^^^so whats your conjecture?pyung99 wrote:for eg, some people think tobagonians voted that way to send a message.
LOL
Jack Warner wrote:Boy, if we don't win this election, and I mean we here in the TOP case, there is no election we will win.
toybago wrote:pyung99, what proof you want? stilted "facts/stats" penned by persons that may have hidden agendas? or do you want to listen to the people who speak their minds over the passage of time? or maybe you prefer to hear it from a person behind a mike that want yuh vote? but after reading just one particular sentence in rfari last post, my statements are no more or less conjecture than most on here....
and yes i do know a lot (about tobago) because guess what? i live here^^^so whats your conjecture?pyung99 wrote:for eg, some people think tobagonians voted that way to send a message.
LOL
rfari wrote:Jack Warner wrote:Boy, if we don't win this election, and I mean we here in the TOP case, there is no election we will win.
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/War ... 88591.html
pyung99 wrote:toybago wrote:pyung99, what proof you want? stilted "facts/stats" penned by persons that may have hidden agendas? or do you want to listen to the people who speak their minds over the passage of time? or maybe you prefer to hear it from a person behind a mike that want yuh vote? but after reading just one particular sentence in rfari last post, my statements are no more or less conjecture than most on here....
and yes i do know a lot (about tobago) because guess what? i live here^^^so whats your conjecture?pyung99 wrote:for eg, some people think tobagonians voted that way to send a message.
LOL
it is all conjecture. see how many people were amazed top lost in local govt, i think similarly people were amazed top won the seats in general election.
it doesnt look good for tobago if internally it doesn't have a worthwhile opposition in the eyes of the people. no matter how you slice that, it shows how far behind tobago is.
consider if the roles were switched, with orville in top (or some other party) and ashworth jack in pnm, or if both orville and ashworth were in a party independent of pnm, how would tobagonians vote then?!
16 cycles wrote:16 cycles wrote:so what was promised on the campaign trail by the winning party?
shogun wrote:rfari wrote:Jack Warner wrote:Boy, if we don't win this election, and I mean we here in the TOP case, there is no election we will win.
lol. Heard about that last night while watching the Parliament channel. Colm Imbert mentioned it during his contribution.
He gave them real talk about the loss in Tobago, it was almost hard to watch.
Heard him also talking about them (the PP), using the helicopter to transport "Soca Artists" to Tobago, for political campaigns and not using them for the purpose, in which they were intended.
shogun wrote:rfari wrote:Jack Warner wrote:Boy, if we don't win this election, and I mean we here in the TOP case, there is no election we will win.
lol. Heard about that last night while watching the Parliament channel. Colm Imbert mentioned it during his contribution.
He gave them real talk about the loss in Tobago, it was almost hard to watch.
Heard him also talking about them (the PP), using the helicopter to transport "Soca Artists" to Tobago, for political campaigns and not using them for the purpose, in which they were intended.
pyung99 wrote:it shows how strong the pnm is. didnt matter who was leading them in the tha elections. a whitewash in politics simply shows how truly oppressed the people are.
16 cycles wrote:16 cycles wrote:16 cycles wrote:so what was promised on the campaign trail by the winning party?
London releases manifesto
Story Updated: Jan 9, 2013
The only manifesto released so far in the build-up to the Tobago House of Assembly election on January 21 is that of the People's National Movement (PNM).
The manifesto, which contains 60 pages, is based on the theme 'In Defence of Tobago, Protecting Our Heritage, Securing the Future".
PNM Tobago Council leader and THA Chief Secretary Orville London waved the document on Sunday at Market Square in Scarborough before thousands of PNM supporters at the presentation of candidates.
In the middle pages is the heading, "The Team You Can Trust In Defence of Tobago", led by London and his 11 candidates.
On page 38 is the "Vision of the next frontier" and "The defence of Tobago".
Some of the future prospects include:
1. Greater autonomy and devolution to Tobago and the THA
2. The recognisation of the interests of Tobagonians in the revised constitution
3. The establishment of an anti-corruption strategy for the THA
4. The modernisation of THA Operations and
5. The strengthening of land and property rights among others.
6. The regularisation of land titling in Tobago
7. Establishment of Specialised Institutes (Programmes) in Forestry and Heritage Studies
8. The mobilisation of diasporic funds
9. The reformation of the Tobago Heritage Land Trust
10. The establishment of the Tobago Think Tank
Throughout the booklet there are headings such as Health Care, Tourism, Housing, Infrastructure and Transportation.
In conclusion, the PNM manifesto says to defend Tobago the party is not engaged in reaction, but rather in proactive initiatives to take the people and the island to the next level.
The Tobago Organisation of the People (TOP) and Platform For Truth (PFT) are yet to reveal their respective manifestos.
...Here every creed and race finds an equal place...
pyung99 wrote:toybago wrote:pyung99, what proof you want? stilted "facts/stats" penned by persons that may have hidden agendas? or do you want to listen to the people who speak their minds over the passage of time? or maybe you prefer to hear it from a person behind a mike that want yuh vote? but after reading just one particular sentence in rfari last post, my statements are no more or less conjecture than most on here....
LOL
it is all conjecture. see how many people were amazed top lost in local govt, i think similarly people were amazed top won the seats in general election.
it doesnt look good for tobago if internally it doesn't have a worthwhile opposition in the eyes of the people. no matter how you slice that, it shows how far behind tobago is.
consider if the roles were switched, with orville in top (or some other party) and ashworth jack in pnm, or if both orville and ashworth were in a party independent of pnm, how would tobagonians vote then?!
pyung99 wrote:it shows how strong the pnm is. didnt matter who was leading them in the tha elections. a whitewash in politics simply shows how truly oppressed the people are.
Chinese workers hold managers hostage after toilet break changes
Shanghai electronics workers, angry about two-minute limit on breaks and fines for lateness, held bosses inside factory....
eliteauto wrote:pyung99 wrote:it shows how strong the pnm is. didnt matter who was leading them in the tha elections. a whitewash in politics simply shows how truly oppressed the people are.
the inherent stupidity of that statement makes all your contributions on this topic laughable. So the possibility that this result was a referendum of the PP Gov't doesn't enter your mind? But of course you're correct because PNM has the 2 Tobago seats in Parliament right?
UML hopes this thread becomes a 9 day wonder (3 days on the internet) and that some mod will move it under the guise of "ok the topic beat out now and elections have past" before he resurfaces
The MFO noted that there was a clear demographic divide in the support base.
The demographic groups more likely to support the PNM were:
•Between 45-54 years
•Living in North-West and North-East Trinidad
•Of African, Mixed/Other ethnic descent
Those who suggested the TOP was the better leader for the THA were:
•Between 55-64 years
•Of a low socioeconomic background
•Living in central and south Trinidad
•Of East Indian descent
janfar wrote:Allyuh beating up on them men... I for one am one happy Calcutta injun that PNM win... nothing political or racial from me... I have never been exposed to anything racist in Tobago and im sure this result wont change it... and if this mean more Caura 'frequentees' gonna stay away then better fete.
Habit7 wrote:kurpal_v2 wrote:http://www.newsday.co.tt/politics/0,171584.html
Jack Warner is just the racist old man everybody knows, that says the most outrageous statements with a lack of tact and decency. Stick a mic in JW's face and it won't take 5mins before a statement that would normal outrage the average Trinibagoian. The problem is that we have grown so accustomed to most of his statements that whether inflammatory, racist, libellous, non-factual or even uplifting, fly below our radar.
ironman2012 wrote:UNC STATEMENT: THA ELECTION RESULTS - WHY TOBAGO LOST
Last Updated on 23.01.2013
The results of the THA election reflect how palpable the notion of fear among the African population can be. With very little to show from a party they have supported; a party that has neglected and overlooked them, Tobagonians still chose to remain with their political abusers.
All the PNM had to do was resort to their age old tactic of instilling fear that some other group would take away the little they had and the tribal instincts did the rest. Note that the PNM did not seek nor have to seek showing Tobagonians how much they gave to Tobago for the answer to that was some 22 billion dollars and nothing to show.
The PNM didn't have to sell any vision of a better life for Tobagonians. Their theme was simply that "a Calcutta ship" was coming for them and so they needed to stand in defence of Tobago. That was it. Fear trumped a better future.
Now what? Will Tobagonians be better off with the proven failure of the PNM? It is the same reason why Laventille with so little given by past PNM administrations would yet support the party regardless. The tribe is all they have been convinced is needed to be protected.
So the task for us is large. It is about emancipation from mental slavery. How do we allay the fears of those who have been duped for so long? How can we get them to understand that the appeal to tribal instincts alone with nothing else in the offing is not in their best interest? How can we encourage them to look for more from their leaders? How can we inspire their self-determination?
And also, how can we improve on our own message? The time has come for introspection on how we are perceived? These are the matters which we will deliberate upon and use to get people to unite against those who do not represent them but imprison them by using fear and tribalism even in this day and age when a black man, with the name Barack Hussein Obama, has just been inaugurated as the 44th President of the United States.
It is time for us to revisit how we achieve the liberation of our people from the insularity they have been captive to for far too long. We are all in this together.
Good Luck Tobago and congratulations to all the winners ! ! !
Signed
Jack Warner
Chairman
United National Congress
http://www.ctntworld.com/index.php/2011 ... obago-lost
Rooki3 wrote:lol @ men saying they not comin bk tobago, i noticed a trend wid some visiting trinis, they come over on the plane with a cooler full of food & liquor, so they dont have to spend on food, my aunt runs a guest house in the west, she said some trini visitors, booked a room that sleeps 3, upon further investigation after a few suspicions, it actally had 9 of them sleeping in d room when night come