Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby meccalli » February 3rd, 2013, 5:18 pm

Reefplanet, what type of water do you topoff with?

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » February 3rd, 2013, 9:31 pm

HondaB20B wrote:
Reefplanet wrote:Oh well i will be able to buy the skimmer all now..just need to know when i could go up by raj :( parents again....
So far all the cyano gone so i guess i have no more phos but some sea grass starting to grow so i still have nitrates. Luckily the snails find the rock with the sea grass and hair algae and they ripping it up plus i found a stomatella snail about 3cm long :D

What kinda sea grass............take pics

will take a pic tomorrow possibly

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » February 3rd, 2013, 9:41 pm

meccalli wrote:Reefplanet, what type of water do you topoff with?

well i used to use distilled and tap water but started and saying with rodi

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 3rd, 2013, 9:45 pm

Reefplanet wrote:
HondaB20B wrote:
Reefplanet wrote:Oh well i will be able to buy the skimmer all now..just need to know when i could go up by raj :( parents again....
So far all the cyano gone so i guess i have no more phos but some sea grass starting to grow so i still have nitrates. Luckily the snails find the rock with the sea grass and hair algae and they ripping it up plus i found a stomatella snail about 3cm long :D

What kinda sea grass............take pics

will take a pic tomorrow possibly

some of them start to look good but then turn out to be pests. I had a nice one growing in my tank and i left it. Turned out to be turtle grass and nothing ate it. All my tangs refused to eat it. Rowaphos was the only thing that killed it.

Postby meccalli » February 3rd, 2013, 10:40 pm

Reefplanet wrote:
meccalli wrote:Reefplanet, what type of water do you topoff with?

well i used to use distilled and tap water but started and saying with rodi

Oh cool, I saw honda talking about your nitrates and getting a skimmer before ro/di and from what i've gathered tap water is full of nitrates and phosphates, so i was just curious what you were using if not ro water.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 3rd, 2013, 11:17 pm

Strangely enough I had crappy water for a while (around 70 TDS) and never had a real nitrate problem.... wouldnt doubt I had high phosphates because my tank had an algae bloom but since changing out my unit and back to 0TDS the algae not coming back.

Only got the phosphate test kit yesterday and tested 0 PO, so i would also suggest to reefplanet get them test kits and water changes with 0 TDS water only... it worth the invesment

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 3rd, 2013, 11:43 pm

These are A must for reef

Other than the basics - Ammonia, nitrates, nitrites & PH.

you need Alkalinity, Calcium, phosphates & magnesium

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 4th, 2013, 12:41 pm

greenlime100 wrote:I planned to go with algae in my sump, already have some sand and rocks there since I started the tank. Did that with hope to try and imitate a real life ecosystem but from talking to HondaB20B and reading other posts on other forums.... going with Biopellets seems to be more effective.

Will require some additional equipment like a reactor, feed pump and a really good skimmer but it would be worth it.

Very soon Ill start running ROWAphos and the Biopellets.

You ever thought of looking into an ATS? (Algae Turf scrubber)
I've heard from people that it works very good and is cheap and effective. One of the drawbacks about it is that every couple days/week, you need to be cleaning the Algae build up on the screen regular which takes some time depending on the size. I went the other route and used ROWAphos. This has worked very good for me for the last 14-15mths because since then i've never gotten back a whatever (wire looking grass) grass/plant outbreak in my display (knock on wood). The other reason i never installed an ATS is that the day i may not be home, my wife says she not cleaning NO NASTY SMELLING MOSS FOR NO FISH TANK ESPECIALLY IF SHE DID HER NAILS. :( :(
So i installed the reactor with the rowaphos media.

Good read.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Turf_scrubber

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » February 4th, 2013, 5:20 pm

You not comin for the water again Honda?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 4th, 2013, 6:07 pm

Reefplanet wrote:You not comin for the water again Honda?

Nah, sorry bout that..........would pass for bottles tom

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 4th, 2013, 7:05 pm

HondaB20B wrote:
greenlime100 wrote:I planned to go with algae in my sump, already have some sand and rocks there since I started the tank. Did that with hope to try and imitate a real life ecosystem but from talking to HondaB20B and reading other posts on other forums.... going with Biopellets seems to be more effective.

Will require some additional equipment like a reactor, feed pump and a really good skimmer but it would be worth it.

I've heard from people that it works very good and is cheap and effective. One of the drawbacks about it is that every couple days/week, you need to be cleaning the Algae build up on the screen regular which takes some time depending on the size. I went the other route and used ROWAphos. This has worked very good for me for the last 14-15mths because since then i've never gotten back a whatever (wire looking grass) grass/plant outbreak in my display (knock on wood). The other reason i never installed an ATS is that the day i may not be home, my wife says she not cleaning NO NASTY SMELLING MOSS FOR NO FISH TANK ESPECIALLY IF SHE DID HER NAILS. :( :(

Good read.

LOL..... at least your wife into the tank and not like my girl who like to sleep away in front the tank lmao....

Yea saw a guy review the ATS on youtube but it a little bulky and I dont have all that room.. I have some space behind the tank that I leaving in case I need a calcium reactor and for top off or kalk.

Running the ROWAphos seems harmless but effective in the tank.... I surely will run the rowaphos, the Biopellets is what I not rushing too, because I would need a new skimmer.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 4th, 2013, 7:12 pm

greenlime100 wrote:
HondaB20B wrote:

Good read.

LOL..... at least your wife into the tank and not like my girl who like to sleep away in front the tank lmao....

Yea saw a guy review the ATS on youtube but it a little bulky and I dont have all that room.. I have some space behind the tank that I leaving in case I need a calcium reactor and for top off or kalk.

Running the ROWAphos seems harmless but effective in the tank.... I surely will run the rowaphos, the Biopellets is what I not rushing too, because I would need a new skimmer.

LOL on the girlfriend,

yeah the phos will work man. Mine is due for a change right now, 4mths up

cichlidboi

Postby cichlidboi » February 4th, 2013, 9:06 pm

Fishman wrote:
cichlidboi wrote:
ziggy_dappa wrote:
cichlidboi wrote:
ziggy_dappa wrote:
cichlidboi wrote:woi woi wazzup salt peoples, i join tuner for this thread :D .Anyhow I upgrading my 33 gallon saltwater to a 65g reef and i wanna use leds(diy) on the new tank. Anybody know how much customs ill have to pay if i bring in one of them diy led kits or just leds. The skybox i using have 20% on light fixtures and lights and 0% on light bulbs wondering wat category leds fall.

They charge about 20% duties for the led kits.

Honda I should be finished with your leds this week, was rell busy for the past few weeks.
Your tank looking amazing as usual...

arite cool what about heatsink ill have to order that or i could get it here in trinidad

You can get complete led kits from Rapid Led or if you want to save a bit you can customize an buy from different suppliers:

Led's (I don't recommend using anything other than Cree or Philips Luxeon) - Get Cree from Rapid led or Luxeon from Steves leds.

Heatsink - Rapid led has the best looking heat sinks (black anodize aluminum with integrated splash guard)

Driver - Meanwell seem to be the best and easiest to use and you can find them cheaper on electronics wholesale websites such as trcelectronics.com and jameco.com, just use the part number form Rapid led.

Hope the helps.

yeah i do rel research and either going with cree or luxeons. Wanna do a full spectrum with 10 cree 2:1 royal blue to neutral white 3ups, about 4 ocw and 8 violet from led group buy, or go with steves and mimic the guy in this nano reef thread :D http://www.nano-reef.com/topic/312669-p ... ?p=4175669 6 x royal blue:neutral white:cool blue 3ups 12 x luxeon es royal blue, 6 x neutral:turquiose:red 3up,8 X violet.

For heatsink i was hoping it have in trinidad so i could cut some money on shipping cost but if not was gonna get from heatsinkusa.com or from ledgroupbuy.com.

for the drivers i planning to buy 5 meanwell 60-48D drivers from http://store.bravoelectro.com/ledpowers ... p-228.html price seem good :D

Check out the new Meanwell LDD drivers. You only need one Power Supply with many drivers. The eln series are not a good idea if you are using many on the same circuit because of harmonics. Plus the LDD's are much cheaper and can dim all the way to shutoff. The eln's don't always dim to shut off.

thanks for the info fishman, i dont really understand one thing though. what you mean using many on same circuit because of harmonics. I wasnt planning to use a power supply, just run all the drivers separate so essentially i would have 5 power cables cause is 5 drivers i using.From there i could use timers one each one and dim with a potentiometer. By the way is about 56 leds total, 4 drivers each 12 leds and and last driver i planning to put 8. That as side i check out the meanwell lld i like them they rel small :shock: , cheap and considering using them instead cause i could try and get an arudino controller with spare cash :D , but they hard to find,you have a link for where i could buy them and some more info on them example build threads with people using them?

3pO

Postby 3pO » February 4th, 2013, 9:12 pm

Fishman wrote:
3pO wrote:my new stand and tank

Really liking the eurobrace. I am going to be building a new tank soon with a similar design except I want to do an external coast to coast overflow. Do you mind telling me who made the tank for you? Also is that standard or low iron glass?

Its normal 1/2" glass , the guy who built it is Arif , raj put me on to him ,

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » February 4th, 2013, 9:38 pm

HondaB20B wrote:
Reefplanet wrote:You not comin for the water again Honda?

Nah, sorry bout that..........would pass for bottles tom

what time?

ziggy_dappa

Postby ziggy_dappa » February 5th, 2013, 8:42 pm

cichlidboi wrote:
Fishman wrote:
cichlidboi wrote:
ziggy_dappa wrote:
cichlidboi wrote:
ziggy_dappa wrote:
cichlidboi wrote:woi woi wazzup salt peoples, i join tuner for this thread :D .Anyhow I upgrading my 33 gallon saltwater to a 65g reef and i wanna use leds(diy) on the new tank. Anybody know how much customs ill have to pay if i bring in one of them diy led kits or just leds. The skybox i using have 20% on light fixtures and lights and 0% on light bulbs wondering wat category leds fall.

Honda I should be finished with your leds this week, was rell busy for the past few weeks.

arite cool what about heatsink ill have to order that or i could get it here in trinidad

You can get complete led kits from Rapid Led or if you want to save a bit you can customize an buy from different suppliers:

Led's (I don't recommend using anything other than Cree or Philips Luxeon) - Get Cree from Rapid led or Luxeon from Steves leds.

Heatsink - Rapid led has the best looking heat sinks (black anodize aluminum with integrated splash guard)

Driver - Meanwell seem to be the best and easiest to use and you can find them cheaper on electronics wholesale websites such as trcelectronics.com and jameco.com, just use the part number form Rapid led.

Hope the helps.

yeah i do rel research and either going with cree or luxeons. Wanna do a full spectrum with 10 cree 2:1 royal blue to neutral white 3ups, about 4 ocw and 8 violet from led group buy, or go with steves and mimic the guy in this nano reef thread :D http://www.nano-reef.com/topic/312669-p ... ?p=4175669 6 x royal blue:neutral white:cool blue 3ups 12 x luxeon es royal blue, 6 x neutral:turquiose:red 3up,8 X violet.

For heatsink i was hoping it have in trinidad so i could cut some money on shipping cost but if not was gonna get from heatsinkusa.com or from ledgroupbuy.com.

for the drivers i planning to buy 5 meanwell 60-48D drivers from http://store.bravoelectro.com/ledpowers ... p-228.html price seem good :D

Check out the new Meanwell LDD drivers. You only need one Power Supply with many drivers. The eln series are not a good idea if you are using many on the same circuit because of harmonics. Plus the LDD's are much cheaper and can dim all the way to shutoff. The eln's don't always dim to shut off.

thanks for the info fishman, i dont really understand one thing though. what you mean using many on same circuit because of harmonics. I wasnt planning to use a power supply, just run all the drivers separate so essentially i would have 5 power cables cause is 5 drivers i using.From there i could use timers one each one and dim with a potentiometer. By the way is about 56 leds total, 4 drivers each 12 leds and and last driver i planning to put 8. That as side i check out the meanwell lld i like them they rel small :shock: , cheap and considering using them instead cause i could try and get an arudino controller with spare cash :D , but they hard to find,you have a link for where i could buy them and some more info on them example build threads with people using them?

Hey Fishman great info on the LDD drivers.
I have always used the ELN drivers but after checking these out I think i would be using them on my next project, and there cheap too ($7.00 USD to drive 12-14 leds!!!) Just need to get a decent 48 volt power supply to drive them.

Ronnie203

Postby Ronnie203 » February 5th, 2013, 9:56 pm

Want to buy a Filter for a 55 gal. fresh water aquarium

Fishman

Postby Fishman » February 6th, 2013, 1:25 pm

cichlidboi wrote:
Fishman wrote:
cichlidboi wrote:
ziggy_dappa wrote:
cichlidboi wrote:
ziggy_dappa wrote:

Hope the helps.

From what I have read, because of the type of circuitry used in the ELN (which the power supply is integral) using too many on the same circuit in your home can cause harmonics. The more ELN's used the more the harmonics. Harmonics will cause your electrical wiring in in your house on that circuit to heat up and if it heats up too much will be problematic. I am not sure what the limit is and I assume it varies depending on the implementation, type of house wiring etc. The LDD's make for a much cleaner install anyway as you only will have to have one power supply vs many ELN's having to plug into the wall. Plus they are much cheaper.

Fishman

Postby Fishman » February 6th, 2013, 1:27 pm

ziggy_dappa wrote:
cichlidboi wrote:
Fishman wrote:
cichlidboi wrote:
ziggy_dappa wrote:
cichlidboi wrote:
ziggy_dappa wrote:

Hope the helps.

Hey Fishman great info on the LDD drivers.
I have always used the ELN drivers but after checking these out I think i would be using them on my next project, and there cheap too ($7.00 USD to drive 12-14 leds!!!) Just need to get a decent 48 volt power supply to drive them.

No problem. You should be able to find power supplies on ebay at good prices. Also there is a great thread over on RC in the DIY forum about the LDD's. You can get some really good ideas from that thread.

cichlidboi

Postby cichlidboi » February 6th, 2013, 1:34 pm

arite cool thanks again fishman, another thing u know where i could buy lld meanwell drivers the wired ones preferably but i dont mine the other one either. what about timers, lld pwm i believe i hadda use a controller if i wanna dim or it has another way?

ziggy_dappa

Postby ziggy_dappa » February 6th, 2013, 2:25 pm

cichlidboi wrote:arite cool thanks again fishman, another thing u know where i could buy lld meanwell drivers the wired ones preferably but i dont mine the other one either. what about timers, lld pwm i believe i hadda use a controller if i wanna dim or it has another way?

Led Group Buy has them for $6.85 http://www.ledgroupbuy.com/meanwell-ldd ... ed-driver/

Also I found this power supply on powergatellc, it should be able to power at least 6 LDD drivers at 1000ma http://www.powergatellc.com/mean-well-s ... upply.html

Fishman am gonna check out that thread on RC, I already own an Arduino so just need to write some code for the PWM dimming.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 6th, 2013, 6:29 pm

ziggy_dappa wrote:
cichlidboi wrote:arite cool thanks again fishman, another thing u know where i could buy lld meanwell drivers the wired ones preferably but i dont mine the other one either. what about timers, lld pwm i believe i hadda use a controller if i wanna dim or it has another way?

Led Group Buy has them for $6.85 http://www.ledgroupbuy.com/meanwell-ldd ... ed-driver/

Also I found this power supply on powergatellc, it should be able to power at least 6 LDD drivers at 1000ma http://www.powergatellc.com/mean-well-s ... upply.html

Fishman am gonna check out that thread on RC, I already own an Arduino so just need to write some code for the PWM dimming.

Ey ziggy, why you and fishman dont start to talk english.................LOL

nice read....................jus kidding eh.

Kasey

Postby Kasey » February 6th, 2013, 6:50 pm

^^now u know how us freshwater guys feel when allyuh saltwater men alking allyuh jibberish. Lol. Just kidding......

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 6th, 2013, 7:07 pm

Kasey wrote:^^now u know how us freshwater guys feel when allyuh saltwater men alking allyuh jibberish. Lol. Just kidding......

LOL..............we want alyuh come over
TO THE DARK SIDE :evilbat:

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 6th, 2013, 9:55 pm

Once you come to the DARK SIDE you never turn back.... LOL

Just something I forgot, After approximately how many gallons do I change my RO membrane and DI resin ?
Just so I dont forget this time :oops:

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 6th, 2013, 10:44 pm

greenlime100 wrote:Once you come to the DARK SIDE you never turn back.... LOL

Just something I forgot, After approximately how many gallons do I change my RO membrane and DI resin ?
Just so I dont forget this time :oops:

When it comes your RO membrane, It all depends really on your water quality thats coming into your system. You may have to check it.
With DI resin, I only get about 150-200gal (max) before the resin starts to completely change from blue to brown and my TDS moves from '0' to 1. When mine reaches '1', thats it, i change out my resin. Some people run it to 2 & 3,but thats where you run the risk of slowly getting algae in your system.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 6th, 2013, 11:33 pm

Nice... will write that down.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 6th, 2013, 11:54 pm

Guys still have the 1/10th HP Coralife chiller, Brand new, if anyone needs it PM
:)

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 7th, 2013, 12:00 am

you should be running RO only for your koi pond and RODI for your reef.
What you can also do is after a couple mths you are in doubt about your cartridges, do a phosphate test on the water before the DI.
To get a gauge on figures, do 3 phosphate tests, and keep the readings handy
1) your tap water
2) your water after RO
2) your water after DI

link

Postby link » February 7th, 2013, 6:55 am

HondaB20B wrote:
Kasey wrote:^^now u know how us freshwater guys feel when allyuh saltwater men alking allyuh jibberish. Lol. Just kidding......

LOL..............we want alyuh come over
TO THE DARK SIDE :evilbat:

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

yuh want 'darkside' ???
how 'bout alligator gar & arapaima !!!
end of this year when I put out d notice for fish that outgrew tanks...it wouldn't be to just put in d big pond :P