Best Short course

jsr

Best Short course

Postby jsr » February 21st, 2013, 11:27 am

I am looking to improve my skills by doing some short courses.
Iam looking at pc repair or landscaping. Which of the two has more demand for services and is more profitable.
Additionally any other short couse out there that is recommended for high demand services?

Re: Best Short course

Postby hustla_ambition101 » February 21st, 2013, 11:34 am

Landscaping better imo, get your tools and you on, ppl pay a lot of money to have well sculptured plants, pc repair is beyond saturated and youtube has everything a person needs to do to do a repair

Daran

Postby Daran » February 21st, 2013, 11:49 am

Why not do both...

JSR Services Ltd.........we will fix your PC while we clean your yard.

jsr

Postby jsr » February 21st, 2013, 11:57 am

Daran wrote:Why not do both...

JSR Services Ltd.........we will fix your PC while we clean your yard.

not a bad idea :D

but i only doing one thing at a time

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 21st, 2013, 12:27 pm

If where you living has a lack of PC repair places I say go for it
(do shitloads of research on PC problems doh)

but the landscaping sounds like a better bet

Postby 1UZFE » February 21st, 2013, 12:29 pm

u cud do a short course on cooking KFC Maraval hiring...

Postby kurpal_v2 » February 21st, 2013, 12:29 pm

Cutting grass is more stable IMO.

PC repairs may or maynot arise but grass will grow.

Postby 1UZFE » February 21st, 2013, 12:33 pm

now is dry season so ppl wud not be demanding landscaping servies as often as 3-4 mths ago...
thats short term...

jsr

Postby jsr » February 21st, 2013, 12:47 pm

i see centeno through he ministry of food production offering thelandscaping course from time to time
also at one time i saw uwi offering the landscaping course, i will have to check up on them and other places

Postby Rooki3 » February 21st, 2013, 12:57 pm

1UZFE wrote:u cud do a short course on cooking KFC Maraval hiring...

lawl

Back2Studio

Postby Back2Studio » February 21st, 2013, 12:59 pm

Ever considered doing a Millwright's course? Great idea imo especially if u mechanically inclined.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » February 21st, 2013, 1:12 pm

1UZFE wrote:now is dry season so ppl wud not be demanding landscaping servies as often as 3-4 mths ago...
thats short term...

That's what you think, even when there was the 'shortage' some years aback the more 'affluent' areas had a full water supply and sprinklers and hoses were on and grass and shrubbery growing lush and landscaping is not only about cutting, there is planting, mulching etc

Postby 1UZFE » February 21st, 2013, 1:18 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:
1UZFE wrote:now is dry season so ppl wud not be demanding landscaping servies as often as 3-4 mths ago...
thats short term...

That's what you think, even when there was the 'shortage' some years aback the more 'affluent' areas had a full water supply and sprinklers and hoses were on and grass and shrubbery growing lush and landscaping is not only about cutting, there is planting, mulching etc

thats wat u think..
Dont u think in d affluent areas they already have their yard boys and private landscapers in the dry season as well as the rainy season.. u would be competing in a saturated market during d dry season...
ie Demand supply.
Oh on that case, reading hustla ambition's response u cud do a short course in micro econ or even priciples of Business... :mrgreen:

jsr

Postby jsr » February 21st, 2013, 1:34 pm

1UZFE wrote:
hustla_ambition101 wrote:
thats short term...

thats wat u think..
Dont u think in d affluent areas they already have their yard boys and private landscapers in the dry season as well as the rainy season.. u would be competing in a saturated market during d dry season...
ie Demand supply.
Oh on that case, reading hustla ambition's response u cud do a short course in micro econ or even priciples of Business... :mrgreen:

i already have econ up to a levels and additionally have business and tourism management diplomas

Postby 1UZFE » February 21st, 2013, 1:45 pm

but seriously Lanscaping u would make a lil extra especially during the last 3 mth of the year...

Postby hustla_ambition101 » February 21st, 2013, 1:55 pm

Easy way to get landscaping work is to look for new developments, especially gated ones and offer your services, you must have the equipment to back it up though or else you will be laughed at. If you decide to go the landscaping route, you have to have both manual and mechanical tools, which can cost you up to 5-10k depending on what you buying.

Postby BrotherHood » February 21st, 2013, 1:57 pm

The Bandit Association of Trinidad & Tobago (BATT) currently has a course in weapon-less robbery at Beetham Community Centre.
Could try that out. Could rob anywhere, anytime and make ah money.

Postby 1UZFE » February 21st, 2013, 2:01 pm

oh goosh Brotherhood, Blaze beggin BATT to close down....

Postby BrotherHood » February 21st, 2013, 2:05 pm

So I've heard on the radio some morning dis week.

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » February 21st, 2013, 2:20 pm

BATT is good but too many graduates these days leading to a competitive saturated field. if you decide to go into this prepare to work hard and maybe complete masters to edge the competition

Postby BrotherHood » February 21st, 2013, 2:43 pm

speedmelter wrote:BATT is good but too many graduates these days leading to a competitive saturated field. if you decide to go into this prepare to work hard and maybe complete masters to edge the competition

remember BATT not GATE approved eh so it does be hard fuh dem men to pay to do the masters degree.

Postby dougla_boy » February 21st, 2013, 2:52 pm

BrotherHood wrote:The Bandit Association of Trinidad & Tobago (BATT) currently has a course in weapon-less robbery at Beetham Community Centre.

how come i never hear about dis course? eh? gimme a lil details nah............do they offer other technical courses in that field?

looking to go from a normal guy, to hardcore gangster.........

Postby BrotherHood » February 21st, 2013, 2:58 pm

dougla_boy wrote:
BrotherHood wrote:The Bandit Association of Trinidad & Tobago (BATT) currently has a course in weapon-less robbery at Beetham Community Centre.

how come i never hear about dis course? eh? gimme a lil details nah............do they offer other technical courses in that field?

Well bandit and gangster are slightly different tings eh so this association does not have what you are looking for but we can create and bring out 'belly' to peform criminal acts which in turn takes a step closer to being a gangster.

Postby dougla_boy » February 21st, 2013, 3:17 pm

BrotherHood wrote:
dougla_boy wrote:

Well bandit and gangster are slightly different tings eh so this association does not have what you are looking for but we can create and bring out 'belly' to peform criminal acts which in turn takes a step closer to being a gangster.

noted....what kind of returns i should expect with an investment this big? i mean, surely i would have to pay lab fees, caution fees, insurance and material usage...no?

other wise, seems like a great course.......

one more thing, up to what level can i educate myself?

Postby 1UZFE » February 21st, 2013, 3:57 pm

Dougla theres a doctorate in BATT but most students usually drop out (get caught) or die before graduating...

CFSI

Postby CFSI » February 21st, 2013, 4:04 pm

PC repairs field is saturated. Actually, even up to A+ and Network+ as well. They're a common prerequisite for almost any IT job. If you're looking for a good paying job in IT these days, routing and switching (CCNA / CCNP) and other IT Security / Auditing courses are the way to go.

As another Tuner mentioned, if there is a need for the PC Repairs services in your area then that might work.

Phone unlocking and repairs is also a good field to get into.

The landscaping idea has great potential and once you even use a weed-whacker to cut grass, you can still make money until you get where you want to be.

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » February 21st, 2013, 4:35 pm

dougla_boy wrote:
BrotherHood wrote:
dougla_boy wrote:

noted....what kind of returns i should expect with an investment this big? i mean, surely i would have to pay lab fees, caution fees, insurance and material usage...no?

other wise, seems like a great course.......

one more thing, up to what level can i educate myself?

you can do the first level of practise with BATT out here but only the cream of the crop go away to the golden grove institute or other esteemed academies to further their studies.

phd level can get you good jobs as a politician or a role in any organisation handling large sums of money

jsr

Postby jsr » February 21st, 2013, 9:09 pm

i have a wacker already

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » February 21st, 2013, 9:17 pm

jsr wrote:i have a wacker already

8-) is that so :) ............... well right this way sir :arrow:

Postby Rooki3 » February 21st, 2013, 9:29 pm

jsr wrote:i have a wacker already

well u in d game dey, get a lil leaf blower too nah

landscaping very lucrative, we does pay $400 to cut & rake our yard, so u cud imagine if u hold down 10 yards when the month come