Re: Windows 8: Now available

Postby Prototype-Tuner » October 27th, 2012, 8:27 pm

Pm me link also...

Corollaman

Postby Corollaman » October 28th, 2012, 1:07 pm

Upgraded windows 7 pro to windows 8 pro for only $14.99 USD.
The upgrade process was quite smooth, but took about 2 hours though.
The new OS doesn't feel that much different.

But for that price, I couldn't refuse. :)

Postby M_2NR » October 28th, 2012, 2:35 pm

That surface looks sooooo tempting.

Prototype-Tuner

Postby Prototype-Tuner » October 29th, 2012, 1:24 pm

flash on the surface lags tho...

Postby M_2NR » November 23rd, 2012, 12:27 am

Anyone did the upgrade?
I did a clean install and the upgrade key error-ed out... So i had to contact them. They were more than helpful and did a remote login. So if you are having issues with a _legit_ license... Check them in live support.

Postby r3iXmann » November 23rd, 2012, 7:59 am

54us for an upgrade license + cashback on amazon - black friday sale

Postby gastly369 » November 23rd, 2012, 10:09 am

installing W8 pro in a few mins

Postby stev » November 23rd, 2012, 12:16 pm

i had to remove windows 8 for now :(

and i dont like the idea of dual boot either...like to have all my stuff on a single OS

had to remove bcuz i am getting a lot of problems running certain software (compatibility issues). software such as visual studio and eclipse....too much headache to get it working properly every time I open it for use...would put it back eventually.

Postby gastly369 » November 23rd, 2012, 2:55 pm

officially on windows 8 pro
familiar with it since my phone is same metro styling and well lovely sync with everything as usual
one question .. is the new defender enough protection(heard its does its job well) or install my eset nod32 on it?

Postby stev » November 23rd, 2012, 3:23 pm

gastly369 wrote:officially on windows 8 pro
familiar with it since my phone is same metro styling and well lovely sync with everything as usual
one question .. is the new defender enough protection(heard its does its job well) or install my eset nod32 on it?

good question.....whats the difference between windows defender on Windows 8 compared to that of Windows 7? same version or different?

i had a bad experience with windows defender on Win7....i say install d Eset.

one review: http://antivirus-software.findthebest.c ... s-Defender

Postby gastly369 » November 23rd, 2012, 4:53 pm

yep already installed dint trust that defender really :\

Postby stev » January 14th, 2013, 2:52 pm

soooo......anyone using Office 2013 as yet?

what are your reviews?

to me its just a fancy version of Office 2010 :| but it looks and feels nice though

Postby Sky » January 14th, 2013, 8:04 pm

I don't see the whole "Windows 8 is for tablets" thing......
It does just as fine on a pc. Wham, allyuh eh know how to point and click oar?!?!

bassotronics

Postby bassotronics » January 14th, 2013, 9:21 pm

i using windows 8 pro x64 for a little over a month now, gotta say its a pretty fast OS.

Postby Ted_v2 » January 14th, 2013, 10:28 pm

What's the basic spec for it to function?

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » January 14th, 2013, 11:47 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:What's the basic spec for it to function?

If you want to run Windows 8 on your PC, here's what it takes:

Processor: 1 gigahertz (GHz) or faster with support for PAE, NX, and SSE2 (more info)

RAM: 1 gigabyte (GB) (32-bit) or 2 GB (64-bit)

Hard disk space: 16 GB (32-bit) or 20 GB (64-bit)

Graphics card: Microsoft DirectX 9 graphics device with WDDM driver

http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows-8/system-requirements

Postby cinco » January 15th, 2013, 7:13 am

fouljuice wrote:
sound boy 64 wrote:What's the basic spec for it to function?

If you want to run Windows 8 on your PC, here's what it takes:

Processor: 1 gigahertz (GHz) or faster with support for PAE, NX, and SSE2 (more info)

RAM: 1 gigabyte (GB) (32-bit) or 2 GB (64-bit)

Hard disk space: 16 GB (32-bit) or 20 GB (64-bit)

Graphics card: Microsoft DirectX 9 graphics device with WDDM driver

http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows-8/system-requirements

those are basic to INSTALL if you need to actually use it at least 4gb ram minimum

Jade_Inc.

Postby Jade_Inc. » January 18th, 2013, 8:00 pm

d upgrade pack dat Microsoft selling for 40usd comes with x86 and x64. Every retailer telling u dat u must have win xp, vista or 7 to upgrade, dey lie :)....It has d option to do a full install.

Postby M_2NR » January 18th, 2013, 8:39 pm

Jade_Inc. wrote:d upgrade pack dat Microsoft selling for 40usd comes with x86 and x64. Every retailer telling u dat u must have win xp, vista or 7 to upgrade, dey lie :)....It has d option to do a full install.

that's not quite true eh. the upgrade CD is over 60usd. the "electronic" version via win8 upgrade assistant is $40 and there are some users on other forums (digitalife etc.) are saying these iso's are tied to the system. Also, the keys they issue are for upgrade purposes. I know this latter fact because i did a clean install (obtained an upgrade key and used the iso provided to do a fresh system) and had to contact them to change the key type.

Postby stev » January 27th, 2013, 4:01 am

hey guys....u can check out the following:

-windows 8 manager
-enhance my 8

2 programs that are quite useful in windows 8 in terms of tweaking, customizing and accessing system info and tools.

ShoppersFreezone

Postby ShoppersFreezone » January 27th, 2013, 4:39 pm

have the microsoft surface tab, windows 8 is just the best Snap screening just takes win, true multitasking And this tablet makes doing work so easy! Well done MS, awaiting the surface phone

brickman

Postby brickman » February 8th, 2013, 3:37 pm

Impressed that the ram usage is as low as XP.I was an XP user and i tried windows 7 but found it to be a ram hog sometimes & had other problems.Decided to try 8,no issues so far & great performance,would recommend it to the loyal XP users to try out themselves & compare.

ShoppersFreezone

Postby ShoppersFreezone » March 1st, 2013, 5:58 pm

the app market dead at the moment though Was expecting more apps to be coming out, but as of now, we stagnant

Postby Ted_v2 » March 1st, 2013, 6:19 pm

I could run windows 8 with 2gb ram? I saw a few laptops coming with 2gb ram and Windows 8 stock soo idk

Postby M_2NR » March 1st, 2013, 6:24 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:I could run windows 8 with 2gb ram? I saw a few laptops coming with 2gb ram and Windows 8 stock soo idk

oh gawrsh boy. Google down again? :lol:

http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/wind ... quirements

it should work. Windows 7 64bit works fine (relatively speaking, not running crysis or something) on 2GB.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » March 1st, 2013, 6:33 pm

^ :lol: normal normal

Postby Ted_v2 » March 1st, 2013, 6:45 pm

:geek:

Brb looking for a copy of windows 8 32bit

Postby M_2NR » March 1st, 2013, 8:21 pm

sound boy 64 wrote::geek:

Brb looking for a copy of windows 8 32bit

don't bother pirating it. 8)

They didn't patch the KMS activation yet so the activation is really questionable.