So am Bunji, Fay Ann Pull out

Re: So am Bunji, Fay Ann Pull out

Postby Hook » January 18th, 2013, 7:00 am

Yeah, they're making it sound screwey, but we really don't know all the details.
I've seen artistes' contracts where penalties are incurred for non-performance on the night of the show, but there are exceptions for incarceration, personal injury and acts of God.

We don't know for certain if it's as draconian as the Alvarez family is making it out to be, but clearly the other big artistes don't have beef with it.

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 18th, 2013, 7:11 am

I eh blame them nuh, save their production money cause Ravi b going and win anyway.

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » January 18th, 2013, 7:28 am

Soca MAfia strikes again

Postby dougla_boy » January 18th, 2013, 7:59 am

rfari wrote:Iwer go take it. It eh matter

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 18th, 2013, 8:04 am

Iwah and super old, them heart eh strong for when ravib upset them both and take the crown.

Postby javishm » January 18th, 2013, 8:14 am

it continues

Retweeted hema ramkissoon (@hema_ramkissoon):

Wendy ; all artistes were aware of the contractual arrangements of soca monarch since last year june

Retweeted hema ramkissoon (@hema_ramkissoon):

Machel ; I will not comment on Bunji pull out , ill wait to hear what artiste says

Retweeted Ian Antonio Alvarez (@BUNJIGARLIN):

As it with any contract that we are positioned to get into be it endorsement, real estate or the likes we sat with management and legal team for proper advice about the Soca Monarch contract simply because it is our right and responsibility as human beings and artistes to do so. To enter into Soca monarch one has to agree and therefore sign the contract and we are not in agreement with some of the contracts clauses and we are in no way asking nor demanding that they make changes to suit us because it would not be fair to the other artistes therefore we choose to respectfully withdraw from the competition. This is not expected to be a noisy situation or a back and forth public battle, the Foundation reserves it's right to do what it thinks is needed to protect it's entity just as we reserve the right to agree , disagree and protect ourselves where and when is required.

Retweeted EFF-in Fay-Ann Lyons (@fayannlyons):

Dear fans thanks for the support and though we would have liked to do this for yal our contractual requirements were not favourable.

Bareback

Postby Bareback » January 18th, 2013, 8:16 am

Ah want Blue to crush Machel, but let's say Machel win den he make ah jail. We all know he go be sing all day wit 30's as micorphones in jail. He go cyar cum out ah jail nex year to defend de title. So he takin 5% AND 30?????????

Postby Dizzy28 » January 18th, 2013, 8:26 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:I eh blame them nuh, save their production money cause Ravi b going and win anyway.

Bodow approved!!!

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 18th, 2013, 8:36 am

Bareback wrote:Ah want Blue to crush Machel, but let's say Machel win den he make ah jail. We all know he go be sing all day wit 30's as micorphones in jail. He go cyar cum out ah jail nex year to defend de title. So he takin 5% AND 30?????????

Is drunk you drunk early morning so Dan?

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » January 18th, 2013, 8:41 am

If Super win with that sheit tune.. I done play mas and vacation every carnival from now on

Postby Chimera » January 18th, 2013, 8:47 am

sudesh

Postby sudesh » January 18th, 2013, 8:50 am

pioneer wrote:So if the contract is so "bad" then why doesn't everyone boycott it?

bunji is a big over rated sissy phaggot who acts like a b1tch every damn year

did he decide if he's jamaican/trini/spanish as yet?

I think we're all fedup of his whinin

Postby Greypatch » January 18th, 2013, 9:03 am

CFP and William Munroe need to explain why this is NECESSARY in the contract.

This IS BULLSHYTE IMO Respect to Bunji & Fay ANN

Among the elements in the contract with which Bunji and Lyons-Alvarez took exception to was the rule that winners must give back to the Caribbean Prestige Foundation (CPF) five per cent of the winnings.

Also, the winners must defend the respective titles the following year, or they will have to pay back 90 per cent of the prize money.

Another clause the artistes are objecting to in the contract is that the winners must attend the prize distribution ceremony wherever it may be, here at home or abroad.

moti

Postby moti » January 18th, 2013, 9:09 am

Greypatch wrote:CFP and William Munroe need to explain why this is NECESSARY in the contract.

This IS BULLSHYTE IMO Respect to Bunji & Fay ANN

Among the elements in the contract with which Bunji and Lyons-Alvarez took exception to was the rule that winners must give back to the Caribbean Prestige Foundation (CPF) five per cent of the winnings.

Also, the winners must defend the respective titles the following year, or they will have to pay back 90 per cent of the prize money.

Another clause the artistes are objecting to in the contract is that the winners must attend the prize distribution ceremony wherever it may be, here at home or abroad.

that sounding more like Ali running CPF after he withdrew from running TTASA
it's a malecowshit rule though

Postby sharkman121 » January 18th, 2013, 9:57 am

sudesh wrote:
pioneer wrote:So if the contract is so "bad" then why doesn't everyone boycott it?

Das not yuh bizness... all that matters is that they doh agree to it. I doh see why all the public butthurt over a man personal decision/choice. its his to make an he made it.

They simply in a better position financially or otherwise to exercise that right.

Postby sliderz1 » January 18th, 2013, 10:07 am

stev wrote:does this have anything to do with birth control? cuz its very long to read....

so it wasnt just me :drinking:

moti

Postby moti » January 18th, 2013, 10:08 am

1 - its not to make blue win cause no need for Bunji to pull out if that was the case

2- the contract sucks, why would you have to give any amount to CPF if you win

3- though the terms in the contract sucks, there is only one winner per comp. so you telling me that you not sure if you singing next year then? even if yuh song is siht and you lose you still defend, no?

4- if the other stars are still in it for the win, then who is you to complain

5- ok, is yuh rights so express it dan, but me a two mil + what yuh making in fetes would have come in nice for your household

Postby TRAE » January 18th, 2013, 10:10 am

Postby Rooki3 » January 18th, 2013, 10:15 am

d man cud do what he wants, what suits others may not suit him, they are a family, suppose they have some famiky emergency to attend to at the time of nxt years show & they are unable to attend?

yes 2mill is good prize $$, but u really feel that affecting this couple?

alot of $$ is made outside t&t outside of the carnival season, so their $$ sure

lol @ ppl complaining, this soca vikin drives a range rover, while allyuh still drooling over them in the spotters thread

bunji lifestyle - 1
yours - 0

Postby Greypatch » January 18th, 2013, 10:27 am

who gets the gate receipts, and revenue from television coverage for the event ?

BTW this event is HEAVILY sponsored by Govt and the business community.

Postby dougla_boy » January 18th, 2013, 10:39 am

Greypatch wrote:who gets the gate receipts, and revenue from television coverage for the event ?

BTW this event is HEAVILY sponsored by Govt and the business community.

i HEARD it was because Soca Monarch wasnt raking in any money that's why Machel got involved and the govt stepped...............

Postby AllTrac » January 18th, 2013, 10:42 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:and then get some dred sore throat carnival time and can't sing to defend the title lol

u ever hear soca live? can you tell the difference?

moti

Postby moti » January 18th, 2013, 10:59 am

AllTrac wrote:
ABA Trading LTD wrote:and then get some dred sore throat carnival time and can't sing to defend the title lol

u ever hear soca live? can you tell the difference?

this.......

though once alcohol is in play, just like ugly wimenz the moosic also seems to be of high quality

TriP

Postby TriP » January 18th, 2013, 11:37 am

Fay, Bunji Bail on Soca Monarch- No Plans On Advising Daddy Super-Blue

http://etceterabuzz.com/e-news/fay-bunj ... uper-blue/

News broke last evening following the online publishing of a Trinidad Express article which was headlined, “Bunji, Fay-Ann Pull Out”. Like wildfire, the buzz spread and when we contacted Fay, she had been relaxing at the movies with her hubby. ” I’ll call you back,” she assured and so we waited. When we spoke with the former Road March, Groovy and Power Soca Monarch queen, she admitted that the article was indeed accurate, and based on consultations with her management and advise obtained, both she and Bunji had made the decision to remove themselves from the competition. “I have no problem with his (William Munro’s) contract but I am simply saying that for me, I am not accepting that. I am not asking him to adjust or change his contract. I fully respect what he wants. It’s his competition. He has full right to decide, to decipher, to state what he wants,” she said, continuing, “My rights come in where I can either agree by signing, or disagree by not signing.”

Asked whether she would be advising her father, veteran soca artiste, Austin ‘SuperBlue’ Lyons, the ‘Stage Open’ singer said she would not. “My father is a grown man. I will not offer any advice on the contract to any artiste. Each artiste should read their documents before signing on the dotted line and that’s standard procedure. If you don’t read your contracts and understand what you’re signing into, you have no place in entertainment,” she said.

Postby Hook » January 18th, 2013, 11:42 am

Rooki3 wrote:d man cud do what he wants, what suits others may not suit him, they are a family, suppose they have some famiky emergency to attend to at the time of nxt years show & they are unable to attend?

yes 2mill is good prize $$, but u really feel that affecting this couple?

alot of $$ is made outside t&t outside of the carnival season, so their $$ sure

lol @ ppl complaining, this soca vikin drives a range rover, while allyuh still drooling over them in the spotters thread

bunji lifestyle - 1
yours - 0

Relevance? Or is this an anti-beatup beatup?

Postby Rooki3 » January 18th, 2013, 11:44 am

yes relevant

Postby Hook » January 18th, 2013, 11:49 am

How so?

moti