THA Elections

Who do you believe will win the THA elections?

60%
PNM
40%

Total votes: 93

Re: THA Elections

Postby UML » January 7th, 2013, 8:11 am

mamoo_pagal wrote:If there is truth to this then these ppl are utterly disgusting

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/___ ... 21931.html
...TOP accuses opponents of waging race war

Story Created: Jan 6, 2013 at 9:56 PM ECT (Story Updated: Jan 6, 2013 at 9:57 PM ECT )

THE Tobago Organisation of the People (TOP) has accused the People's National Movement (PNM) of waging a "race war" under the guise of their In Defence of Tobago campaign slogan for the Tobago House of Assembly (THA) election, set for January 21.

To substantiate its claim, TOP has produced an audio tape which it claims is a recording of Hilton Sandy, PNM representative for Roxborough/Delaford and Deputy Chief Secretary and Secretary of Infrastructure and Public Utilities, addressing constituents at a public meeting on Friday December 4 in which he suggested that if they (his constituents) did not vote for the PNM, East Indians will move to Tobago and take over.

In the audio tape, the voice, allegedly of Sandy, states:

"Be strong, do not let anyone distract you, you are focused, you are on a good ship, because as I told another crew down the road there is a ship at Calcutta waiting to sail to Tobago. That ship is waiting to sail to Tobago; they are waiting to get the results of this election, if you bring the wrong results, Calcutta ship is coming down for you! You must stop that ship! We must not allow that ship to sail and if you don't want the ship to sail what you have to do? Vote the candidate Hilton!"

TOP, in a release issued yesterday, said Sandy "proudly made these pronouncements in the presence of the PNM's Political Leader Dr Keith Rowley, Chief Secretary Orville London and other members of the rank and file of the party".

TOP added: "As Sandy concluded his statements Rowley and London cheered on and applauded in full agreement, welcoming him back to his seat with a standing ovation and warm embrace.

"Having no policy for the future of Tobago or record to run their campaign on after spending $22 billion in 12 years, the PNM has focused their campaign on maligning the name of Tobago Organisation of the People candidates and making injurious statements about the invasion of East Indians into Tobago," the release said.

Habit7 wrote:
UML wrote:50 years of independence and what has Tobago to show for it?

you know what, scratch all that I said before, you are right, Tobago is no different than it was 50 years ago :roll:

ok then

$22,000,000,000 ($22 billion) in 12 years what has Tobago to show for it???????

I would like to know what Faris Al Rawi, Jerry Narace, Nafessa Mohammed, etc. have to say about this :|

Postby rfari » January 7th, 2013, 8:21 am

Pnm has to address this situation immediately

Postby UML » January 7th, 2013, 9:52 am

Faris Al Rawi when interviewed said he could not comment because he did not read or hear the statement.

#buyingtime

Postby zoom rader » January 7th, 2013, 10:02 am

After all this time PNM still has not changed their racist policy, they perfer germans buying up tobago while stating East Indians will move to Tobago and take over.

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 7th, 2013, 10:04 am

Jack ain't exactly a saint with his "black Calder hart" movement yuhno 1pat

Postby rfari » January 8th, 2013, 6:41 am

Heard on the news the clip with the pnm representative making the calcutta statement. He apologised but damage already done

Postby Greypatch » January 8th, 2013, 9:01 am

Clacutta...LMAO....dis man is ah arse of epic proportions.

Postby zoom rader » January 8th, 2013, 9:12 am

It only shows that the PNM still has a hidden racist policy. Tobago is a different culture and they are not racist as those in trini, they wont be affected by the racist views of the PNM.

Postby Greypatch » January 8th, 2013, 10:35 am

It was one man putting his foot up his arse....you cannot judge all by his statement

Postby zoom rader » January 8th, 2013, 10:40 am

Greypatch wrote:It was one man putting his foot up his arse....you cannot judge all by his statement

Its not the First time, remember the "Petrosingh" and "their kind" statements

Postby rfari » January 8th, 2013, 10:41 am

Anything in the papers today about the comment?

Postby Habit7 » January 8th, 2013, 10:49 am

As unfortunate Mr. Sandy statements are, I am glad to see Dr. Rowley not beat around the bush but was able to crack the whip and Sandy was able to humbly apologise.

Postby Greypatch » January 8th, 2013, 10:53 am

rowley must he clout up he skunt

Postby rfari » January 8th, 2013, 11:39 am

Habit7 wrote:As unfortunate Mr. Sandy statements are, I am glad to see Dr. Rowley not beat around the bush but was able to crack the whip and Sandy was able to humbly apologise.

That's very commendable. You just dont see that sort of thing with politicians nowadays

Postby rspann » January 8th, 2013, 6:55 pm

Allyuh,....................watch allyuh aarse!The ship from calcutta coming!LOLLOLLOLLOL!

Postby rspann » January 8th, 2013, 6:59 pm

sheit talk aside,rowley shoulda make him resign.He real outta timing with that talk.What does he mean by'a ship from calcutta coming' 'they loading up right now'?That statement matches rowley and lee sing's what so special about debe and chaguanas?

Postby rfari » January 8th, 2013, 7:02 pm

rspann wrote:sheit talk aside,rowley shoulda make him resign.He real outta timing with that talk.What does he mean by'a ship from calcutta coming' 'they loading up right now'?That statement matches rowley and lee sing's what so special about debe and chaguanas?

No

Postby rspann » January 8th, 2013, 7:20 pm

What u sayin then,is ok to leave a racist to sit in a major position?wouldn't he be prejudiced in his dealings with citizens?

Postby rfari » January 8th, 2013, 7:27 pm

rspann wrote:What u sayin then,is ok to leave a racist to sit in a major position?wouldn't he be prejudiced in his dealings with citizens?

Or hard luck. The no was for ur last comment about debe. Yeah rowley.shoulda make an example of him but from what i understand, rowley greeted him after his address to the gathering so he is culpable as well. The downside is that pp gonna milk this for more than its worth when imo, there are many more important issues that need to be addressed by both sides. The BOOT arrangement, SIS involvement with TOP etc. And whats the latest with the debate?

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » January 8th, 2013, 7:29 pm

rspann wrote:What u sayin then,is ok to leave a racist to sit in a major position?wouldn't he be prejudiced in his dealings with citizens?

it seems this thinking does not apply to that guy, as posted above, how it was dealt with was admirable. The apology was a humble gesture......sincere.

Postby rspann » January 8th, 2013, 7:37 pm

Yeah Rfari,dat is true.The only problem is that in sweet TNT,issues is never an issue,people only want the mauvais langue!

Postby rfari » January 8th, 2013, 7:45 pm

mamoo_pagal wrote:

it seems this thinking does not apply to that guy, as posted above, how it was dealt with was admirable. The apology was a humble gesture......sincere.

Hmm. I corrected my response son.And if someone can try to justify their actions and then apologise, experience has showed that the apology most times is only for the ill feelings caused and not the deed itself.

Postby rspann » January 8th, 2013, 7:53 pm

Habit7 wrote:As unfortunate Mr. Sandy statements are, I am glad to see Dr. Rowley not beat around the bush but was able to crack the whip and Sandy was able to humbly apologise.

He should have cracked the whip as soon as it was said,not when the uproar started.Did you hear when Dr douglas spoke about is okay to go 5 or 10 miles over the speed limit,ACP richardson corrected him immediately,it gives more credence to your statement.

Postby Habit7 » January 8th, 2013, 8:03 pm

While it is my sincere view that Tobago is the best governed local government in T&T, there are some things that could be done better in Tobago.

But so far the most I have heard from TOP is mudslinging and no real plans for development.

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » January 8th, 2013, 8:05 pm

rfari wrote:
mamoo_pagal wrote:

Hmm. I corrected my response son.And if someone can try to justify their actions and then apologise, experience has showed that the apology most times is only for the ill feelings caused and not the deed itself.

hmm, didn't see your edit,I posted b4 that..............

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 8th, 2013, 8:18 pm

Habit7 wrote:While it is my sincere view that Tobago is the best governed local government in T&T, there are some things that could be done better in Tobago.

But so far the most I have heard from TOP is mudslinging and no real plans for development.

Postby rfari » January 8th, 2013, 8:21 pm

mamoo_pagal wrote:
rfari wrote:
mamoo_pagal wrote:

Safe.

As for the comment, can it be said that it's more xenophobia than racism cus ive been to tobago quite a few times and my interactions with tobagoians especially during popular festivals (great fete/race, jazz) gives the impression that i'm just being tolerated. Off peak visits tend to be way more hospitable tho

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 8th, 2013, 8:49 pm

rfari wrote:
mamoo_pagal wrote:
rfari wrote:
mamoo_pagal wrote:

Safe.

As for the comment, can it be said that it's more xenophobia than racism cus ive been to tobago quite a few times and my interactions with tobagoians especially during popular festivals (great fete/race, jazz) gives the impression that i'm just being tolerated. Off peak visits tend to be way more hospitable tho

Lol strange eh, I never had a moment where it was racist but I did have a grounds keeper treat me like a raj and said I cannot afford to buy beverages in "their" establishment. :lol: The lulz were had.

Other than that Tobago family treat we better than some from yard.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » January 8th, 2013, 8:52 pm

Ent dev m. Is a minister

Postby rfari » January 8th, 2013, 9:35 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:
rfari wrote:
mamoo_pagal wrote:
rfari wrote:
mamoo_pagal wrote:

Safe.

Lol strange eh, I never had a moment where it was racist but I did have a grounds keeper treat me like a raj and said I cannot afford to buy beverages in "their" establishment. :lol: The lulz were had.

Other than that Tobago family treat we better than some from yard.

:lol::lol: like we morney eh good.