The Hobbit

Re: The Hobbit

Postby MG Man » December 17th, 2012, 1:44 pm

trini mk5 wrote:Very disappointed by the reviewers comparing it to the lotr trilogy. People were expecting too much I think. But a review also said that this movie was the best revisit to middle earth since the fellowship of the rings. I like how that sounds.

don't see how anyone can do a comparison...they are two very different stories....heck, when I started reading LOTR, I thought it would be another saga of hobbits and other weird creatures, not the rise of man

Postby crazybalhead » December 17th, 2012, 1:46 pm

The hobbit, is a much much simpler tale than the LOTR trilogy. I will see it expecting it to be simple. I kinda hoping Peter jackson didn't go overboard with the melodrama as the LOTR movies. it wasn't meant to be that heavy.

Postby MG Man » December 17th, 2012, 1:50 pm

just as long as he leave out all them damn songs...............I suspect a lot of people who haven't read the books think it's some sort of prequel to LOTR..............all the focus on gollum surely gives that impression...........him and the ring didn't feature that much in Hobbit, if my cobwebby ol' brain remembers accurately............well the ring didn't have any ominous undertones

Swisha

Postby Swisha » December 20th, 2012, 6:51 pm

Postby sMASH » December 20th, 2012, 9:23 pm

MG Man wrote:just as long as he leave out all them damn songs...............I suspect a lot of people who haven't read the books think it's some sort of prequel to LOTR..............all the focus on gollum surely gives that impression...........him and the ring didn't feature that much in Hobbit, if my cobwebby ol' brain remembers accurately............well the ring didn't have any ominous undertones
that is true, i get the impression that it is a prequal because of smeagal.
since it isn't supposed to be as heavy and the ring isn't as menacing, this should not have been made second. they should have done this first and let us have a good time, like pirates of the caribbean. then when we see all the fun stuff the ring could do, the lotr sets comes out and we see the reality of the ring.

i guess they weren't sure that it would be a movie success to they went with the best possible line.

Postby wagonrunner » December 20th, 2012, 9:31 pm

MG Man wrote:imax tickets in hand for dec 27 ^_^

what time? 6:10?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 21st, 2012, 8:41 am

so any1 saw it as yet? worth the $$?

aspsounds

Postby aspsounds » December 21st, 2012, 8:56 pm

Sorry...but it was too easy

Postby MG Man » December 22nd, 2012, 8:12 am

MG Man wrote:imax tickets in hand for dec 27 ^_^

what time? 6:10?

Nah. The later one. 10:00 or thereabouts
sMASH, I think there were too many legal issues over who owned the rights to the hobbit when LOTR was done, so they were unable to do it first. Duane can correct me on this

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 22nd, 2012, 8:58 pm

just came bak from seeing this movie,was better than expected,graphics were cool though.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » December 23rd, 2012, 6:43 am

^^^how cool- deep freeze cool or ice in ah styrotex cooler cool?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 23rd, 2012, 10:23 am

~Vēġó~ wrote:^^^how cool- deep freeze cool or ice in ah styrotex cooler cool?

I'd say deep freeze cool,others may beg to differ.

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » December 27th, 2012, 9:37 am

Can we see it in 48fps here in movietowne/imax?

Postby sMASH » December 27th, 2012, 10:58 am

i not seeing any thing on imax that says that they doing the 48fps, but i really really want it to be so to see how that would be. but all the same, it should be quite awesome in de max... and i mean graphics, not necessarily action.
i, god willing would be making my spin saturday.

Postby r3iXmann » December 27th, 2012, 11:06 am

saw it..i thought it was great...a few of the scenes were kinda drawn out but i think it was a brilliant movie :mrgreen:

Postby MG Man » December 27th, 2012, 11:21 am

gonna see it in imax tonite ^_^

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » December 27th, 2012, 12:23 pm

a good movie....a few drawn out scenes but worth it
many ple in the imax showing yesterday expected to see the entire Hobbit story...were shocked at the end

Postby sMASH » December 27th, 2012, 12:46 pm

i sure they are the same kind of people who would argue that prometheus was rubbish because it did not have a conclusion. some stories are parts of bigger stories, and some people just don't have the constitution to appreciate good story telling with a good story.

Postby wagonrunner » December 27th, 2012, 12:57 pm

more impatience i think
They want to know everything now, and reading is too much effort.

Postby MG Man » December 27th, 2012, 1:24 pm

yup
I'm sure most ppl who did not read the book will be disappointed...........not to mention all those folks who still think this story heavily features smeagol.....

Postby Gem_in_i » December 27th, 2012, 2:29 pm

I saw it ytday. I liked it.
When it ended, people in cinema were like wht? Thts it? It over?

Didn't realise how the time fly lol

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 27th, 2012, 8:06 pm

wud agree with most of you,plenty people wasn't expecting an ending like that,only those who follow peter jackson and his stories knew of the other parts.

Postby MG Man » December 28th, 2012, 9:01 am

saw it last night
I figured they'd end it as the crew exited the mountain or thereabouts
The added quite a bit of extra to the story tho..........some good, some just too overly commercial.......all in all, it certainly didn't feel like 2 3.4 of an hour...........felt more like an hour and a half

Postby wagonrunner » December 28th, 2012, 10:04 am

MG Man wrote:I figured they'd end it as the crew exited the mountain or thereabouts

spoilers dan. now i've been robbed of the opportunity to be shocked.

Postby MG Man » December 28th, 2012, 12:21 pm

buh ent you wen to the 6:30 show yesterday? yuh know damn well it went beyond that point :mrgreen:

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » December 28th, 2012, 2:06 pm

Saw it last night ... Worst POS I've seen all year.

Seriously, the 1st hour is a bunch of dwarves singing in a room? Did we watch the same movie?

Not recommended, not worth the money.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 28th, 2012, 5:05 pm

Mr. Go Slow wrote:Saw it last night ... Worst POS I've seen all year.

Seriously, the 1st hour is a bunch of dwarves singing in a room? Did we watch the same movie?

LOL seriously?
that's like complaining that that Transformers was about a bunch of big talking robots that keep fighting and changing into vehicles.

The Hobbit book had ALOT more songs and singing than that.

I thought the movie was fantastic. I just saw it at 10:30am in IMAX. I could nitpick and complain that I expected the tree top scene to be much longer and I didnt expect as much time to be spent on the council at Rivendell but I realise that Jackson is building the story more for the cohesion into LOTR than there was in the actual Hobbit book. When Hobbit was written, there was no Lord of the Rings, since it hadn't been even dreamt of by Tolkien. Infact in The Hobbit, the ring Bilbo found had no more significance than a ring that makes you invisible.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 28th, 2012, 5:16 pm

sMASH wrote:
novastar1 wrote:Can we see it in 48fps here in movietowne/imax?
i not seeing any thing on imax that says that they doing the 48fps, but i really really want it to be so to see how that would be. but all the same, it should be quite awesome in de max... and i mean graphics, not necessarily action.
i, god willing would be making my spin saturday.
it won't show at 48fps in T&T

only about 400 cinemas in the US are capable of that frame rate anyway, one in Alaska and one in Hawaii. Only one cinema in all of Taiwan. But unfortunately none in T&T yet.

I suspect it will look like what a movie looks like on a 120hz TV aka the "soap opera effect"

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » December 28th, 2012, 7:02 pm

Mr. Go Slow wrote:Saw it last night ... Worst POS I've seen all year.

LOL seriously?
that's like complaining that that Transformers was about a bunch of big talking robots that keep fighting and changing into vehicles.

The Hobbit book had ALOT more songs and singing than that.

Well Thank God I missed that ... Sorry was not my idea of fun and big talking robots that keep fighting and changing into vehicles is as least appealing to my destructive nature ...

The Hobbit in all fairness seems geared towards 5 year old's, whom I could easily envision embracing that movie. Not for me at all ...

If you like Game of Thrones, Misfits, Homeland (all comparable *arguably* due to being epic series of their own accord) You will probably hate The Hobbit like I did.

Opinions are like arseholes ... Well all have one.

I should mention I also hated the last Batman movie and Skyfall ... Both rubbish.

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » December 28th, 2012, 7:17 pm

http://www.quickflix.com.au/news/review ... tedJourney

"By Simon Miraudo

December 19, 2012

Peter Jackson didn’t particularly want to direct The Hobbit, and I didn’t particularly want to be bored to tears, but there we both were, fulfilling what could only be described as some sort of cinematic murder-suicide pact"

"Martin Freeman (The Office, Sherlock) takes over the role of young Bilbo Baggins, first fashioned by Ian Holm (who pops up early on, along with Elijah Wood’s Frodo). Bilbo the elder reflects on an adventure from his youth, instigated by roaming wizard Gandalf the Grey (Ian McKellen, classing up the joint, as always). Gandalf, seemingly randomly, calls upon the short-statured and shoeless Bilbo to assist 13 dwarves in reclaiming their home from money hungry dragon Smaug. The lot of them embark on their mission, led by the all-bluster-no-muster Thorin Oakenshield (Richard Armitage), though not until after an inane, endless sequence in which the rowdy dwarves eat all of Bilbo’s food, clean his dishes, and, er, sing. (The flick's goofy sense of humour implies this one might be for the littlies only; how likely are they to sit still as it stretches past the two-hour mark?) "

^^^ Well said