christopherwilliams2

Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby christopherwilliams2 » January 27th, 2013, 11:47 am

turbotusty wrote:
ZeroOne wrote:
christopherwilliams2 wrote:me eh know what happen to allyuh screen. my s3 screen shows beautiful!!!

X2 there is no way you can see a big difference between a s3 and iphone during normal use 1ft away from your face.

i would expect quite a noticeable difference since the s3 has 145 pixels per inch while iphone5 has 325 ppi. that is less than half the pixel density. watching hd movies will probably show up the squares more noticeable than just using regular fone features.

Maybe in a lab, maybe in a controlled environment but to me, not on an average day in the middle of Arima. Lol, maybe it a bit better in theory but I'm yet to see a dramatic difference.

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » January 27th, 2013, 11:54 am

You guys own a s3 at all?????

I just took my s3 and held it 3 inches from my face and I dont see the patterns in the pixel arrangement.

turbotusty wrote:
ZeroOne wrote:
christopherwilliams2 wrote:me eh know what happen to allyuh screen. my s3 screen shows beautiful!!!

X2 there is no way you can see a big difference between a s3 and iphone during normal use 1ft away from your face.

i would expect quite a noticeable difference since the s3 has 145 WRONG pixels per inch while iphone5 has 325 ppi. that is less than half the pixel density. watching hd movies will probably show up the squares more noticeable than just using regular fone features.

The s3 has 306 ppi the iphone 326........go figure the big difference.

Source:

Code: Select all

http://forum.xda-developers.com/wiki/Samsung_Galaxy_S_III/GT-I9300

achillies

Postby achillies » January 27th, 2013, 11:56 am

turbotusty wrote:
ZeroOne wrote:

i would expect quite a noticeable difference since the s3 has 145 pixels per inch while iphone5 has 325 ppi. that is less than half the pixel density. watching hd movies will probably show up the squares more noticeable than just using regular fone features.

S3 has a. 1280 X 720 = 306ppi (HD)
I5. has a. 1136 X 640 = 326 ppi
Lumia 920 1280 X 768 = 332 ppi (HD)

This info is really available online, the last modern device that I remember has such a low ppi is the iPad mini

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » January 27th, 2013, 12:00 pm

well as long as u satisfied i guess. because that to me is the most important thing as a consumer. customer satisfaction. when i buy something i expect it to work for what i buy it for and not let me down. so kudos if u got one out of the good batches and enjoying the reliability and stability of android features.

i think that is another thing to consider as well. some companies have higher manufacturing errors on their production line than others. maybe samsung try to push this out so fast that it increased their error rate. but some companies purposely do that too so that they could make money in service/support and after warranty.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » January 27th, 2013, 12:03 pm

ZeroOne wrote:You guys own a s3 at all?????

I just took my s3 and held it 3 inches from my face and I dont see the patterns in the pixel arrangement.

turbotusty wrote:
ZeroOne wrote:

i would expect quite a noticeable difference since the s3 has 145 WRONG pixels per inch while iphone5 has 325 ppi. that is less than half the pixel density. watching hd movies will probably show up the squares more noticeable than just using regular fone features.

Source:

well ok, my error the site i checked on has incorrect information then. or maybe there's 2 types of s3? maybe it would be advisable for those who seeing pixel patterns to have their fone exchanged since it isnt performing up to par. could be an indication of a failure coming down the road.

Postby M_2NR » January 27th, 2013, 12:07 pm

Men Hadda get eye test now.

Eh let me leave u guys in bliss.

All the talk about apple guys are fanboys but its all the same.

achillies

Postby achillies » January 27th, 2013, 12:09 pm

turbotusty wrote:

ZeroOne wrote:

Source:

well ok, my error the site i checked on has incorrect information then. or maybe there's 2 types of s3? maybe it would be advisable for those who seeing pixel patterns to have their fone exchanged since it isnt performing up to par. could be an indication of a failure coming down the road.

No errors, all S3 screens are the same, if someone is seeing the pixel arrangement in an HD screen, it's because they are holding the device up to their eyes looking for just that, from 1 foot away, the eye cannot even distinguish anything over 300 ppi

sentraman

Postby sentraman » January 27th, 2013, 12:10 pm

All s3 come with the same 306 ppi... We have tested in work the s3 screen vs the iphone 5 screen with video and websites. Unless u hold it close up to your face for text u cannot tell the difference. And with video the s3 was better not to mention you do not need to hold the phone close to enjoy the video

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » January 27th, 2013, 12:18 pm

achillies wrote:
turbotusty wrote:

ZeroOne wrote:

Source:

No errors, all S3 screens are the same, if someone is seeing the pixel arrangement in an HD screen, it's because they are holding the device up to their eyes looking for just that, from 1 foot away, the eye cannot even distinguish anything over 300 ppi

well checking now all over the net says the S3 has 306ppi but the one site i checked said it had 145ppi. the s3 has some nice specs too. frankly i would say any android that has 1gb of ram and up will toast an iphone. simply on the fact it can do everything iphone can do, but has the extended capability to do more than a phone was ever intended to do.

hmmm wonder if i can run ios6 in a virtual machine LOL

Postby Stephon. » January 27th, 2013, 1:51 pm

M_2NR wrote:All the talk about apple guys are fanboys but its all the same.

You reaching for the stars with this comment lol.

Postby Rooki3 » January 27th, 2013, 2:10 pm

temple run addictive, recommend some more games

u guys shud try six guns & brothers in arms

Postby Trini Hookah » January 27th, 2013, 2:41 pm

Asphalt
Call of Mini
SNES Emulator
and Fifa

Postby S_2NR » January 27th, 2013, 4:05 pm

NFS Most wanted
Chasing yello (more fun version of temple run imo)
Angry birds
Cut the rope
Bejeweled
Air control
Fruit ninja

Postby Stephon. » January 27th, 2013, 5:49 pm

Basically my games folder:

Angry Birds
Feeding Frenzy
Fruit Ninja Free
Paper Toss
NFS Most Wanted $
Chasing Yello (addictive)
Blosics FREE
Monopoly
Subway Surf (addictive)
SG: DeadZone
Nun Attack $
ZOOKEEPER
Super Hexagon $
PAC-MAN Championship ED $
Galaga Special Edition
GTA Vice City $
Ride of Blobs
Gravity Guy
Undead Slayer (addictive)
Temple Run 2
Asphalt 7 $

$ means you gotta "pay" for the apps.
Last edited by Stephon. on January 27th, 2013, 5:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » January 27th, 2013, 5:50 pm

In theory the iPhone's screen is better. But in terms of actual usage it really is no different. I actually prefer the colors on the AMOLED screen of the S3. The over saturation is just about right. It gives pictures life. The iPhone screen is a bit bland in front of it. The quality is the same until you hold both phones an inch from your eye, which is absolutely pointless. The bigger screen on the S3 also makes videos and pics more enjoyable.

Postby Ted_v2 » January 27th, 2013, 7:40 pm

ImageImage

Someone sent me a pic of their s2. Which model is this? And how desirable is this one?

achillies

Postby achillies » January 27th, 2013, 7:46 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:ImageImage

Someone sent me a pic of their s2. Which model is this? And how desirable is this one?

As far as I know, that's a CDMA device and it won't work on any of the carriers in Trinidad, but that's as far as I know.

Postby Ted_v2 » January 27th, 2013, 7:53 pm

It's working on digicel

So I heard

Postby Trini Hookah » January 27th, 2013, 8:01 pm

Postby Trini Hookah » January 27th, 2013, 8:03 pm

Oh yeah, it's a CDMA phone as well.

Have the person send you a pic with it powered on showing network coverage.

Postby Ted_v2 » January 27th, 2013, 8:07 pm

Scene. I'll ask for a pic and report back

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » January 27th, 2013, 11:40 pm

make ur android dance with a custom homescreen launcher.. check out the video. GOLauncher EX on the app store. best part.. it's free.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3SvEYlqfXQI&feature=youtube_gdata_player

also has a great selection of themes to change the entire look of the interface, apps and icons.

Postby Trini Hookah » January 28th, 2013, 6:27 am

turbolate, we discussed launchers tens and tens of pages ago.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » January 28th, 2013, 6:56 am

hmm with nearly 600 pages of posts i shouldve guessed. aint like i read them all lol

Postby Stephon. » January 28th, 2013, 8:54 am

Samsung Galaxy S3 'most recommended' smartphone in UK

Samsung's Android smartphones are most recommended by UK retailers, according to new market research, with the Galaxy S3 being the most recommended handset. According to research carried out by Informa Telecoms and Media, which carried out the survey in leading high-street and carrier stores, sales assistants were more likely to recommend Samsung handsets than competing phones from Apple, HTC, Nokia or others.

At the other end of the scale, Android rivals like ZTE, Motorola, LG, Huawei had next to no in-store presence in the UK, Informa found.

According to UK newspaper The Telegraph, Infroma considers it "likely that sales assistants see the Samsung devices as a safe bet to earn greater commissions."

"The mystery shop showed that the most recommended Samsung handsets were the Galaxy SIII and the Galaxy Note II, despite having been on the market longer than the latest handsets from Apple, Nokia and HTC," said Julian Jest of Informa.

"However, most surprising was the way that, despite an in-store advertising campaign and recent product launch, Apple was recommended in only two stores, 3 and Phones 4 U, with both recommending the iPhone 5."

The Galaxy S3 was the most successful Android phone of 2012, even outselling Apple's iPhone in certain quarters (*cough* 4th quarter *cough). Sales of the device recently topped 30 million worldwide, as total Galaxy S line shipments reached 100 million.

Android Central

Postby 16 cycles » January 28th, 2013, 9:03 am

on games....shooting gallery 2

sniper game....well thought out

Postby Stephon. » January 28th, 2013, 9:06 am

Reuters: The iPhone isn’t cool in Asia anymore, people are switching to Android

It’s hard to believe now, but there was once a time when owning an iPhone meant you were a part of the cool crowd. The thing is, people change their minds quite easily. What’s cool today makes you a loser tomorrow. Thanks to the internet and globalization, fads come and go faster than most of us can keep track of them. According to a report published by Reuters, people living in “trend-setting” cities in Asia are now getting bored of the mythical Jesus Phone. Here are two numbers to consider: In January 2012, the iPhone had a 72% market share in Singapore. Today it’s just 50%.

What are people buying instead? Android devices, of course, specifically those from Samsung. The Note II in particular is mentioned a few times because it has a large screen and a large battery. This writer, who is currently traveling through Asia, saw so many people using the Note that he succumbed to temptation and bought one for himself!

So can Apple get their “cool” back? That’s hard to say. Google is getting better at design with each passing day, and Samsung is already excellent at hardware, so … we’re really on the fence with this one.

We’re not going to lie, some of us here at Android Authority own iOS products, and while this might be a blasphemous thing to say, Google tends to show off their best work on Apple’s platform first. The new Gmail app for iOS, the new Google Maps app, Google+, Currents, everything that makes Google special shows up first on iOS, and then on Android. It’s probably got something to do with the fact that everyone in California (read: Google’s home turf) has an iPhone.

But back to the topic at hand, we’re thrilled that more and more people are switching to Android. Let’s welcome these new members of our family with open arms and not hostility. Don’t berate someone for buying X phone versus Y phone, and please don’t tell someone that they’re not “cool” because their handset doesn’t have a custom ROM.

That last line applies to S_2NR :x

Android Authority

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 28th, 2013, 9:06 am

Stephon. wrote:
M_2NR wrote:All the talk about apple guys are fanboys but its all the same.

You reaching for the stars with this comment lol.

Not really, eg the bb thread :|

Postby Stephon. » January 28th, 2013, 9:07 am

16 cycles wrote:on games....shooting gallery 2

sniper game....well thought out

I might install that later today along with this one
https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... suZHVjayJd

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » January 28th, 2013, 10:03 am

to be fair, motorola hasnt focussed on european or international markets. theyve been primarily a US market for their top end devices. even locking their fones so that they cant work with any other carrier. i had to do some work with my D4 to get it working. it's a little known fone that most ppl wouldnt seek the option if they werent on verizon.

but what gem it is if they only knew or could get access on their network. i think motorola sold themselves short by building a world fone and then locking it to verizon. the jellybean update should be released soon. maybe it will open up the full global potential for this model.

i like to back the underdog what can i say lol