THA Elections

Who do you believe will win the THA elections?

60%
PNM
40%

Total votes: 93

toyota2nr

Re: THA Elections

Postby toyota2nr » January 24th, 2013, 11:43 pm

eliteauto wrote:
toyota2nr wrote:And then they have the balls to say the President should remove Dr. Indira Rampersad.

did you see the reason?

that important? you eh realize a rowley request the removal of a rampersad?

Oh do that's what it break down to? Nothing to do with the issue at hand right ?

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » January 24th, 2013, 11:44 pm

Habit7 wrote:
netsket wrote:Like habit7 dont even know his party he voting on race

I didnt even know who Hilton Sandy was, but thanks to the PP we all know who he is. Probably if they had focused more on enhancing the integrity of Ashworth Jack and showing that he could run his own campaign just as much as he aspired to run the THA, maybe we won't be in this situation of PP sore losing and TOP could have at least win one seat.

I could agree with this. PP made the mistakes and that cost TOP the election.

Postby rfari » January 24th, 2013, 11:48 pm

If pp continues to grasp at straws with this calcutta ship statement while overlooking past misdeeds such as section 34, soe, opvs etc they would surely suffer a similar defeat in local government and general elections. Think about it

Postby wagonrunner » January 24th, 2013, 11:49 pm

toyota2nr wrote:that important? you eh realize a rowley request the removal of a rampersad?

Oh do that's what it break down to? Nothing to do with the issue at hand right ?[/quote]
kindly spell out what you just saw it as broken down to.

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » January 24th, 2013, 11:51 pm

rfari wrote:If pp continues to grasp at straws with this calcutta ship statement while overlooking past misdeeds such as section 34, soe, opvs etc they would surely suffer a similar defeat in local government and general elections. Think about it

So based on what you saying my logical inference is that the PNM has a special status in T&T. Let's ignore whatever wrong they do and focus on others.

I totally disagree with the PP for Section 34 etc but it is with the same fervor that I will condemn the PNM for their blatant racism.

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » January 24th, 2013, 11:54 pm

toyota2nr wrote:that important? you eh realize a rowley request the removal of a rampersad?

Oh do that's what it break down to? Nothing to do with the issue at hand right ?

kindly spell out what you just saw it as broken down to.[/quote]

I would answer you eh bro but it really eh make sense. Take win. The PP evil and should castigated to hell the PNM is a band of angels. In the last number of years the PNM did nothing wrong an they were wrongly accused.

Yeah I could agree with that.

Postby wagonrunner » January 24th, 2013, 11:57 pm

toyota2nr wrote:
wagonrunner wrote:that important? you eh realize a rowley request the removal of a rampersad?

I would answer you eh bro but it really eh make sense. Take win. The PP evil and should castigated to hell the PNM is a band of angels. In the last number of years the PNM did nothing wrong an they were wrongly accused.

I agree it doesn't make sense. But is that your answer.

Postby shogun » January 24th, 2013, 11:59 pm

rfari wrote:If pp continues to grasp at straws with this calcutta ship statement while overlooking past misdeeds such as section 34, soe, opvs etc they would surely suffer a similar defeat in local government and general elections. Think about it

Ent.

Insult to the intelligence of the people of Tobago.

As though track record/past missteps have NOTHING to do with the outcome.

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » January 25th, 2013, 12:01 am

toyota2nr wrote:
wagonrunner wrote:that important? you eh realize a rowley request the removal of a rampersad?

I agree it doesn't make sense. But is that your answer.

Who cares what my answer is. The fact is the PNM never did anything and Hilton Sandy was talking about the remote control boat his son plays with.

Postby rfari » January 25th, 2013, 12:04 am

PNM - senior member makes a statement perceived to be racist on a political platform ; loses his deputy leader position.
UNC - member made statements over the years perceived to be racist; elevated to a ministerial position in its government.

The low socioeconomic sheep wouldn't see that

Postby wagonrunner » January 25th, 2013, 12:06 am

seeing is one thing. admitting is clearly another. when in the business of self-denial, more pause should be used when judging others

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » January 25th, 2013, 12:12 am

I can agree with that. My issue is and continues ‪to be that the PNM supporters seem to be blind to everything their party does. So while we making noise for Section 34 let's pretend our boys did nothing wrong.

Postby rfari » January 25th, 2013, 12:16 am

toyota2nr wrote:I can agree with that. My issue is and continues ‪to be that the PNM supporters seem to be blind to everything their party does. So while we making noise for Section 34 let's pretend our boys did nothing wrong.

But tobago voted top 2 1/2 years ago. What can account for this turn around today?

Postby wagonrunner » January 25th, 2013, 12:18 am

toyota2nr wrote:I can agree with that. My issue is and continues ‪to be that the PNM supporters seem to be blind to everything their party does. So while we making noise for Section 34 let's pretend our boys did nothing wrong.
rfari wrote:PNM - senior member makes a statement perceived to be racist on a political platform ; loses his deputy leader position.
UNC - member made statements over the years perceived to be racist; elevated to a ministerial position in its government.

oho, and once again. if yuh speak ill of the pp, yuh is a pnm. they speak of freeing others from mental slavery while their supporters thinking is stuck. go figure.

Postby Habit7 » January 25th, 2013, 12:19 am

“On Monday, when you go to vote, I ask you to make this a referendum on internal self-government...If you want internal government and self government, vote TOP”
Kamla Persad-Bissessar, Jan 17 2013
http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,172217.html

after the elections...

"The results of the THA (Tobago House of Assembly) election reflect how palpable the notion of fear among the African population can be."
Jack Warner Jan 22 2013
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/War ... 43551.html

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » January 25th, 2013, 12:20 am

^^^ what's your point?

Postby Habit7 » January 25th, 2013, 12:28 am

The PM gave the electorate a context to vote for...and they did.

Then after the elections, the UNC acted as if there was no context of governance as the PM said but race. Even after the elections they continue to insult Tobagoians. They have now changed 2 former sure seats for the PP, past marginal, and now surely will be won by the PNM for years to come. BTW the EW corridor is watching.

Postby rfari » January 25th, 2013, 12:29 am

rfari wrote:PNM - senior member makes a statement perceived to be racist on a political platform ; loses his deputy leader position.

oho, and once again. if yuh speak ill of the pp, yuh is a pnm. they speak of freeing others from mental slavery while their supporters thinking is stuck. go figure.

Smh. Very ironic

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » January 25th, 2013, 12:34 am

I like how you side step the issue there......good one.

Postby rfari » January 25th, 2013, 12:44 am

Postby rfari » January 25th, 2013, 12:53 am

fear,not race
PM on why Tobago voted for PNM:
By Elizabeth Williams Tobago Bureau

Story Created: Jan 24, 2013 at 10:42 PM ECT

(Story Updated: Jan 24, 2013 at 10:44 PM ECT )

Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar says the victory by the People's National Movement (PNM)-led Tobago House of Assembly (THA) had nothing to do with race but fear.

Speaking with reporters following the Ninth inauguration ceremony of the new THA in Scarborough yesterday, she stressed that the people of Tobago must be respected in light of the outcome of the election.

She also noted while the Tobago Organisation of the People (TOP) led by Ashworth Jack ran its campaign on the issue of constitutional reform, the PNM ran its campaign on fear and standing in defence of Tobago.

Persad-Bissessar said however there must be no attempt to belittle the democratic decision and right of the people of Tobago following the outcome of Monday's THA election in which the PNM won all 12 seats and the TOP none.

The PNM had previously held eight seats and the TOP four.

"I believe that they chose that team (PNM) because they felt that team was best able to run the THA and to develop Tobago," Persad- Bissessar said.

The Prime Minister's comments come in sharp contrast to that of UNC chairman Jack Warner, who on Wednesday said the people of Tobago voted on the basis of "tribal instincts" and the fear that a "Calcutta" ship was coming.

Warner, Minister of National Security, said: "The results of the THA election reflect how palpable the notion of fear among the African population can be.

With very little to show from a party they have supported; a party that has neglected and overlooked them, Tobagonians still chose to remain with their political abusers."

Newly sworn-in THA Chief Secretary Orville London has described Warner's statement as irresponsible, reckless, insulting and degrading to Tobagonians.

The Prime Minister said it is not her view that she took over the TOP's campaign, propelling the party to lose the election.

Political analysts and other commentators have expressed the view that the presence of the Prime Minister at various TOP political meetings on the island did not allow the TOP to conduct its political campaign in its own style and this may have contributed to its loss.

"I was invited by our partner Mr Ashworth Jack, and based on that I came here on his invitation," Persad-Bissessar said.

She also described the address made by President George Maxwell Richards during yesterday's Ninth inauguration ceremony as inspiring to start the healing process after the election.

"There will be many hurts and disappointments, but for Tobago to grow it is important that healing takes place. His Excellency set that tone in his comments," she said.

Noting that she felt welcomed to Tobago, as she did before and during the election, Persad- Bissessar said when she receives London's invitation to meet with her, she will meet with him. London told reporters he intended to write the Prime Minister requesting a meeting.

She said in light of there being no opposition in the Assembly, it would now be up to the people of Tobago and Trinidad to look at the proper accounting practices of THA.

"I trust that Mr London would have put his shoulder to the wheel, to try to ensure there is accountability and transparency in the spending of taxpayers dollars," she said.

Letter dated January 24 from THA Chief Secretary Orville London to Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar Dear Honourable Prime Minister, As you aware, the recently concluded Tobago House of Assembly elections have produced a result that does not include the opportunity for a minority presence in the House of Assembly It is the considered opinion of the people of Tobago that appropriate arrangements be made to allow for the representation of views alternative to those of the winning party be expressed in the Assembly legislature. In light of the Constitutional (Amendment) Bill No. 1/2013 before Parliament, that proposes constitutional change for the relationship between islands of Trinidad and Tobago and for the operations of the Tobago House of Assembly, I am proposing a legislative change to immediately address this situation. The proposals submitted by the Tobago House of Assembly to your Gov- ernment in relation to the amendments to the Tobago House of Assembly Act, proposed that the President appoint, in his own discretion, two councillors as members of the Assembly. This proposal will address the current situation as an interim relief pending the passage of full legislative amendments to the relevant laws. Given the urgency created by the results of the election, for alternative voices in the Assembly legislature, I recommend that the Government seek to have the Parliament approve a change to the current legislation to allow for this provision to be implemented. I am available for further consultation, in accordance with Section 31, of the Tobago House of Assembly Act 1996. Yours in Progress. • Copy Dr Keith Rowley, Leader of the Opposition.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/fea ... 02001.html

Postby rfari » January 25th, 2013, 1:05 am

Kpb read the play. What about the sheep?
Also commendable steps towards good governance taken by the chief secretary

Postby zoom rader » January 25th, 2013, 3:01 am

Habit7 wrote:It is sad that these issues (Sandy's statement and the PP's reason why they lost) seem to have brought out all the closet racists in the country, on both sides.

I wish we could return to the days of smile and grin but hidden racism esp. by the elders.

What you think this is Alabama USA or South Africa?
Its time to bring in laws to stop these racist.

pyung99

Postby pyung99 » January 25th, 2013, 6:44 am

tobago is world beaters now since they voted as they have done in tha for decades???

for all those alluding that tobago changed from pp support to pnm support, ever consider that tobago simply voted with the strongest party at the time, which was the alliance (kamla mania etc)?

them vote on strength and momentum in general election, but in tha elections it was business as usual.

Postby rfari » January 25th, 2013, 6:50 am

pyung99 wrote:tobago is world beaters now since they voted as they have done in tha for decades???

for all those alluding that tobago changed from pp support to pnm support, ever consider that tobago simply voted with the strongest party at the time, which was the alliance (kamla mania etc)?

them vote on strength and momentum in general election, but in tha elections it was business as usual.

fraggle

Postby fraggle » January 25th, 2013, 7:49 am

Last edited by fraggle on January 25th, 2013, 8:40 am, edited 1 time in total.

fraggle

Postby fraggle » January 25th, 2013, 8:38 am

fraggle wrote:
pyung99 wrote:tobago is world beaters now since they voted as they have done in tha for decades???

them vote on strength and momentum in general election
, but in tha elections it was business as usual.

So wouldn't the fact the Patrick Manning was being an egotistical maniac, becoming ever less transparent, seeking advise from his religious adviser more than his ministers, giving Colder Hart free reign over construction without boundaries and regulation, spending 100s of millions on residence of the prime minister and not being held accountable, wasting millions of dollars on a summit that we still dont know if we seeing benefit.......and then the PP promising the nation that they gonna bring change to governance which the whole nation ageed with (and still cyah reach yet) ....yeah yu right Tobagonians dont vote issues, we just follow fashion. :roll:

Postby Habit7 » January 25th, 2013, 9:04 am

Postby wagonrunner » January 25th, 2013, 12:12 pm

toyota2nr wrote:

I like how you side step the issue there......good one.

how was it side stepped? unless of course emotion is your forte, and reasoning isnt due to such strong self-denial.

By your emotion, the complainant and 6 witnesses are all dutty PNMites ent?
http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2013-01-25/acting-cop-complainant-against-ex-minister

Postby zoom rader » January 25th, 2013, 1:21 pm

rfari wrote:

But tobago voted top 2 1/2 years ago. What can account for this turn around today?

This is flawed, bago voted for two TOP seats 2.5 years ago.
THA is 12 seats in Local election its not the same.

Same as Manning is MP for San Do east seat, but PNM does not control San Do under the last local elections.

PNM people thinking that wining a local election means that if a General election is called they wound win it. Well thats not going to happen. Its wishfull thinking, but no.