3NE2NR Official Phototakerouter & Photography Thread...

Re: 3NE2NR Official Phototakerouter & Photography Thread...

Postby DVSTT » February 11th, 2013, 9:01 am

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » February 11th, 2013, 9:10 am

Is there an after picture of that duck?

Postby DVSTT » February 11th, 2013, 9:22 am

.:PROZAC:.. wrote:Is there an after picture of that duck?

Lolz, it still alive!

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » February 12th, 2013, 4:43 am

It's been a while since I posted something on here, but I have a small update on my low budget setup.. I'm still rocking the ole XTi because it get's the job done (somewhat). Anyways, I've been playing around with the idea of putting together a small studio at work to help with product shots of my apparel line. I ordered a cheapo ($300) backdrop kit with 3 softboxes on stands, each box uses 4 CFL bulbs. I also ordered a Canon 50mm 1.8 lens after reading some reviews. Now this is a budget setup used mainly for facebook product shots. I have a real photographer for professional shots when needed, but it's almost impossible to hire him on a full time basis to take photos of my daily work- That's the reason for setting up the el cheapo studio with a few mannequins and a little elbow grease in post production (Post is a lot of work)

Today the 50mm 1.8 lens arrived from Amazon ($120) so I couldn't wait to try it out.. It's kinda flimsy and it's a little difficult to grab a hold off when trying to manual focus, but so far I think it's a good investment. Below are shots done with 2 double 4ft fluorescent fixtures positioned 45* in front of the subject (shirt on mannequin) and a cheap $5 clamp on light fixture with a 100W day light CFL aimed at the subject's head/shoulders. I'm not using light softeners or reflectors, this is strictly backyard sheit until my light kit arrives next week. BTW, the only thing I did in post was isolate the black background, no color adjustment or white balance adjustment. I did white balance the camera using a paper coffee filter (low budget trick :lol:) before the shoot.

f/11

f/2.8

Postby meccalli » February 12th, 2013, 7:59 am

Here's when I replaced the strobe in a sb-600. As long as you avoid getting electrocuted by the capacitor, you should be fine. :mrgreen:

Postby Aaron 2NR » February 12th, 2013, 9:11 am

Looking out from the north coast. iPhone shot

Cid

Postby Cid » February 12th, 2013, 9:25 am

Wishes Fireworks....android :)

Postby maj. tom » February 12th, 2013, 4:19 pm

40 of the Most Powerful Pictures Ever Taken

http://imgur.com/a/RHkIi

A picture and a simple caption can be so powerful, more so, if one understands the political context of it.

Local artists, have you ever taken a photograph like those above, that when paired with a simple caption can stir our deepest empathy and hope? I am sure it has happened locally some times. I remember some photos like that from the 1990 coup d'état.

"In the finished article, the only thing that is important is whether it moves you or not. There is nothing else that is important at all."
Roger Waters, Pink Floyd: Live at Pompeii, 1972

stikid09

Postby stikid09 » February 12th, 2013, 4:39 pm

Dharin you're outdoing yourself bro. Wow.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 12th, 2013, 5:59 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:Looking out from the north coast. iPhone shot

hmmm and people want to leave this country ?? Trinidad sweet too bad

Nice pic man...

And Dharin as well... some outstanding photos dan

Postby DVSTT » February 12th, 2013, 8:36 pm

Thanks fellas! Will post up the carnival pics when I load them, now got home..

Postby DVSTT » February 12th, 2013, 9:29 pm

shots coming
Last edited by DVSTT on February 13th, 2013, 6:15 pm, edited 2 times in total.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 12th, 2013, 9:32 pm

Dharin... these pics from south carnival or north?

Trinifieds

Postby Trinifieds » February 12th, 2013, 9:51 pm

ImageUploadedByTapatalk 21360720009.092009.jpg

Taken with iPhone

Postby nemisis » February 12th, 2013, 10:04 pm

Would be cool too know which touch ups were needed for the pics. Not all but like major things that were fixed using post processing

Postby DVSTT » February 13th, 2013, 8:45 am

greenlime100 wrote:Dharin... these pics from south carnival or north?

South. Idk north at all so I nuh going

The album:

http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set= ... 423&type=3

COROLLA KID

Postby COROLLA KID » February 14th, 2013, 9:22 am

taken with my Sony Cyber-shot DSC-W570 digital camera...no big DSLR here :D

Postby RBphoto » February 14th, 2013, 9:46 am

Please either color correct or pay attention to your WB and the color of your lights :|
aphid.jpg

COROLLA KID

Postby COROLLA KID » February 14th, 2013, 10:36 am

crossdrilled wrote:Please either color correct or pay attention to your WB and the color of your lights :|

I used a standard digital camera to take these photos, i cant fine tune when taking shots
and these are the raw photos, no photo editing done 8-)
nice edit though, but the colours seem to "pop" more in mines

Postby DVSTT » February 15th, 2013, 10:31 am

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » February 15th, 2013, 11:42 am

BBQ on carnival mon evening...

Postby Aaron 2NR » February 15th, 2013, 3:29 pm

Saw this today #iphone pic

Postby Trini Hookah » February 15th, 2013, 5:32 pm

Is hashtag he hashtag de pic dey :|

Postby kurpal_v2 » February 15th, 2013, 6:01 pm

Aaron you didn't notice the engine # by chance?

Postby Aaron 2NR » February 15th, 2013, 8:17 pm

Didnt take a walk out the vehicle lol
It's located at brechin castle

Postby RBphoto » February 18th, 2013, 9:18 am

COROLLA KID wrote:
crossdrilled wrote:Please either color correct or pay attention to your WB and the color of your lights :|

I used a standard digital camera to take these photos, (1) i cant fine tune when taking shots
and these are the (2) raw photos, no photo editing done 8-)
nice edit though, (3) but the colours seem to "pop" more in mines

Wrong, wrong and oh so wrong.... what model camera you have that can't change WB, but will let you shoot raw? My crappy canon SD1200IS lets me change WB in the "P" mode.

Postby pete » February 18th, 2013, 9:39 am

Aye, I have that camera an its not crappy eh.

COROLLA KID

Postby COROLLA KID » February 18th, 2013, 10:11 am

crossdrilled wrote:
COROLLA KID wrote:

I used a standard digital camera to take these photos, (1) i cant fine tune when taking shots
and these are the (2) raw photos, no photo editing done 8-)
nice edit though, (3) but the colours seem to "pop" more in mines

Wrong, wrong and oh so wrong.... what model camera you have that can't change WB, but will let you shoot raw? My crappy canon SD1200IS lets me change WB in the "P" mode.

I have a Sony Cyber-shot DSC-W570, it probably has the feature, but i just use it in the auto mode
im not a photographer so i dont even know what WB stands for much less adjust it :lol:
I thought the pics came out gud but then again like i said im not a photographer...

Postby RBphoto » February 18th, 2013, 10:44 am

Ok, ou are not shooting raw. Raw files have all of the sensor data, which usually contains much more dynamic range than the JPEG. When a raw file is processed to JPEG, bumoing up the saturation, vibrance, sharpening, contrast, that dynamic range is lost. Your camera does not shoot raw... only JEPG.

There is such a thing as too much saturation, vibrance and contrast. Know the difference between this and "pop"

White balance is what color correction the camera applies to the image to make the light source look white, so that colors are reproduced faithfully. In your aphid pic, the flourescent light gave a green shift to the light (Fluorescent bulbs give off green light). If you set your camera to fluorescent white balace, it would have compensated and made the picture look more like the color corrected one I posted. Alternatively, you could use the auto correct feature in many editors, and if that fails, adjust the sllider manually till the color looks right.