Galant won't start

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

Galant won't start

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 7th, 2013, 9:59 am

Guys have a Galant I'm trying to fix but I'm having a weird problem now.

I changed the intank pump and when I tried to start, the car tumbled twice and then the dash lights cut off and now the car won't tumble nor would the dash lights come on.

The battery is still pretty well charged (12.7v) and the hood lights come on but I get no ignition/sign of life on the dash (fuses look good from what I could tell)

Any ideas? Or suggestion of an electrician I could call?

Re: Galant won't start

Postby rollingstock » January 11th, 2013, 12:05 am

Electrical short in teh pump?

Check all fuses again and relays, especially ignition.

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 14th, 2013, 1:57 pm

As far as I can see, I'm finding no blown fuses or anything burnt.

The pump wired correctly and functioning.

Postby rollingstock » January 14th, 2013, 2:33 pm

Definite electrical problem, only an electrician will be able to diagnose it.

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 14th, 2013, 2:51 pm

You know any?

Spoke to one and he said I have to bring the car by him for him to try to find the problem. Kinda would rather someone who can come home by me or knows the car and can assure they can find the problem.

Postby rollingstock » January 14th, 2013, 2:59 pm

That's teh forked up thing, finding someone to come to you.
If you in Marabella area, Obliquely opposite Marud on Union Road, there's an electrician name small's.

Very helpful, he most likely will come to you and he doh buss no big price.

2 Towers Distribution

Postby 2 Towers Distribution » January 17th, 2013, 2:09 pm

call 755-4495 andy, he from marabella but he will visit you.....

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 18th, 2013, 8:31 am

^^will talk to him. Thanks.

A guy from my side supposed to be comming to take a look, dunno if he capable but I've seen his work on other cars and it looks neat etc and the owners don't have any problems so ill hope he can sort this out.

trini iceman

Postby trini iceman » January 20th, 2013, 8:52 pm

This might sound dumb but is the car in park?

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 23rd, 2013, 3:31 am

Yep, hasn't moved from park for a few months really :/

Postby ronsin1 » January 23rd, 2013, 7:33 am

to me this looks like the main fuse that has blown

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 23rd, 2013, 11:43 am

Which fuse box ill find the main fuse?

I checked under the dash, the box up front, dunno if there is another one.

Postby ronsin1 » January 23rd, 2013, 1:12 pm

the box in the Engine Bay should be either a 80 amp fuse or 100 amp
This supplies power to the entire car.
Also check on the Battery Pole for the fused link there

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 23rd, 2013, 1:44 pm

Ill recheck the box, the poles are just terminal/wire.

Postby ronsin1 » January 23rd, 2013, 3:16 pm

the cable will go from the battery to the main fuse box in the entire bay from there it goes to the one inside you checked for loose cables any where on the main power

trini iceman

Postby trini iceman » January 26th, 2013, 12:01 am

You checked if the starter getting current? These have chip keys? Try pulling the ignition barrel and using a screw driver to turn it. Another thing you should do is check for loose fuses. I have a fto and I get that problem, not blown but loose.

Postby kurpal_v2 » February 5th, 2013, 12:56 pm

ronsin1 wrote:to me this looks like the main fuse that has blown

Soooo turns out it wasn't the main fuse but one in the main box. Just looking at them from on top the fuse looked fine so I decided to open anything that related to a key symbol. As I open fuse #16 and put my screwdriver inside everything fell apart :|

#16 was my problem. Havnt gotten to start the car yet but hopefully by weekend I do.

Return to “MITSUBISHI”