The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby pete » January 14th, 2013, 5:58 pm

The gt-p5113?

Which version of jellybean? Mine came with 4.1.1 installed when I purchased it in December.

Postby Ted_v2 » January 14th, 2013, 6:28 pm

mines has 4.0.3
ICS

dunno the diff between jelly bean or ice cream sandwich

Postby pete » January 14th, 2013, 7:56 pm

I used one on ICS and I found it to be a little laggy and jittery. The one I have is super smooth. Only thing is flash not really supported and dolphin browser blocks it but it still work in Firefox

Swisha

Postby Swisha » January 14th, 2013, 10:29 pm

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 15th, 2013, 6:02 am

Nothing new there really.

Val

Postby Val » January 15th, 2013, 5:45 pm

alpine wrote:on a side note, it seems samsung has released their update for jelly bean on the galaxy tab 2 10.1 and 7.0, got minds updated dated via wifi over the weekend.

Any increase in performance?

Swisha

Postby Swisha » January 15th, 2013, 8:12 pm

Samsung Galaxy S4's Likely 4.99-Inch, 1080p Screen Outed

A roadmap displayed by Samsung during CES 2013 appears to confirm details pertaining to the Galaxy S4's screen.

AnandTech saw that the South Korean technology conglomerate was showcasing a full HD 4.99-inch screen from its display division. It's shown as a follow-on from the Samsung Galaxy Note 2's 5.55-inch screen. A PPI (pixels per-inch) of 440 is also shown for the screen.

The next-generation display is scheduled to ship to manufacturers during 2013's quarter one. Samsung said it's applied a 25 percent power saving method on the new OLED screen. A low power mode, meanwhile, could see the battery usage being almost halved.

The roadmap adds credence to a previous report suggesting that the Galaxy S4 will boast a 4.99-inch screen. The unannounced device itself is expected to be revealed during its own event ahead of its May launch.

During CES, Samsung revealed Youm, a flexible and bendable OLED display; it's expected that the Galaxy S4 will sport an unbreakable screen. The company also announced the world's first eight-core mobile processor, with the Galaxy S3's successor said to be the first device to integrate the chipset.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » January 15th, 2013, 8:26 pm

Postby Stephon. » January 15th, 2013, 8:57 pm

Swisha wrote:
Samsung Galaxy S4's Likely 4.99-Inch, 1080p Screen Outed

A roadmap displayed by Samsung during CES 2013 appears to confirm details pertaining to the Galaxy S4's screen.

AnandTech saw that the South Korean technology conglomerate was showcasing a full HD 4.99-inch screen from its display division. It's shown as a follow-on from the Samsung Galaxy Note 2's 5.55-inch screen. A PPI (pixels per-inch) of 440 is also shown for the screen.

The next-generation display is scheduled to ship to manufacturers during 2013's quarter one. Samsung said it's applied a 25 percent power saving method on the new OLED screen. A low power mode, meanwhile, could see the battery usage being almost halved.

The roadmap adds credence to a previous report suggesting that the Galaxy S4 will boast a 4.99-inch screen. The unannounced device itself is expected to be revealed during its own event ahead of its May launch.

During CES, Samsung revealed Youm, a flexible and bendable OLED display; it's expected that the Galaxy S4 will sport an unbreakable screen. The company also announced the world's first eight-core mobile processor, with the Galaxy S3's successor said to be the first device to integrate the chipset.

THOSE! UNBEATABLE! SPECS!

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » January 15th, 2013, 8:57 pm

Stephon. wrote:I have a cruzerlite case.

Did you get it locally or shipped it?
How's the protection on it?

14ride wrote:
Jonathan_337 wrote:I just got my S3 and I don't see any update to 4.1.2..anyone else had that problem? I'll root and flash a ROM soon but until I have the time I want it updated.

Also what cases do you guys recommend? I'd buy an Otter Box but this phone is like a Me2 now and I don't wanna have the same case as everyone else to top it off.

o gosh...u making me feel bad with my s2 jed.i fine the outer case to big thou.amazon hav alot to chose from

Haha nah the S2 is still a really good phone. Otter Box cases are amazing in protection but really are a bit bulky. I don't mind it too much but every other person has it.

Postby Stephon. » January 15th, 2013, 8:59 pm

@Jonathan_337 I got the case from Amazon, it's really thin compared to other cases out there but it's neat and I fling my phone all over and nothing happened to it yet so I guess it's good at protecting the best phone in the industry.

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » January 15th, 2013, 9:59 pm

Stephon. wrote:@Jonathan_337 I got the case from Amazon, it's really thin compared to other cases out there but it's neat and I fling my phone all over and nothing happened to it yet so I guess it's good at protecting the best phone in the industry.

I'll keep that in mind. I like those but I'm just scared it won't be protective enough.

I was also looking at the SGP Neo Hybrid Lumi series. But it's not on SGP's site anymore. I'm scared to purchase it 'cause of that. Anyone know why they took it off?

Just a little by the way. I had left my S3 to go iPhone but I'm back to the S3 once again. To anyone considering iPhones, for the price you're paying and the features you're getting, it's really not worth it. The S3 can do tons more and is much cheaper. The iPhone may be a lot smoother in some of its operations but overall the S3 IMO is the best device on the market ATM.

alpine

Postby alpine » January 16th, 2013, 10:55 am

Val wrote:
alpine wrote:on a side note, it seems samsung has released their update for jelly bean on the galaxy tab 2 10.1 and 7.0, got minds updated dated via wifi over the weekend.

Any increase in performance?

some what, battery life seems to last longer since the update to 4.1.1. UI was also upgraded with some additional features. performance wise applications seems to run and launch a lot faster.

Note: seems samsung didn't release the update for the 3g versions of this tab, only the wifi versions.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » January 16th, 2013, 11:07 am

Swisha wrote:

You know I have a weakness for Sony.

Also posted this in the CES thread

Postby Stephon. » January 16th, 2013, 11:16 am

Jonathan_337 wrote:
Stephon. wrote:@Jonathan_337 I got the case from Amazon, it's really thin compared to other cases out there but it's neat and I fling my phone all over and nothing happened to it yet so I guess it's good at protecting the best phone in the industry.

I'll keep that in mind. I like those but I'm just scared it won't be protective enough.

I was also looking at the SGP Neo Hybrid Lumi series. But it's not on SGP's site anymore. I'm scared to purchase it 'cause of that. Anyone know why they took it off?

Just a little by the way. I had left my S3 to go iPhone but I'm back to the S3 once again. To anyone considering iPhones, for the price you're paying and the features you're getting, it's really not worth it. The S3 can do tons more and is much cheaper. The iPhone may be a lot smoother in some of its operations but overall the S3 IMO is the best device on the market ATM.

My friend would be here from Canada next month and he MIGHT be bringing me a case. I'll let you know how that turns out if I get any and if its better than the cruzer

Postby S_2NR » January 16th, 2013, 4:00 pm

He have a nerdy looking android fan boy case. Doh buy that :razz:

Postby Stephon. » January 16th, 2013, 5:06 pm

Its not nerdy its sleek and cool!

bassotronics

Postby bassotronics » January 16th, 2013, 7:40 pm

SGP Neo Hybrid Lumi series case looks good, don't really like the bulky-ness of the otterbox

Swisha

Postby Swisha » January 16th, 2013, 8:18 pm

rumoured new HTC flagship...

The Verge

Postby DFC » January 16th, 2013, 8:22 pm

GUYS
GUYS

GUYSSS

i need a battery for my HTC MyTouch 3G slide.
Anywhere i can get it locally?

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » January 17th, 2013, 6:14 am

that HTC looking like an iphone

Postby Stephon. » January 17th, 2013, 8:21 am

Or a blackberry x10

Swisha

Postby Swisha » January 17th, 2013, 8:02 pm

Google tops the Fortune 100 best companies to work for, Apple doesn't even place

Fortune today release its annual list of the top 100 companies to work for, with a definite case of score one for Google. Sitting pretty in the top spot, Google is deemed to be the best company out there to work for. It isn't the biggest surprise, after all, this is the fourth time the folks at Mountain View have claimed top honors.

In what we could see as a double whammy, while Google sits high atop the mountain in first place, the folks down at Cupertino had a quite different result in the Fortune 100. Apple, who seems to just print money, hasn't placed anywhere within the top 100. Just goes to show, making money doesn't always make all of the people feel good.

Android Central

Fortune Top 100

Postby Stephon. » January 17th, 2013, 8:18 pm

It's been a great last two weeks for Google!

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » January 17th, 2013, 9:46 pm

I've noticed that my Nexus 7 keeps a lot of things in RAM and doesn't usually ever need to reload apps while the S3 constantly has to do so. Anyone have a solution to this?

achillies

Postby achillies » January 17th, 2013, 9:50 pm

Jonathan_337 wrote:I've noticed that my Nexus 7 keeps a lot of things in RAM and doesn't usually ever need to reload apps while the S3 constantly has to do so. Anyone have a solution to this?

I don't have that issue, I think there is something about your setup that causes this

uploadfromtaptalk1358473588606.jpg

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » January 17th, 2013, 9:55 pm

achillies wrote:
Jonathan_337 wrote:I've noticed that my Nexus 7 keeps a lot of things in RAM and doesn't usually ever need to reload apps while the S3 constantly has to do so. Anyone have a solution to this?

I don't have that issue, I think there is something about your setup that causes this

It used to be worse, it's to a bearable extent now but since using the nexus 7 I rly want it to work like that. My s3 is on 4.1.1, what firmware is yours running? The Nexus 7 is on 4.2.1 atm.

My S3 runs with about the same amount of free ram yours shows atm.

achillies

Postby achillies » January 17th, 2013, 10:18 pm

Jonathan_337 wrote:
achillies wrote:

It used to be worse, it's to a bearable extent now but since using the nexus 7 I rly want it to work like that. My s3 is on 4.1.1, what firmware is yours running? The Nexus 7 is on 4.2.1 atm.

I'm on 4.1.2 and that amount of free ram is just about normal since I have had this phone

And I don't have issues with apps reloading

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » January 17th, 2013, 10:23 pm

achillies wrote:
Jonathan_337 wrote:
achillies wrote:

I'm on 4.1.2 and that amount of free ram is just about normal since I have had this phone

Ok well maybe updating may help a bit. I'm currently stock and don't wanna root and flash just yet but I'm not seeing the OTA update to 4.1.2. How did you update yours, through Odin?

achillies

Postby achillies » January 17th, 2013, 10:28 pm

Jonathan_337 wrote:
achillies wrote:
Jonathan_337 wrote:
achillies wrote:

Ok well maybe updating may help a bit. I'm currently stock and don't wanna root and flash just yet but I'm not seeing the OTA update to 4.1.2. How did you update yours, through Odin?

I usually run the latest stock rom from the following thread

And I use Mobile Odin to flash firmwares

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthr ... ?t=1646610

But if the problem lies with the apps that are reloading or with your setup, updating may not help