Predictions For International Soca Monarch 2013!

-Roach-

Re: Predictions For International Soca Monarch 2013!

Postby -Roach- » February 9th, 2013, 10:35 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:Image

Sawthat in my feed btw

#onelove

x2 @ #OneLove

Lol @ People Beating Up Over The Results And Both Machel And Super Humble... :|

Postby *$kїđž!™ » February 9th, 2013, 11:57 pm

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/SUP ... 56181.html

SUPER MEN
Machel retains Groovy title, shares Power Soca Monarch with 'Blue'

By Wayne Bowman wayne.bowman@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: Feb 9, 2013 at 9:51 PM ECT
Story Updated: Feb 9, 2013 at 10:15 PM ECT
SuperBlue and Machel Montano are the joint International Power Soca Monarchs, having trounced all opponents at the final of the competition that began at 9.30 p.m. on Fantastic Friday.
The International Groovy and Power Soca Monarch competitions ended at almost 4 a.m. yesterday at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Port of Spain.
No decision has been made yet with regard to how the total prize money for 1st and 2nd places will be divided between Montano and SuperBlue the Sunday Express learned yesterday. The first prize was $2 million.
Montano also retained his title from 2012 as the Groovy Soca Monarch winner.
The crowd of more than 20,000 people seemed to not have any problems with the tie result.
Many of them said they would not have been upset if either had been declared the winner and the other had come in second.
Austin "SuperBlue" Lyons and Montano each delivered the night's best performances as the majority of the other competitors failed to keep the audience's attention throughout their performances.
For much of the long night the crowd was subdued, at least by Soca Monarch standards, and patrons were marking time for the presentations of SuperBlue and Montano.
Performing in position nine, Montano was phenomenal as he delivered a well choreographed, smoothly delivered presentation of "Float" in the Power category.
With the stage darkened and dramatic music playing, a boy appeared on stage shouting that Superman was falling to the Earth.
Then suddenly, there was Montano wearing a padded and chiseled superhero suit and the letter "M" on his chest.
The crowd went wild.
On stage alongside Montano were dancers in other superhero costumes such as Robin, Batman and Wonder Woman.
As the performance moved along other dancers joined Montano on stage, adding to the excitement as he worked the crowd. At one point Montano stood before a large disc on a corner of the stage and he levitated, aided by what seemed to be magnetic devices rigged behind the disc and his costume.
As he neared the end of his performance, Montano put on a harness to which cables were attached that allowed him to not just be lifted up from the stage, but to hover above the first several rows of the audience.
This sent the people wild with excitement and they cheered as Montano sang above them for a couple minutes before returning to the stage and making his exit.
After he left the stage, people in the crowd began to chant, "Super, Super, Super, Super".
From the moment the horn from the recording of "Fantastic Friday" was sounded, the crowd went absolutely wild. They quieted for a bit as an introductory video montage was shown with Ras Shorty I's anti-drug anthem, "Watch Out My Children" playing in the background. Then the music began and the crowd set off again as SuperBlue appeared amidst dancers dressed in blue with red head ties.
For whatever reason SuperBlue's microphone levels were lower than they were all night, but this may have worked well for him as it made it obvious that he was actually singing on his own and not being assisted electronically.
With white-winged angels, moko jumbies and other characters, as well as rapso group 3Canal accompanying him on stage, SuperBlue worked the crowd.
Then as was expected, SuperBlue headed for the scaffolding by the speaker boxes and began to climb the ladder, but instead of standing on the boxes he went to a platform from where he told the people that he was thankful to Ras Shorty I for the gift of soca.
SuperBlue also thanked God for the music and life before singing a couple lines of "Get Something And Wave" and making his exit with the people cheering him and calling his name.
Of his win, SuperBlue said he was happy to be sharing the title with Montano.
He said he has always been proud of Montano.
He said it was a long, hard road back to the level of musical excellence he was known for and he had treasured every moment over the past several weeks.
"I am happy, content and I give thanks to God and to the people who have been around me and have had the confidence in me. This is only the beginning," SuperBlue said.
In the International Groovy Soca Monarch competition Montano also retained his title with an impressive performance of "Fog".
In this presentation the band kicked off with vintage-styled kaiso brass as fancy sailors danced across the stage.
Then one of the sailors took off his garments, revealing his identity as Montano.
This immediately sent the people into a frenzy as he went on to perform the Jouvert song.
Like his Power presentation, there were several dancers including various mas characters on stage with Montano. This included several giant puppets created by Peter Minshall towering over him.
By the time Montano was finished with his performance it was almost a forgone conclusion that he had successfully defended his title.
The Groovy opened with Drupatee Ramgoonai who performed "Indian Gyal" failing to move the audience as her vocals seemed flat and she was out of breath at times. Nadia Batson was shouting in the microphone during her performance of "Manager" which caused the crowd that was initially waving and jumping to quiet down.
Iwer George who placed second in the Groovy category with "Bubble" delivered a simple performance that featured him in a ship captain's outfit and fancy sailors, dame lorraines and other characters.
Iwer invited a patron to come on stage to sing a verse and he got the people excited when he sang "Put up your hands if yuh want Iwer to win Groovy and take Munro money." Hands shot up to the sky and the people cheered.
Prophet Benjamin then appeared and sang a verse in which he said Iwer had gotten him in trouble with the law for singing that he was selling a herb in order to take care of his family.
With Iwer looking on laughing and the patrons calling for Prophet to sing more, the reggae artiste turned soca star sang that he was selling his product and cleaning out the seeds right on Iwer's boat rides.
Possibly the night's most disappointing performance was that of Swappi who many expected would have placed third in the Power category.
Singing "Cha-os", Swappi kept on stopping the band at intervals and stood watching the crowd.
Making things worse for Swappi was him going over the eight-minute time limit when he had magician Kes the Illusionist come on stage to perform a disappearing act.
The results as provided by Caribbean Prestige Foundation Play Whe International Power Soca Monarch 1. Austin "SuperBlue" Lyons 1. Machel Montano 3. Rodney "Benjai" Le Blanc 4. Destra Garcia Digicel International Groovy Soca Monarch 1. Machel Montano 2. Neil "Iwer" George 3. Dexter "Blaxx" Stewart 4. Ravi B

Postby *$kїđž!™ » February 9th, 2013, 11:59 pm

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Mac ... 56171.html

Machel honoured to share title with SuperBlue
By Nigel Telesford
Story Created: Feb 9, 2013 at 9:51 PM ECT
Story Updated: Feb 9, 2013 at 10:14 PM ECT
Consecutive double Soca Monarch Machel Montano feels "honoured" to have tied with five-time winner Austin "SuperBlue" Lyons in the Power category following the finals of the International Soca Monarch competition last Friday night.
Speaking to the Sunday Express early yesterday morning, Montano reiterated that "SuperBlue" was the reason he started singing soca.
He said: "It is a great honour to tie with the man that made me want to sing soca. He pushed me to work harder and go beyond my limits (Friday) night. I congratulate him and his ability to return and be a force to be reckoned with. I feel proud to be the defender of my generation as Superman returned to meet the Boy of Steel."
Montano said he was caught unawares when the results were being announced, but gave all praise to God once he heard the results.
"I was right outside the artistes entrance and I think someone told me about the Groovy so I walked in to hear and then I heard the Power results walking through the artistes tunnel and I thought: To God be the glory.
We didn't overreact or go crazy because we simply didn't have the energy after working really hard, long hours and we were exhausted. I am truly grateful and even more confident in the belief that hard work really pays."
Asked about plans to celebrate defending his titles, Montano said he had a mini-celebration with his team but deferred the grand occasion to Ash Wednesday.
"I just did with the team—we prayed, we laughed, we made a toast and we dissected our shows. We still have performances to go, so we are still focused. We have 'Mania' on Sunday night, which will be big but we will really celebrate with our fans at Club Zen on Ash Wednesday."
Earlier this season, Montano declared his intention to play mas on the road with Fantasy Carnival again this year, as the band also celebrated his Soca Monarch victories last year and helped him to secure his 2012 Road March title.
However, after the rigorous schedule of the last ten days, the veteran entertainer is thinking of escaping to somewhere quieter.
Now a consecutive double Soca Monarch, Montano is hoping to create history and win the Road March title once again with his song "Float".
He said:
"I think the race is close but "Float" really is better designed to lift masqueraders when crossing the stage. I want to hover with the double triple crowns

Postby rfari » February 10th, 2013, 12:32 am

Soca monarch come like wwf now yes

Postby pioneer » February 10th, 2013, 12:33 am

people still beatin up over this chit?

I guess little things amaze little minds yes

Postby rfari » February 10th, 2013, 12:36 am

My tax morney spend for that competition

Postby kurpal_v2 » February 10th, 2013, 12:39 am

pioneer wrote:people still beatin up over this chit?

I guess little things amaze little minds yes

Yellow diamonds in the sky

matthewmazda

Postby matthewmazda » February 10th, 2013, 3:19 am

the people who beating up over the results are the ones who didint go and
see the performances live, just sat down home

kaylex

Postby kaylex » February 10th, 2013, 7:17 am

Soca Monarch flawed... DOH BEAT UP....
How dis lil bit of sh*t reach finals of power...
coould somebody tell meh>>>>

I wonder if you all could remember the Socerer from her performance...

Wha bout Drupatee>>>> classic eat a food performance....she just came to collect the appearance fee...She didnt even attempt to hide it... she do she thing with little props.. and leave .. If it aint clear... this competition not as clear....

\
\
BTW... NUFF RESPECT TO BENJAI.. THIRD IN POWER AND GROOVEY... ON THE BACK OF A YOUNG KINGS LAST YEAR....SEEMI YAAAA!!!

Skanky

Postby Skanky » February 10th, 2013, 7:35 am

The real winner is William Munroe and the monarch judges who getting kickbacks for their self serving decisions.

Judge in Zen case already said Machel not getting community service so most likely is fine and or jail after the Carnival done.On hearing this Munroe hit them the 5% and 90% clauses in the contract knowing fully well that he will make Machel win and hope he not there in 2014 to defend...thus making a free $1.425M along with ticket money etc.
He didn't cater for Super being so big and anybody could have seen Super won so to prevent that unruly crowd getting out of hand and also to take some attention away from the judges and himself he gave them the tie.

Truth is William Munroe and the judges just set into motion a plan to thief $1.425M of taxpayers money right in front their eyes in an obviously rigged 'competition' and all they concerned with is if Super beat Machel.

Postby wagonrunner » February 10th, 2013, 11:24 am

bingo

Postby BrotherHood » February 10th, 2013, 12:23 pm

Skanky wrote:The real winner is William Munroe and the monarch judges who getting kickbacks for their self serving decisions.

Judge in Zen case already said Machel not getting community service so most likely is fine and or jail after the Carnival done.On hearing this Munroe hit them the 5% and 90% clauses in the contract knowing fully well that he will make Machel win and hope he not there in 2014 to defend...thus making a free $1.425M along with ticket money etc.
He didn't cater for Super being so big and anybody could have seen Super won so to prevent that unruly crowd getting out of hand and also to take some attention away from the judges and himself he gave them the tie.

Truth is William Munroe and the judges just set into motion a plan to thief $1.425M of taxpayers money right in front their eyes in an obviously rigged 'competition' and all they concerned with is if Super beat Machel.

You know the thing self Skanky. WHy must the winner give back 5% of their prize? Didn't the artist enter and win the prize? BS!
Why must the winner give back 90% of the prize if they fail to defend their crown the following year? So much as 90%? If for some reason, Super Blue with his age and condition decides to not defend his title next year, by contract he would have to give 90% of the winnings back which is really him getting nothing for all the hard work he put out this year in winning the prize. More BS!
Quite unscrupulous of you Mr. William Munroe. You don't care about these artists or the competition, just about the big money that is involved.

Postby BrotherHood » February 10th, 2013, 12:31 pm

kaylex wrote:

Soca Monarch flawed... DOH BEAT UP....
How dis lil bit of sh*t reach finals of power...
coould somebody tell meh>>>>

I wonder if you all could remember the Socerer from her performance...

:lol: I made it to 1:30s of the video and saw no dust yet title of the song is 'Raising Dust'. I'm glad she made the finals this year and got her appearance fee so dat next year she can't come and beg at the semis in Arima Velodrome and bawl ohh is 15yrs she in d business an she neva get nun. Dat won't work in 2014.

~*Pãñdorą*~
Location: You're Either On My Side, By My Side Or In My Fcuking Way!!

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » February 13th, 2013, 10:34 am

Soca Monarch is like a casino.. The House Always Wins..

Mr. Munroe, with his fake concern for Bunji/Faye Ann pulling out, is no fool.
The tie was most definitely his mastermind, he guaranteed the return in 2014 of 2 HUGE Soca artistes. If either one can't make it, he will get his 90%, if they do make it back to defend their shared title, he's gonna make a killing on ticket sales.

It's a win/win situation for Mr. Munroe.. At the end of the day it's a business transaction.
There ain't no damn culture in that competition anymore!!

Postby BrotherHood » February 13th, 2013, 4:14 pm

~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:Soca Monarch is like a casino.. The House Always Wins..

Mr. Munroe, with his fake concern for Bunji/Faye Ann pulling out, is no fool.
The tie was most definitely his mastermind, he guaranteed the return in 2014 of 2 HUGE Soca artistes. If either one can't make it, he will get his 90%, if they do make it back to defend their shared title, he's gonna make a killing on ticket sales.

It's a win/win situation for Mr. Munroe.. At the end of the day it's a business transaction.
There ain't no damn culture in that competition anymore!!

Postby Ronaldo95163 » February 13th, 2013, 4:53 pm

We in 2013 and people still using/talking about culture??
Nah man :|

-Roach-

Postby -Roach- » February 13th, 2013, 6:43 pm

So Um... Superblue Win Road March?...

Postby BrotherHood » February 13th, 2013, 8:02 pm

^^ yes he did. 511 plays for Super Blue compared to Machel's. 56.
Fantastic Friday created history with the most amount of times being played.

A resounding cutarse yuh call dat. :lol:

-Roach-

Postby -Roach- » February 13th, 2013, 9:15 pm

BrotherHood wrote:^^ yes he did. 511 plays for Super Blue compared to Machel's. 56.
Fantastic Friday created history with the most amount of times being played.

A resounding cutarse yuh call dat. :lol:

:lol: ....Nice... Went Couva Tuesday And Like All Them DJ's Had The Super On Repeat... :shock: