Rooki3 wrote:wanna see a phone wid no bezel, jus screen alone
Android Central wrote:In its infancy for quite a long time now, software maker Cononical today is taking the wraps off of the smartphone variation of its Linux operating system Ubuntu. The interface will be distinctly in the Ubuntu style, and have many features of other modern smartphone operating systems. There are edge gestures, disappearing controls, global search, voice commands and support for both native and HTML5 web apps.
But Ubuntu for smartphones is more than just a phone OS, as it also provides a full desktop experience when the phone is docked to a mouse, keyboard and monitor. With the current specs of phones, its not unreasonable to expect a single device to be able to handle both a phone and desktop operating system when in each situation. Ubuntu is generally pretty lightweight, so it should run nicely while still remaining feature rich (unlike Motorola Webtop before it.)
Let's not forget that Ubuntu is also open source, giving plenty of options to later customization and tweaking by users as well as quick and free updates in the future. Canonical is holding an informational conference call to provide more details on the launch of its smartphone OS today, which should answer some burning questions. Canonical will also be showing off Ubuntu for smartphones at CES in under a week. In the meantime, take a look at the quick press release after the break.
pete wrote:Got my tab 2. Using one on display in the store was really not very happy with the performance, seemed to be very laggy, screen transitions weren't smooth. When I turned on mine it was much much better. Then realised that it had 4.1.1 and the one in the store was 4.0.4 Huge difference between the two and so happy I didn't get the ipad mini.
Samsung increases lead as top US mobile device maker, Apple still gaining, everyone else flailing
Samsung is still the top mobile OEM in the US, although Apple is very slowly trying to catch up. Rounding out the top five are LG, Motorola, and HTC, all of which continue to lose market share.
The story is similar in the platform space: Google is first courtesy of Android, Apple is second with iOS, but the roles are slightly reversed as Android has grown more than iOS recently. Again, rounding out the top five are RIM, Microsoft, and Symbian, which all continue to lose share.
The latest data comes from comScore, which as usual surveyed over 30,000 mobile subscribers in the US. The analytics firm says 123.3 Americans owned smartphones (53 percent mobile market penetration) in November, up 6 percent since August.
Between those two months, here is how the top five mobile OEMs have fared:
As you can see, Samsung gained 1.2 percentage points from 25.7 percent to 26.9 percent LG fell to 17.5 percent, Motorola dropped to 10.4 percent, and HTC was down to 5.9 percent.
In fact, Samsung and Apple gained a combined 2.6 percentage points while the other three lost 1.9 percentage points together. This means that the duo are even stealing share from OEMs not in the top five.
Last month, we noted that Apple had passed LG, and it looks like the things are going to stay that way. We noted that the iPhone 5 helped put Apple ahead, and that if Google can get enough Nexus 4s to customers, LG could take silver again, but so far, no dice.
Yet even if Google fails with the Nexus 4, it is still doing phenomenally well on the software side:
Apple may be slowly gaining on Samsung in the mobile OEM space, but Android is ahead and growing faster overall when compared to iOS. Google gained 1.1 percentage points between August and November (up from 52.6 percent to 53.7 percent) to further pull ahead in first place. Apple meanwhile increased its share by 0.7 percentage points (moving from 34.3 percent to 35.0 percent).
Once again, RIM was the biggest loser,dropping like a rock as it fell 1.0 percentage points (from 8.3 percent to 7.3 percent). Microsoft lost 0.6 percentage points, despite its Windows Phone push, while Symbian lost 0.2 percentage points, which is to be expected.
Again looking at the winners and losers, Google and Apple gained a combined 1.8 percentage points, while the other three lost the exact same amount. In other words, there’s nobody outside the top five that is making big moves. We are really in a duopoly when it comes to mobile operating systems.
^ Got this article from my flipboard today!
M_2NR wrote:Guys, i have an s2 here, and it's one Resurrection Remix v2.7.1 and Siyah kernel. I find the phone is getting terribly hot... any advice before i go hunting on xda? I checked for any overclocking etc. It was on 1200Mhz and i set it to 1000Mhz... what govenor should i use with it?
Should i just get rid of this rom? I like RR but i don't like playing with CPU settings etc.
ismithx wrote:M_2NR wrote:Guys, i have an s2 here, and it's one Resurrection Remix v2.7.1 and Siyah kernel. I find the phone is getting terribly hot... any advice before i go hunting on xda? I checked for any overclocking etc. It was on 1200Mhz and i set it to 1000Mhz... what govenor should i use with it?
Should i just get rid of this rom? I like RR but i don't like playing with CPU settings etc.
dude... why do you need to over clock it for??????
anyways, when i went custom rom for a while, i used smartassV2 as cpu governor and sio as the io scheduler... remember to tick the "apply on boot" setting.. those two work fine!
Rooki3 wrote:wah u like more steffy, samsung ir mazda jed
M_2NR wrote:ended up doing this
http://galaxys2root.com/galaxy-s2-unroo ... i9100-ics/
going back stock. I doubt this writes the EFS anyway.
stev wrote:already made up my mind that my next phone wud be the S4.......step up from a 850MHz 256MB RAM Motorla Droid. lol