The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby Trini Hookah » February 9th, 2013, 11:28 pm

I'd get the S2 instead of S3 mini if were limited by funds, but if wasn't an issue i'd just get the S3 and get it over with.

Postby Sky » February 9th, 2013, 11:42 pm

I'm getting the S3 for 3k and the mini for 2k.
But the price difference is not the matter. I was looking at the S3 originally, but cringing at the size.
The issue is not getting used to seeing the big screen, but handling it with one hand. I'm coming from an xperia mini pro and bb 9790.
And anytime I use an S3 i keep shifting my hand to use it.
So when I saw and used the mini in digicel it felt great. I pull up the specs difference one time (on the mini, and the screen looked good) and realise that it real strip down. So I know there's a line the S3 would leap across and the mini would fall. Just wanted to know where that line is. multiple apps open? Games? I know the camera's slower, but doesn't matter much. The phone will be used for more serious things than games or pics/video.

caliw

Postby caliw » February 9th, 2013, 11:56 pm

Does BMobile have the Note II?

Postby Trini Hookah » February 10th, 2013, 12:11 am

How thick is the s3? I've never used one. good price on that mini though, but don't let size be a bother, it grows on you.

I used to laugh at the note and I won't mind having one now.

as far as the cam goes, IM pretty sure it's still faster than an HTC cam :lol:

caliw

Postby caliw » February 10th, 2013, 12:26 am

it thin. about 0.25"

Kronik

Postby Kronik » February 10th, 2013, 8:16 am

Sky wrote:I'm getting the S3 for 3k and the mini for 2k.
But the price difference is not the matter. I was looking at the S3 originally, but cringing at the size.
The issue is not getting used to seeing the big screen, but handling it with one hand. I'm coming from an xperia mini pro and bb 9790.
And anytime I use an S3 i keep shifting my hand to use it.
So when I saw and used the mini in digicel it felt great. I pull up the specs difference one time (on the mini, and the screen looked good) and realise that it real strip down. So I know there's a line the S3 would leap across and the mini would fall. Just wanted to know where that line is. multiple apps open? Games? I know the camera's slower, but doesn't matter much. The phone will be used for more serious things than games or pics/video.

I normally use one hand only, most of the time the only place my fingers cant stretch to reach is the upper left corner, and most of the time is just to swtich WiFi on/off. For typing i use two hands for speed, but if you use the swype keyboard one hand works well.
The specs would allow you to do whatever you want with the phone without it taking long, switching programs are done fast, games run smooth, even on the stock kernel & rom. The battery life is very good once you not playing game whole day.
You see when you decide to watch a video or have to read anything, you will be glad you got a phone that big

Postby Trini Hookah » February 10th, 2013, 9:44 am

What new apps y'all using these days?

Postby nervewrecker » February 10th, 2013, 11:47 am

Trini Hookah wrote:What new apps y'all using these days?

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=486337&start=60

whatever they using on that page looks like something good to have.

Postby Trini Hookah » February 10th, 2013, 12:06 pm

Those are iOS apps if i'm not mistaken

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » February 10th, 2013, 12:10 pm

This is the last app I downloaded.
It's very helpful, once I remember to use it...
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.anydo

Postby Trini Hookah » February 10th, 2013, 12:24 pm

I using this these days, Hatchi:

https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... s.ht&hl=en

Getting memories or Tamagotchi as a kiddo :oops:

Postby Stephon. » February 11th, 2013, 1:00 am

Samsung Galaxy S4 rumor roundup – everything we know so far

Samsung’s main high-end handset will be the Galaxy S4 this year, and there’s no question about it, and there are already plenty of rumors offering details about the Galaxy S4’s design, specs, features and release dates.

With over a month to go until the product is announced we take a look at what’s being reported about the upcoming flagship device, at least up to know.

Product name and model number

Samsung made a lot of fuss about the product name of the Galaxy S3 last year at a time when Apple decided to drop the “3” from the “iPad 3” tablet and call the device simply the “iPad.” At the time it was speculated that the company could do the same with the iPhone – something that didn’t happen, – and that other handset and tablet makers could follow suit when naming future device generations.

In the end, the third Galaxy S model was logically named “Galaxy S3,” a brand that Samsung managed to impose to worldwide carriers, especially U.S.-based ones.

This year, the fourth-gen Galaxy S model is already confirmed to be called the Galaxy S4, at least if a Samsung exec is to be believed. And we’re almost certain that will be the product name of the device. Furthermore, we’re also certain that worldwide carriers will use the same product name for the device, especially considering the popularity of its predecessor.

Speaking of popularity, Samsung is apparently expecting to sell 10 million Galaxy S4 units per month, at least if a report based on supply chain leaked data is to be believed, which would most likely make the handset the best sold Android device in the world.

When it comes to model number, the Galaxy S4 is almost confirmed to be baptized the GT-I9500 internally (the device is apparently also known as “Altius” or Project J,) with variations of this product name describing international and LTE models – in fact a GT-I9500X model number has already been spotted on Samsung’s website in early January.

AT&T’s Galaxy S4 model number is believed to be SGH-I337, while one of the South Korean Galaxy S4 versions is said to have the SHV-E300S model number.

Announcement and launch

Early reports suggested that the Galaxy S4 could arrive at CES 2013 in January or MWC 2013 in February, but the device was a no-show in Las Vegas (although we did talk to Samsung about the device at the event,) and it appears it won’t be present in Barcelona, Spain, either, at least not officially. The handset is said to have been shown behind closed doors at CES, but we have no idea whether Samsung will take a similar approach for MWC.

The most recent reports suggest that Samsung will hold a special Mobile Unpacked event in the U.S. at some point in March, with March 15 being the currently rumored date. Following the announcement, the handset will start shipping in certain European markets by early April and head to other markets in the months after that. U.S. carriers are said to start selling the device in May or June, therefore about a year after stocking the Galaxy S3.

We expect the Galaxy S4 to come with a high-end price, although it should be fairly affordable when purchased with new contracts. Specific details regarding pricing structure for the Galaxy S4 is not available at this time.

Hardware

The Galaxy S4 is rumored to be slightly bigger than its predecessor, sporting a 4.99-/5-inch Super AMOLED Full HD resolution display – Full HD panels seem to be a must-have feature for this year’s high-end Android handsets. But we have no idea whether the display will feature Samsung’s Youm flexible display technology – which was demoed at CES 2013 as well – or whether only other Samsung devices will feature Youm displays this year.

While some reports say that Samsung will use its eight-core Exynos 5 Octa processor that was unveiled a few weeks ago at CES in the Galaxy Note 3, the Galaxy S4 is also rumored to pack the same CPU. The Exynos 5 Octa is expected to deliver improved performancebut also enhanced battery life thanks to its big.LITTLE chip technology.

Other Galaxy S4 hardware features will reportedly include an eight-core Mali-T658 GPU, 2GB of RAM, 13-megapixel main camera (the first images taken with Galaxy S4 images have been apparently leaked,) 16/32/64GB of storage (will Samsung also go to 128GB of built-in memory, microSD card not included?) a 2600mAh battery (if not bigger), NFC, LTE and Android 4.2.1 Jelly Bean right out of the box (at least according to some leaked benchmarks).

Special features

In addition to what we have already mentioned, there are several reports out there detailing certain special features for the Galaxy S4.

Samsung will reportedly drop the PenTile display technology, a criticized feature of many Android devices depending on who you ask, and adopt a new hexagon-based matrix for the Galaxy S4, and possibly other devices. Production of 4.99-inch panels is reportedly underway ahead of the early April launch.

Speaking about display improvements, we’ll also mention different ways to interact with the handset, excluding the regular touch input. The handset is said to sport floating touch gestures, something that could help Samsung differentiate its flagship product from the bulk of Android handsets out there. Eye Pause and Eye Scroll eye tracking technologies are also said to be available on the Galaxy S4, to further enhance the way users interact with the device.

Since we’re touching on software features, we’ll add that the South Korean Android maker is also rumored to kick off a new software update policy starting with its Galaxy S4, which could mean that Android updates will become available to certain Samsung devices a lot faster than before, although the move may also have unwanted effects for certain consumers.

Finally, wireless charging is another feature that will be available to future Galaxy S4 owners, with the device ready to offer support for QI wireless charging technology. However, the back plate and charger are supposed to be sold separately, and they’ll most likely be available to consumers after the device hits stores.

Design

You may have noticed that we didn’t start talking about the Galaxy S4 design from the beginning of the article, as one would when talking about an upcoming device, because we have no idea what the handset will look like.

As you can see, there are already several purported images out in the wild that show the Galaxy S4, but none of them has been confirmed so far, with some of them already having been proven as concepts.

Samsung managed to keep the Galaxy S3 final design under wraps last year, although we’ve seen plenty of Galaxy S3 leaks prior to its early May 2012 announcement, so we expect the company to do the same with the Galaxy S4. That doesn’t mean we won’t see even more leaked images in the coming weeks, because that’s surely going to happen.

Will the Galaxy S4 look like Galaxy S3 and Galaxy Note 2? Will it sport a totally different design? Will it be the same exact phone as the S3 with a totally different plug and pretend to be a new phone just for people's money? Will it keep the Home button? Will it be available in more colors right from launch? While we think we have a general idea of the phone’s hardware and potential special features we can’t answer these design-related questions right now.

We’ll remind you that nothing is yet official, and these Galaxy S4 reports, no matter how trusted the source is, are unconfirmed, so take everything with a grain of salt for now. But we’ll keep close tabs on the Galaxy S4 rumor mill, as more leaks and rumors are certainly going to hit the web in the coming months.

What would you like to get from the Galaxy S4?

Postby Trini Hookah » February 11th, 2013, 6:28 am

Trini Hookah wrote:I using this these days, Hatchi:

https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... s.ht&hl=en

Getting memories or Tamagotchi as a kiddo :oops:

uploadfromtaptalk1360578260379.jpg

Postby Stephon. » February 11th, 2013, 9:51 am

Mine need my attention since 4 this morning :lol:

Kronik

Postby Kronik » February 11th, 2013, 9:52 am

^^same here

Postby Ted_v2 » February 11th, 2013, 10:31 am

i have a pair of htc diamond 2 it currently has windows but i saw a couple people online has them with android, can anyone guide me through the process or how can it be done?

Postby Trini Hookah » February 11th, 2013, 10:42 am

Postby Ted_v2 » February 11th, 2013, 11:01 am

I Was looking at that rly, now thinking about it , its best i leave windows on it

Postby Trini Hookah » February 11th, 2013, 12:20 pm

Hatchi Matchi ftw :lol:

Postby Sky » February 11th, 2013, 2:32 pm

Will it be the same exact phone as the S3 with a totally different plug and pretend to be a new phone just for people's money?

This sucks for me though.
I'm in the market for a new phone and plan to get it by next week.
If I buy an S3, the price will drop in months.
If I buy an S3, there will soon be something better, hence more powerful apps that the S3 may not be able to run smoothly.
If I wait and buy an S4 as it comes out, I might end up with a POS without the bugs all worked out.

Postby stev » February 11th, 2013, 3:48 pm

hey guys, i got some great apps d other day but im too lazy to go through them. :lol:

feel free to download any....its in my skydrive:

*edited by mod, contains warez*

let me know if there are any useful ones.

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » February 11th, 2013, 3:54 pm

So... I updated my S3 when the update came out but didn't have time to do the factory reset till today.
Now experiencing this "S3 freeze" that im seeing other owners are having after the update.
It happens very randomly and totally freezes the phone for up to a half hour.
The only way to get out of it besides waiting, is to hold down the power button till it restarts.
Ive tried switching off the power saving option for the wifi but it still happens
My phone is fully stock.

Is this happening to any of allyuh?
Do I just "wait it out and it will just stop" as I am seeing sum ppl online suggesting?

achillies

Postby achillies » February 11th, 2013, 11:23 pm

wheelbarrow wrote:So... I updated my S3 when the update came out but didn't have time to do the factory reset till today.
Now experiencing this "S3 freeze" that im seeing other owners are having after the update.
It happens very randomly and totally freezes the phone for up to a half hour.
The only way to get out of it besides waiting, is to hold down the power button till it restarts.
Ive tried switching off the power saving option for the wifi but it still happens
My phone is fully stock.

Is this happening to any of allyuh?
Do I just "wait it out and it will just stop" as I am seeing sum ppl online suggesting?

A lot of people believe it has something to do with the code that's supposed to prevent the SDS, nothing really definitive though.

Try waiting it out one day, see if it happens again after that.

Postby Trini Hookah » February 11th, 2013, 11:42 pm

S2 folk. How much hours yall getting off GB? I'm considering downgrading from ics.

Postby ismithx » February 12th, 2013, 10:11 am

nahhh man... what you need to do is flash a battery-saving kernel, and tweak the governor and io scheduler to suit.... i don't know about dual-core phones so i can't say what is the best settings to use, but read up on xda developers and see

crazydazy

Got your nexus 4 yet?

Postby crazydazy » February 13th, 2013, 9:42 am

If yes, what you like most about it?

Also, what case you think looks the best and offers drop protection without being too bulky? If there even is such case.....

~*Pãñdorą*~
Location: You're Either On My Side, By My Side Or In My Fcuking Way!!

Re: Got your nexus 4 yet?

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » February 13th, 2013, 10:02 am

A whole Thread just to say you have a Nexus 4?!

Postby kurpal_v2 » February 13th, 2013, 10:35 am

Guys, question with the s3, it worked fine until Friday night when I reintroduced it to my home wifi and now the thing won't detect the network. If I pull the battery the phone would fine the network, timeout on the connection and not find it again.

All my other tablets and phones connect to both of my 54g's but the s3 won't.

I've tried:

setting it up from scratch with a whole new network
Manually entering the network details
Turning off all filters

Anyone had this problem?

Postby ismithx » February 13th, 2013, 10:39 am

so the BB Z10 is essentially a SGS3..... fascinating http://gizmodo.com/5983607/blackberry-z ... other-name

Postby kurpal_v2 » February 13th, 2013, 10:46 am

ismithx wrote:so the BB Z10 is essentially a SGS3..... fascinating http://gizmodo.com/5983607/blackberry-z ... other-name

Idk the layout maybe the same (lots if electronics are made by those china/Korean houses now) but the s3 board looks a lot more powerful

Other than the layout it's all diff IMO