So am Bunji, Fay Ann Pull out

Postby javishm » January 17th, 2013, 11:04 pm

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Bun ... 90301.html

Soca Monarch shocker
By Wayne Bowman

Story Created: Jan 17, 2013 at 9:55 PM ECT

Story Updated: Jan 17, 2013 at 9:57 PM ECT

Bunji Garlin and Fay Ann Lyons-Alvarez have both bowed out of the International Groovy and Power Soca Monarch competitions, respectively.

The couple announced this last night, saying they decided to withdraw because they believe that fundamental clauses in the competitors' contracts were objectionable and demanded too much of the winners.

They were therefore advised by their management and legal representatives that it was best they pull out of the competition before the semi-final round on Sunday at the Arima Velodrome. Bunji had pulled position number 15 and Lyons-Alvarez number 20.

Among the elements in the contract with which Bunji and Lyons-Alvarez took exception to was the rule that winners must give back to the Caribbean Prestige Foundation (CPF) five per cent of the winnings.

Also, the winners must defend the respective titles the following year, or they will have to pay back 90 per cent of the prize money.

Another clause the artistes are objecting to in the contract is that the winners must attend the prize distribution ceremony wherever it may be, here at home or abroad.

Chairman of CPF William Munro, said last night he was saddened and very hurt over Lyons-Alvarez and Bunji pulling out only two days before the semi-finals, and he was hoping they would reconsider.

"There was never any discussion. They could have even sent a letter, and I would have sat down with them to see how we could work things out. Last year, I had two meetings with many of the artistes at my home, and we presented the rules and they were agreed on."

"Fay Ann topped the Power in the preliminaries and Bunji topped in the Groovy. I am wondering how the public is going to take this news because everybody was so happy when they returned.

"I hope they will reconsider or at least meet with me. I have no malice and still love them. I will bend over backwards for them, but I can't change the rules to please only two people," Munro said.

Lyons-Alvarez and Bunji did not compete in the Soca Monarch competition last year and at that time announced they were considering not returning because they wanted to focus on taking their music directly to an international audience.

When Bunji ended up with a major hit with the release of the song "Differentology" in November last year, people began to call for his return to the competition. This was the same with Lyons-Alvarez when she released, among other songs, "D Stage Open".

After several weeks of saying they will consider returning to the Soca Monarch if that was what the people wanted, the couple's management registered them to compete, with Bunji in the Groovy and Lyons-Alvarez in the Power Soca Monarch.

Adding to the excitement of their return was the fact that Lyons' father, five-time Soca Monarch champion SuperBlue, had also made a comeback after an over-decade-long hiatus.

All soca music fans and the public at large were anticipating a grand showdown at the Hasely Crawford National Stadium on Carnival Friday between Lyons-Alvarez, SuperBlue, Iwer George and defending Power Soca champion Machel Montano, as well as the clash between Bunji and Montano in the Groovy category.

jusme

Re: So am Bunji, Fay Ann Pull out

Postby jusme » January 17th, 2013, 11:07 pm

Blue haffi eat ah food tew inno

Postby UML » January 17th, 2013, 11:08 pm

Less competition for superblue...told u it was political!!!

Superblue come for the millions

I hope he loses!!!

Postby sharkman121 » January 17th, 2013, 11:08 pm

i agree wid dem..

Postby DFC » January 17th, 2013, 11:15 pm

i have to buy bodi in the market tommorow :(

Postby Chimera » January 17th, 2013, 11:18 pm

is that even legal?

defend yuh title or you hadda pay back 90% of money

what if you spend out most of the money and then get some dred sore throat carnival time and can't sing to defend the title lol

Postby Sky » January 17th, 2013, 11:23 pm

^ So in reality, if you're unable to perform, you get 5% of what you won...

Postby gt4tified » January 17th, 2013, 11:29 pm

So dem was sooooo confident that either of them was going to win???

It would have been more believable if they publicly declared that they both were diagnosed with a case of ”ahfraidmachelitis”.

Postby stev » January 17th, 2013, 11:32 pm

does this have anything to do with birth control? cuz its very long to read....

Swisha

Postby Swisha » January 17th, 2013, 11:32 pm

they move savage dey :|

Postby Chimera » January 17th, 2013, 11:34 pm

lol ent machel hurt their feelings last year on stage?

they must be was waiting to see the scene with his case and then decide to back out

Postby Rooki3 » January 17th, 2013, 11:37 pm

wtf those contract clauses are ridiculous

Postby sharkman121 » January 17th, 2013, 11:42 pm

gt4tified wrote:So dem was sooooo confident that either of them was going to win???

It would have been more believable if they publicly declared that they both were diagnosed with a case of ”ahfraidmachelitis”.

So as a sensible human, after taking the time to read the OP's quotes, that was the best u came up with. You would agree to any contract no matter whats in it eh? Typical trini mentality, "dem ent competing cuz the fraid Machel".

I now weng a whole heap of ppl on fb cuz of chupid comments like that.

and imagine you was just askin me "if i leave uwi yesterday"

Postby Trini Hookah » January 17th, 2013, 11:45 pm

Hope Blue really does place :)

battlefield 3

Postby battlefield 3 » January 17th, 2013, 11:51 pm

230751_311243778987190_539302717_n.jpg
230751_311243778987190_539302717_n.jpg (17.08 KiB) Viewed 3816 times

Postby pioneer » January 18th, 2013, 12:02 am

Last edited by pioneer on January 18th, 2013, 12:08 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby gt4tified » January 18th, 2013, 12:02 am

sharkman121 wrote:
gt4tified wrote:So dem was sooooo confident that either of them was going to win???

So as a sensible human, after taking the time to read the OP's quotes, that was the best u came up with. You would agree to any contract no matter whats in it eh? Typical trini mentality, "dem ent competing cuz the fraid Machel".

I now weng a whole heap of ppl on fb cuz of chupid comments like that.

and imagine you was just askin me "if i leave uwi yesterday"

I see you paranging from ched to ched...no worries, I go make yuh look chupid in this one too.

While I support them for taking a stand, maybe THEY could do that because of how well-off they are...maybe. But for the majority of ppl, what would they rather...win a million or two and give back 5% or walk off on them head held high, but wallet empty?

And I never said anybody fraid Machel, I said their reason for pulling out would have made more sense to me if they said that they fraid Machel (another ludicrous excuse). There has to be a reason more than this 5% issue, even beyond Blue eating ah food.

Postby javishm » January 18th, 2013, 12:05 am

battlefield 3 wrote:
230751_311243778987190_539302717_n.jpg

this win!!

Postby Hook » January 18th, 2013, 12:13 am

The timing of their withdrawal, as well as last year's boycott upon Montano's return from his self-imposed exile, definitely suggests some anti-Machel sentiment.
Mr.HD and his contingent of lawyers don't seem to mind the contract.
Wasn't Munro in court yesterday with him as well?

Postby sharkman121 » January 18th, 2013, 12:19 am

gt4tified wrote:
While I support them for taking a stand, maybe THEY could do that because of how well-off they are...maybe. But for the majority of ppl, what would they rather...win a million or two and give back 5% or walk off on them head held high, but wallet empty?

That is THEIR choice, if i am entering into a contract where the terms and conditions do not suit my liking, i reserve the right to opt out. Yes they may be at a better off position to do so than other ppl

And I never said anybody fraid Machel, I said their reason for pulling out would have made more sense to me if they said that they fraid Machel (another ludicrous excuse). There has to be a reason more than this 5% issue, even beyond Blue eating ah food.

Yes there is a reason more than the 5%, it is the 90% you have to repay if you do not defend your crown. That is just fkin ridiculous. Even if you do not see it so, they do and again they reserve the right.

I see you paranging from ched to ched...no worries, I go make yuh look chupid in this one too.

Pls show me how your desperate lack of conprehension amounts to "makin me look chupid" in this ched :wink:

Postby sharkman121 » January 18th, 2013, 12:22 am

Hook wrote:The timing of their withdrawal, as well as last year's boycott upon Montano's return from his self-imposed exile, definitely suggests some anti-Machel sentiment.

i agree that on its own it may seem so given the timing of both this year and last year however the addition of the details of the contract swung my view. But there was also anti-Machel bad blood existing between them as well as Destra for a couple years now. Who knows..

Postby pioneer » January 18th, 2013, 12:25 am

So if the contract is so "bad" then why doesn't everyone boycott it?

bunji is a big over rated sissy phaggot who acts like a b1tch every damn year

did he decide if he's jamaican/trini/spanish as yet?

I think we're all fedup of his whinin

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » January 18th, 2013, 12:35 am

so wait...they only had a problem with the contract AFTER they enter the competition?

Postby sharkman121 » January 18th, 2013, 12:43 am

meen kno, dey mussy now read d fine print :|

Postby Chimera » January 18th, 2013, 12:47 am

Unless those are new clauses for this year contract

speedfreak99

Postby speedfreak99 » January 18th, 2013, 12:52 am

wow... was really looking forward to seeing them in the finals; oh well i guess its HD all the way again for 2013 :| .

matthewmazda

Postby matthewmazda » January 18th, 2013, 3:33 am

DFC wrote:i have to buy bodi in the market tommorow :(

i have $35 a 5LB

Shango_13

Postby Shango_13 » January 18th, 2013, 4:54 am

sharkman121 wrote:meen kno, dey mussy now read d fine print :|

JoKeR1980 wrote:so wait...they only had a problem with the contract AFTER they enter the competition?

Hook wrote:The timing of their withdrawal, as well as last year's boycott upon Montano's return from his self-imposed exile, definitely suggests some anti-Machel sentiment.

ABA Trading LTD wrote:lol ent machel hurt their feelings last year on stage?

they must be was waiting to see the scene with his case and then decide to back out
'

they time fishy. they and every artist had the contract longgg time. they was waiting to see if machel would make a jail. but HD free :lol:

Postby rfari » January 18th, 2013, 5:40 am

Iwer go take it. It eh matter

webb

Postby webb » January 18th, 2013, 6:39 am

That Contract messed up CPF BS