The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby nervewrecker » January 7th, 2013, 2:51 pm

Stephon. wrote:Belkin introduces WeMo light switch, control your household lighting from your Android device

Home automation is the stuff nerdy dreams are made of, and Belkin is today introducing a new device to bring a little part of that to life. The WeMo Light Switch, being displayed at CES in Las Vegas, is a replacement for your standard household light switches with WiFi connectivity. The cool part -- it'll be controllable from your Android device.

The WeMo connectivity means you can turn lights on or off from anywhere, schedule an on/off time, and doesn't require your Android device to be connected to the same WiFi network in order to work. So, you leave the office late, it's dark, and as you pull up on the driveway you can turn on the lights so you don't trip over the dog. OK, not the best example perhaps, but you get the idea.

Android connectivity has been a much asked for feature of WeMo's existing, iOS compatible only, range of home automation devices. With the arrival of the WeMo Light Switch and the app into the Google Play Store, connectivity with their other devices will be opened up to Android users. An open beta will begin in February for users of the Samsung Galaxy S3 and "other leading devices." The Light Switch will become available this Summer.

Source: Belkin

--
When they said "Other leading devices" I'm guessing the SII NoteI NoteII TabII Note10.1 and probably their recent HTC lineup.

That android reign tho!

EDIT: I'm predicting one of these light switches to cost around 50 dollars locally so S_2NR you better snatch up 14ride's deal quick so you can get yours when it becomes available this summer

someone ran with the idea then.

Android coupled with arduino has unlimited possibilities. Been looking into getting a board and integrate it into the car (hence the empty space between and under the amps). Control some aspects with my friggin mobile devices. 8-)
Something I was looking for recently and came across one where ou can hack into the lighting system into the house and control it via bluetooth.

A more complex one was sending commands over a wifi network. I eh bright enough to master that one yet.

Postby S_2NR » January 7th, 2013, 3:30 pm

14ride wrote:
S_2NR wrote:Lol.
Teach a man to fish...

I willing to help u do it and guide u. But I not going out of my way to meet somebody to do it for 50$. Sorry :lol:

hoss...i will com to u :D

Dude it really not that hard. Trust me. It hard to brick a phone permanently. Most ull do is soft brick and that easy to fix

stealth

Postby stealth » January 8th, 2013, 10:09 am

anyone here got their Samsung s3 from Bmobile to update to 4.1.2 yet? My friend has one which he bought in Miami and his was updated a couple weeks ago....

Postby pete » January 8th, 2013, 10:21 am

You don't have to wait for an over the air update. Just download the updated firmware and flash with Odin. You don't need to root the phone to do this.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » January 8th, 2013, 10:39 am

pete wrote:You don't have to wait for an over the air update. Just download the updated firmware and flash with Odin. You don't need to root the phone to do this.

Yes, this is correct.

sentraman

Postby sentraman » January 8th, 2013, 1:52 pm

SERIOUS... I swear it needed rooting. I learn something there.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » January 8th, 2013, 2:12 pm

sentraman wrote:SERIOUS... I swear it needed rooting. I learn something there.

Yep, I'm running it right now, on digicel though but it shouldn't Matter

Postby M_2NR » January 8th, 2013, 3:05 pm

sentraman wrote:SERIOUS... I swear it needed rooting. I learn something there.

this is how i unrooted! well an s2...

sentraman

Postby sentraman » January 8th, 2013, 3:29 pm

I had root mine last week and running omega v35 with some nice extra goodies. Actually working smoother now. So what is the latest stock rom that can be used on the s2 without rooting?

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » January 8th, 2013, 6:42 pm

uploadfromtaptalk1357684686654.jpg

Put this on the Mrs. phone the other day... Phone isn't rooted.

sentraman

Postby sentraman » January 8th, 2013, 6:44 pm

How it working

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » January 8th, 2013, 6:49 pm

sentraman wrote:How it working

Seems to be working well so far...
Phone is generally working faster.

Dmentalcase29

Postby Dmentalcase29 » January 8th, 2013, 8:06 pm

Stress with my SGH i777 galaxy. Was doing an update to ics 4.0.4, failed, went into emergency recovery and well the recovery keeps failing via Kies. Tried a stock rom tru odin but fails as well. Any ideas on how or who can fix this. Thanks

Postby Stephon. » January 8th, 2013, 8:25 pm

I'll just wait, ain't nobody got time to flash and sheit. What's the difference between 4.1.1 and 4.1.2 anyway. I'd flash for 4.2.0 or something but not 0.0.1 more lol.

Dmentalcase29

Postby Dmentalcase29 » January 8th, 2013, 8:43 pm

lol...nah i was still on gingerbread and it had some issues daz why i flashed it

Postby Ted_v2 » January 8th, 2013, 8:45 pm

Anyone knows how much for a s3 now,?

Postby hustla_ambition101 » January 8th, 2013, 8:48 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:Anyone knows how much for a s3 now,?

You could check any fone store and get it for 3800-4000 or go network store and get raped

Postby Ted_v2 » January 8th, 2013, 8:58 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:
sound boy 64 wrote:Anyone knows how much for a s3 now,?

You could check any fone store and get it for 3800-4000 or go network store and get raped

Still holding quite a price. I was expecting a good price drop by now. I was playing around with one today and it's a pretty cool device. Won't mind owning one but at that price :sad:

Postby Chimera » January 8th, 2013, 9:22 pm

normal stores selling for $4000

tstt is $4400 with 2 year contract

digicel is $3000 with 2 year contract

i took one for $450 a month, 2 gigs data and 300 minutes a month i think

kemraj

Postby kemraj » January 8th, 2013, 9:26 pm

Any one has the motorola atrix, its the phone i'm currently using too bad it was promised the ics but then motorola canceled it. But its a pretty neat phone especially with its bio metric finger print scanner

14ride

Postby 14ride » January 9th, 2013, 6:58 am

S_2NR wrote:
14ride wrote:
Teach a man to fish...

I willing to help u do it and guide u. But I not going out of my way to meet somebody to do it for 50$. Sorry :lol:

Dude it really not that hard. Trust me. It hard to brick a phone permanently. Most ull do is soft brick and that easy to fix

i dont want to!!i want someone with experience.i will bring the phone to u and pay.$75

14ride

Postby 14ride » January 9th, 2013, 7:05 am

Postby Stephon. » January 9th, 2013, 7:09 am

b-mobile is gonna get Apple'd and start losing ground if they think that 4400 dollar price tag makes any sense what ever, better you buy it by Digicel and switch networks. I mean, come on, even their 4G speeds are faster, with a cheaper phone WITH better plans (value for money) bmobile probably feeling comfortable knowing it have people like me that wouldn't switch to digicel but times could change.

14ride wrote:
S_2NR wrote:
14ride wrote:
Teach a man to fish...

i dont want to!!i want someone with experience.i will bring the phone to u and pay.$75

:lol: Just do it for him naaaa

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » January 9th, 2013, 7:51 am

Digicel service is great every month I get 750 mins and text Nd 20 GB of data for 399 plus VAT.

PapaC

Postby PapaC » January 9th, 2013, 8:10 am

The Samsung Premium Suite, is that available for the S3?
When will it come via a push update?

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » January 9th, 2013, 8:11 am

firstchoicett wrote:Digicel service is great every month I get 750 mins and text Nd 20 GB of data for 399 plus VAT.

I'm telling you, I love it.

14ride

Postby 14ride » January 9th, 2013, 9:14 am

firstchoicett wrote:Digicel service is great every month I get 750 mins and text Nd 20 GB of data for 399 plus VAT.

:shock: boi f@#k bmobile yes!!i feel i jumping ship.
i never had a digicel befor...but i feel the time has com for change.

14ride

Postby 14ride » January 9th, 2013, 9:21 am

Stephon. wrote:b-mobile is gonna get Apple'd and start losing ground if they think that 4400 dollar price tag makes any sense what ever, better you buy it by Digicel and switch networks. I mean, come on, even their 4G speeds are faster, with a cheaper phone WITH better plans (value for money) bmobile probably feeling comfortable knowing it have people like me that wouldn't switch to digicel but times could change.

14ride wrote:
S_2NR wrote:
14ride wrote:
Teach a man to fish...

:lol: Just do it for him naaaa

yeh just do it for me narrr... :D

14ride

Postby 14ride » January 9th, 2013, 10:25 am

Last edited by 14ride on January 9th, 2013, 10:36 am, edited 3 times in total.

Postby S_2NR » January 9th, 2013, 10:31 am

How about I give u my number and I guide u tru the process? I rel busy these days. Its pretty simple. I did it for ilove3 when I sold him my captivate and he was fine. And he was new to the whole thing