TTASA management dissolved - UPDATE Pg.10

Re: TTASA management dissolved - looks to future plans

Postby sMASH » January 10th, 2013, 9:47 am

i smell a money making venture.

this is good, but not great. as a sanctioning body, their approval would have to be sought for 'sanctioning'. u have to try to 'win' their approval to be sanctioned.

i say, ALL THOSE WHO OPPOSED TTASA BEFORE, HOLD FIRM.

even if ttasa is not going to hold races them selves, the same problem as before would persist. i.e. one body deciding every thing in motor sport

this is not the way forward.

the way forward, is the GOVERNING BODY BE MADE UP OF ALL MAJOR SPORTING DISCIPLINES .
the BOARD OF THAT BODY BE MADE UP OF REPRESENTATIVES OF ALL MAJOR SPORTING DISCIPLINES.

the specific governing body could be called what ever, be it MSGC or TTASA, but it would not be set up for fairness and transparency unless it's decision making level, that is its executive board is unlimited to one body, i.e. ttasa, alone.

ttasa changing captains is a change, but it is not a step forward, u could get worse. and what they are proposing does not put the other groups at a decision making level.

every body have equal right to go and see massa'. but is who give massa' the best that would get sanctioned.

Postby cinco » January 10th, 2013, 9:54 am

get worse?
the way TTASA is set up isnt fundamentally wrong
but the powers that be at the board was the problem now they are gone should make life much easier

Strauss

Postby Strauss » January 10th, 2013, 10:32 am

cinco wrote:the way TTASA is set up isnt fundamentally wrong

There was no problem in how the membership/executive/elections were set up?

Postby cinco » January 10th, 2013, 10:45 am

i mean in terms of a single governing body isnt the issue
like i said the powers that be on the board are the ones that turned it into this monster

Postby wagonrunner » January 10th, 2013, 11:01 am

sMASH wrote:i smell a money making venture.

this is good, but not great. as a sanctioning body, their approval would have to be sought for 'sanctioning'. u have to try to 'win' their approval to be sanctioned.

even if ttasa is not going to hold races them selves, the same problem as before would persist. i.e. one body deciding every thing in motor sport

the way forward, is the GOVERNING BODY BE MADE UP OF ALL MAJOR SPORTING DISCIPLINES .
the BOARD OF THAT BODY BE MADE UP OF REPRESENTATIVES OF ALL MAJOR SPORTING DISCIPLINES.

the specific governing body could be called what ever, be it MSGC or TTASA, but it would not be set up for fairness and transparency unless it's decision making level, that is its executive board is unlimited to one body, i.e. ttasa, alone.

ttasa changing captains is a change, but it is not a step forward, u could get worse. and what they are proposing does not put the other groups at a decision making level.

every body have equal right to go and see massa'. but is who give massa' the best that would get sanctioned.
i understand your fears. that's how it was. let's see what happens.
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:The new selected committee will get all the motorsport clubs together under a single sporting commission and it was suggested that this commission elect the management of TTASA (this was only proposed and there are other suggested working models).

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 10th, 2013, 11:30 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:The new selected committee will get all the motorsport clubs together under a single sporting commission and it was suggested that this commission elect the management of TTASA (this was only proposed and there are other suggested working models).

Already major clubs are warming up to this and if this works then the Ministry of Sport will support this unity and we can see the move forward towards a world class motorsport facility - if unity and agreement is achieved.

A small interim committee will now lead TTASA, it was suggested tonight by the trustees that viable candidates present were John Powell and Rawlins Amar for example. Other accomplished racers and motorsport people/businessmen are being considered, using their knowledge and influence to move motorsport forward in T&T.

All very promising.

Computerman

Postby Computerman » January 10th, 2013, 11:34 am

cinco wrote:get worse?
the way TTASA is set up isnt fundamentally wrong but the powers that be at the board was the problem now they are gone should make life much easier

Strauss wrote:
cinco wrote:the way TTASA is set up isnt fundamentally wrong

There was no problem in how the membership/executive/elections were set up?

cinco wrote:i mean in terms of a single governing body isnt the issue
like i said the powers that be on the board are the ones that turned it into this monster

The way TTASA is currently structured is quite 'wrong' if it is to be a truly representative body. TTASA is based on the 'old' Imperial structure (Board of Trustees). However, if what I am reading is true, regarding changing the structure of the Management Committee (which is seperate and apart from the BoT), then there is hope for change and progress.

Postby sMASH » January 10th, 2013, 12:10 pm

Already major clubs are warming up to this and if this works then the Ministry of Sport will support this unity and we can see the move forward towards a world class motorsport facility - if unity and agreement is achieved.

A small interim committee will now lead TTASA, it was suggested tonight by the trustees that viable candidates present were John Powell and Rawlins Amar for example. Other accomplished racers and motorsport people/businessmen are being considered, using their knowledge and influence to move motorsport forward in T&T.

All very promising.

that is the term that still sours my mouth. in MY mind it still would be the group called ttasa reigning supreme over all. and who ever is in charge will call the shots. also who ever in the future comes in control will call the shots.
the commission is an idea, but is their selection of the management only for this rounds or would it be a regularized feature? who would be eligible to be selected for ttasa leadership? is it only the already existing members or can heads of other groups be given the opportunity? if other groups, would they be only from ttasa affiliated members or any other body can have a go? what criteria would the nomination need to consider?

if u going to set up a way forward, might as well get it done right the first time. no need to 'try all kinda ting'. do it and do it well.

i just putting it out in the earlies, let people see what i see and then make their decisions.

if the org that is called ttasa has to remain the NGB then let it be comprised of all the motoring enthusiast bodies in trinidad. let each discipline be able to accommodate each body. let the decision making level, the board, be comprised of reps from all the disciplines.

to put it in terms that they already talking about, the commission that they referring to, let that be the starting point or the prototype for the management board for ttasa. there should not be a president but, instead, a chairman, who is rotated from amongst the members of the board. to become a rep on the board, u have to be elected from your discipline.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 10th, 2013, 12:20 pm

It was strongly suggested that the TTASA constitution be suspended and a new constitution drafted with the input of all the clubs.

This will change the entire structure.

Various structures such as the ones suggested here will be considered however there are excellent examples already in operation in other FIA territories that can be followed.

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » January 10th, 2013, 12:42 pm

Ah find link late.....like this have him busy?..... :lol:

SR ent reach yet?

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » January 10th, 2013, 12:58 pm

wagon r wrote:...somebody hack Duane account...???

seems so eh... i guess we'll just have to wait n see..

cornfused

Postby cornfused » January 10th, 2013, 4:28 pm

Uncle if this is true, this is indeed a new dawn for motorsports in Trinidad and Tobago . We have discussed this at length online and in person . We know what we want to see going forward and Uncle Duane has alluded to those things here . There is only one way from here and it is up.

Postby SR » January 10th, 2013, 5:44 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:It was strongly suggested that the TTASA constitution be suspended and a new constitution drafted with the input of all the clubs.

This will change the entire structure.

Various structures such as the ones suggested here will be considered however there are excellent examples already in operation in other FIA territories that can be followed.

Postby sMASH » January 10th, 2013, 7:06 pm

i am usually the last to put down the sward. :|

Yorkshirelass
CARS Member

Postby Yorkshirelass » January 10th, 2013, 8:50 pm

I am looking forward to the future! We have been held in limbo for too many years. However, we wait with bated breath with regards to the "new" TTASA as a governing body. I hear sMASH concerns. However, I think for a few years now, the majority have been in agreement that the governing body should come from the MAJOR disciplines in Trinidad Motorsport. We should also encourage the participation of business men and the likes of John Powell, Sheldon Bissessar, Ryan Garcia. Lets hope this thinking prevails.
This is a best step forward and let's hope we can get the backing and support of the Ministry of Sport for future endeavors. We have SO much talent to offer!

Postby wagonrunner » January 10th, 2013, 8:57 pm

a quick summary of who said majority finds is major vs minor could be enlightening.

dragaholic

Postby dragaholic » January 10th, 2013, 9:10 pm

Finally a step in the right direction.

Postby pugboy » January 10th, 2013, 10:17 pm

it appears most of the rejoicing is about the removal/loss of the past personalities

halfdef

Postby halfdef » January 10th, 2013, 10:38 pm

To long we have waited for this day

Postby SR » January 11th, 2013, 6:30 am

pugboy wrote:it appears most of the rejoicing is about the removal/loss of the past personalities

thats only half the problem

ttasa's constitution needs to be tossed and a new constitution needs to be written following guidlines of present times

Postby pugboy » January 11th, 2013, 7:16 am

correct, history easily repeats itself

SR wrote:
pugboy wrote:it appears most of the rejoicing is about the removal/loss of the past personalities

thats only half the problem

ttasa's constitution needs to be tossed and a new constitution needs to be written following guidlines of present times

moti

Postby moti » January 11th, 2013, 8:01 am

Rudman wrote:Ah find link late.....like this have him busy?..... :lol:

please check on him somone........

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » January 11th, 2013, 12:59 pm

I eh know if bullet pass in he direction too nah......... :|

Postby SR » January 11th, 2013, 7:33 pm

he still rejoicing with stag in hand over the resignations

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » January 11th, 2013, 9:42 pm

Does this have anything to do with the recent shootup of their home in any way?

Postby sMASH » January 13th, 2013, 12:35 pm

well, well, well. i was privey to a lot of files this morning, and have a lot more to 'collect'.

this situation was relayed rather amicably............ when it was not.

at this point, if the files are true, i would extend a PROPS to the individual ttasa management persons who took the chance to get this chain of events started

Postby sMASH » January 13th, 2013, 12:37 pm

... oh, and if the drive by shooting had any thing to do with racing, it did not play a part in these proceedings... according to my informer.

FugiTECH

Postby FugiTECH » January 13th, 2013, 3:03 pm

Thats great smash . Guys in the group Miguelle Granville and I created, there's actually still characters with Link's previous way of Thinking, one you may well know. Check it out when you have time for some amazement here > http://www.facebook.com/groups/172086476261877/

You can contribute to the discussions if you'd like.

1/4 mile king

Postby 1/4 mile king » January 14th, 2013, 3:01 pm

I am not sure if anything positive is going to happen for any of us. As easy as the board of trustees appoints a management group, i assume it is just as easy to remove them if they don't do as the board pleases. The trustees are a big waste of time. There are 7 trustees i think & only 2 show interest in TTASA and i realised that all of their decisions made were only to benefit themselves and not motorsports. The right thing to do is to call an AGM where members can vote on a management committee since the members were the ones who got rid of the past dictatorship management not the trustees. As long as a TTASA management allows the Motorsport General Council to perform the way it was INTENDED TO, all motorsport disciplines will be satisfied and at peace.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 14th, 2013, 5:07 pm

just to clarify: according to the current TTASA constitution, ONLY TTASA members can vote in TTASA elections.
Motorsport General Council members cannot vote in TTASA elections.
Only if a MSGC affiliate club memeber wishes to join TTASA as an individual will they be able to take part in TTASA elections

just wanted to make that clear