime100 wrote:Didnt Jack say if crime doesnt reduce he will resign ??

He also said flood was a thing of the past.

Postby Rooki3 » February 22nd, 2013, 5:16 pm

in t&t a known unc supporter cud walk in a pnm stronghold & feel safe & vice verse.

not i jamaica tho, leh any jlp member see any pnp supporter in deh garrisson nah!!! is lead in deh clat

Postby Habit7 » February 22nd, 2013, 7:33 pm

Daran wrote:

Ask that Jamaican, how many Trinis contributing to Jamaica's crime statistics compared to Jamaicans contributing to ours? It is not uncommon in Jamaica for there to be 25 murders in a weekend. It is not uncommon in Jamaica that when you arrive in the airport, ppl would memorize your address on your luggage or follow you to your destination and rob you.

Tell your Jamaican friend they can go back if they want to, but not to feel more safe.

Postby SR » February 23rd, 2013, 12:23 am

we need to start deporting all these small islanders sponging off this economy

geodude

Postby geodude » February 23rd, 2013, 1:35 am

free buju!!!!!!!!!!!!1...
wait........
........ wha?

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » February 23rd, 2013, 7:28 am

ive always said that we should even the playing field by arming citizens and have been debating it with various political affiliates and law enforcement for some time now. ive studied criminal psychology casually and came quickly to the same conclusion as many experts.

most criminals are cowards at heart. and only attack when they believe they have the upper hand. which means in a country with restrictive gun laws. law abiding citizens are the ones at a loss. because the criminals wont obey the law ANYWAY and will obtain firearms to give themselves the upper hand. when ppl getting their homes invaded and their children raped by gunmen during the soe im sure those ppl couldve used a firearm to defend themselves until the police reach. instead of it being where they have to pray that an ambulance get there in time.

it was with great shock, but also great support when i saw the PM taking this initiative and seeking to create an arms treaty that will allow trinidadians to obtain firearms for the purpose of defending home and property.

bandits will have to think twice about robbing stores etc because they wont know how many of the patrons have a concealed carry weapon that cud send lightning up their arse anytime they let their guard down.

if u all are really interested in helping urselves defend against crime. i suggest u all support this initiative to the fullest. and the only ppl to disagree must be criminals and their affiliates. for too long only rich ppl have been able to obtain licensed firearms. but poor ppl get rob rape and murder too. the middleclass at the mercy of criminals. the PM has the relevant videos on her facebook. so check it out and follow up on this.

we should also seek to teach and train our children about the responsible handling of firearms from young. this will help to evolve our culture and will certainly act as a powerful deterrent against crime. the stats are clear.. in countries, states, cities and towns around the world where the population is armed, the murder rate by gun violence is significantly lower than others where their is gun restrictions on civillians.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » February 23rd, 2013, 7:36 am

soe to curb crime is bollucks and is a move towards the military running the country. how long would u keep the soe on for? indefinitely? that can be considered communism and tyranny. imprisoning law abiding citizens in their homes. revoking their rights by the constitution by giving the military powers of arrest. this is no solution. only to dullards and those the citizens of this country must be very ware of would suggest such a thing.

Benjamin Franklin said.. and i quote.. "those who would give up their liberty for a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety!"

kaylex

Postby kaylex » February 23rd, 2013, 8:05 am

turbotusty wrote:soe to curb crime is bollucks and is a move towards the military running the country. how long would u keep the soe on for? indefinitely? that can be considered communism and tyranny. imprisoning law abiding citizens in their homes. revoking their rights by the constitution by giving the military powers of arrest. this is no solution. only to dullards and those the citizens of this country must be very ware of would suggest such a thing.

Benjamin Franklin said.. and i quote.. "those who would give up their liberty for a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety!"

SUPPORT YOUR VIEW POINTS HERE 200%

The SOE is not,IS NOT a proper measure to reduce crime.. when the state utilized it the first time I was hoping subsequent to the SOE they would have rolled out some real coordinated approach between all arms of the state to deal with security.. welll .... I still waiting on it>>>
It could have worked but...........it wasnt thought out properly

there are NO quick fixes to crime... SOE is not a game... NO NO NO

Postby hustla_ambition101 » February 23rd, 2013, 8:26 am

turbotusty wrote:ive always said that we should even the playing field by arming citizens and have been debating it with various political affiliates and law enforcement for some time now. ive studied criminal psychology casually and came quickly to the same conclusion as many experts.

most criminals are cowards at heart. and only attack when they believe they have the upper hand. which means in a country with restrictive gun laws. law abiding citizens are the ones at a loss. because the criminals wont obey the law ANYWAY and will obtain firearms to give themselves the upper hand. when ppl getting their homes invaded and their children raped by gunmen during the soe im sure those ppl couldve used a firearm to defend themselves until the police reach. instead of it being where they have to pray that an ambulance get there in time.

it was with great shock, but also great support when i saw the PM taking this initiative and seeking to create an arms treaty that will allow trinidadians to obtain firearms for the purpose of defending home and property.

bandits will have to think twice about robbing stores etc because they wont know how many of the patrons have a concealed carry weapon that cud send lightning up their arse anytime they let their guard down.

if u all are really interested in helping urselves defend against crime. i suggest u all support this initiative to the fullest. and the only ppl to disagree must be criminals and their affiliates. for too long only rich ppl have been able to obtain licensed firearms. but poor ppl get rob rape and murder too. the middleclass at the mercy of criminals. the PM has the relevant videos on her facebook. so check it out and follow up on this.

we should also seek to teach and train our children about the responsible handling of firearms from young. this will help to evolve our culture and will certainly act as a powerful deterrent against crime. the stats are clear.. in countries, states, cities and towns around the world where the population is armed, the murder rate by gun violence is significantly lower than others where their is gun restrictions on civillians.

I wonder how many of these "law abiding citizens" will be willing to pay for training in the proper use of firearms. Everybody wants guns because they think it would make them safer but what happens when you get a bad drive, what happens when you pull up and see the horner man car parked in your driveway, what happens when you have "beef" with your neighbour, or co-worker. Trinidadians can't obey simple road laws, littering laws but want guns, folly.

Postby sharkman121 » February 23rd, 2013, 9:08 am

turbotusty wrote:Benjamin Franklin said.. and i quote.. "those who would give up their liberty for a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety!"

Postby ~Vēġó~ » February 23rd, 2013, 9:26 am

hustla_ambition101 wrote:I wonder how many of these "law abiding citizens" will be willing to pay for training in the proper use of firearms. Everybody wants guns because they think it would make them safer but what happens when you get a bad drive, what happens when you pull up and see the horner man car parked in your driveway, what happens when you have "beef" with your neighbour, or co-worker. Trinidadians can't obey simple road laws, littering laws but want guns, folly.

this is what I also fear......citizenry demonstrates a lack of self control....

discipline must be ingrained into the psyche of the individual from pre-school....

aunty k's/pantin's flowers have bloomed -- but it seems that their plants sown were poisonous......

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » February 23rd, 2013, 9:47 am

hustla_ambition101 wrote:
turbotusty wrote:ive always said that we should even the playing field by arming citizens and have been debating it with various political affiliates and law enforcement for some time now. ive studied criminal psychology casually and came quickly to the same conclusion as many experts.

I wonder how many of these "law abiding citizens" will be willing to pay for training in the proper use of firearms. Everybody wants guns because they think it would make them safer but what happens when you get a bad drive, what happens when you pull up and see the horner man car parked in your driveway, what happens when you have "beef" with your neighbour, or co-worker. Trinidadians can't obey simple road laws, littering laws but want guns, folly.

boy allyuh go call me a saint yes.. cuz i dont even litter. i put my litter in my pocket or my backpack till i find a bin. u all saying im the only person like this?

let it all be hinged on the screening process. applicants must be able to demonstrate adequate responsibility. i have a new thread going with this discussion. feel free to join in there.

as i said there.. when man pull up on they woman horning them or get a bad drive they does chop them up still if they mentally unstable.. drink lanate, stab them etc, tie them up and burn down the house with them inside.. so what that means? we should make cutlass, knives, poison and fire illegal?

if a man really want a gun to kill his wife, it is not very hard at all in this country or any other to get one as long as u have the finance for what u want. i think that this truth has been sadly avoided as law enforcement and government either clueless or choosing to live in denial about the reality of illegal gun access in this world.

prohibition is a failure. and an expensive one at that.. to the tone of trillions

Postby toyolink » February 23rd, 2013, 10:39 am

kaylex wrote:
turbotusty wrote:soe to curb crime is bollucks and is a move towards the military running the country. how long would u keep the soe on for? indefinitely? that can be considered communism and tyranny. imprisoning law abiding citizens in their homes. revoking their rights by the constitution by giving the military powers of arrest. this is no solution. only to dullards and those the citizens of this country must be very ware of would suggest such a thing.

SUPPORT YOUR VIEW POINTS HERE 200%

The SOE is not,IS NOT a proper measure to reduce crime.. when the state utilized it the first time I was hoping subsequent to the SOE they would have rolled out some real coordinated approach between all arms of the state to deal with security.. welll .... I still waiting on it>>>
It could have worked but...........it wasnt thought out properly

there are NO quick fixes to crime... SOE is not a game... NO NO NO

This exchange of views best demonstrate my fundamental thinking on this issue and I believe would have the more popular vote.
Let the institutions and individuals (which includes society at large) get down to firm and serious work......to us all 'stop passing the buck'.

Postby Ted_v2 » February 23rd, 2013, 11:07 am

pioneer wrote:Disband the imcompetent and illiterate police, or keep them as clerical and janitorial folk

Start hiring people with sense

8-)

Postby pioneer » February 23rd, 2013, 12:06 pm

Contract foreign security agencies to do the policing

Leave the locals to file paper, wash cars and clean equipment etc.

Limit what they know wrt to intelligence...so that they can't tell their criminal friends when raids gonna take place.

Postby Rooki3 » February 23rd, 2013, 12:09 pm

pioneer wrote:Contract foreign security agencies to do the policing

this is not a bad idea tho, kinda like mercinaries