Tech Thread - Toyota Hilux...D4D and all older models.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.

Re: Tech Thread - Toyota Hilux...D4D and all older models.

Postby Aaron 2NR » February 16th, 2013, 2:07 pm

I do every 5000km

sweeks

Postby sweeks » February 16th, 2013, 2:07 pm

Dude most other dealerships service intervals for oil changes are at at 10-12 k km. some even at 20 k km. I doubt very much you're going to have a problem.

Btw Toyota would drain the oil alone and re-use the oil filter. Even for gas engines, they recommend 5 k km service intervals. Remember it's a business and there is a significant labour cost involved every time you go to service.

In European countries, I read where the service schedules are 18 000 miles (not km) for the previous model Rangers.
Last edited by sweeks on February 25th, 2013, 12:41 pm, edited 2 times in total.

FilterProz

Postby FilterProz » February 17th, 2013, 12:00 am

topshotta20 wrote:I was told by the Toyota service Manager to change my engine oil every 5000km and not every 10000km as i normally do now using http://www.amsoil.com/storefront/dme.aspx.
He said because of the diesel we get in Trinidad it is highly recommended that i do what he says.

2.5 4x4 manual hilux
76000km
What is your take on this folks

Regards

Most mechanics I speak to say service at 5000km is the best thing you can do for your car in terms of servicing. This is for both cars and vans...but due to cost ppl do it at 10K I myself used only original filters did service between 7-8K ...

toyoman

Postby toyoman » February 25th, 2013, 11:13 am

looking for the coil and clutch for the 2.5l hilux a/c compressor......or where can i rewire the coil?

FilterProz

Postby FilterProz » February 28th, 2013, 4:43 pm

toyoman wrote:looking for the coil and clutch for the 2.5l hilux a/c compressor......or where can i rewire the coil?

pm chassis I can quote..

RNR66

Postby RNR66 » March 6th, 2013, 10:39 pm

Ok I have a problem. 2007 Vigo - No matter how hard I pull on the handbrakes the back wheels won't lock up. Tried adjusting till only 2 clicks on the hand lever but still couldn't lock the back tyres. Changed to brand new brakes shoes and still no luck.

Anyone have an idea what the problem may be? I have to go for Inspection soon and I know that the handbrake test is an important part of this procedure.

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » March 6th, 2013, 11:23 pm

handbrake cable might need adjusting or replacing

sweeks

Postby sweeks » March 7th, 2013, 5:20 am

RNR did you use oem brake shoes?

I have a set if anyone needs.

RNR66

Postby RNR66 » March 7th, 2013, 7:46 pm

sweeks wrote:RNR did you use oem brake shoes?

Yes OEM shoes used and problem persists.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » March 8th, 2013, 9:10 am

RNR66 wrote:

There is a second adjustment for the hand brake underneath the vigo by the side steps.
Check both sides. It is at one side. The two hand brakes meet there and there is a nut to adjust try that.

I adjust my own to five clicks and it locks up

RNR66

Postby RNR66 » March 9th, 2013, 6:41 pm

PariaMan wrote:
RNR66 wrote:

There is a second adjustment for the hand brake underneath the vigo by the side steps.
Check both sides. It is at one side. The two hand brakes meet there and there is a nut to adjust try that.

I adjust my own to five clicks and it locks up

Thanks will try that.
Met another Hilux owner today and he said that is a common problem with the 2006 -2009 models. Is this true?

crazypassion

Postby crazypassion » March 13th, 2013, 9:46 pm

Good Day everyone.

Finally i got the opportunity to join the club.

Hopefully i did with style.

My First time owning a Toyota. :roll:

3.0L Cylinder - Fabric interior
Automatic
17" Stock Michelin

Everything else pretty much stock **FOR NOW**

500km... and i taking it easy until the first service...

Letting her work her way in.. She is working her self into me and i am in her.... if you know what i mean..

badart

Postby badart » March 14th, 2013, 10:07 pm

^ congrats on the purchase..is a toyota nothing to worry about

Postby Team Loco » March 25th, 2013, 11:17 pm

crazypassion wrote:Good Day everyone.

Finally i got the opportunity to join the club.

Hopefully i did with style.

My First time owning a Toyota. :roll:

3.0L Cylinder - Fabric interior
Automatic
17" Stock Michelin

Everything else pretty much stock **FOR NOW**

500km... and i taking it easy until the first service...

Letting her work her way in.. She is working her self into me and i am in her.... if you know what i mean..

well done. u got to throw her in some mud.

venum

Postby venum » March 30th, 2013, 1:52 pm

hey toyotas suck . . . deal with it

:mrgreen:

trying to find a service manual (like Haynes or Chilton) for the Vigo

someone i know has a TCC, early model Mask import with teh 1KD

anyone has :?:

Postby DVSTT » March 31st, 2013, 11:13 pm

Guys, the SR5 hilux, do they have any problems that they are known for or any faults?

sweeks

Postby sweeks » April 1st, 2013, 7:39 am

Bullet proof up to 200 000km..... After that ensure that the cooling system is up to par .... Badly maintained 1kz engine are prone to over heating.

Do u know of any good ones for sale?

Postby Rainman » April 3rd, 2013, 10:35 am

nigel1977 wrote:
Important to note for the 1kdftv folks.

Our alternator is a 4 wire harness, 3 phase type. Meaning, that the ECU governs the alternator field current. Its not easily replaceable with another alt from another vehicle, nor could he add anymore windings to the stator to increase output as its already ram cram in the housing.

Interesting enough, the windings used square wire and not round.

You would think, the Fortuner with more electric load would have a bigger alternator, not so. I checked that last year when I considered options, and its the same unit. :(

Nigel, would you happen to know the Maximum Current that the 1kd-ftv alternator can produce. I'm planning a small system and this information would be crucial in determining the size of the system.

tripplediamond

Postby tripplediamond » April 24th, 2013, 8:37 am

Suscribed... I finally bought a toyota, 2007 used 3.0 hilux auto. had to go auto for the wife. Any advice on what to do in terms of first service, any do's/ dont's etc?

Postby Rainman » April 24th, 2013, 8:52 am

tripplediamond wrote:Suscribed... I finally bought a toyota, 2007 used 3.0 hilux auto. had to go auto for the wife. Any advice on what to do in terms of first service, any do's/ dont's etc?

what's the mileage?

tripplediamond

Postby tripplediamond » April 24th, 2013, 10:59 am

120000km

droppa

Postby droppa » April 24th, 2013, 11:20 am

yo guys, jus a lil mention here, i did a 2" body lift on a tuners hilux this weekend, came out sweet, hilux looks way better now, much better approach and departure angles and availibility to run larger wheels......ill ask him if i can post a pic if he doesnt...

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » April 24th, 2013, 11:28 am

Sounds good

tripplediamond

Postby tripplediamond » April 24th, 2013, 9:27 pm

WHERE can i get a new antenna for the 2008 model hilux? and how much?

Postby Team Loco » April 25th, 2013, 8:50 am

tripplediamond wrote:WHERE can i get a new antenna for the 2008 model hilux? and how much?

i looking for the same thing.

guys, how much would i get for our new model hilux 4x2, 2006 model with 450,000kms? testing waters. van is literally like new

droppa

Postby droppa » April 25th, 2013, 9:51 am

yuh pass down in hole sunday night and pop horn and aint stop boi TL, ah kno yuh watching the TBP, it looking good eg.....

bt50

Postby bt50 » April 26th, 2013, 1:40 pm

So 20,000kms later this following issues have been experienced/experiencing on my 2012 hilux (bought new from TTTL)

1) Rotors warped at 5,000kms. Was machined at 10,000kms given i didnt get time to go back in before my 10,000km service for them to deal with it.
2) rotors warped at 12,000kms- replaced at 16,000kms under warranty.
3) Squealing on rear brake drums. TTTL machined same.
4) Squealing like a cortina re front brakes- since 5,000kms. TTTL kept van for 2 days and within one hour of driving the cortina squeak was back.sigh. Spoke to 2 other owenrs who had similar situation- however they ignore it.

I want to beleive is the material the disc pad is made from that is causing the squealing. Any thoughts guys? Disc pad almost due for replacement

Oh 3.0 auto 4x4.

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 26th, 2013, 4:59 pm

Had disc rotor warping after 20k

droppa

Postby droppa » April 26th, 2013, 6:54 pm

have some oem disc pads on the Jeremys LN hilux doin the same squeal right now, cleand and adjust brakes and wash off all mud from off road and same continues.....

when i had used mintex on my surf, not a squeal or squeak or brake fade......

badart

Postby badart » April 28th, 2013, 9:51 pm

a little brake noise is normal, normally i get it when i haven't washed the hilux in a while

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”