THA Elections

Who do you believe will win the THA elections?

60%
PNM
40%

Total votes: 93

Re: Recklessness with Bikers today

Postby Rooki3 » January 27th, 2013, 7:09 am

actually its a mixture of both, some ppl voted on race, cant deny that, while other voted based on the rubbish the PP was doin, i wud say a small percentage voted on the incumbent's performance, after all it wasnt all that great to be honest

Re: THA Elections

Postby Habit7 » January 27th, 2013, 8:03 am

Sat calls for Tobago boycott, says Indo-Trinidadians not welcome there

Published: Sunday, January 27, 2013
SHASTRI BOODAN

The leader of the Sanatan Dharma Maha Sabha (SDMS) wants independence for Tobago. Speaking with the Sunday Guardian, Sat Maharaj, secretary general of the SDMS, said Tobago should fend for itself and stop being a drain on the treasury.

Maharaj said billions of dollars were being spent in Tobago to benefit a handful of the national population. Maharaj said he wants the Government to stop subsidising the cost of the fast-ferry service and the airbridge service to Tobago. He said millions of dollars were being spent to send tourists from Trinidad to Tobago. “Let everyone pay the full cost to travel,” he stated.

Maharaj said the Government cannot continue to help pay for joyrides between the islands. Maharaj said he saw no relevance in maintaining a unitary state of Trinidad and Tobago since the Indo-Trinidadian population, which makes up 42 percent of the national population, did not feel welcome in Tobago.

Maharaj claimed that Trinidadians were generally ill-treated by Tobagonians when on business or vacation on the island. He said Indians are now feeling alienated and are refusing to go to Tobago since the “Calcutta ship” comments by THA executive member Hilton Sandy.

The Maha Sabha leader also claimed that Tobagonians had always rejected Indians and Hindus, in particular. Citing an example, he said the SDMS had purchased land in Tobago for the construction of a temple at Carnbee over five years ago but the THA had refused to grant permission for construction even though there was a Christian church in the area.

He said the THA also promised to grant a half acre of land at Signal Hill to the various Indian organisations on the island. However, the THA came up with an excuse at the last minute and reneged on its promise. “Calcutta ship can’t land, but one from the Congo can,” Maharaj commented.

Maharaj said until Tobago gets independence he wanted everyone to boycott Tobago. Maharaj said Trinidadians could enjoy themselves vacationing elsewhere. In the meantime, he suspected that the THA would move to patch things up and save face by giving “curry favour” to one of the three Indo-based organisations on the island.

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2013-01- ... come-there

kaylex

Postby kaylex » January 27th, 2013, 8:38 am

all yuh fellas hadda be real and stop bickering bout this nonsense...
The fact remains there are many people who vote on race,ethnicity on both sides of the political devide.. But lets be real on one thing... When the PNM did there nonsense in office some PNM till I ded supporters responded with support for the PP to remove the PNM from Office..

I have seen it openly .. where older supporters of the PNM for instance who sometimes vote on issues of race.. reject the PNM and the lavish spending and egotistical fella.. and support the PP openly.. *case in point PERCY aka mr Do so*

But.. now that general election done.. PP inside.. there are some brothers and sisters on the winning side of the political devide.. who will support the UNC regardless of any filth they do in office.. They will continue to vote for them in the morning if election call.. Now some may suggest that is not race determined voting .. but ... if so... i seeing it clear..

As it relates to the THA elections.. While race may have been a factor ... it isnt the deciding factor... Did the TOP/PP do enough to pull the marginal voters in Tobago, Did they do enough to even retain the seats they won last THA elections by providing deliverables they promised even in the two seats they had..... Well I doh know.. but seems to me as if Ashworth and the two seats he had or were given the mandate to fix.. results speak for themselves.. as did the last general elections..

Lets not pretend.. while race plays an important part... if a party did enough to pull the marginal voters through real performance we wont have an issue... just as last elections.. PP didnt have to do anything to win elections IE. the pnm lost it all on their own.. So too is the PP/TOP loosing elections all on their own.. we have enough marginal and swing voters in the population who dont vote along lines of race..If your service and policies are poor... take cut arse... who vex loss.

Postby zoom rader » January 27th, 2013, 8:45 am

Its not bago people that dont want indos, its the PNM and their racist fear that they pumped on to the humble population.
This Calcutta statement will from now on damage the PNM from attracting the indo vote. Only greedy indo eat ah food businessmen will be attracted towards the PNM.

kaylex

Postby kaylex » January 27th, 2013, 8:58 am

Its not bago people that dont want indos, its the PNM and their racist fear that they pumped on to the humble population.
This Calcutta statement will from now on damage the PNM from attracting the indo vote. Only greedy indo eat ah food businessmen will be attracted towards the PNM.

Amm.. So by your deduction.. you are saying Sandy's comments reflect the wider PNM population's sentiments.. Isnt that the same as saying that what JW said is the sentiment of the entire UNC power base???

netsket

Postby netsket » January 27th, 2013, 9:03 am

Habit7 wrote:^^^An editorial, with someone's fake name, sent in by email, is not news

Is that sad attempt at invalidating the truth? :shock:

I guess it really hit a soft spot

Postby rfari » January 27th, 2013, 9:28 am

rfari wrote:Excellent article

Hadda disagree there metro, one analyst doesn't make for insightful analysis.

IMO the article struck a balance between facts and inferences based on these facts

Postby rfari » January 27th, 2013, 9:32 am

Sis won a big contract although the company's bid didn't include 10% contingency. If included, this would have made its bid the highest. And then pp thinks that its losing support because of race :roll:

Postby zoom rader » January 27th, 2013, 9:51 am

kaylex wrote:

Amm.. So by your deduction.. you are saying Sandy's comments reflect the wider PNM population's sentiments.. Isnt that the same as saying that what JW said is the sentiment of the entire UNC power base???

JW and PP dont have any hidden racist agenda as the PNM so it not the same.

Postby eliteauto » January 27th, 2013, 10:00 am

I agree with ZR, the PP's racist agenda isn't hidden

fraggle

Postby fraggle » January 27th, 2013, 10:06 am

:? Sat Maharaj,Sat.......Maharaj :? Why should I care about his thoughts again?

netsket

Postby netsket » January 27th, 2013, 11:09 am

are the other contractors reputable?

only two i know are chanona and sis

we know the quality of work of the chinese contractors...they cud bid $1 and start and never finish.

the other contractors I dont know

when junior sammy getting contracts its a problem now they giving SIS its still a problem.

when junior sammy was getting all under the PNM and doing quality work like facking up the airport runway it wasnt a problem. PNM just like to make noise as a smokescreen for failing when in govt.

Postby rfari » January 27th, 2013, 11:11 am

Aint nobody got time for sat maharaj.

Postby Rooki3 » January 27th, 2013, 11:19 am

uploadfromtaptalk1359299755137.jpg

netsket

Postby netsket » January 27th, 2013, 11:24 am

i sense fear :)

Postby rfari » January 27th, 2013, 11:34 am

Rooki3 wrote:

Damn straight!

netsket wrote:i sense fear :)

Example of the low socioeconomic, central/south dweller that the mfo referred to is usually impressed by sat maharaj's rhetoric

netsket

Postby netsket » January 27th, 2013, 1:19 pm

rfari wrote:
Rooki3 wrote:

Damn straight!

Example of the low socioeconomic, central/south dweller that the mfo referred to is usually impressed by sat maharaj's rhetoric

would you like to compare bank statements? :lol: :lol:

Postby shogun » January 27th, 2013, 1:21 pm

zoom rader wrote:rfari hold some Cecil Fonrose

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/BRbX3JIEklc" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Embed fail, followed by retraction Zoom? Quoted before backtrack though. 8-)

Postby rfari » January 27th, 2013, 1:27 pm

netsket wrote:
rfari wrote:
Rooki3 wrote:

Damn straight!

would you like to compare bank statements? :lol: :lol:

Issa pjggie measuring competition u start dey? Haahahhah!!! Bank account and deeds. Start it!!!

shogun wrote:
zoom rader wrote:rfari hold some Cecil Fonrose

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/BRbX3JIEklc" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Embed fail, followed by retraction Zoom? Quoted before backtrack though. 8-)

Rofl!!!!!!

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » January 27th, 2013, 1:30 pm

And when somebody with sense writes an article nobody post it....sigh

take ah read zoom-rader et al

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/commenta ... &smobile=y

Postby Habit7 » January 27th, 2013, 1:52 pm

...teaching dharma

kaylex

Postby kaylex » January 28th, 2013, 7:35 am

trini mk5 wrote:And when somebody with sense writes an article nobody post it....sigh

But just above I said the same thing as echoed by Shah... Nobody even comment on it...
An excerpt from this Article however indicates alot..
I quote
"By then, the party's paid bloggers were polluting cyberspace with rank racism. The sycophants vowed never to visit Tobago again, to starve the island of tourist dollars, and they called on their party to withhold State funds from the THA. On Wednesday night, CNC 3 News asked if the Partnership ministers should stop the race talk: 80 per cent of paid callers responded with a loud, "No!" (90 per cent of said callers in the previous week had said the TOP would win the elections.) In other words, the offending ministers should continue to stir the race pot. These people are not sick, they are ill, mentally deranged."

I wonder if we have any of those paid cyber bloggers here on tuner??? :lol: :lol: :lol:
Some of these sycophants here on tuner.. in this thread particularly.. could never call a spade a spade... - " mentally deranged"- Shah refers to them as ...lol

Postby 16 cycles » January 28th, 2013, 8:18 am

http://www.jag.navy.mil/organization/do ... tobago.pdf

^coords for archepalegic baseline T&T

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Exclusive_economic_zone

^for those who asked abt the archepalgic baseline of T&T as well as definition of EEZ / Territorial waters etc...

Postby zoom rader » January 28th, 2013, 9:14 am

trini mk5 wrote:And when somebody with sense writes an article nobody post it....sigh

Dude what that have to do with me? Go back and read my post on this ched.

zoom rader wrote:It have real beat up in this chead.
All in all is Tobago people racist? I think not.
Is PNM racist, yes they are and calcutta alone proves that point.
Indos not wanting togo to tobago is rubish. Everybody should go to tobago.
Bago wants and got PNM, then there should be no protess or complains and bago happy.
Will Indos buy up Bago? They have to wait in line Germans first.
Does Pumkin & bodie build houses? Barrapore, Penal and Dede doing that for years (tax free).

Postby rfari » January 28th, 2013, 10:20 am

Thanks much 16 cycles
Zr, what is dede?

Postby Rooki3 » January 28th, 2013, 10:28 am

zr actually its easier for a trini to buy land in tobago than any foreigner, realll red tape.

Postby rfari » January 28th, 2013, 10:47 am

netsket wrote:are the other contractors reputable?

only two i know are chanona and sis

we know the quality of work of the chinese contractors...they cud bid $1 and start and never finish.

the other contractors I dont know

when junior sammy getting contracts its a problem now they giving SIS its still a problem.

when junior sammy was getting all under the PNM and doing quality work like facking up the airport runway it wasnt a problem. PNM just like to make noise as a smokescreen for failing when in govt.

'POWER PLAY'
AG defends 'PM's contractor' against envious competitors

By Asha Javeed asha.javeed@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: Jan 27, 2013 at 9:58 PM ECT
Story Updated: Jan 28, 2013 at 7:29 AM ECT
Attorney General Anand Ramlogan has defended contracts awarded by the Government to companies affiliated with the People's Partnership.
The AG was responding to a Sunday Express story in which a $232.5 million contract for a Motor Vehicle Authority (MVA) was awarded to Super Industrial Services (SIS), the contractor linked to the completion of construction of the homes of Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar and former minority leader of the Tobago House of Assembly (THA) Ashworth Jack.
SIS was the contractor behind the $45 million Siparia Market and the $70 million Couva/Preysal Interchange. SIS has also benefitted from Programme for Upgrading Roads Efficiency (PURE) contracts awarded by Nipdec on behalf of the Ministry of Works.
"The large majority of contracts awarded has not necessarily changed hands, whether it is prisoner transport, construction, or financial consulting. But the issue of who contracts are awarded to must be seen as a power play by desperate commercial interests that are seeking to protect and preserve their monopoly on lucrative work in the State sector. This group is seeking to shut out small players and newcomers to protect their turf. You hear no complaint when they get a contract but you hear a cacophony when anyone outside their circle gets anything," Ramlogan told the Express in a telephone interview yesterday.
When the question was posed to the AG about the extent of SIS owner Krishna Lalla's power and influence in the People's Partnership, he admitted that "that talk has been around".
"But the talk has also been around that a group of Port of Spain businessmen from a certain community financed the People's National Movement (PNM) campaign in Tobago and in the last general election. No one expressed concern when they received contracts from the PNM and continue to receive contracts from this Government," Ramlogan said.
The Attorney General added: "The Constitution gives each citizen and corporate citizen the right to freedom of association and freedom of political affiliation and expression. So companies are free to support political parties, but that is not a ground for discrimination because that will expose the State to litigation. The focus must be on the process and the process must be fair and transparent, that you cannot discriminate based on political bias and perception."
But while the Lalla-owned SIS has become a preferred contractor of the People's Partnership Government, the administration is aware of issues with the company which have impacted on delivery and construction management.
These issues were raised in a report as part of the audit conducted by the Attorney General's office into Evolving Technologies and Enterprise Development Company (eTeck). SIS was one of four companies identified by Akbar Ali, the AG's attorney in the audit, for investigation to determine whether the State could pursue civil proceedings to regain money for uncompleted work.
Under the PNM administration, SIS had won a $150 million contract for roads and drainage works at the Tamana Intech Park in June 2006. It was supposed to be completed in 18 months.
However, the company was fired after an audit conducted by Trintoplan Consultants determined that it failed to meet its contractual obligations. Some of the issues identified with SIS's work was the poor performance of its sub-contractors, delays due to rainfall, malfunction of SIS's asphalt plant, poor construction management and the inability to replace sub-contractors on a timely basis.
SIS was fired after 40 per cent of the work was completed. The audit determined that another contractor would have to be hired to conduct remedial measures on the work completed because of "poor quality construction".
The then eTeck board, chaired by Prof Ken Julien, agreed to pay SIS about $100 million for the work.
However, while the Attorney General has pursued civil proceedings against directors of the company for decisions they made, no action will be taken to recover money from SIS.

"The matter was the subject of review together with other contracts awarded by the PNM-appointed board. However, there was no evidence of corruption on the part of SIS or the PNM board. The legal advice I received was that there was no basis for pursuing a claim against the former board over the award of this multi-million contract to SIS as the tender procedure was transparent and award justified."
Questioned on whether he's not concerned about the allegations made against the People's Partnership Government with regard to tendering practices, Ramlogan responded: "No. I understand in the political context that it is made. When large contracts were awarded by the PNM, no one batted an eyelid, but suddenly there is an endless list of so-called allegations because of vested commercial interests in a major control for economic power."

netsket

Postby netsket » January 31st, 2013, 10:10 pm

posting.php?mode=reply&f=4&t=479700

Walk that talk, Mr London

Story Created: Jan 30, 2013 at 11:53 PM ECT

Story Updated: Jan 31, 2013 at 12:12 AM ECT

I do not wish to dwell on the present race talk which has been heating up the flames between the sister isles, but, since the People's National Movement (PNM) has since disassociated itself, apologised and insisted that the Calcutta statement does not represent any principle or foundation of the party, I wish to request the party to prove this to me.

I would like the Orville London-led THA to show more respect to the Hindu/Indo-Trinbagonian society which is alive and contributing to the community and economy of Tobago. I recall in 2009 promises were made by the Chief Secretary that monies were allocated as well as land for Tobago's first temple, but we are now in 2013 and Tobago still stands without a Hindu temple, despite having a considerable amount of Hindus residing there.

This is a huge insult that the Tobago Hindu Society (THS) has had to endure for years.

If we consider ourselves a multi-racial society where all cultures and ethnic groups are embraced by each other without bigotry, and the PNM unreservedly endorses this, then we should not see any ethnic group being disadvantaged, regardless of their numbers.

Maybe, in addition to donning Indian ethnic wear, attending various Hindu festivals and functions, opening inaugurations with Hindu mantras we could see some more tangible approaches to incorporating and acknowledging the Hindu/Indian society in Tobago, like a temple, for instance. In doing so, we would actually be able to believe the claims made by the PNM about its true principles and foundations. We are prepared to disregard Mr Sandy's xenophobic statement, but only if the PNM proves that to us. We will not support by believing in what can be mere puffs. We need to see real action and equal opportunities for all.

I look forward to the enthusiasm of the THA in fulfilling this dream for the THS and me.

Reshma Arjoonsingh

Mt Pleasant

Postby Habit7 » January 31st, 2013, 10:31 pm

UML/netsket

How can you be opposed to T&T Mirror's articles done by investigative journalists, yet you quote write-in letters to editorial desks as having more worth than the tuner who posted his opinion before you?

Postby rfari » January 31st, 2013, 10:54 pm

netsket wrote:http://www.trinituner.com/v3/forums/posting.php?mode=reply&f=4&t=479700

Walk that talk, Mr London

Story Created: Jan 30, 2013 at 11:53 PM ECT

Story Updated: Jan 31, 2013 at 12:12 AM ECT

I do not wish to dwell on the present race talk which has been heating up the flames between the sister isles, but, since the People's National Movement (PNM) has since disassociated itself, apologised and insisted that the Calcutta statement does not represent any principle or foundation of the party, I wish to request the party to prove this to me.

I would like the Orville London-led THA to show more respect to the Hindu/Indo-Trinbagonian society which is alive and contributing to the community and economy of Tobago. I recall in 2009 promises were made by the Chief Secretary that monies were allocated as well as land for Tobago's first temple, but we are now in 2013 and Tobago still stands without a Hindu temple, despite having a considerable amount of Hindus residing there.

This is a huge insult that the Tobago Hindu Society (THS) has had to endure for years.

If we consider ourselves a multi-racial society where all cultures and ethnic groups are embraced by each other without bigotry, and the PNM unreservedly endorses this, then we should not see any ethnic group being disadvantaged, regardless of their numbers.

Maybe, in addition to donning Indian ethnic wear, attending various Hindu festivals and functions, opening inaugurations with Hindu mantras we could see some more tangible approaches to incorporating and acknowledging the Hindu/Indian society in Tobago, like a temple, for instance. In doing so, we would actually be able to believe the claims made by the PNM about its true principles and foundations. We are prepared to disregard Mr Sandy's xenophobic statement, but only if the PNM proves that to us. We will not support by believing in what can be mere puffs. We need to see real action and equal opportunities for all.

I look forward to the enthusiasm of the THA in fulfilling this dream for the THS and me.

Reshma Arjoonsingh

Mt Pleasant

New Tobago Hindu group fights for land

Thursday, July 29 2010

THE TOBAGO House of Assembly (THA) is yet to finalise the lease arrangements for four lots of land given to the Sanatan Dharma Maha Sabha’s Tobago Hindu Society (THS) arm, for construction of a temple, as the THA received an application for that piece of land from another Hindu group.

Pulwatie Beepath, former president of the SDMS’ THS, yesterday told Newsday that the THS was never legally registered by the SDMS. She has since legally registered the society and has applied to the THA for the parcel of land.

She said this new organisation is in no way affiliated with the SDMS and commands the full support of Hindus living and working in Tobago. “We have over 75 members, which is nearly all the Hindus on the island, who totally support the new organisation,” said Beepath.

Beepath, who was president of the Maha Sabha’s THS arm, insisted that she should be awarded the lease for the parcel of land. “This land was granted to the THA and not the SDMS. Since my new organisation is one which encompasses all the peoples of Tobago, the land should be given to us for the people,” said Beepath.

However, Maha Sabha secretary general Satnarine Maharaj refuted these claims. “This is not true, we hold the documents regarding the Tobago lands. The land has been granted to the SDMS, since the THS is a subsidiary of the SDMS,” Maharaj said.

Rayan Ramoutar, the current president of the SDMS’ THS yesterday confirmed to Newsday that the application for the lease agreement has indeed been halted as a result of this new development.

“The new organisation has also applied for the land and since this has to be investigated the THA has halted the process of finalising the lease,” said Ramoutar.

http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,124843.html

Hindu land still on hold

Story Created: Nov 11, 2010 at 11:53 PM ECT

(Story Updated: Nov 11, 2010 at 11:53 PM ECT )

President of the Tobago Hindu Society Pulwaty Beepath says that despite the dispute over lands located in Signal Hill for the establishment of a Hindu Temple, she remains hopeful someday the dream of a temple to worship will become a reality.

"We are waiting to see what God has in store for us, and may Mother Lakshmi shower her blessings on us, that someday the Hindus in Tobago, and the Tobago Hindu Society, will get a place to build a temple," Beepath said. She was speaking with the media after participating in Divali celebrations at the Hope Anglican School.

The issue of the land for the construction of a temple in Tobago came to the fore when two competing factions of the Hindu Society claimed ownership of the land that was handed over by the Tobago House of Assembly based on a request by the group.

Chief Secretary of Tobago Orville London then opted to halt the transfer of the land title pending the resolution of the differences between the two groups. However, the group headed by Beepath has since registered the Hindu Society as a Non Governmental Organisation and says it should have full rights to the land.

Speaking with Tobago News at Mason Hall on Thursday, the Chief Secretary said nothing has changed. He insists, the land will remain the property of the THA until there is some resolution. "The advice from my legal people is that until such time that I get a clear determination, either because they have come to some arrangement or through the court of law, it is not advisable for me to make any decision," London said.

http://www.thetobagonews.com/news/Hindu ... 76978.html

Published:
Sunday, January 27, 2013
SHASTRI BOODAN

Text Size:

Sat Maharaj, secretary general of the SDMS

The leader of the Sanatan Dharma Maha Sabha (SDMS) wants independence for Tobago. Speaking with the Sunday Guardian, Sat Maharaj, secretary general of the SDMS, said Tobago should fend for itself and stop being a drain on the treasury.

Maharaj said billions of dollars were being spent in Tobago to benefit a handful of the national population. Maharaj said he wants the Government to stop subsidising the cost of the fast-ferry service and the airbridge service to Tobago. He said millions of dollars were being spent to send tourists from Trinidad to Tobago. “Let everyone pay the full cost to travel,” he stated.

Maharaj said the Government cannot continue to help pay for joyrides between the islands. Maharaj said he saw no relevance in maintaining a unitary state of Trinidad and Tobago since the Indo-Trinidadian population, which makes up 42 percent of the national population, did not feel welcome in Tobago.

Maharaj claimed that Trinidadians were generally ill-treated by Tobagonians when on business or vacation on the island. He said Indians are now feeling alienated and are refusing to go to Tobago since the “Calcutta ship” comments by THA executive member Hilton Sandy.

The Maha Sabha leader also claimed that Tobagonians had always rejected Indians and Hindus, in particular. Citing an example, he said the SDMS had purchased land in Tobago for the construction of a temple at Carnbee over five years ago but the THA had refused to grant permission for construction even though there was a Christian church in the area.

He said the THA also promised to grant a half acre of land at Signal Hill to the various Indian organisations on the island. However, the THA came up with an excuse at the last minute and reneged on its promise. “Calcutta ship can’t land, but one from the Congo can,” Maharaj commented.

Maharaj said until Tobago gets independence he wanted everyone to boycott Tobago. Maharaj said Trinidadians could enjoy themselves vacationing elsewhere. In the meantime, he suspected that the THA would move to patch things up and save face by giving “curry favour” to one of the three Indo-based organisations on the island.

http://guardian.co.tt/news/2013-01-27/s ... come-there

Maha Sabha Urges Indian Envoy to Stay out of Local Issues

BY PETER BALROOP

Sanatan Dharma Maha Sabha (SDMS) secretary general Satnarayan Maharaj is accusing Indian High Commissioner to T&T, His Excellency Malay Mishra, of attempting to destabilise the Hindu community of T&T and dictate the pace of the group. Maharaj, 79, who has been SDMS head since 1977, has dispatched a strongly-worded letter to the India Foreign Office accusing Mishra of continued intervention by way of “intrusive and divisive actions” into the affairs of the Hindu community in T&T. The letter has also been copied to T&T Foreign Affairs Minister Dr Surujrattan Rambachan. Maharaj also withdrew the SDMS’s invitation to Mishra to attend yesterday’s Baal Vikaas finals. The issue stems over the use of four lots of land at Signal Hill which the Tobago House of Assembly (THA) is willing to lease to the SDMS for construction of a Hindu temple and cremation site. Mishra’s office was closed yesterday and efforts to contact him for comment failed.

But a source close to the Commissioner said it was an “extremely sensitive” matter and if Maharaj’s complaint was seriously entertained by the Indian Government it could cost the Commissioner his posting. According to the letter, the SDMS has been engaged in a 20-year-long quest to secure land in Tobago to build a temple and a cremation site for Hindu use. The effort eventually bore fruit with the decision by the THA to deed four lots of land at Signal Hill to the SDMS to display murtis indicating the Hindu presence in the island. However, Maharaj stated, he was “shocked and amazed” to learn Mishra had a meeting in Tobago on Wednesday, making a case for residents of the island, in general, to lobby the THA to have a community centre at the site, rather than the proposed and agreed-upon temple and cremation undertaking.

“...despite the fact that the Hindu community has no place of worship on the island while the Islamic and Christian communities each has houses of worship. “This is the latest in a series of intrusive and divisive actions taken by this High Commissioner among the local Indian population which are inimical to the interests of the community,” the letter states. “The SDMS views this intervention into domestic affairs of the local Indian community by the Indian High Commissioner as improper and as such we seek your immediate intervention in this matter,” Maharaj wrote. The letter, which was copied to Mishra and directed to his 6 Victoria Avenue, Port-of-Spain office, was described as “an official letter of complaint” against the High Commissioner “for his conduct in our country.”

In an interview at the Baal Vikaas Festival final at the SDMS headquarters in St Augustine yesterday, Maharaj said the SDMS separates the secular from the religious and does not allow politicians to interfere in its affairs. He suggested Mishra should be concentrating on building the Indian Cultural Centre, land for which was made available by the T&T Government 25 years ago, bordering the Butler Highway, close to the Priority Bus Route. Rambachan told the Sunday Guardian he could not comment as he is yet to receive a copy of the letter.

http://www.southasianoutlook.net/issues ... ssues.html

Tobago’s Seeta Beepath gets award in India

Monday, November 19 2012

Nineteen-year-old Tobagonian Seeta Beepath recently received an award from the President of India, Pranab Kumar Mukherjee. Beepath performed a classical dance at the president's house in India on October 13 during a Raam Leela function. She later received the award at her school, along with other members of the dance group.

Beepath attends the Shri Raam Bharatiya Kala in New Delhi on a three year scholarship made possible by Trinidad and Tobago High Commissioner to New Delhi, India, Chandradath Singh; Malay Mishra, Indian High Commissioner to Trinidad and Tobago; and facilitated by the Chief Secretary of the Tobago House of Assembly, Orville London and the Assembly. She is pursuing studies in Indian classical dance.

Beepath is the daughter of the Tobago Hindu Society, Pulwaty Holass Beepath. Speaking at the society’s recent Divali celebrations at Gulf City Mall, Lowlands, Secretary for the Division of Community Development and Culture, Tracy Davidson-Celestine offered special congratulatory to Pulwaty Beepath on her daughter’s success.

Seeta Beepath also sent special wishes to the Hindu community of Trinidad and Tobago and wished them happy Divali celebrations. She also expressed her gratitude to Ramona Ramdial, Pearl Chin, the TIMA Group and Zanifer Hosein who took her to the Children of Mastana programme.

http://www.newsday.co.tt/features/0,169461.html