Favorite music videos from TTT days?

Re: Favorite music videos from TTT days?

Postby Gem_in_i » December 18th, 2012, 7:14 am

Paw paw bears :D

There was a cartoon by name of G G?

Postby sMASH » December 18th, 2012, 7:15 am

dat 'wok with yan' is before my days. *bows head with shame*
the earliest thing i could remember is the supergran.

there was 'contact', not to be mistaken with ' 3 2 1 contact' which was a short shown as filler. this showed all sorts of informative things all over the world, from social issues to science. why i remember this, is because there was a groovey piece of into music for it. the song it was sampled from was remixed and used years later in the leonardo di caprio movie 'the beach' there was another produced by unicef.
through these, i learned how slash and burn was bad before i anybody showed be how to bun dong ah bush to plant. i learned about terracing on hill slopes, about biodegradable fertilizing, about family planning, about tribal struggles in the african continent.

Postby maj. tom » December 18th, 2012, 7:17 am

Comic Strip was TV6 I think, when they now started. I can't verify that. TigerSharks was the best segment.

Galaxy Rangers was AVM. Perhaps the original run in '86 was shown on TTT. Syndicated shows were up for grabs years later.

Older folks, did TTT use to run Top Cat and Flintstones when they now started? These were big Primetime shows in the 60's in USA, but they're just Saturday cartoons now... well in the 80's. I remember TC mentioned Trinidad in one of the first episodes (1961), believe it or not. In fact, what did they really use to show on TTT during the 60's and 70's?

Some older guy told me that Saturday mornings the neighbourhood used to come over by him to watch Star Trek TOS, the most amazing thing on television at the time. Scooby Doo and The Jetsons were large too. Hardly anyone had a TV back then in Trinidad I guess, and they were those big B/W sets.

Postby Gem_in_i » December 18th, 2012, 7:19 am

The meyumyums

bt50

Postby bt50 » December 18th, 2012, 7:51 am

Gary Hector- arrest arrest....still looking for this video up to now....if anyone has it please link me nah

bt50

Postby bt50 » December 18th, 2012, 7:53 am

Gem_in_i wrote:There was a woman singing a song 'meet me on level 2, I wanna rock with you' and playing keyboard? Not sure of words.

'

yeah this was a bess song....

Postby sMASH » December 18th, 2012, 8:37 am

my family recalled that my grandfather bought a tv in the 70's and they used to put the benches under their house for every body in that little area to watch news. but back then was before my time and every body knew every one else, and no body paid for labor, every body used to help every body else.

Postby Rooki3 » December 18th, 2012, 9:13 am

sMASH wrote:my family recalled that my grandfather bought a tv in the 70's and they used to put the benches under their house for every body in that little area to watch news. but back then was before my time and every body knew every one else, and no body paid for labor, every body used to help every body else.

my mom always used to give us stories similar to this & after ther watched a scary mobie, ppl used to be afraid to go home :lol: back then had no street lights

Postby sMASH » December 18th, 2012, 9:32 am

^^ doh doubt that 'no street lights' thing. i walked the m2 ring road 12 o' clock in the night already, before the street lights... your mind goes to a different place.

but, it would be interesting to see how tnt tv programming would have been in the 60's and 70's.

triniangie

Postby triniangie » December 18th, 2012, 1:54 pm

fellow tuner:

Postby crazybalhead » December 18th, 2012, 1:56 pm

LOOK AT DEM SILVERF KHAOS PANTIIEEEEEEEEEEESSSSSSS!!!!

ADONI

Postby ADONI » December 18th, 2012, 3:35 pm

Is not Kindred who sing "Fan meh poulorie"???

halfdef

Postby halfdef » December 18th, 2012, 11:12 pm

Alyuh forgetting MacGuyver , murder she wrote ,knight rider ,Cagney and Lacey just to name a few

halfdef

Postby halfdef » December 18th, 2012, 11:17 pm

triniangie wrote:fellow tuner:

Kinday

Postby Morpheus » December 18th, 2012, 11:39 pm

Hmmm...

Who said GiGi? :lol: I used to like the nekkid part :twisted:

Postby Morpheus » December 18th, 2012, 11:46 pm

10-10 8-)

8-)

Postby Morpheus » December 19th, 2012, 12:06 am

One more

Never forgot "Master of magic, spells and illusion. The enemies crumble in fear and confusion....." :lol:

DTAC

Postby DTAC » December 19th, 2012, 2:37 am

This is the Kindred video self.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 19th, 2012, 2:54 am

^ RIP Shock - you are missed :(

Postby Hook » December 19th, 2012, 5:45 am

Comic Strip was around in TTT days b4 TV6. Either that or I'm mixing it up with the wknds I used to spend by my cousins who had satellite TV (which was the only time I recall seeing that GiGi cartoon...I don't recall that ever showing locally). Bucky O' Hare was TV6.

This was the awesomest cartoon at that time. Prolly still is.

And the Oddfellows Local song was called "Social Unrest".
That video is presha to find. Maybe MG Man has it bookmarked somewhere.

Postby maj. tom » December 19th, 2012, 5:52 am

What about Garbage Pail Kids? That was TTT?
Wiki says there were only 13 episodes, but I remember that show like if it ran for years!

Postby SmokeyGTi » December 19th, 2012, 7:44 am

^^ good point...and i can't remember seeing much repeats either!

Postby sMASH » December 19th, 2012, 10:43 am

garbage pail i think was tv6. but i could believe the 13 episodes.
i want to know how tv used to be in the 60's and 70's in trinidad. i think it would be like kids today with internet and a web cam; any thing went.

Postby Les Bain » December 19th, 2012, 2:31 pm

Ulyuh remember Japan Video Topics?

http://web-japan.org/jvt/index.html

Postby sMASH » December 19th, 2012, 3:14 pm

ah yes, just before they stopped running it, i actually kept track of the episodes. one of the last episodes showed oel technology. the first time we in trinidad saw that was with the pioneer decks with the colored displays in the early part of the naughties. that report showed how displays could be made out of flexible plastic sheets. the only time i heard about its implementation was in the movie jason x or sumting where a guy rolled out a transparent display from his arm.

through that show i learned about the mitsubishi robots, how soya sauce is made, saki, paper houses ( and through that about structural strengthening), the most expensive beef. the conversion of plastics to diesel, the use of massive tunnel/pits to collect storm waters in cities that cannot divert them out of the cities fast enough.

Postby tr1ad » December 19th, 2012, 3:27 pm

gone from music to tv shows? repostamente

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » December 19th, 2012, 3:32 pm

there was a song with " arrest arrest " song
also a song with an indian rasta cyar remmeber the name now

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » December 19th, 2012, 3:38 pm

Postby De Dragon » December 19th, 2012, 3:50 pm

Explainer had a song with accompanying video about a man who's wife is threatening to leave him because of his addiction to gambling on horses.Lyrics went summn like
'yes ah want ah divorce, is better ah did marrid to ah horse"

Postby Morpheus » December 22nd, 2012, 2:15 am

Remember these?

TTT had a video with local rainy weather and flooding clips dubbed to this song :D

Tried my best not to miss this